wanna ask any broker firm does not need pay slip to open a cds account? does osk need? coz i am stil a student, wanna invest into stock market
Q&A, General question on stock market
Nov 3 2009, 09:44 PM
119 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
wanna ask any broker firm does not need pay slip to open a cds account? does osk need? coz i am stil a student, wanna invest into stock market
Nov 4 2009, 01:13 PM
126 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Nov 3 2009, 10:06 AM) Any one can teach me on this: Counters suspended might due to a lots of reason just to name a few like : How come some stocks counters are suspended? What do those s[x], s[c] and s mean? http://www.shareinvestor.com.my/prices.pl?...w=1&index=200.X Thanks thanks! - having important announcement comming out - merger or acquisition with or of another counters - somethings wrong with the counter's price movmeent and activity or business financial problem (determine by Bursa) - limit up (price up way too much) - limit down (price down way too much) |
Nov 5 2009, 09:57 PM
119 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
i am a student,i use my own money to trade, if i bank in rm5000 to my trading acount, i buy 1000 share at RM5 , if the price drop till RM 4.8, do i need to pay the loss to my broker firm after T+3?
This post has been edited by changccs: Nov 5 2009, 09:57 PM |
Nov 5 2009, 10:28 PM
7,960 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(changccs @ Nov 5 2009, 09:57 PM) i am a student,i use my own money to trade, if i bank in rm5000 to my trading acount, i buy 1000 share at RM5 , if the price drop till RM 4.8, do i need to pay the loss to my broker firm after T+3? There are 2 scenarios:If you buy and sell within T+3 and sell at a loss then yes, you have to pay the difference in price. This is also known as Contra. If you buy and settle the payment in Full Latest by T+3 then u dont have pay for the loss if it drops. That is because you already owned the 1000 shares. It can drop to 0.00 and you dont have to fork out extra money.. btw, with rm5000 i dun think u can buy 1000 of RM5 shares because of Brokerage + stamp duty + clearance fee.. have fun trading This post has been edited by mopster: Nov 5 2009, 10:29 PM |
Nov 5 2009, 11:10 PM
4,458 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(mwchong @ Nov 4 2009, 01:13 PM) Counters suspended might due to a lots of reason just to name a few like : Thanks for your detailed reply!- having important announcement comming out - merger or acquisition with or of another counters - somethings wrong with the counter's price movmeent and activity or business financial problem (determine by Bursa) - limit up (price up way too much) - limit down (price down way too much) |
Nov 5 2009, 11:11 PM
2,211 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(mopster @ Nov 5 2009, 10:28 PM) There are 2 scenarios: I think the question had being answered rightly here.If you buy and sell within T+3 and sell at a loss then yes, you have to pay the difference in price. This is also known as Contra. If you buy and settle the payment in Full Latest by T+3 then u dont have pay for the loss if it drops. That is because you already owned the 1000 shares. It can drop to 0.00 and you dont have to fork out extra money.. btw, with rm5000 i dun think u can buy 1000 of RM5 shares because of Brokerage + stamp duty + clearance fee.. have fun trading Just another advice... Please also learn on money management. you can read a lot of books on this. |
Nov 5 2009, 11:24 PM
64 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang |
Another noob here.
Is there a book or link that explains how Stocks / Forex / Funds ( Unit Trusts) for dummies ?? Thanks all the sifus |
Nov 6 2009, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Bakmoi @ Nov 5 2009, 11:24 PM) Another noob here. Oh ! You could read as much as u 1 2. Plenty of it in book store and also not cheap. Is there a book or link that explains how Stocks / Forex / Funds ( Unit Trusts) for dummies ?? Thanks all the sifus Another alternative to save some money will be internet or going to the library to borrow it. There is a library inside bursa malaysia building that offers lots of book. If u r free to go. |
Nov 7 2009, 12:59 AM
34 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
a nooby question but hopefully someone can clarify my noobness.
i have bought weida 2 days before the ex-date for the 4 cents dividend at 0.770. The closing before the ex-date was 0.760, and the next day open was reffered to 0.72cents due to the ex-date. is that all the dividend annouced will affect the price in that way? then what's the share holder wil get if they have the dividend but the share price cuts accordingly with the dividend? somemore the 4 cents is less tax, meaning we will received around 3 cents after the tx but the share price beng lowered down for 4 cents? i am a bit confused here, a noob question but i really need advice. thank you in advance! This post has been edited by AvenJ: Nov 7 2009, 01:01 AM |
Nov 7 2009, 09:06 AM
4,305 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(AvenJ @ Nov 7 2009, 12:59 AM) a nooby question but hopefully someone can clarify my noobness. For the case, they will deduct 4 cents, to make the thing easier for implementation.i have bought weida 2 days before the ex-date for the 4 cents dividend at 0.770. The closing before the ex-date was 0.760, and the next day open was reffered to 0.72cents due to the ex-date. is that all the dividend annouced will affect the price in that way? then what's the share holder wil get if they have the dividend but the share price cuts accordingly with the dividend? somemore the 4 cents is less tax, meaning we will received around 3 cents after the tx but the share price beng lowered down for 4 cents? i am a bit confused here, a noob question but i really need advice. thank you in advance! Also the 25% tax can be claim back in accordance to the highest tax bracket you are in (even company also can claim back part of it, just different way only). And sadly, yes. When we move into one-tier tax system, you will no longer see the tax there (not because government reduce the tax, but they tax the 25% upfront and you just not allow to claim back anything |
Nov 7 2009, 10:29 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(AvenJ @ Nov 7 2009, 12:59 AM) is that all the dividend annouced will affect the price in that way? Yes, it is same across the world bourses.then what's the share holder wil get if they have the dividend but the share price cuts accordingly with the dividend? somemore the 4 cents is less tax, meaning we will received around 3 cents after the tx but the share price beng lowered down for 4 cents? i am a bit confused here, a noob question but i really need advice. thank you in advance! Short term wise, yes you get nothing. But look longer term, share price won't be going down because of the ex-price issue, if the company still able to generate profit and dividend as same degree, share price will go back up. Share price is one thing, money (dividend) goes into your pocker is another thing. |
Nov 7 2009, 10:38 AM
3,037 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(AvenJ @ Nov 7 2009, 12:59 AM) a nooby question but hopefully someone can clarify my noobness. One thing you must know about dividends. Whenever a counter passes ex-date, the share price will be adjusted. A pure dividend counter price will appreciate according to the dividend announced. If the dividend announced is more than usual, it will appreciate more. i have bought weida 2 days before the ex-date for the 4 cents dividend at 0.770. The closing before the ex-date was 0.760, and the next day open was reffered to 0.72cents due to the ex-date. is that all the dividend annouced will affect the price in that way? then what's the share holder wil get if they have the dividend but the share price cuts accordingly with the dividend? somemore the 4 cents is less tax, meaning we will received around 3 cents after the tx but the share price beng lowered down for 4 cents? i am a bit confused here, a noob question but i really need advice. thank you in advance! You unfortunately have bought WEIDA after the market has pushed the price up prior to the ex-date. So you actually will not reap any benefits from it. Only way to really get the dividends is buying before the market has pushed the price up, which is normally before the dividend announcement. |
Nov 7 2009, 07:15 PM
327 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(changccs @ Nov 3 2009, 09:44 PM) wanna ask any broker firm does not need pay slip to open a cds account? does osk need? coz i am stil a student, wanna invest into stock market You don't need a pay slip to open a cds account if you're a student. Just that you can't use their share margin facility.Added on November 7, 2009, 7:23 pm QUOTE(changccs @ Nov 5 2009, 09:57 PM) i am a student,i use my own money to trade, if i bank in rm5000 to my trading acount, i buy 1000 share at RM5 , if the price drop till RM 4.8, do i need to pay the loss to my broker firm after T+3? If you're using your own cash to buy stock, the T+3 doesn't apply to you. If the share price drop, you're only making a 'paper lost' as long as you don't sell your shares, but if you sell it only then it's considered a 'real lost'. This post has been edited by DanielW: Nov 7 2009, 07:23 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 10:44 AM
151 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
quick question here.
i am using HleBroking to trade, may i know on the bottom left corner there the "best buy/best sell column, what is the yellow number represent? is the no. of ppl q to sell/buy or the no. of share q to sell/buy? |
Nov 9 2009, 12:41 PM
37,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(dericncs @ Nov 9 2009, 10:44 AM) quick question here. yellow color means odd lot order entry.i am using HleBroking to trade, may i know on the bottom left corner there the "best buy/best sell column, what is the yellow number represent? is the no. of ppl q to sell/buy or the no. of share q to sell/buy? |
Nov 9 2009, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(AvenJ @ Nov 7 2009, 12:59 AM) a nooby question but hopefully someone can clarify my noobness. Welcome to the unfair world ! i have bought weida 2 days before the ex-date for the 4 cents dividend at 0.770. The closing before the ex-date was 0.760, and the next day open was reffered to 0.72cents due to the ex-date. is that all the dividend annouced will affect the price in that way? then what's the share holder wil get if they have the dividend but the share price cuts accordingly with the dividend? somemore the 4 cents is less tax, meaning we will received around 3 cents after the tx but the share price beng lowered down for 4 cents? i am a bit confused here, a noob question but i really need advice. thank you in advance! |
Nov 9 2009, 04:14 PM
151 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Nov 9 2009, 04:15 PM
1,741 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
ops wrong post ROFL sorry please delete this comment box
This post has been edited by shoduken: Nov 9 2009, 04:16 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 04:35 PM
135 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: KL area |
hi there, i never been involve in any stock market, just would like to learn now, may i know can i open a CDS account through online or ask help from broker? Im very confuse.. pls help all the sifu ~ pls give me some guideline as this post is very long, trying to learn and many thing makes me blur..
Nov 9 2009, 04:41 PM
1,015 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ~kUala lUmpur~ |
QUOTE(xixi0708 @ Nov 9 2009, 04:35 PM) hi there, i never been involve in any stock market, just would like to learn now, may i know can i open a CDS account through online or ask help from broker? Im very confuse.. pls help all the sifu ~ pls give me some guideline as this post is very long, trying to learn and many thing makes me blur.. if you request to open account from HLB, you can apply thru online. But you need to send some info/documents back to your broker. Is better that you have a visit to the branch and open directly. |
| Change to: | 0.0362sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:46 PM |