Q&A, General question on stock market

rosdi1
post Oct 2 2009, 05:12 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(ATMA @ Oct 2 2009, 09:40 AM)
Hi, where can I find good resource dedicated to trading Malaysian warrants?

I have limited capital and CW offers the greatest potential returns for my capital. But I understand as well the mechanics for CW is different from normal shares.

There are tons of resources online for Options trading, but I can't find any decent sites dedicated to trading Msian warrants. Any ideas?
I think you can try this OSK site:
http://www.osk188.com/Windex.jsp
It have an explaination on how warrant and call warrant work.
To invest in any warrant you need to work out in the same way as if you are investing on the mother share.
Trading in warrant and call warrant need less capital but the risk is much higher. Many times your investment can be worthless. ( so I think this is not a very good way for beginners to invest).
rosdi1
post Oct 8 2009, 12:12 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Oct 7 2009, 04:51 AM)
Dear all masters, how do I know one industry's P/E?  How do you define/decode one counter's P/E against its industry's?  Thank you
Buy a star newspaper (not NST) and go to page B14 and B15 there you can get the PE.
This indicator are very misleading..
I think you have to study the balance sheet and the P/l as well.
Need also to open eyes and ears
Look at the technical chart to reconfirm
Attend training classes on how to trade in the market.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 8 2009, 10:53 PM
rosdi1
post Oct 18 2009, 01:34 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 17 2009, 04:56 PM)
Not sure whether I am asking at the right place.

I planning to invest on stock. Currently in Singapore and just open an account with Philips Securities over here. Found that the rate is S$25 per trade. Should I go back to MY and open with OSK or stick with Philips?
S$25 or RM62 should be OK if you are trading big. If decided to trade in small lot than that can be a bit expensive. A Malaysian broker you can get as low as RM8.88 with jupiter or a or the standard min of RM40 or you can request for a lower min.. I think you can work out the break even before making a decision.
rosdi1
post Oct 19 2009, 01:02 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(mwchong @ Oct 19 2009, 12:14 PM)
Ya u can get the statement from www.bursamalaysia.com under the listing menu.
But lots of people get confuse with it and takes time to study the company performance.

If u dun mine paying a little extra. U can buy the stock performance book guide  publish by dynaquest.
They simplify and summaries lot of info for you. can easily get from mph book store.  smile.gif  thumbup.gif
additionally for a cheaper price (less information) you can also buy "Shares investment Malaysian Edition" publish by Pioneers & Leaders (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd ( www.shareinvestment.com)
rosdi1
post Oct 20 2009, 09:10 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Oct 19 2009, 10:52 PM)
hi, beginner here, attended a talk the other day, and wanted to open a MIMB investment trading account if i am not mistaken ( under EON bank ) but prefer to ask which on9 trading broker will be better..

newbie in share,, and wat is the minimum modal needed to trade on9?
I think for newbie the best system is from OSK188 because it provide a good charting facility.
I open my account with CIMB because my good friend work there. It really help to have someone dependable to look at the stock all the time to remind and guide you what to do. As for me I had also given her standing instruction that she can do whatever to protect my account. (She can sell or buy without my instruction.. she only need to tell me ASAP. For more than 15 year she had never failed me...) so I use CIMB and subscribe the OSK188 charting system for RM120 per month (sorry: RM120 for 6 months)

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 20 2009, 02:42 PM
rosdi1
post Oct 21 2009, 12:07 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Oct 20 2009, 07:49 PM)
osk 188? ok thxs.. hmm, transaction wise? how much do they charge per transaction.. really new in this.. been reading up some details but still haven start because of not enough cash.. dun wanna miss the next bull rally next year smile.gif
Go to :

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/659493

u might get help here
rosdi1
post Oct 21 2009, 11:46 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(mwchong @ Oct 21 2009, 10:45 AM)
Referrinng to the topic :  Beginner question on KLSE, General question on stock market . 

How do all friends here study the stock market ?
Fundamental ? Technical Chart ? Newspaper ? Or Tips ?
Feel free to feedback. I just like to see hows we malaysian develop when it comes to investing and trading stock smile.gif
I use the following:
Buy on:
1. Rumors
2. Rumors
3. Technical chart
Sell on:
1. News
2. Technical
3. Need the money
rosdi1
post Oct 21 2009, 02:27 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(mwchong @ Oct 21 2009, 01:59 PM)
Hahaha. So u r more toward buy the rumors sell the fact la...  brows.gif  laugh.gif

Well if ur rumors source are good then no harm la. I believe u will confirm it with the chart , then calculate ur risk and reward..
Good for u Rosdi  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Yes you got it...

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 21 2009, 04:48 PM
rosdi1
post Nov 1 2009, 07:27 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Pan84 @ Nov 1 2009, 07:08 PM)
Guys, I need your helps. I'm holding an suspended stock "TAMCO". Recently their stock activity has been suspended by the Bursa Malaysia. Right now they are issuing a notice of AGM (Annual General Meeting) by mail that will be held on 10th of November @ KL. But now, in the mail comes with a little piece of financial report , a cd copy of the whole financial report and a piece of form of proxy for the shareholder to fill in. What is the form of proxy for? Do i need to reply and send back to them?
You need to fill in and send to the register the proxy form only if you couldn't attend the AGM/EGM and you want someone else to represent you.
Otherwise no financial significant.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Nov 1 2009, 07:27 PM
rosdi1
post Nov 1 2009, 08:25 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Pan84 @ Nov 1 2009, 07:30 PM)
Ok. But the problem now is WHO should I elect to represent me?
If you are holding significant shares here you might want to attend it yourself.
i think this is a very important AGM.
The company had being requested by Bursa to be delisted because they have to look at another core business.
Usually proxy attended the meeting for the door gift but for this company I don't think they are going to give any since they are talking about survival.
rosdi1
post Nov 5 2009, 11:11 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Nov 5 2009, 10:28 PM)
There are 2 scenarios:
If you buy and sell within T+3 and sell at a loss then yes, you have to pay the difference in price. This is also known as Contra.

If you buy and settle the payment in Full Latest by T+3 then u dont have pay for the loss if it drops. That is because you already owned the 1000 shares. It can drop to 0.00 and you dont have to fork out extra money.. smile.gif

btw, with rm5000 i dun think u can buy 1000 of RM5 shares because of Brokerage + stamp duty + clearance fee..

have fun trading biggrin.gif
I think the question had being answered rightly here.
Just another advice... Please also learn on money management. you can read a lot of books on this.
rosdi1
post Jan 18 2010, 09:59 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(Xesgod @ Jan 17 2010, 01:32 PM)
Hey hi im really new to this whole investing thing so my question is what are the sources i should aim for to find information on which company to invest in? Would newspapers or websites be better?

And how long should i follow&study the market before i have enough knowledge to take proper action on which company to invest in?

Thanks greatly for whatever advice ya'll can provide =)
To start with I think you have to decide the trading strategy you are using:
1. Day trading ( Buy and sell the same day)
2. Short term investment ( Buy and sell in 2 weeks)
3. Long term investment
4. Dividend play.
5 .........
Example
No. 1 is the most interesting and very high risk.
No. 2 you need to monitor the price movement all the time.
No. 3 you buy and keep need only to look at end of day situation.
No. 4 Buy before the dividend and sell after the dividend is announced
No. 5 .......
There no way to teach you here....and I think you should read books or better still attend trading classes. Learning by try and error could be too costly.

Added on January 18, 2010, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(alvincks @ Jan 18 2010, 09:22 PM)
Hi Sifu,

How to calculate the fair value for each share ? so that we know what is the discount for current share price ?

Thank you !
I was once told that a fair value is the highest value that you are able to sell the share. or the lowest value that you are able to buy. So you don't need to calculate.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jan 18 2010, 10:06 PM
rosdi1
post Jan 19 2010, 12:18 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Jan 18 2010, 12:24 PM)
May i ask a dump question. Lots of you seem to be sifus here. For a beginner like me, how and where should i look up for information pertaining to some potential and cheap shares?

Just feeling lost, and dont wanna just be a follower, following what others buy without doing proper research.

I assume that when you say " potential and cheap shares " means that the share will be an expensive shares after you had bought it.
I think every one here are trying to find the same thing.
I also think that there is no one fool prove place where you can find one.
Generally we will try to use the same way that had a high probability of success before.
The reason that there are ppl that are willing to buy or sell i think it is due to this different way of analyzing. If every ppl analyze the same way than the market will not work.

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Jan 19 2010, 09:55 AM
rosdi1
post Jan 28 2010, 10:04 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jan 27 2010, 02:59 PM)
thank you for your reply.
a few more Q's pertaiing to this.
i got 500 shares only. means i'm still entitle for another 500 @ RM1.60? assuming i exercise, does that mean i have full 1000 share? or would the 500 be parked under another counter eg. MAS - WA, MAS - CA or something?
and what's with the date? am i suppose to trade the additional 500 shares within certain time frame only?
sorry. am very new into these kinda things.
If I were you. I would had sold MAS immediately after the initial announcement at that time the price is way above RM3.00 and stay that way for at least a week.
Now the price is just RM2.69 a drop of 10%
I expect the price to drop between 2.50 to 2.35 by the x date of 10 feb
So you can just sell the share now and If you still like MAS (Even after JAL had gone Bankrupt) you can always buy it again after the right at surely at a much lower price maybe for just around 2.00.
If you still holding the share after the x date you can take 3 options.
1. Sell off your right maybe for 0.20 to 0.40 and keep your current share or you can still sell it if you want I expect at around 2.00
2. Pick up the right at RM1.60 and you now have 1000 mas share and start praying that it will go higher that RM2.10

3.Pick up the right at RM1.60 and sell the mother share at maybe RM2.00

If I were you... I will just sell the share now and forget this about this gold

rosdi1
post Mar 22 2010, 04:07 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Mar 20 2010, 11:26 PM)
Hi Sifu,

How can we calculate RSI ? where can we get the RSI rating ?

Thank you !
To know RSI go to
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/r/rsi.asp
Most charting software provide RSI so you don't have to calculate manually.
but just wondering why want to use such an index unless you are already well verse with some basic tools.
rosdi1
post Aug 5 2010, 12:58 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(fryguy14us @ Aug 4 2010, 12:13 PM)
where can we go to just sit and watch stock prices? is it in bursa malaysia kl? or in banks? planning to go to just meet investors and get tips etc
Are you in KL or elsewhere in kl you can watch at CIMB jalan semantan, at Bursa bukit makamah, ....
but why want to go there you can watch on the internet
I suggest you subscribe to the OSK188 for just RM20 per month. You will get the tick data as well as simple graph facilities.
As for tips what tips you want??
You have to learn the trade first before thinking about tips.
You may need to decide on your strategy and what is your capital??
rosdi1
post Dec 14 2010, 11:16 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

Hi
Did any one knows where I can get all the Financial Q results of all stocks in KLSE announced for this year and past years.
Thank You and Best Regards
rosdi1
post Dec 16 2010, 10:19 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(kianopy @ Dec 15 2010, 11:40 PM)
you can get it if u got online trading account...
I am online CIMB. maybank, RHB and osk ... but couldn't find it
Which one are you talking or how and where
Best regards

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Dec 16 2010, 10:20 AM
rosdi1
post Dec 16 2010, 12:15 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Dec 16 2010, 10:38 AM)
Only place that has all that information since 1999 is KLSE website. Check the announcement pages of listed companies under historical tab. Every quarterly report for every company is there ready to download.
TQ
It look like that how I hve to do it. Trying to find an easier way.
Thestar Online also have a weekly result compiled together but no archive
NST Business Times under Market Data also have in the PDF form by weeks.
Best Regards

rosdi1
post Dec 17 2010, 12:09 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Dec 17 2010, 09:24 AM)
Ok thanks cheeroy. Understood.
Maybe this can further explained your question...or making it more confused ...
Attached File  Madatory_take_over_Code_English_101215.pdf ( 256.07k ) Number of downloads: 37

This an extract from here
http://www.sc.com.my/main.asp?pageid=284&m...=&linkid=&type=

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Dec 17 2010, 12:11 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:56 PM