149 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

viper88
post Feb 6 2009, 01:27 PM

2,359 posts

Today is my last off days for CNY, tomorrow have to go back work liao.. sweat.gif So this morning i go catch some FS to fight tongue.gif
Caught mostly small size male FS only and 2 of them are partial chop. Let them fight and one of the smaller chop get eaten by another small chop FS but slightly bigger. shocking.gif
There's also one male FS maybe too desperate want to try mate with another male FS.. laugh.gif

Here's the pics.

Have added today FS videos in youtube. Check it out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TdIMCcGRgc4&feature=channel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TevVU-VFWAA&feature=channel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvIty76GgKg&feature=channel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_BDIBR9ugU...re=channel_page

Mindstorm, you want the small chop FS?

This post has been edited by viper88: Feb 6 2009, 01:44 PM
kopPao
post Feb 6 2009, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 6 2009, 01:27 PM)
Today is my last off days for CNY, tomorrow have to go back work liao.. sweat.gif  So this morning i go catch some FS to fight  tongue.gif
Caught mostly small size male FS only and 2 of them are partial chop. Let them fight and one of the smaller chop get eaten by another small chop FS but slightly bigger.  shocking.gif
There's also one male FS maybe too desperate want to try mate with another male FS.. laugh.gif

Here's the pics.

u r really Great at getting Good fighters,
especially "Kop Pao" ...
my Respect to u ! thumbup.gif

btw, your chop means kop pao m i right ?
charge and chop w/o "Dancing" ...
viper88
post Feb 6 2009, 11:36 PM

2,359 posts

Yeah.. should be the same Chop = Kop Pao.

QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 6 2009, 02:52 PM)
u r really Great at getting Good fighters,
especially "Kop Pao" ...
my Respect to u !   thumbup.gif

btw, your chop means kop pao m i right ?
charge and chop w/o "Dancing" ...
This post has been edited by viper88: Feb 7 2009, 04:46 PM
kopPao
post Feb 8 2009, 05:12 AM

my 1st king eating another male...
blink.gif

kopPao
post Feb 8 2009, 05:14 AM

the following day, i accidentally injured my 1st king while placing back the cover...
i Hate myself to Death ...........
vmad.gif

Added on February 8, 2009, 5:16 am
QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 8 2009, 05:14 AM)
the following day, i accidentally injured my 1st king while placing back the cover...
vmad.gif
it was in lots of pain, when i accidentally broke his hands and legs...
blood could be seen ...

i feel horrible...
cry.gif

This post has been edited by kopPao: Feb 8 2009, 05:16 AM

viper88
post Feb 8 2009, 11:35 AM

2,359 posts

Wa.. u accidentally broke ur 1st king arm and leg.. shocking.gif
If your spider very active/agile... you have to be very careful when closing the case. You can try to blow some hot air using ur mouth to hold the FS from running before close it. Your FS case is a see thru type so can time when to close the case better.

Your FS is a chop?
Eat other normal FS or chop FS?

FS normally just fight and chase its opponent away.
If fight against other weak chop, normal FS sometimes will kill the chop FS to protect itself.
If chop FS.. they alwys hunger for blood and treat its opponent as food.

kopPao
post Feb 8 2009, 02:11 PM

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 8 2009, 11:35 AM)
Wa.. u accidentally broke ur 1st king arm and leg.. shocking.gif 
If your spider very active/agile... you have to be very careful when closing the case. You can try to blow some hot air using ur mouth to hold the FS from running before close it. Your FS case is a see thru type so can time when to close the case better.

Your FS is a chop?
Eat other normal FS or chop FS?

FS normally just fight and chase its opponent away.
If fight against other weak chop, normal FS sometimes will kill the chop FS to protect itself.
If chop FS.. they alwys hunger for blood and treat its opponent as food.
not chop... juz normal FS ...
i forced the other spider to fight with it.. that is the end result...
now my 1st king is very handicap since the accident .. i had lost a good fighter... cry.gif

yesterday went spider hunting with a few kakis around SG...
we caught about 10 males altogether...
but there was non good fights...
about 90 % caught r small ones...
i guessed the theory that SG FS r smaller & not as fierce as Malaysia FS r true...
how i wish im now in Mersing ! laugh.gif

Viper, any updates from u ?

Added on February 8, 2009, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 29 2008, 02:18 PM)
On Sunday before I met viper i also went to scout for spiders.

I was in kepong and went to a nearby forest. Still outside in civilized area before reaching the forest, I found the most crippled male I ever caught in my life from the wild..five legs only. Wonder how it lost so many legs. 2 from left, and one from right. May have been attacked by ants. When I drop him, he doesn't bother climbing up his own web, he just drop all the way.

First pic - caught him in this plants. Viper: Are these daun sirih leaves you were talking about?
Second pic - Wonder how he still manage to survive.
[attachmentid=389722][attachmentid=389723]

After walking about 15-20min I came to the forest edge. I saw quite suitable plants here and there and open a few nests. I saw a few tiny small young. Got la. So I search somemore. Now I am about 10 meters into the forest path when I opened a nest, I saw a funny looking spider I never seen before. It is quite small, all black, thin, but have long arms. Its tail move up and down slowly while walking. Quite difficult to catch. It is restless and wouldn't keep still once out in the open. I tried to catch it, but it kept jumping from one leave to another... until it came near another nest... I couldnt resist opening that nest... wooooh... I saw a THIANIA...BUT NOT BHAMOENSIS. Another species but same genus. This one was big but is old cuz of its movement. It is a female because there is a broken old egg nest in its nest. From the big you can see that this thiania full grown head size is much bigger than our normal fighting spiders.  Apparently the small ones I saw earlier which i thot was thiania bhamoensis were not but another type. I tried to find for about another hour for a male specimen but in vain. I caught a few younger ones and took them home to rear them.

left-jungle plants, right - jungle path
[attachmentid=389753][attachmentid=389774]

new thiania - smaller specimen
[attachmentid=389778][attachmentid=389780]

new thiania - bigger specimen(old female)
[attachmentid=389782][attachmentid=389785]

Bro2 trying to mate the old female - notice the head size difference
[attachmentid=389794][attachmentid=389795]

The small black spider which brought me to the new thiania species...itself maybe a thiania. Notice the sharp spikes on its arms. Our normal fighting spider also got...but barely visible.
[attachmentid=389796][attachmentid=389797]
[attachmentid=389800][attachmentid=389803]

After searching for so long and cannot find the male specimen, i thot maybe they live up the trees! I tried shaking violently a couple of small trees to see wheather any would drop down...nope, none.
Second pic shows a how secure their nest can be. Look at the number of webs they create to secure the two leaves. But this is a dried up leave of a empty nest i found already fallen on the ground.
[attachmentid=389804][attachmentid=389806]

I believe the male specimen looks like this(pic taken by a macro photographer)
http://www.apbworks.co.nz/ft_06.htm
sorry to dig up old post...
any1 caught this Male species b4 ?

when i was Spider hunting yesterday with my kakis, old of them keep telling me he wanted to catch "lam pao"
i keep asking him whats that, he told me is FS, but other colour..
it has blue colour on both his hands and legs...
also better and larger than the normal FS ...

i went home to do research, and stumble upon this post...

i have been playing FS for quite sometime, nver ever came across such a colour of FS ...
any1 care to share his experience on this "colour" of FS ?

This post has been edited by kopPao: Feb 8 2009, 02:20 PM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 9 2009, 12:44 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Feb 5 2009, 05:00 AM)
Thanks for the posts.  It was an enjoyable trip and not as hot as the last time.
The failure to catch any chop this time around is a good indication of how hard it is to find a chop.  It's so much easier to convert them than to find them in the wild.

The first king was initially named Ampang4.  I'm not very creative with names.  I'm having a hard time coming up with the two I have right now, including Baby (house spider I've kept for 8 months now, still a baby) and the one the Hyllus I brought back on this trip.  Hopefully I can get the Hyllus to adulthood, although I think it's a different species (not H. diardi) than Drag0nette's so it will be smaller.

Here are some of my pics to contribute to the thread.
1.  Hantu Kuning (Evarcha flavocincta) female.
2.  Hantu Kuning male eating small fighting spider male.
3.  Unidentified jumper eating a big bluebottle fly.
Wah... that last pic is astonishing man...the size difference btw the predator and the prey.

Ur Hyllus is a semicupreus, same like the one centaurfly showed us last time
http://centaurfly.blogspot.com/2008/08/min...emicupreus.html
and same like mine too. I see Drag0nette updated her blog with a new Diardi now which name sounds like her favourite one that passed on.

Added on February 9, 2009, 2:37 am
QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 5 2009, 05:51 PM)
Nolar, its average size only, not big size. The FS is about Hope size. Its abit old ady coz its arms bend in most of the time while walking but still show angry face when face it opponent.  Check out the videos i've uploaded today.

I've released the FS near my house with a female FS 2gether yesterday. This morning when i go jogging, the male FS is still there in between the big leaves.
I also found some male FS with female FS in nest nearby my housing area .. all mostly average size only.
I hope the FS at my housing area will breed and multiply more. 

How many FS you have currently?
Have new FS videos?
yeah...maybe u can go back to Archilles place!

3 only. The first king given by Dan is quite old already.

Got a few...but nothing compared to ur videos u made last time.
I got time i will load some of the more interesting ones bit by bit.

Added on February 9, 2009, 2:39 am
QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Feb 6 2009, 08:25 AM)
It's what we call Golden spider.  Also known as Mangrove jumper (Ligurra Latidens).  You're describing a male L. latidens.
They're the best fighters I know of, pound for pound, but they can't swim.

http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...ra_latidens.htm
yeah man.

Here's a clip on them!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaO4-rA5orE
... made it back in Oct last year. They weren't big ones. Got them in a park near by house.

Added on February 9, 2009, 2:42 am
QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 6 2009, 01:27 PM)
Today is my last off days for CNY, tomorrow have to go back work liao.. sweat.gif  So this morning i go catch some FS to fight  tongue.gif
Caught mostly small size male FS only and 2 of them are partial chop. Let them fight and one of the smaller chop get eaten by another small chop FS but slightly bigger.  shocking.gif

Here's the pics.

Wah say eh... where u get a chop so fast?? Can fight with my 2nd king.

Added on February 9, 2009, 2:43 am
QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 8 2009, 05:12 AM)
my 1st king eating another male...
blink.gif
U didnt change since ur fishingkaki forum huh? U also posted a pic showing ur firstking then eating another male....

But i like...very nice close up. Wat camera u using?

Added on February 9, 2009, 2:45 am
QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 8 2009, 05:14 AM)
vmad.gif

Added on February 8, 2009, 5:16 am

it was in lots of pain, when i accidentally broke his hands and legs...
blood could be seen ...

i feel horrible...
cry.gif
Aiyoyo... shocking.gif
That type of container u using very dangerous...hard to open and hard to close... as u are closing, the spider may run to the side and try to slide its arms to escape in between the base and the cover... and "kiaaappp".... become no arm bandit...

Wah...u so fast got kaki? Who are these kaki? Do they know got this fs forum? Ask them come share their fs and fs fight here la... i like to see them.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 9 2009, 02:50 AM
viper88
post Feb 9 2009, 11:47 AM

2,359 posts

Only managed to catch some small FS few days back. One of the small male FS i caught is without arms. Maybe its arm get bitten off by ants.
My housing area garden FS all quite small size.. The garden where i caught Archilles before had been trimmed down by its owner coz got alot mosquitoes.. most of the FS there are small size females. I try to search back the adult male FS i released earlier but it was no longer there, only female FS is still there. Maybe the adult male FS been chased off away from the leaves nest. tongue.gif
Need to find new places where got alot low rise leaves with FS.

Here's the pic of the no arms FS.

Eventho without arms still want to fight. blink.gif

I've uploaded some new short FS fight videos at YouTube.

The small partial chop FS i caught previously now seems like back to normal fighting style. Not sure it will become fierce chop later after killed the other smaller chop FS earlier.
I still keeping the small FS. Mindstorm u want the small FS? if not i'll released it back . I'll be off next week Thursday.

You still try to breed FS?

This post has been edited by viper88: Feb 9 2009, 12:14 PM
kopPao
post Feb 10 2009, 12:14 AM

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 9 2009, 12:44 AM)

U didnt change since ur fishingkaki forum huh? U also posted a pic showing ur firstking then eating another male....

But i like...very nice close up. Wat camera u using?

Added on February 9, 2009, 2:45 am

Aiyoyo...  shocking.gif
That type of container u using very dangerous...hard to open and hard to close... as u are closing, the spider may run to the side and try to slide its arms to escape in between the base and the cover... and "kiaaappp".... become no arm bandit...

Wah...u so fast got kaki? Who are these kaki? Do they know got this fs forum? Ask them come share their fs and fs fight here la... i like to see them.
im using Canon Ixus 80.

my FS clips all cannot make it.. unlike yours and Viper's.
i feel like contributing something to this forum, but i do not have quality fights. biggrin.gif
hence, just took a pic of my 1st king lor
now my 1st king dont know become what king liao...(all Thanks to me).

my kaki i know when catching FS at some parts of SG.
that day we challenged and my King won hands down.
best fight was 2 chop and thats it.
guess is due to the size, all the other FS were slightly smaller in size.
then again, when i caught my 1st king, it was very dark in clolur.
the pic made it looked bright due to my camera flash.
I always like dark colour FS cos i think they generally are more fierce... smile.gif
its a pity that i cant test its Fighting skill to its limit anymore....

Mangrovejumper
post Feb 10 2009, 10:12 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 7 2009, 11:11 PM)

Added on February 8, 2009, 2:20 pm
sorry to dig up old post...
any1 caught this Male species b4 ?

when i was Spider hunting yesterday with my kakis, old of them keep telling me he wanted to catch "lam pao"
i keep asking him whats that, he told me is FS, but other colour..
it has blue colour on both his hands and legs...
also better and larger than the normal FS ...

i went home to do research, and stumble upon this post...

i have been playing FS for quite sometime, nver ever came across such a colour of FS ...
any1 care to share his experience on this "colour" of FS ?
Yes, we (Mindstorm & I) got one last year (Cam, the Cameron Highland male) and another a few weeks ago at Lookout point, a female. I don't have any pictures though. Here's the youtube link for Cam.
Cam

It's a different species of Thiania. Wikipedia says there are 17 species of Thiania. It's sufficiently different from T. bhamoensis that they may not even recognize each other. The female was chased away by a male that I had without a mating dance. Viper's giant Bu was yet another species but we couldn't find any of those. I doubt they are better fighters though.

Some pics of my new setup for the sub-adult Hyllus (moulted yesterday).

This post has been edited by Mangrovejumper: Feb 10 2009, 10:21 AM

TSmindstorm
post Feb 10 2009, 06:05 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 9 2009, 11:47 AM)
The small partial chop FS i caught previously now seems like back to normal fighting style. Not sure it will become fierce chop later after killed the other smaller chop FS earlier.
I still keeping the small FS. Mindstorm u want the small FS? if not i'll released it back . I'll be off next week Thursday.

You still try to breed FS?
u keep the small fs to fight la.

i no longer trying to breed FS cuz lack of suitable garden. They are almost impossible to breed in captive as i have written many of the problems.

Added on February 10, 2009, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Feb 10 2009, 10:12 AM)
Yes, we (Mindstorm & I) got one last year (Cam, the Cameron Highland male) and another a few weeks ago at Lookout point, a female.  I don't have any pictures though.  Here's the youtube link for Cam.
Cam

It's a different species of Thiania.  Wikipedia says there are 17 species of Thiania.  It's sufficiently different from T. bhamoensis that they may not even recognize each other.  The female was chased away by a male that I had without a mating dance.  Viper's giant Bu was yet another species but we couldn't find any of those.  I doubt they are better fighters though.

Nice setup man! Wah...ur hyllus moult so fast! Hyllus seems to have no problems adapting to captivity and seems to grow quite fast if u feed it well.

Well, no one has yet explore fully the other species of Thiania... but by logic, since Bhamoensis is the most wide spread one, I guess Bhamoensis must be the most adaptable one and maybe the better fighter among the all others species, hence securing more nest to live in and propagate.

Added on February 10, 2009, 6:11 pmHere's a shocker. U won't fight a similar clip else where so far...
A Telamonia laying eggs!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miDRteDMfQU

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 10 2009, 06:11 PM
ass
post Feb 10 2009, 11:13 PM

65 posts

Hello people, I stop playing FS already because busy at school. Anyway did I show u that black and yellow FS I caught before? Should be a thiania right?
viper88
post Feb 11 2009, 05:06 PM

2,359 posts

Hi.

Yeah, me oso busy with work nowdays. I feel the main problem is its getting harder to find strong FS as theres not many places in town have garden area with FS habitats. Even when managed to find good fighters , theres not many kakis to fight the FS also. blush.gif

QUOTE(ass @ Feb 10 2009, 11:13 PM)
Hello people, I stop playing FS already because busy at school. Anyway did I show u that black and yellow FS I caught before? Should be a thiania right?
kopPao
post Feb 11 2009, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Feb 10 2009, 10:12 AM)
Yes, we (Mindstorm & I) got one last year (Cam, the Cameron Highland male) and another a few weeks ago at Lookout point, a female.  I don't have any pictures though.  Here's the youtube link for Cam.
Cam

It's a different species of Thiania.  Wikipedia says there are 17 species of Thiania.  It's sufficiently different from T. bhamoensis that they may not even recognize each other.  The female was chased away by a male that I had without a mating dance.  Viper's giant Bu was yet another species but we couldn't find any of those.  I doubt they are better fighters though.

thanks for sharing....
very very nice clips...
this "lam pao" looks fierce !!!
its claw r much longer than normal FS !!!
n im amazed they really can fight each other...
really "da4 kai14 yen3 jie4" !!
u guys r the real FS pro ...

did u fight it with fiercer normal FS ?
example a chop ?
would be interesting to see...

This post has been edited by kopPao: Feb 11 2009, 11:48 PM
viper88
post Feb 12 2009, 01:25 AM

2,359 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaO4-rA5orE&feature=channel

The male spider arm long but not fierce.. din chop fast enuf.. maybe its not hungry yet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVC6jBwC0oI...re=channel_page

This thiania same like the HK fs?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bIZxJa99CuY&feature=related

Giant Bu species ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsYZsm4j1Jk&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfxOmHq6LH0...re=channel_page
viper88
post Feb 13 2009, 11:09 AM

2,359 posts

Here's a female Spider Besi. Saw its nest abit open up infront of my house garden, took some pic and fix the leaves back.
Its eggs look abit brown in colour, not sure whether its fried under the sun since its nest is open up abit.

I've released the small fs i have. Going to cherating this evening, will try to look for FS tongue.gif
Hopefully can find some big and fierce ones. flex.gif

This post has been edited by viper88: Feb 13 2009, 11:12 AM
kopPao
post Feb 15 2009, 08:46 AM

when i was in Sec school...
i saw my schoolmates' FS is a size bigger than the adult FS ..
i got a shock, cos firstly i didnt know SG kids play FS..
secondly, i never see b4 this size...
my schoolmates call them "king kong" pao ...

i wonder is Big Head 1 of the "King Kong" pao ?

Added on February 15, 2009, 8:48 ambro Viper & Mindstorm,
do u mind if i paste this link in my signature in Fishingkaki forum ?

Added on February 15, 2009, 9:59 ammy "Couple" FS suddenly become Gay FS ...
drool.gif

Female FS changed skin n become Male FS

Added on February 15, 2009, 10:02 amGay is shy...

This post has been edited by kopPao: Feb 15 2009, 10:02 AM

viper88
post Feb 16 2009, 12:18 AM

2,359 posts

Came back from Cherating this evening. Didn't spend much time hunting for FS coz most of the time walking at the seaside watching the waves and nice sea view.
The mosquitoes there are much bigger than the town mosquitoes. About 2X more bigger. shakehead.gif Thought can catch some large FS but only managed to catch 3 male FS there .
One of the male FS size quite big, its size slightly bigger than average size.. i feel its about Riper size.. so i named the new FS as Repco. icon_idea.gif

Saw a giant female spider guarding its nest with eggs. Its size is huge about 50cents coin. shocking.gif Its size is like 3X bigger than Giant Bu. flex.gif

I didnt catch the spider coz its not FS ma. tongue.gif

Here are the pics and videos of the spiders. icon_idea.gif

Very big female spider.

These are the leaves that i caught the FS.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

One Arm FS and Rubex new FS

Repco new FS. rclxms.gif

Giant female spider video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqhPb-qA2CU...re=channel_page

OneArm vs Rubex
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1aKiLohD_8...re=channel_page

Repco vs Rubex Rd1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zYZf2qnAMO0...re=channel_page

Repco vs Rubex Rd2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2MQYRqdU_Gg...re=channel_page

Added on February 16, 2009, 12:51 amHi Mindstorm.

Can add this videos into 1st page.

Deflect, flipped and arm bitting counter attack.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVA5FGtOl1M...re=channel_page

Chop and flipped opponent upside down
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7TKwos-kWY...re=channel_page

Chop till bleed
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=al5EHWcUAAY...re=channel_page
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LSKM16S-LU...re=channel_page
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pMbzlfAGgs

Any new FS fight videos from ur side?

This guy oso play FS.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBwemicY2b8&feature=related

Added on February 16, 2009, 11:49 pmThis evening i went out to hunt for more FS to spar with my earlier FS i caught from Cherating.
Caught 3 FS average size male FS. All the FS i caught today is smaller than Repco and Rubex.
One of the FS color abit darker especially its head. Name it as Fearless coz it can fight many rounds with different FS but not kecut easily.

Here are some short FS fight videos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWutJYAEiE0...re=channel_page

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1TO2Ffp4oI...re=channel_page

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmWs3sPU-dI...re=channel_page

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTQX4OkTca8...re=channel_page

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mA1ki2q9RK4...re=channel_page

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05ChzqQfNEA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcMro-jup0U...re=channel_page

This post has been edited by viper88: Feb 16 2009, 11:49 PM
freakfingers12
post Feb 17 2009, 06:07 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Hi, I caught one today. I think it's a fighting spider. I don't know what to do with it. Keep it or release it? What do they eat?

149 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:25 PM