Q&A, General question on stock market

keelim
post Sep 18 2008, 09:15 AM

941 posts

Difference between Direct and Nominee CDS account

Guys there is a summary of the difference between Nominee and Direct CDS account on the link.

Courtesy: Iklatmy
sueway
post Oct 21 2008, 02:22 PM

205 posts

noob here, please correct me if the following definition is wrong, thanks in advance

volume = lot traded = 100 shares
odd lot = less than 100 shares
cherroy
post Oct 21 2008, 02:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sueway @ Oct 21 2008, 02:22 PM)
noob here, please correct me if the following definition is wrong, thanks in advance

volume = lot traded = 100 shares
odd lot = less than 100 shares
Yes.
hackwire
post Oct 23 2008, 09:35 AM

4,256 posts

Any trading house in Subang Jaya?
mycrystalhouse
post Oct 27 2008, 02:45 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Jan 10 2008, 11:56 PM)
"still a student"

if ur still a student my personal opinion is stick to your studies no offence...

share trading can be time consuming and tedious, if ur new try and read and gain more knowledge first dont jump immediately into trading. No point suggesting any counters, because if anyone says that that XYZ company counter is very good andyou will make tonnes of money from it I will say he/she is a lier.

Buying stock is a very subjective matter, it all depends on u reading the materials in the market and doing homework first before u rush in to the market and get slaughtered.

On the other hand, hope is not that bleak for u I suggest u start a unit trust account it works great in a bull market and steadier returns.
Sorry if offended, but i strongly disagree with what you say. Malaysian used to think that students should just focus on their study but this type of thinking is outdated. many teenagers with the same age like us in other countries have started to invest since they are in high school. It doesnt need u to be more than 23 years old to start investing. If you start right now, you will be a big step ahead of other teenagers who are still spending most of their time playing games and watching porn.

I think it is a wise decision to put RM 2k as your first shot. Actually now the min brokerage fee is RM 12, not RM 40 as what someone mentioned earlier. I am using OSK online trading and the min brokerage fee has been changed back to RM 12.

My advice to you is to learn more about stock market, pick a company and let invest in it for long term. Now we are currently in economic downturn and this is a good opportunity for you to grab up cheap stocks.

Last thing to share with you. Do you know how old Warren Buffet started investing in stock market? It is 11 years old. ( Primary 5 for Malaysian).

All the best for you.
kingkong81
post Oct 27 2008, 07:03 PM

1,351 posts

May I ask...

How do we know what is the support level for a particular stocks?

For example, some hv suggested that IOICORP strong support level is at 2.00 - 2.20, while intermediate support is at 2.50 - 2.70...

Any tools? Charts? or any source that we can refer to?
And how do we define the support level?

SUSKinitos
post Oct 27 2008, 10:03 PM

572 posts

It's the point where the price temporary/permanently change direction.
In AIRASIA case around 80sen

OR

at the level where the price is likely to bounce off/remains
e.g RESORT 2.50, this support level have since been broken.

Fortune tellers might want to offer some magic numbers here.

TA will dig further back in time to find where was the last lower low.

Investment trainers will teach you things like Fibonacci retracement levels or
to some extents Candlesticks Bullish Reversal patterns.

georgechang79
post Oct 28 2008, 12:06 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(Kinitos @ Oct 27 2008, 10:03 PM)
It's the point where the price temporary/permanently change direction.
In AIRASIA case around 80sen

OR

at the level where the price is likely to bounce off/remains
e.g RESORT 2.50, this support level have since been broken.

Fortune tellers might want to offer some magic numbers here.

TA will dig further back in time to find where was the last lower low.

Investment trainers will teach you things like Fibonacci retracement levels or
to some extents Candlesticks Bullish Reversal patterns.
Kinitos,

I find that some charts responds to Fibonacci more while others are more based on past support/resistance level.

There is no right or wrong way to interpret the best target price to enter. So i always put a safety factor of -10% to -15% to the magic number. hmm.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by georgechang79: Oct 28 2008, 12:07 AM
tkwfriend
post Nov 1 2008, 09:05 AM

I always doubt and always something goes wrong
1,904 posts

hi guys, this topic will be sharing all your knowladge about

Term fo the stock (Ex,cw....)

Brokerage calculation adding stam fee and otheres.

then way of calculating dividen.

if you know about technical chart, please sahre also

Firstly i would like to know some inforation about

how to calculate brokerage.

for example

i am using cimb online the rate is rm28. what does it mean by 0.420%?

i bought 1x100 @ RM4.8. so the total is RM509.15. how do they calcuate?

Second is what is capital repayment, after capital repayment is it the share par value will go down. for example RM1 to RM0.3?
panasonic88
post Nov 1 2008, 09:10 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Nov 1 2008, 09:05 AM)

Firstly i would like to know some inforation about

how to calculate brokerage.

for example

i am using cimb online the rate is rm28. what does it mean by 0.420%?

i bought 1x100 @ RM4.8. so the total is RM509.15. how do they calcuate?
Share: RM480.00
Brokerage: RM28.00
Clearing Fees: RM0.14
Stamp Duty: RM1.00
Net Amount: RM 509.14
tkwfriend
post Nov 1 2008, 09:14 AM

I always doubt and always something goes wrong
1,904 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 1 2008, 09:10 AM)
Share: RM480.00
Brokerage: RM28.00
Clearing Fees: RM0.14
Stamp Duty: RM1.00
Net Amount: RM 509.14
and what does it mean by 0.420% ?
cherroy
post Nov 1 2008, 09:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Nov 1 2008, 09:14 AM)
and what does it mean by 0.420%  ?
The 0.42% brokerage fee won't have any effect on your transaction because, it is still below the Rm28 min brokerage rate.

Total worth of share x 0.42% = brokerage fee

if it is
48,000 x 0.42% = 201.6, so you brokerage fee is 201.6

4,800 x 0.42% =20.16, it is below min of 28, so Rm 28 is being used.

Added on November 1, 2008, 9:51 amCapital repayment is work like some sort, you give me Rm1.00 but company doesn't utilise the money and decide to return back the money to the shareholders.
So eg. you invest in a share the par value is Rm1.00, but company decided to give back the extra money, let say Rm0.50, so par value will become Rm0.50 and you will be given a cash cheque of Rm0.50.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 1 2008, 09:51 AM
Kamen Rider
post Nov 1 2008, 09:58 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 1 2008, 09:49 AM)
The 0.42% brokerage fee won't have any effect on your transaction because, it is still below the Rm28 min brokerage rate.

Total worth of share x 0.42% = brokerage fee

if it is
48,000 x 0.42% = 201.6, so you brokerage fee is 201.6

4,800 x 0.42% =20.16, it is below min of 28, so Rm 28 is being used.

Added on November 1, 2008, 9:51 amCapital repayment is work like some sort, you give me Rm1.00 but company doesn't utilise the money and decide to return back the money to the shareholders.
So eg. you invest in a share the par value is Rm1.00, but company decided to give back the extra money, let say Rm0.50, so par value will become Rm0.50 and you will be given a cash cheque of Rm0.50.
I tot today minimum RM40....

BTW, student or non student, this depend how the person think, as investment required

a. Exposure to experience either in bull / bear or sideway
b. Need at least knowledge on how to evaluate company financials and its business
c. Need to know some stock market terms PE, ROE, ROI, EPS, ROA etc
d. If you are TA then you need to know what are Elliot Wave, MACD, RSI, Candle Charts terminologies etc
e. Be alert and aware that every of us are part of economy
f. To be able to understand between trading / investment

cherroy
post Nov 1 2008, 10:01 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 1 2008, 09:58 AM)
I tot today minimum RM40....

Phone min Rm40
Online min Rm28
Nominee account, min varies from Rm28 to Rm8.88.
r-u-red-enuf
post Nov 1 2008, 11:37 AM

182 posts

Hi guys, i some questions, once a company issued new shares to shareholders, i)may i know those new shares come from where? ii)is there any limited for for issued new shares ? iii)and what the differences between bonus shares and rights shares, preference shares and ordinary shares ?? iv) is it ordinary shares means market price which is par values ??

This post has been edited by r-u-red-enuf: Nov 1 2008, 11:42 AM
freedomlonely
post Nov 5 2008, 01:50 PM

24 posts

Hi, me again, I know that lowyat gt many pro and sifu at here? As we know that Warren Buffet can become world richest man is not because

he is pro in trading in stock market.... because he believes the power of compound percentage rate for his investment toward the stock that he buy...

He know hw to calculate and estimate the price and P/E of the stock he buy after 10 years,

any pro know hw to calculate and estimate the price and P/E for stock at future?

cherroy
post Nov 5 2008, 03:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(freedomlonely @ Nov 5 2008, 01:50 PM)
Hi, me again, I know that lowyat gt many pro and sifu at here? As we know that Warren Buffet can become world richest man is not because

he is pro in trading in stock market.... because he believes the power of compound percentage rate for his investment toward the stock that he buy...

He know hw to calculate and estimate the price and P/E of the stock he buy after 10 years,

any pro know hw to calculate and estimate the price and P/E for stock at future?
It is not he knew how to calculate, but he knew those company profit is going to rise because of the strong fundamental of company future.

Future PE is depended on future earning/profit.
aurora97
post Nov 5 2008, 05:32 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(mycrystalhouse @ Oct 27 2008, 02:45 PM)
Sorry if offended, but i strongly disagree with what you say. Malaysian used to think that students should just focus on their study but this type of thinking is outdated. many teenagers with the same age like us in other countries have started to invest since they are in high school. It doesnt need u to be more than 23 years old to start investing. If you start right now, you will be a big step ahead of other teenagers who are still spending most of their time playing games and watching porn.

I think it is a wise decision to put RM 2k as your first shot. Actually now the min brokerage fee is RM 12, not RM 40 as what someone mentioned earlier. I am using OSK online trading and the min brokerage fee has been changed back to RM 12.

My advice to you is to learn more about stock market, pick a company and let invest in it for long term. Now we are currently in economic  downturn and this is a good opportunity for you to grab up cheap stocks.

Last thing to share with you. Do you know how old Warren Buffet started investing in stock market? It is 11 years old. ( Primary 5 for Malaysian).

All the best for you.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, so what u propose may or may not be wrong because its ur money and u call the shot.

Of course, if u do call the shots u must also be willing to bear the consequences of your action.

I work in a Legal Dept (formerly from a futures broker) for an Investment Bank, need i tell u how many bankruptcy cases i see in a day involving those age 30 and below?

It's a sad fact being bankrupted at such a young age when the person has such bright future in front of them.

Alot of us see the "profits" shares and futures trading can bring to us, but they neglected to do proper risk management before they start pouncing right into it.

The trade beyond their safety net.

Our bank charges an interest of 11% + penalty of 2.5% (not exact figures but close) , this is special interest for defaulters.

you do the math.

This post has been edited by aurora97: Nov 5 2008, 10:20 PM
darkknight81
post Nov 5 2008, 10:18 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 5 2008, 04:13 PM)
It is not he knew how to calculate, but he knew those company profit is going to rise because of the strong fundamental of company future.

Future PE is depended on future earning/profit.
Yup totally agree with Cherroy. Counting a company profit is very simple. PPl who can really make money like some Uncle lim for example is their ability to see the futures...This is the key that make them rich....Not everyone have this type of ability.
boost868
post Nov 6 2008, 12:56 AM

Hi All Sifu icon_question.gif ,

I stay in JB. How much do I need to open a Nominee or Direct CDS account? Where can I open this account? Thanks

189 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:46 AM