Q&A, General question on stock market

mwchong
post Oct 12 2009, 01:40 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(violin_player84 @ Jan 10 2008, 10:28 PM)
okay ppl I got 2,000 in my bank. If i wanna to play share, is tat possible ?

beside that, i not those aggressive player .. i am like buy and put there up to 1 or 2 years then only sell or 1 year later only sell it

still a student
need pro help .. thx
possile. b'cos u can but 100 shares mah but u need to know also tat ur profit won't be big la

Added on October 12, 2009, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(seanlee89 @ Oct 10 2009, 12:56 PM)
Hi guys, need some help for a study I'm doing, would like to know from experts out there, the disadvantages of being a shareholder in a company. Thanks in advance =)
Emmm. I'm not sure u will like mu comment. Apologize if u r offended. Sorry ah.

But for me, as long as u r involve in the stock market with you savings(like most small investor), u r actually exposed to all the disadvantages that u can find.

I think it will be more constructive to try to find a good stock to invest with exit strategy b'cos all the people that invest in the stock market at all exchange in the world would face more or less the same problem.

Hope this help smile.gif

Invest and Trading Views

This post has been edited by mwchong: Oct 12 2009, 02:04 PM
mwchong
post Oct 13 2009, 10:06 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(DanielW @ Oct 12 2009, 09:33 PM)
I have a different opinion. Even with RM2,000 you can earn a handsome profit between 20%-50%, if you choose the right stock to invest.
Agreed ! It is possible and also achievable. nod.gif

You are welcome to visit my blog as well : futurescorner.blogspot.com
mwchong
post Oct 19 2009, 12:14 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(ecVk @ Oct 18 2009, 08:47 PM)
How do i find out about all the company financial statements?
Ya u can get the statement from www.bursamalaysia.com under the listing menu.
But lots of people get confuse with it and takes time to study the company performance.

If u dun mine paying a little extra. U can buy the stock performance book guide publish by dynaquest.
They simplify and summaries lot of info for you. can easily get from mph book store. smile.gif thumbup.gif
mwchong
post Oct 19 2009, 03:09 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Oct 19 2009, 01:02 PM)
additionally for a cheaper price (less information) you can also buy "Shares investment Malaysian Edition" publish by Pioneers & Leaders (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd ( www.shareinvestment.com)
Thanks Rosdi biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
mwchong
post Oct 20 2009, 11:36 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Oct 20 2009, 09:10 AM)
I think for newbie the best system is from OSK188 because it provide a good charting facility.
I open my account with CIMB because my good friend work there. It really help to have someone dependable to look at the stock all the time to remind and guide you what to do. As for me I had also given her standing instruction that she can do whatever to protect my account. (She can sell or buy without my instruction.. she only need to tell me ASAP. For more than 15 year she had never failed me...) so I use CIMB and subscribe the OSK188 charting system for RM120 per month
Yeah, sometime we have to value the service provided by broker instead to just just requesting for a lower brokerage fee.
mwchong
post Oct 20 2009, 04:56 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(yazoo @ Oct 20 2009, 03:29 PM)
Okay here's a silly question : if I were to buy PBB-Foreign or MISC-Foreign am I entitle for the dividend ?
Oh yes. Divided will be paid to foreign share holder as well, if not all the foreign fund will not be buying oledi loo. nod.gif
mwchong
post Oct 21 2009, 10:45 AM

126 posts

Referrinng to the topic : Beginner question on KLSE, General question on stock market .

How do all friends here study the stock market ?
Fundamental ? Technical Chart ? Newspaper ? Or Tips ?
Feel free to feedback. I just like to see hows we malaysian develop when it comes to investing and trading stock smile.gif
mwchong
post Oct 21 2009, 01:59 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:46 AM)
I use the following:
    Buy on:
      1. Rumors
      2. Rumors
      3. Technical chart
Sell  on:
      1. News
      2. Technical
      3. Need the money
Hahaha. So u r more toward buy the rumors sell the fact la... brows.gif laugh.gif

Well if ur rumors source are good then no harm la. I believe u will confirm it with the chart , then calculate ur risk and reward..
Good for u Rosdi rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
mwchong
post Oct 22 2009, 02:56 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(DanielW @ Oct 21 2009, 06:30 PM)
I'm more of a fundamental investor.
OK good for you. Thanks for the feedback. All the best.

I guess u must be a substantial share holder of PBBank, IOI and QL. drool.gif brows.gif
mwchong
post Oct 29 2009, 11:51 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(DanielW @ Oct 26 2009, 06:25 PM)
I look at ROE, EPS Growth Rate, D/E, DY and P/E. Also I calculate the company's Intrinsic or Fair Value.
Huaaa ! I guess u must have a lots of Warren Buffet books. Respect respect notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
mwchong
post Nov 3 2009, 06:25 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Pan84 @ Nov 1 2009, 07:08 PM)
Guys, I need your helps. I'm holding an suspended stock "TAMCO". Recently their stock activity has been suspended by the Bursa Malaysia. Right now they are issuing a notice of AGM (Annual General Meeting) by mail that will be held on 10th of November @ KL. But now, in the mail comes with a little piece of financial report , a cd copy of the whole financial report and a piece of form of proxy for the shareholder to fill in. What is the form of proxy for? Do i need to reply and send back to them?
May God bless you notworthy.gif sweat.gif Stay strong doh.gif doh.gif
mwchong
post Nov 4 2009, 01:13 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Nov 3 2009, 10:06 AM)
Any one can teach me on this:

How come some stocks counters are suspended?
What do those s[x], s[c] and s mean?

http://www.shareinvestor.com.my/prices.pl?...w=1&index=200.X

Thanks thanks!
Counters suspended might due to a lots of reason just to name a few like :

- having important announcement comming out
- merger or acquisition with or of another counters
- somethings wrong with the counter's price movmeent and activity or business financial problem (determine by Bursa)
- limit up (price up way too much)
- limit down (price down way too much)

mwchong
post Nov 6 2009, 03:29 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Bakmoi @ Nov 5 2009, 11:24 PM)
Another noob here.

Is there a book or link that explains how Stocks / Forex / Funds ( Unit Trusts)

for dummies ??

Thanks all the sifus  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Oh ! You could read as much as u 1 2. Plenty of it in book store and also not cheap.
Another alternative to save some money will be internet or going to the library to borrow it.
There is a library inside bursa malaysia building that offers lots of book. If u r free to go.

mwchong
post Nov 9 2009, 03:53 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(AvenJ @ Nov 7 2009, 12:59 AM)
a nooby question but hopefully someone can clarify my noobness.

i have bought weida 2 days before the ex-date for the 4 cents dividend at 0.770. The closing before the ex-date was 0.760, and the next day open was reffered to 0.72cents due to the ex-date.

is that all the dividend annouced will affect the price in that way?
then what's the share holder wil get if they have the dividend but the share price cuts accordingly with the dividend?
somemore the 4 cents is less tax, meaning we will received around 3 cents after the tx but the share price beng lowered down for 4 cents?

i am a bit confused here, a noob question but i really need advice.

thank you in advance!
Welcome to the unfair world ! blush.gif
mwchong
post Nov 10 2009, 01:49 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(xixi0708 @ Nov 9 2009, 04:35 PM)
hi there, i never been involve in any stock market, just would like to learn now, may i know can i open a CDS account through online or ask help from broker? Im very confuse.. pls help all the sifu ~ pls give me some guideline as this post is very long, trying to learn and many thing makes me blur..
Even tough u open online trading acc u have to go there or have them mail to you to fill up the form and submit the needed document.

For online trading acc, there is 2 types 1 is with individual CDS acc and 1 is using the brokerage firm nominees acc. So you should ask this b4 u apply.

For individual CDS acc you can apply IPO and you will get a statement twice a year from the MCD. Malaysia Central Deposite or something like tat la.

For brokerage firm nominees acc, you cannot apply IPO using this acc and u r restricted to buy certain share if i'm not mistaken. For example : if u open online trading acc with maybank
securities then u cannot buy maybank related counters like the cw cc.

Hope this help and friends pls correct me if I'm wrong. smile.gif
mwchong
post Nov 11 2009, 04:09 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(snowman.a @ Nov 10 2009, 02:47 PM)
what is the intraday trades ?
what is the non-margin facility ? HLE have this service ?

thanks ...
intraday meaning buy and sell a stock at the same day for a quick profit.
non-margin meaning you will pay in full amount all the share you have bought. margin is borrow $ from the brokerage firm to buy share with some collateral up front.

All borkerage house should have this facility. smile.gif
mwchong
post Nov 12 2009, 01:38 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(changccs @ Nov 11 2009, 07:44 PM)
did they charge any fees for issue cheque for me or anything?
No, they should no charge you for taking out your own money.
mwchong
post Nov 19 2009, 02:31 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ Nov 19 2009, 02:07 PM)
hey i've got a question on IPOs and selling shares.

Lets say I opened my CDS Account with  Maybank investment banking.

And I applied for IPO via m2u, online.  When I want to sell those shares, can i do it online? Or do i still need to call remiser?
Yes, you can sell the share online but u just need to make sure your IPO application gone through successfully or not.

When u apply IPO via M2U, it will ask u to key in CDS acc, u can also key in another securities form CDS not necessary with MBB .

Guess u got kena the Maxis IPO leh icon_idea.gif
mwchong
post Nov 20 2009, 03:41 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Nov 18 2009, 12:32 AM)

thanks for the advice and recommendation, cause i was thinking futures can be fast money laugh.gif
any suggestion for starter?
Haha ! Futures can be fast money in both ways : into your pocket and also out of your pocket. Double edge sword as you can long and short.
Always start with books. But to tell you the truth, the market will always be a better teacher. smile.gif

0.0581sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:14 PM