cherroy
post Jan 10 2009, 10:10 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Benedict @ Jan 10 2009, 01:02 AM)
Hey im new here and i guess im the youngest in this thread. lol. Im only 18. I have around 5k and i would like to invest in stock market. Any suggestions on where to start? well i already started reading articles, news, stock watch 1 week ago. lol
I would like some advice to invest and how would i earn? any relevant informations? thx a lot
I would suggest you google around, and do some virtual trading/investment first before really commiting into it.

How would you earn? Most probably the loss chance is greater than gain if blindly jump into it.

It is no harm done to be late. It is better be late rather than sorry (loss your hard-earned/saved money).

Better equip yourself with enough knowledge about the market before starting, otherwise will be paying expensive "tuition" fee out of it. Also take the leisure time to gain market knowledge, while concentrate in core study or job is always the main priority.

Can join us in the discussion, which some forumers may give some good advice, experience and information.

Cheers.

Added on January 10, 2009, 10:11 am
QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 9 2009, 09:44 PM)
So, today already 9 January, the payment should be sent in what way? Cheque? Bank In? Collect at remisier? Don't have any news about this ..  sweat.gif
They will send out the cheque on 9 Jan by post. So it takes a few days to reach into your hand.
For nominee account, it depends on the efficiency of the investment house.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 10 2009, 10:11 AM
Irzani
post Jan 10 2009, 02:58 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 10 2009, 10:10 AM)
They will send out the cheque on 9 Jan by post. So it takes a few days to reach into your hand.
For nominee account, it depends on the efficiency of the investment house.
Thanks, I already nervous since this is my first time in playing dividend stocks .. . Anyway, what does it mean by nominee account and the dividend given? Got 2 account of trading? Nominee and ? hmm.gif
tkwfriend
post Jan 10 2009, 03:06 PM

I always doubt and always something goes wrong
1,904 posts

hi guys i have a problem with itradecimb, i have a share suppose to have a dividen on the 23december 2008 but till today i did not receive any dividen from them
fergie1100
post Jan 10 2009, 03:23 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 10 2009, 02:58 PM)
Thanks, I already nervous since this is my first time in playing dividend stocks ..  . Anyway, what does it mean by nominee account and the dividend given? Got 2 account of trading? Nominee and ?  hmm.gif
Nominee & Direct CDS
Read more here
thanks to lktatmy thumbup.gif

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Jan 10 2009, 03:06 PM)
hi guys i have a problem with itradecimb, i have a share suppose to have a dividen on the 23december 2008 but till today i did not receive any dividen from them
did ya hold the share before ex-date?
cherroy
post Jan 10 2009, 03:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 10 2009, 02:58 PM)
Thanks, I already nervous since this is my first time in playing dividend stocks ..  . Anyway, what does it mean by nominee account and the dividend given? Got 2 account of trading? Nominee and ?  hmm.gif
Stock broking account got 2 type currently.

1. Direct account - You open a trading account with investment house + CDS account under your own name. So share is held directly under your own name.

2. Nominee account - You open a trading account but share is held under the investment house whereby you don't open a CDS account at all. Typically example would be share trading platform through Maybank2U etc.
tkwfriend
post Jan 10 2009, 03:35 PM

I always doubt and always something goes wrong
1,904 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Jan 10 2009, 03:23 PM)
Nominee & Direct CDS

did ya hold the share before ex-date?
the share is still with me now. even my other dividen which from other account i had already receive. i check with them they say have to wait for 2 weeks. fine. this week will be the 3rd week already

This post has been edited by tkwfriend: Jan 10 2009, 03:35 PM
Irzani
post Jan 10 2009, 05:31 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

Wuu .. I'm open an account to use CIMB ITrade, that means I'm in nominee account? According to iklatmy blog, they are going to charge for the dividends .. sweat.gif

Now you understand why so many investors complained that they are not receiving annual reports,dividends ,rights issue form etc from the investee companies.It is because the CDS account opened is a Nominee CDS account and all letters are sent to the PO's office.PO charged a service fee for handling the rights issue,dividend etc.

POs charge you a service fee for all dividends received and paper works done such as accepting rights issue or other corporate exercise that involve filling up of forms.

- Iklatmy blog-
Now, there's a third party behind and the payment will be delay and got hidden charge? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Irzani: Jan 10 2009, 05:32 PM
htt
post Jan 10 2009, 07:12 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 10 2009, 05:31 PM)
Wuu .. I'm open an account to use CIMB ITrade, that means I'm in nominee account? According to iklatmy blog, they are going to charge for the dividends ..  sweat.gif
Now, there's a third party behind and the payment will be delay and got hidden charge?  hmm.gif
Is like that one, maybank charge long long ago liao, cimb going to charge for atm card also cry.gif
ahpoh
post Jan 12 2009, 11:41 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Jan 10 2009, 07:12 PM)
Is like that one, maybank charge long long ago liao, cimb going to charge for atm card also cry.gif
not going to charge the ATM, but already start to charge. you can close the account and applt for the simple account and no charges for atm
Sh@rty 5
post Jan 13 2009, 01:13 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Benedict @ Jan 10 2009, 01:02 AM)
Hey im new here and i guess im the youngest in this thread. lol. Im only 18. I have around 5k and i would like to invest in stock market. Any suggestions on where to start? well i already started reading articles, news, stock watch 1 week ago. lol
I would like some advice to invest and how would i earn? any relevant informations? thx a lot
biggrin.gif hehe than u are wrong, i am younger..just turn 17.. been very interested in this kind of topic... bought few books about the art of invetsing and so on..

wanted to invest, but again, with my age, do u think my parents will allow me? * unless i am from a rich family *

KNM was the counter i pay most attention to... guess how pain i felt when i saw the price rising from 0.4 to 0.5 sad.gif sad.gif
whoknowz
post Jan 14 2009, 07:25 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jan 13 2009, 01:13 AM)
biggrin.gif hehe than u are wrong, i am younger..just turn 17.. been very interested in this kind of topic... bought few books about the art of invetsing and so on..

wanted to invest, but again, with my age, do u think my parents will allow me? * unless i am from a rich family *

KNM was the counter i pay most attention to... guess how pain i felt when i saw the price rising from 0.4 to 0.5 sad.gif  sad.gif
come on you see but doesnt mean you can get the price ........ heheheheehe

any how parent not the matter la !!!!! come on

im only 21 this year all the thing i pay by my self not totally all except my petrol hehehe .

i start interest while im the same age as you ........ be patient and wait .......with your age you can`t do most of the thing by your self now ....

above 18 la .... wait and study more about the thing you like .
T_flash
post Jan 14 2009, 09:03 PM

274 posts

Charge for dividend??what do you mean?? I asked my remiser if there is commission taken out of the maybank trading account, she said no
htt
post Jan 14 2009, 09:27 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Jan 14 2009, 09:03 PM)
Charge for dividend??what do you mean?? I asked my remiser if there is commission taken out of the maybank trading account, she said no
Eg. Dividend = RM10
Handling fee = (RM2)
Misc. fee = (RM3)
Net amount to you = RM5
For nominee account only.
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Jan 15 2009, 01:02 AM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

hey guys, about brokerage fee.. I m thinking OSK is charging abit too much compared to jupiter and RHB? The brokerage rate for me is 0.42%. I always do cash up front, can I negotiate with my dealer regarding upfront online trading?
whoknowz
post Jan 15 2009, 06:19 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jan 15 2009, 01:02 AM)
hey guys, about brokerage fee.. I m thinking OSK is charging abit too much compared to jupiter and RHB? The brokerage rate for me is 0.42%. I always do cash up front, can I negotiate with my dealer regarding upfront online trading?
i dont really think so cause you are dealling online .and 0.42 is the basic brokerage fee . why dont you try go for jupiter ? is totally free for registration.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/741789/+20

skiddtrader
post Jan 15 2009, 01:47 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(whoknowz @ Jan 15 2009, 01:29 PM)
sure ..... but as in a down trend of market , the old market trading method is hard for me to apply in .

i need something new such as knowing the market seriouslly deep .
example .

KNM why people play with this counter alot .
how do they determine that this cunter wont fall below Rm0.40

this is like an ocean you never know there a second wave . you though the first wave has passes but in behind there a tsunami coming to you .

for me i just wanna know how to determine the force that might hold the price ??? is the company it self or there other force ?
Correct me if im wrong .hehehe
Most people determine prices to enter by technical analysis. By looking at past trends and charts, they can roughly guess where the price would most likely attract the most interest therefore preventing it from falling further.

Another way of determining a low price is by way of fundamental analysis. If the company as a whole is worth more than RM1.00, then the share prices would never go below it.

These are the 2 basic ways of determining the "hold price" or the "bottom". But be aware that these are just guesses and estimations. No one can predict the future consistently and there will be times when the direction can totally change.

There are several online articles in Investopedia that explains these terms and a lot more.
whoknowz
post Jan 15 2009, 02:04 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Jan 15 2009, 01:47 PM)
Most people determine prices to enter by technical analysis. By looking at past trends and charts, they can roughly guess where the price would most likely attract the most interest therefore preventing it from falling further.

Another way of determining a low price is by way of fundamental analysis. If the company as a whole is worth more than RM1.00, then the share prices would never go below it.

These are the 2 basic ways of determining the "hold price" or the "bottom". But be aware that these are just guesses and estimations. No one can predict the future consistently and there will be times when the direction can totally change.

There are several online articles in Investopedia that explains these terms and a lot more.
okay.........

so can i be able to research on how the company work on thier share market and get to know what is the force to hold up our stock ??
skiddtrader
post Jan 15 2009, 02:09 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(whoknowz @ Jan 15 2009, 02:04 PM)
okay.........

so can i be able to research on how the company work on thier share market and get to know what is the force to hold up our stock ??
I don't understand your first question, but to answer your 2nd one, 'force' that hold up a stock is normally the buying interest of the public and investors which also include the company itself.

cherroy
post Jan 15 2009, 02:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(whoknowz @ Jan 15 2009, 02:04 PM)
okay.........

No, market is unpredictable, there are plenty of reason why people want to buy a share or the share, from technical and fundamental, people tips/recommendation, even people are 'fall in love' with particular stock because of previous good experience etc or simply syiok its name also can. Haha.

Whether the stock can hold on a price or not depend solely on market force ie. supply (seller) and demand (buyer).

Technical analysis evolved from pattern of trade which predicted there are plenty of people want to buy (support level), and resistance level (which more people tends to sell) from the historical data, etc, and its variance.

Fundamental analysis is based on how one value the company in term of company can generate return rate to the shareholders.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 15 2009, 02:15 PM
whoknowz
post Jan 15 2009, 02:25 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 15 2009, 02:14 PM)
No, market is unpredictable, there are plenty of reason why people want to buy a share or the share, from technical and fundamental, people tips/recommendation, even people are 'fall in love' with particular stock because of previous good experience etc or simply syiok its name also can. Haha.

Whether the stock can hold on a price or not depend solely on market force ie. supply (seller) and demand (buyer).

Technical analysis evolved from pattern of trade which predicted there are plenty of people want to buy (support level), and resistance level (which more people tends to sell) from the historical data, etc, and its variance.

Fundamental analysis is based on how one value the company in term of company can generate return rate to the shareholders.
ooooo. that menan i just asking how to predict the future izzit ???

hehehe sorry for asking noob quest hehehe .........

189 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:38 AM