189 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

eltaria
post Dec 9 2008, 06:09 PM

GO GO GO
1,040 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Dec 9 2008, 05:13 PM)
There are no formula for you to make sure you can gain in every trade you do  doh.gif..
If your investment can give you good returns it is advisable do not switch to other as it may be an bad apple ... Frequent trading will kill your wealth unless you are a very experience good trader.....
Yes those RM 60, RM 30 losses adds up real quick~!

darkknight81
post Dec 9 2008, 07:55 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Dec 9 2008, 06:53 PM)
Actually people with all the knowledge from the book might loss all when they come to reality world.
Prudent investor try locate underestimate company and grow with them.
Aggressive investor try to trade and earn the difference.
Moderate one do both.
I just a bit curious about you now, because you just look like myself during my u days.
Mind me to offer you some advice, though that might not be useful at all tongue.gif
Keep the money and do some paper trading instead, you might not earn anything but experience, but the bottom line is: you won't loss anything except your own time.
Trading is similar to gambling sometime, and that's highly addictive, too.
Always trade with cool head, if what you want is to get very rich very fast, I can tell you only a few on the earth can do it (perhaps you are one of them, I reserve my opinion on that).
Good luck on your trade and may god bless you. rclxms.gif
Yup trading is fun indeed . By looking at one counter go down 70% and climb 50 % the next few days might be very intriguing. Some ppl take trading as their hobby and it is different story... But for those who take trading to earn quick money and take it seriously, i would say the dooms day for their wealth is coming soon. Thats y so many ppl hate stock and said stock market is a very risky type of game.
alfredfx
post Dec 10 2008, 01:21 AM

715 posts

you need killer instinct to become a trader. nuff said.
Irzani
post Dec 10 2008, 08:49 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

My ex-date dividend date is today .. so, when can I start sell the stock again? hmm.gif

EX-date : 10/12/2008
Entitlement date : 12/12/2008
Entitlement time : 05:00:00 PM

P/s: First timer play dividend .. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Irzani: Dec 10 2008, 09:02 AM
illidanleong
post Dec 10 2008, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(htt @ Dec 9 2008, 05:53 PM)
Actually people with all the knowledge from the book might loss all when they come to reality world.
Prudent investor try locate underestimate company and grow with them.
Aggressive investor try to trade and earn the difference.
Moderate one do both.
I just a bit curious about you now, because you just look like myself during my u days.
Mind me to offer you some advice, though that might not be useful at all tongue.gif
Keep the money and do some paper trading instead, you might not earn anything but experience, but the bottom line is: you won't loss anything except your own time.
Trading is similar to gambling sometime, and that's highly addictive, too.
Always trade with cool head, if what you want is to get very rich very fast, I can tell you only a few on the earth can do it (perhaps you are one of them, I reserve my opinion on that).
Good luck on your trade and may god bless you. rclxms.gif
hahaha. thanks for the comment.

btw, u have any warren buffett books to recommend?

i want the best art of his. any idea which 1?

i am willing to read. haha

thanks...

htt
post Dec 10 2008, 09:22 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(illidanleong @ Dec 10 2008, 09:00 AM)

thanks...
I read some of his book but can't recall the name anymore, loan from library one... biggrin.gif
Maybe you want to read the rich dad poor dad series, also quite good, but please don't believe in him unreservedly, he can be wrong too tongue.gif
aoisky
post Dec 10 2008, 10:07 AM

1,203 posts

QUOTE(illidanleong @ Dec 10 2008, 09:00 AM)

thanks...
not warren buffett only expert in stock trading (I mean can refer other financial related book oso).
read his book cant guarantee u success la lots of ppl did so reading his book yet still .....

if u willing to read, y dont u spare some time read through this stock exchange trade leh there are lots of useful tips here
no offense just my 2 cents.
illidanleong
post Dec 10 2008, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(htt @ Dec 10 2008, 09:22 AM)
I read some of his book but can't recall the name anymore, loan from library one... biggrin.gif
Maybe you want to read the rich dad poor dad series, also quite good, but please don't believe in him unreservedly, he can be wrong too tongue.gif
hahaha. i just read to get more theoretical experience. might have to modify it to my style to suit malaysian investment series.

Added on December 10, 2008, 10:21 am
QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 10 2008, 10:07 AM)
not warren buffett only expert in stock trading (I mean can refer other financial related book oso).
read his book cant guarantee u success la lots of ppl did so  reading his book yet still .....

if u willing to read, y dont u spare some time read through this stock exchange trade leh there are lots of useful tips here
no offense just my 2 cents.
i read some already. now reading more soon...

This post has been edited by illidanleong: Dec 10 2008, 10:21 AM
xuzen
post Dec 10 2008, 12:54 PM

4,436 posts

I have a newbie question:

In the Star newspaper under the Stock listing Div Yield.

I am intrigue to know whether it the DY is quoted as per annum or per rolling 4Q?

I mean if it is stated DIGI 10.1%, does it mean that the DY is for the period 1 Jan 2007 - 31 Dec 2007 or is it for rolling 4 quarters?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 10 2008, 12:54 PM
htt
post Dec 10 2008, 01:08 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 10 2008, 12:54 PM)
I have a newbie question:

In the Star newspaper under the Stock listing Div Yield.

I am intrigue to know whether it the DY is quoted as per annum or per rolling 4Q?

I mean if it is stated DIGI 10.1%, does it mean that the DY is for the period 1 Jan 2007 - 31 Dec 2007 or is it for rolling 4 quarters?

Xuzen
Normally annual term. Rolling 4Q not so consistent. My 2 cents only.
Irzani
post Dec 11 2008, 03:11 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

Since this is beginner topic .. sometimes, I've been wondered something like this ....

Price right now : 1.02

Buy :

1) 1.00 - 10
2) 0.99 - 10
3) 0.98 - 10

Sell :

1) 1.03 - 10
2) 1.04 - 10
3) 1.05 - 10

what will be happen if :

Some crazy rich people put 1 million

1) 10000 lot at 0.80 for buy .
2) 10000 lot at 1.10 for sell.

Is there any effect? hmm.gif .

This post has been edited by Irzani: Dec 11 2008, 03:18 AM
cherroy
post Dec 11 2008, 10:11 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 11 2008, 03:11 AM)

Some crazy rich people put 1 million

1) 10000 lot at 0.80  for buy .
2) 10000 lot at 1.10 for sell.
Is there any effect?  hmm.gif .
None.
fergie1100
post Dec 11 2008, 10:21 AM

1,345 posts

Buy :

1) 1.00 - 10
2) 0.99 - 10
3) 0.98 - 10
#)0.80 - 10000

Sell :

1) 1.03 - 10
2) 1.04 - 10
3) 1.05 - 10
#)1.10 - 10000

simplesmile
post Dec 11 2008, 01:32 PM

2,991 posts

Will dividends be paid by sending cheques to my address? Or by crediting my CDS/Trust account with the stock broker?
mo_meng
post Dec 11 2008, 01:48 PM

2,646 posts

Interim Tax Exempt Dividend of 6 Sen per share of RM0.20 each
can anyone explain wat this mean
simplesmile
post Dec 11 2008, 02:06 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 11 2008, 01:48 PM)
I'm guessing it means you get 6 sen for every share you own.
If you have 1 lot, then you get 6 sen x 100 shares = RM6
xuzen
post Dec 11 2008, 03:56 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 11 2008, 01:32 PM)
Will dividends be paid by sending cheques to my address? Or by crediting my CDS/Trust account with the stock broker?
Cheques are sent to your correspondence address. Make sure you update your address regularly with your broker.

Xuzen
htt
post Dec 11 2008, 08:42 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 11 2008, 01:48 PM)
That's dividend company pay in the middle of their financial year (1Q, 2Q or 3Q, can be anytime during the year also). No approval from shareholder required. Tax exempted mean they exercised some of their balance on Section 44, dividend will not be tax on the hand of receiver. tongue.gif 6 sen per share mean 1000 share get RM60.
mo_meng
post Dec 12 2008, 10:43 AM

2,646 posts

yeah understand that but wat of RM0.20 each mean
dEviLs
post Dec 12 2008, 12:39 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 12 2008, 10:43 AM)
yeah understand that but wat of RM0.20 each mean
RM0.20 is the par value of the stock