189 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

mych
post Dec 20 2008, 08:17 PM

2,068 posts

MY broker fees is much higher than US.. is as low as USD1 per trade irregardless of amount
darkknight81
post Dec 20 2008, 09:29 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

Normally i make my stock pick up payment via check or cash sometimes (if the amount is few thousands).

Today is my first time i use interbank transfer from my CIMB to my brokerage Hwang DBS (RHB).

Any one got do this before? Any risk?

It will be easier for me next time as i no need to go bank to open cheque and easier.

All sifus there pls share you experience on interbank fund transfer for your stock pick up.

kmarc
post Dec 21 2008, 07:13 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Anybody knows why my brokerage fees (maybank/aseambankders) for UCHITEC is higher?

Normal rate for online trading is 0.42% or RM12 minimum.

When I bought UCHITEC, they charged me 0.60% or RM40 minimum!!! vmad.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Dec 21 2008, 07:13 AM
darkknight81
post Dec 21 2008, 08:16 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Dec 21 2008, 08:13 AM)
Anybody knows why my brokerage fees (maybank/aseambankders) for UCHITEC is higher?

Normal rate for online trading is 0.42% or RM12 minimum.

When I bought UCHITEC, they charged me 0.60% or RM40 minimum!!!  vmad.gif
Call your remisier and ask him/her to explain wink.gif
kmarc
post Dec 21 2008, 08:50 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 21 2008, 08:16 AM)
Call your remisier and ask him/her to explain  wink.gif
Ya, gonna do that on Monday..... just received the statement on Friday, didn't have time to call....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Dec 21 2008, 08:50 AM
simplesmile
post Dec 21 2008, 10:55 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 20 2008, 06:52 PM)
When is T+3?

If I sell a share on Monday. Will T+3 means Wednesday or Thursday?

If I sell a share on Monday. Will a public holiday falling on Tuesday affect the timing of T+3?
Nobody reply me?
lklatmy
post Dec 21 2008, 11:13 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 21 2008, 10:55 AM)
Nobody reply me?

T3 is the third business day after the day of the trade,so if you buy/sell on Monday,your T3 will be Thursday.

If there's a holiday in between,it is not counted because it is not a business day.
fergie1100
post Dec 22 2008, 10:40 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 20 2008, 06:52 PM)
When is T+3?

If I sell a share on Monday. Will T+3 means Wednesday or Thursday?

If I sell a share on Monday. Will a public holiday falling on Tuesday affect the timing of T+3?
Thurs..... h-day not counted..

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 20 2008, 09:29 PM)
Normally i make my stock pick up payment via check or cash sometimes (if the amount is few thousands).

Today is my first time i use interbank transfer from my CIMB to my brokerage Hwang DBS (RHB).

It will be easier for me next time as i no need to go bank to open cheque and easier.

All sifus there pls share you experience on interbank fund transfer for your stock pick up.
i used to do interbank fund transfer for each of my trading.... be it online or cash deposit, no problem at all smile.gif
what i need to do is just by faxing the statement to my dealer or capture the screenshot of the transaction & send it to him if it's online

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 21 2008, 08:16 AM)
Call your remisier and ask him/her to explain  wink.gif
did ya accidentally place ur order by phone? tongue.gif
skymei
post Dec 22 2008, 08:18 PM

104 posts

Hi evryone,

I did not give a specific instuction to the brokerage firm that they can use my contra gain to offset my unsettled payment..will they automatically do it or i need to manually inform them? All these done on T+4 right?

Hope can reply asap.thx very very much wink.gif
lklatmy
post Dec 22 2008, 11:33 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(skymei @ Dec 22 2008, 08:18 PM)
Hi evryone,

I did not give a specific instuction to the brokerage firm that they can use my contra gain to offset my unsettled payment..will they automatically do it or i need to manually inform them? All these done on T+4 right?

Hope can reply asap.thx very very much wink.gif
Different broking firm have different practice,Some broking firms do not allow using contra gain until payment date.I suggest you check with your broking firm direct.

cherasbabe
post Dec 23 2008, 02:09 AM

491 posts

guys, which ebroker got the best interface/commissions for odd-lot matching?
i'm goin start averaging althou i'm goin to pay more on commissions but kennot afford 100 shares mah... thanks
J'Daniel
post Dec 29 2008, 09:53 AM

370 posts

Im quite new to this stock market thingy. If let say I have RM1k, should I invest into stock market ?

Any idea where should I approach for more information and advises ?

As I know, the way we read the market is like RM1.00 = RM1000 , RM0.50 = RM500

Correct me if I wrong rclxub.gif
mo_meng
post Dec 29 2008, 10:01 AM

2,646 posts

u need to take in consideration how many units ur going to buy also
browse thru www.investopedia.com for more info
SKY 1809
post Dec 29 2008, 10:08 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 20 2008, 09:29 PM)

Correct me if I am wrong.

CIMB charges RM 2 for the fund transfer and the max amount could be limited to RM 5,000.00

I am using Public Bank to pay Broker under bills which does not charge. On top of that, could be higher limit than RM 5,000 ( I did pay more than RM5k before in one single payment ).

Online payments to me are safe, and I am the frequent user to pay bills, credit cards and do bank transfers. Lot of time saved , and finding the car parkings at banks almost put me off. On top of that, pay bills in time and better cashflow planning..

Good Luck.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Dec 29 2008, 10:15 AM
htt
post Dec 29 2008, 10:50 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Dec 29 2008, 09:53 AM)
Im quite new to this stock market thingy. If let say I have RM1k, should I invest into stock market ?

It depends on whether you might need the money in near future. If you won't need the money in long period of time e.g. 5~10 years, then no harm buying some yield stocks.

That's true if you trade in 1,000 share. Malaysian market trading lot is 100 share. Means you can buy 100 shares of company x at RM10 or 1,000 shares of company y at RM1 (commission, stamp duty and clearing fee excluded).
aoisky
post Dec 30 2008, 06:57 PM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Dec 29 2008, 09:53 AM)

rm 1000 better not to buy stock first. cause its hard to break even and cant diversified.
Quinn
post Jan 3 2009, 06:58 PM

Cloud Surfer
1,227 posts

i want to get started in stock market. any advise given?
what is the difference between stock market and option trading?
kmarc
post Jan 4 2009, 11:08 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Quinn @ Jan 3 2009, 06:58 PM)
i want to get started in stock market. any advise given?
I'm also new in stock trading. For me, the first thing is to have spare cash and not use your emergency funds/savings to play stocks. Secondly, try to read as much as you can regarding the company/counters you are interested in. There are many links/good info posted by our forumers in many of the threads. Another good source of information is "The Edge Magazine" which is published weekly and cost only RM5-6. There's a lot of useful infomation in there.... Lastly, stock market is risky. Be prepared to lose money.... wink.gif That's my 0.2 cents advice.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 4 2009, 11:10 PM
graemesquires85
post Jan 5 2009, 01:24 AM

29 posts

1. Good companies buy their own stock.
2. Buy on the rumors, sell on the news.
3. Beware of “penny stock”:
• The price per share is low.
• The price will often go lower than one can imagine.
• The low price makes these stocks target for manipulation.
• They tend to trade “thinly”, sometimes going for weeks without a buy or sell.
• At times it’s nearly impossible to find buyers for those wanting to sell.
• 10 for 1 reverse splits happen occasionally, to boost the price.

4. Buy the stock that split.
5. Heavy volume, price rise – Light volume, price fall.
6. Buy on Monday, sell on Friday
7. Buy when there is Blood in the streets.
8. Invest in what you know the best.
9. There is always a year-end sell- off: sell before the final week of December or buy if the sell-off is deep and widespread.
10. Small stocks make the “January effect” :
• 1968,1970,1975, 1991 : low price stocks did better than high
• 1973,1988, 1996, 1998 : low price stocks did worse than high

11. When the recession begins: home-building, bank, transport, financial and utilities begin to perform under-expectation.
12. When the economic downturn: avoid from purchase sectors of chemical, energy, health-care, industrial, technology and insurance.

Quinn
post Jan 6 2009, 05:24 PM

Cloud Surfer
1,227 posts

can anyone recommend me a good book to start with?

189 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:15 AM