cherroy
post Nov 12 2008, 05:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wyyew @ Nov 12 2008, 04:59 PM)
hi, newbie here , if I go to osk open trading account will it automatically open up the cds account nominee type?? or they will give me to choose whether a nominee type or direct type.

thank u.
OSK normally deal with direct account.
Better ask properly about it.

Irzani
post Nov 14 2008, 02:57 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

Nowadays I just realised some investors are only rely on the dividend counter as their income, my question is, does it mean for every quarter there will be a dividend? or it only paid once per year? Assume that this is a good counter like TM, or Digi or Maybank or whatever it is .. hmm.gif . How the dividend distributed? 3 month? 6 month? or more than a year?
htt
post Nov 14 2008, 03:12 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 14 2008, 02:57 PM)
Nowadays I just realised some investors are only rely on the dividend counter as their income, my question is, does it mean for every quarter there will be a dividend? or it only paid once per year? Assume that this is a good counter like TM, or Digi or Maybank or whatever it is ..  hmm.gif . How the dividend distributed? 3 month? 6 month? or more than a year?
The answer will be as good as the question. tongue.gif
It all down to management of the company. Some give quarterly, some half yearly and some yearly. Unless stated in their dividend policy, else board of director is free to declare or change dividend distribution in the company's benefit (except final dividend which required to be voted pass during AGM).
Irzani
post Nov 14 2008, 03:28 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Nov 14 2008, 03:12 PM)
The answer will be as good as the question. tongue.gif 
It all down to management of the company. Some give quarterly, some half yearly and some yearly. Unless stated in their dividend policy, else board of director is free to declare or change dividend distribution in the company's benefit (except final dividend which required to be voted pass during AGM).
So, whenever there's a news like "Quarterly rpt on consolidated results for the financial period ended xx/x/2008" and it stated "Proposed/Declared dividend per share (sen) - "Rm xx.xx", does it mean the investor will receive money for that quarter? Is it possible to get dividend for 4 times a year?
cherroy
post Nov 14 2008, 03:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 14 2008, 03:28 PM)
So, whenever there's a news like "Quarterly rpt on consolidated results for the financial period ended xx/x/2008" and it stated "Proposed/Declared dividend per share (sen) - "Rm xx.xx", does it mean the investor will receive money for that quarter? Is it possible to get dividend for 4 times a year?
Yes, if they proposed it.

Normally and majority opt for 2 times per financial year, one interim one final.
Only a few give quarterly.
Irzani
post Nov 14 2008, 03:42 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2008, 03:32 PM)
Yes, if they proposed it.

Normally and majority opt for 2 times per financial year, one interim one final.
Only a few give quarterly.
Owh, 2 times only .. I thought every quarter .. whistling.gif

Look like next time I should consider to play dividend counter if so lazy to monitor the price or choosing a good counter for short term ..

TQ for the info notworthy.gif
fergie1100
post Nov 14 2008, 03:53 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 14 2008, 03:28 PM)
BJTOTO would be the best counter wic never late in giving div quarterly thumbup.gif
htt
post Nov 14 2008, 04:19 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Nov 14 2008, 03:53 PM)
BJTOTO would be the best counter wic never late in giving div quarterly  thumbup.gif
Magnum also, until someone announce takeover then never give for almost a year vmad.gif But now all become history...
Vivato
post Nov 14 2008, 05:34 PM

182 posts

ok, i'm noob with this dividend stuff.

how long do we need to hold the shares to be eligible for dividend payment?

cherroy
post Nov 14 2008, 05:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Vivato @ Nov 14 2008, 05:34 PM)
ok, i'm noob with this dividend stuff.

how long do we need to hold the shares to be eligible for dividend payment?
As long as you have the share before ex-date of the dividend, then you are entitled for it. Be it buy just before the ex-date or 3 months ago.
Vivato
post Nov 14 2008, 06:01 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2008, 05:44 PM)
As long as you have the share before ex-date of the dividend, then you are entitled for it. Be it buy just before the ex-date or 3 months ago.
thank you smile.gif
simplesmile
post Nov 14 2008, 07:32 PM

2,991 posts

How to see if a share is ex-div or cum-div?
When share is cum-div, is it cum-div for last 1 year, or last quarter?

This post has been edited by simplesmile: Nov 14 2008, 07:32 PM
Irzani
post Nov 14 2008, 08:19 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 14 2008, 05:44 PM)
3 months? hmm.gif

Okies, how about this example :

EX-date : 26/11/2008 
Entitlement date : 28/11/2008 
Entitlement time : 05:00:00 PM 
Entitlement subject : Others
Entitlement description : Share split involving the subdivision of each of the ordinary shares of RM1.00 each in Formosa Prosonic Industries Berhad (“FPIB”) held after the bonus issue into 2 ordinary shares of RM0.50 each in FPIB (“Subdivided Shares”)

Payment date  : 
a. Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before 4:00 pm in respect of transfers
: 28/11/2008
b. Securities deposited into the Depositor's Securities Account before 12:30 pm in respect of securities exempted from mandatory deposit

c. Securities bought on the Exchange on a cum entitlement basis according to the Rules of the Exchange.

Number of new shares/securities issued (units) (If applicable)

Entitlement indicator : Ratio
Ratio  : 2 : 1 
Rights Issues/Offer Price  :

Remarks :
In accordance with the Listing Requirements of Bursa Malaysia Securities Berhad, the date of listing of and quotation for the Subdivided Shares will be on 1 December 2008, being the next market day after the entitlement date.

FPIB’s Registrar will issue and despatch notices of allotment to the entitled shareholders by 5 December 2008.
Can you give a little summary about this and how to read it?

P/s: Noob here ..

This post has been edited by Irzani: Nov 14 2008, 09:25 PM
htt
post Nov 14 2008, 11:05 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 14 2008, 08:19 PM)
3 months?  hmm.gif

Okies, how about this example :
Can you give a little summary about this and how to read it?

P/s: Noob here ..
Means if you hold through 28/11/08 (sell after the date), you will entitle for the split share (1 share become 2 share, your ordinary share remains and they will issue you with another share, but the PAR value halved). You can sell your share immediately after the ex-date (only the ordinary one, split one need to wait a bit to be safe.

Example:
ordinary holding: 1,000 share of RM1.00 PAR value.
on 29/11/08
ordinary holding become 1,000 share of RM0.50 PAR value
+ split share of 1,000 share of RM0.50 PAR value

Hope I make it clear. tongue.gif
Please correct me if I am wrong. biggrin.gif
Irzani
post Nov 14 2008, 11:13 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Nov 14 2008, 11:05 PM)
Means if you hold through 28/11/08 (sell after the date), you will entitle for the split share (1 share become 2 share, your ordinary share remains and they will issue you with another share, but the PAR value halved). You can sell your share immediately after the ex-date (only the ordinary one, split one need to wait a bit to be safe.

Example:
ordinary holding: 1,000 share of RM1.00 PAR value.
on 29/11/08
ordinary holding become 1,000 share of RM0.50 PAR value
+ split share of 1,000 share of RM0.50 PAR value

Hope I make it clear. tongue.gif
Please correct me if I am wrong. biggrin.gif
So, if 1 shares split into two. Isn't that it's still the same value in price?

Example:

1 lot= 1000 shares = Rm 1

After entitlement :

Split 1 share to become two share but par value half : 2 shares : (1000+1000) = 2000 share = Rm 1

Like that? Or I'm too noob here .. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Irzani: Nov 14 2008, 11:16 PM
htt
post Nov 14 2008, 11:23 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 14 2008, 11:13 PM)
So, if 1 shares split into two. Isn't that it's still the same value in price?

Example:

1 lot= 1000 shares = Rm 1

After entitlement :

Split 1 share to become two share but par value half : 2 shares : (1000+1000) = 2000 share = Rm 1

Like that? Or I'm too noob here .. tongue.gif
If the immediate closing price is RM1.00
ideally should become 2,000 x RM0.50 = RM1,000.
but normally got a bit premium after split, maybe like:
2,000 x RM0.55 = RM1,100.

Example only. Sometime no premium also, depends on market and the company's fundamental.
Don't hold me for responsibility if the market go the other way round tongue.gif

Par value wise:
1,000 share RM1.00 par value => 2,000 share RM0.50 par value (this one definitely like that, how much is the par value depends on how they split the share).
Irzani
post Nov 14 2008, 11:25 PM

2,972 posts

Owh, the important one is the premium, if no premium, there's no profit right? nod.gif
htt
post Nov 14 2008, 11:28 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 14 2008, 11:25 PM)
Owh, the important one is the premium, if no premium, there's no profit right? nod.gif
Spot on. rclxms.gif
Irzani
post Nov 15 2008, 08:00 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(LalaMui @ Nov 15 2008, 03:52 AM)
Gucci... singaporean underage... well... everything else is history.

i carry more than $20k to bank-in every monday in plastic bag. once ive ever carry bout $70k oso in plastic bag oni.
Woo .. tq, now I already understand about entitlement notice of split shares, next time will be divident reading for newbies ... tongue.gif~
trainee06
post Nov 15 2008, 09:52 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 12 2008, 05:01 PM)
OSK normally deal with direct account.
Better ask properly about it.
Good morning everyone, seems like some have question about direct/noms CDS during opening of trading account.

So, i try to shares my knowledge about trading account opening with you all. Do correct me if i wrong and miss out anything.

Let's start will type of retail trading account for individual.
basically they are two type of account which is Direct and Securitised.
So when you open your trading account you have to choose either Direct and Securitised.

Direct account will have his name in the CDS account and Securitised will have the Noms account pledged security for XXX.

So let see the different between this two account.
For direct account, actually your trading limit is against Remisier Security Deposit which mean even your trading limit is RM500k but your Remisier trading limitis only RM300k, you can only can buy up to RM300k.

The basic calculation for Remisier trading limit:
[(Remisier deposit) - losses (all clients)] x X (multiplier, e.g. 10 times (vary by different PO) = Y
Y will have to minus o/s purchase (all clients) = available limit of the day (share by all his clients).

Therefore, direct account trading limit will have to depends on your Remisier limit.

Securitised account using noms cds is because. your trading limit is against your collateral.
Therefore, your purchase will not included in the Remisier available limit. Your trading limit is solely based on what you have in your account, i.e. shares and trust (cash in your trading account).

Why using noms is because PO can force sell your shares if your didn't pay your losses where else Direct they cannot simply force sell your shares to cover losses.

some PO have the "direct" securitised which you can use your own name in your CDS but you have to sign letter indemnity where if you incur losses, they have the rights to force sell your shares to settled the losses. [Pros is you can apply IPO because you are using your own name in CDS instead of Noms]

You don't have any limit if you don't have any collateral in your securitised account even approved limit i.e. RM200k.

Therefore, choose the account yourself instead let your remisier choose for you. Some tricky remisier will help you open the securitised so will not "eat" his trading limit because either his clients losses is so hugh until he no longer have limit or his security deposit is limited to shares among his clients.

hope this will help biggrin.gif

189 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:29 AM