Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

kopPao
post Feb 3 2009, 09:28 PM

hi viper...
yup mine not big.. avg only..
the bigones u refering to, is it called king kong pau ?
chand72
post Feb 4 2009, 12:02 AM

Hi can I know where did u catch your spiders? I am also from singapore.

QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 2 2009, 10:49 PM)
[attachmentid=786752]hi im new to this forum..
but not new to fighting spider...
your thread is very inspirational..
after reading it, i went spider hunting in Singapore...
caught a few of it ..

Added on February 2, 2009, 10:52 pm
viper88
post Feb 4 2009, 12:28 AM

2,359 posts

I played FS in Malay skool last time. All FS kakis in my school last time use BM for their FS.

Eg..
Male strong FS - King
Fierce chop FS - Pak Terkam
female FS - Mak Bon

Caught most of my FS from Daun Sirih last time during skool days.
Those days alot of FS and can catch alot big FS. laugh.gif

http://blogs.iium.edu.my/razli/2008/07/07/buat-ku-tersenyum/
Nowdays more hi tech and modern ady.. not like last time anymore.

QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 3 2009, 09:28 PM)
hi viper...
yup mine not big.. avg only..
the bigones u refering to, is it called king kong pau ?
TSmindstorm
post Feb 4 2009, 02:35 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 2 2009, 10:49 PM)
[attachmentid=786752]hi im new to this forum..
but not new to fighting spider...
your thread is very inspirational..
after reading it, i went spider hunting in Singapore...
caught a few of it ..

Added on February 2, 2009, 10:52 pm
Nice... any good fights?

Added on February 4, 2009, 2:37 am
QUOTE(chand72 @ Feb 4 2009, 12:02 AM)
Hi, chand. U're most welcome to this forum. Who introduced u to fighting spiders?
Have u caught any yet?

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 4 2009, 02:37 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 4 2009, 03:15 AM

900 posts

Dan went back to the states yesterday. The day before he left, we went for a short spider hunt. He got 3 males but lost the biggest one because the net on the container was torn and the spider somehow escape from the pouch where he placed his container. I got none. Dan still proved he is better catcher than i am. The 2 new ones he caught was still no match for the his first king and my first king we caught earlier.

A large Wong ma ma's(kerenga) nest.

A "kerenga"-eating spider.

A small Bavia with eggs

Back at Dan's garden
Dan's first king. (What shall u call it man? Still no name)

Fight!!!(With my first king) Shouldn't be hard to guess which is Dan's first king!
Mine ran without even chopping.

Fighting Dan's first king with a male Hantu kuning!
Hantu kuning dare not fight, seeing how Dan's first king showing off his Mantis Martial Arts!!

Odd pics
What is this weevil doing in ur garden, man?

The nest with eggs which u left on an orb web, Dan.
(On his last day in m'sia, Dan had to save many fs nests from a tree in his garden which fell and would probably be burnt by his mum. How lucky the fs are!! Hooray for Dan!)

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 4 2009, 03:15 AM
happy4ever
post Feb 4 2009, 08:57 AM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

I thought your avatar looked familiar...

yes... i was playing with these long time since school days (form 2 & 3) in a sec school in SS3. Our hunting ground was near a water tank in SS3, behind some terrace houses. Normally the residents would setup some fences or plant plants near the water tank. We would all enjoy our ponteng sessions and catch them and store in matchboxes, and bring them to school to fight.

I had rared many of them in matchboxes, and put a soaked cotton ball for it to drink. And catch some females for the males to have "fun", or to gain confidence after losing a battle, and by gently pressing on its legs so she can't run. Yea...that was rape...and it was the first time seeing how spiders mate... with all the wriggling and stuffs tongue.gif
viper88
post Feb 4 2009, 04:41 PM

2,359 posts

Wow.. Dan's 1st King looks big thumbup.gif Big size like Celltel?
Too bad the another new big FS got away.. if not can let them fight each other.

Today I also went to my housing area garden nearby to chk the FS there. Here's some of the pictures taken today.

This type of plant leaves also have FS.

Adult average size male FS. didn't bring any fs case or scissors.. use hand catch only and put inside a small plastic bag found nearby.. icon_idea.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Female FS from orchid leaves. Put it together with the adult male FS. tongue.gif

Young small size male FS from pandan leaves. Hard to catch this FS.. run and jump to banana leaves and hide inside banana trunk skin.

Size different between adult and young male FS. See the FS big head, thick and long arms. laugh.gif
The young male kecut type cant fight. The adult male fighting stance looks strong. tongue.gif

Released all the FS back, hope they can multiply more. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by viper88: Feb 4 2009, 07:32 PM
kopPao
post Feb 4 2009, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(chand72 @ Feb 4 2009, 12:02 AM)
hi chand,
i caught it from macritchie reservoir...
im now looking for a challenger... would u like to catch 1 and fight with mine ?
juz for fun...

when i was spider hunting, i saw 2 spider kakis catching spiders there too...
mine won his 1st king.. his bigger than mine...
but only 3 chop

Added on February 4, 2009, 9:34 pm
QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 4 2009, 02:35 AM)
Nice... any good fights?

Added on February 4, 2009, 2:37 am

Hi, chand. U're most welcome to this forum. Who introduced u to fighting spiders?
Have u caught any yet?
hi mindstorm ...
no good fight, only 3 chop with some1 else's 1st king...
now looking for challenger, want to test my spider's limit...
any FS kakis from Singapore ?

Hi viper and mindstorm, where do u guys stay ?

Added on February 4, 2009, 9:37 pmhi viper...
yours look very big and fierce, long & thick arms.

This post has been edited by kopPao: Feb 4 2009, 09:37 PM
viper88
post Feb 5 2009, 12:26 AM

2,359 posts

Hi kopPao.

I'm staying at KL, Mindstorm is at PJ. Both of us from Malaysia smile.gif.
There are few SG FS kakis in this FS forum and SG Arofanatic forum also.
Centaufly is one of them. smile.gif

My FS is average size only about Hope size, smaller if compare to CHAOS.

If free, take more pics or video of ur FS and share with us here.
Thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by viper88: Feb 5 2009, 12:28 AM
kopPao
post Feb 5 2009, 12:46 AM

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 5 2009, 12:26 AM)
Hi kopPao.

I'm staying at KL, Mindstorm is at PJ. Both of us from Malaysia smile.gif.
There are  few SG FS kakis in this FS forum and SG Arofanatic forum also.
Centaufly is one of them.  smile.gif

My FS is average size only about Hope size, smaller if compare to CHAOS.

If free, take more pics or video of ur FS and share with us here.
Thanks.  icon_rolleyes.gif
hi Viper...
im fish1401 from fishingkaki forum in SG ...
i didnt know it was u who pm me untill i read this thread aroung pg 20 something !!
i have started plying FS again cos of my friend...

i really hope to hv a fight with yours(eventhou i know mine will lose)
but u stay too far... biggrin.gif

this thread is super... like a dream come true for me...
im a FS Fanatic ...

may i hv the contacts for this FS kakis in SG ?
TSmindstorm
post Feb 5 2009, 03:06 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Feb 4 2009, 08:57 AM)
I thought your avatar looked familiar...

yes... i was playing with these long time since school days (form 2 & 3) in a sec school in SS3. Our hunting ground was near a water tank in SS3, behind some terrace houses. Normally the residents would setup some fences or plant plants near the water tank. We would all enjoy our ponteng sessions and catch them and store in matchboxes, and bring them to school to fight.

I had rared many of them in matchboxes, and put a soaked cotton ball for it to drink. And catch some females for the males to have "fun", or to gain confidence after losing a battle, and by gently pressing on its legs so she can't run. Yea...that was rape...and it was the first time seeing how spiders mate... with all the wriggling and stuffs tongue.gif
Haha! WELCOME here! Seems u found my hideout...

Nice to know u enjoy such a long lost hobby too, which thanks to internet, is no longer lost.

Cheers!

Added on February 5, 2009, 3:07 am
QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 4 2009, 04:41 PM)
Wow.. Dan's 1st King looks big thumbup.gif Big size like Celltel?
Too bad the another new big FS got away.. if not can let them fight each other.

Today I also went to my housing area garden nearby to chk the FS there. Here's some of the pictures taken today.

This type of plant leaves also have FS.

Adult average size male FS. didn't bring any fs case or scissors.. use hand catch only and put inside a small plastic bag found nearby.. icon_idea.gif

Female FS from orchid leaves. Put it together with the adult male FS.  tongue.gif

Young small size male FS from pandan leaves. Hard to catch this FS.. run and jump to banana leaves and hide inside banana trunk skin.

Size different between adult  and young male FS. See the FS big head, thick and long arms.  laugh.gif
The young male kecut type cant fight. The adult male fighting stance looks strong. tongue.gif

Released all the FS back, hope they can multiply more.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Woohoo! u got big one too! I'll call u next wk, this wk stocktake so too busy. Make sure u keep ur king till then!

Added on February 5, 2009, 3:10 am
QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 5 2009, 12:46 AM)
hi Viper...
i didnt know it was u who pm me untill i read this thread aroung pg 20 something !!

but u stay too far...  biggrin.gif

im a FS Fanatic ...

waloa eh...so u are fish1401!! i and viper were trying to contact u because we saw ur forum in fishingkaki. That was such a long long time ago! Welcome man! We are the fanatics!!

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 5 2009, 03:10 AM
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 5 2009, 05:00 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 3 2009, 12:15 PM)

Back at Dan's garden
Dan's first king. (What shall u call it man? Still no name)

Fight!!!(With my first king) Shouldn't be hard to guess which is Dan's first king!
Mine ran without even chopping.

Thanks for the posts. It was an enjoyable trip and not as hot as the last time.
The failure to catch any chop this time around is a good indication of how hard it is to find a chop. It's so much easier to convert them than to find them in the wild.

The first king was initially named Ampang4. I'm not very creative with names. I'm having a hard time coming up with the two I have right now, including Baby (house spider I've kept for 8 months now, still a baby) and the one the Hyllus I brought back on this trip. Hopefully I can get the Hyllus to adulthood, although I think it's a different species (not H. diardi) than Drag0nette's so it will be smaller.

Here are some of my pics to contribute to the thread.
1. Hantu Kuning (Evarcha flavocincta) female.
2. Hantu Kuning male eating small fighting spider male.
3. Unidentified jumper eating a big bluebottle fly.

viper88
post Feb 5 2009, 10:40 AM

2,359 posts

Wa.. after so long now only i come to this forum ar..
Do you went for the SG FS competition ? HeiBee, Shawn, tat champion FS guy... forgot his name ady.
Last year FS at SG also i wanted to go but didnt managed to get leave and have to rush there and come back kl so in the end didnt go.
Not sure can pass SG custom check point or not if i put my FS & case inside my pants tongue.gif
Later me and Mindstorm have our own FS competition here at Tasik Perdana. rclxms.gif

Yeah, sure can fight if i got FS. Win or lose its ok..coz some FS eventho lost in better still can fight and recover their confidence quite fast.
After more fights, the FS become stronger and fights better.

You can PM these 2 SG fs kaki via youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/user/centaurfly
http://www.youtube.com/user/Leiman1

Here are yesterday short FS video.

No fight
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIFQajNc0CM...re=channel_page
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tw8F30qbGyE...re=channel_page

Male FS courting female FS
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puvk9qDBJd0...re=channel_page

QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 5 2009, 12:46 AM)
hi Viper...

but u stay too far...  biggrin.gif

im a FS Fanatic ...

pasarmalam
post Feb 5 2009, 11:10 AM

276 posts

Hey any has pic of the spider.No the green back ones something like the Golden but it has not much hair.

Head is black and has white line on eye side and the ass is small silver or golden.Big front claws.

Used to catch them alot.And the look much more ganas compared to the green one.
Is fangs maroonish color.

Usually can be found in Mango,Rambutan trees.not in pandan or green leaves.

Usually dead leaves or 1 brown on 1 green stuck together

Cant remember whats the name we used to call it during primary time.

This post has been edited by pasarmalam: Feb 5 2009, 11:16 AM
chand72
post Feb 5 2009, 12:56 PM

koppao,

can we meet on of these days..yes I thought of finding my interest again. It would be fun. Which part of macritchie do u catch. How to contact u?.

QUOTE(kopPao @ Feb 4 2009, 09:31 PM)
hi chand,
i caught it from macritchie reservoir...
im now looking for a challenger... would u like to catch 1 and fight with mine ?
juz for fun...

when i was spider hunting, i saw 2 spider kakis catching spiders there too...
mine won his 1st king.. his bigger than mine...
but only 3 chop

Added on February 4, 2009, 9:34 pm
hi mindstorm ...
no good fight, only 3 chop with some1 else's 1st king...
now looking for challenger, want to test my spider's limit...
any FS kakis from Singapore ?

Hi viper and mindstorm, where do u guys stay ?

Added on February 4, 2009, 9:37 pmhi viper...
yours look very big and fierce, long & thick arms.
viper88
post Feb 5 2009, 05:51 PM

2,359 posts

Nolar, its average size only, not big size. The FS is about Hope size. Its abit old ady coz its arms bend in most of the time while walking but still show angry face when face it opponent. Check out the videos i've uploaded today.

I've released the FS near my house with a female FS 2gether yesterday. This morning when i go jogging, the male FS is still there in between the big leaves.
I also found some male FS with female FS in nest nearby my housing area .. all mostly average size only.
I hope the FS at my housing area will breed and multiply more.

How many FS you have currently?
Have new FS videos?

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 5 2009, 03:06 AM)
Woohoo! u got big one too! I'll call u next wk, this wk stocktake so too busy. Make sure u keep ur king till then!
kopPao
post Feb 5 2009, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 5 2009, 03:06 AM)
Haha! WELCOME here! Seems u found my hideout...

Nice to know u enjoy such a long lost hobby too, which thanks to internet, is no longer lost.

Cheers!

Added on February 5, 2009, 3:07 am

Added on February 5, 2009, 3:10 am

waloa eh...so u are fish1401!! i and viper were trying to contact u because we saw ur forum in fishingkaki. That was such a long long time ago! Welcome man! We are the fanatics!!
icic...
that time i was into Fishing, and did not keep any FS ...
now my interest for FS has returned, thanks to your FS video on youtube ...

they are really really good fights...
my thumb and toes all up for u..

i was born in Mersing, a small kampong at JB....
my uncle got me hooked onto FS ...
I can play with them 12 hrs a day... the other 12 hrs is spent on zz n eating.
till now, the poison still with me...
i gave up FS last time cos cant find any kaki to play with...

only started recently with a friend, but he is not so into it...
luckily met 2 new kakis that day at macritchie reservoir ...
going FS hunting this sat, and also challenge their new 1st king..

wish me luck !
icon_idea.gif

Added on February 5, 2009, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 5 2009, 10:40 AM)
Wa.. after so long now only i come to this forum ar..
Do you went for the SG FS competition ? HeiBee, Shawn, tat champion FS guy... forgot his name ady.
Last year FS at SG also i wanted to go but didnt managed to get leave and have to rush there and come back kl so in the end didnt go.
Not sure can pass SG custom check point or not if i put my FS & case inside my pants  tongue.gif
Later me and Mindstorm have our own FS competition here at Tasik Perdana.  rclxms.gif

Yeah, sure can fight if i got FS. Win or lose its ok..coz some FS eventho lost in better still can fight and recover their confidence quite fast.
After more fights, the FS become stronger and fights better.

You can PM these 2 SG fs kaki via youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/user/centaurfly
http://www.youtube.com/user/Leiman1

Here are yesterday short FS video.

No fight
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIFQajNc0CM...re=channel_page
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tw8F30qbGyE...re=channel_page

Male FS courting female FS
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puvk9qDBJd0...re=channel_page
i did not go for the competition, cos at that time too crazy with fishing...

This post has been edited by kopPao: Feb 5 2009, 09:55 PM
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 6 2009, 08:25 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(pasarmalam @ Feb 4 2009, 08:10 PM)
Hey any has pic of the spider.No the green back ones something like the Golden but it has not much hair.

Head is black and has white line on eye side and the ass is small silver or golden.Big front claws.

Used to catch them alot.And the look much more ganas compared to the green one.
Is fangs maroonish color.

Usually can be found in Mango,Rambutan trees.not in pandan or green leaves.

Usually dead leaves or 1 brown on 1 green stuck together
Cant remember whats the name we used to call it during primary time.
It's what we call Golden spider. Also known as Mangrove jumper (Ligurra Latidens). You're describing a male L. latidens.
They're the best fighters I know of, pound for pound, but they can't swim.

http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...ra_latidens.htm

viper88
post Feb 6 2009, 10:30 AM

2,359 posts

Hoho.. this spider is also known as Spider Besi for the Malay guys. Its top range of killer spider among other spider like Spider Bandar and Spider Pandan.
The male Spider Besi is almost 100% chop and will kill its prey fast. Not easy to catch the male spider besi coz most of the time i found before are females.
The ranking is always Spider Besi > Spider Bandar > Spider Pandan. If the male Spider Bandar is big.. then can pawned Spider Besi laugh.gif Spider Pandan is the weakest
but they fight against their own species oso quite ok.

I still remember last time when i play with these type of spiders, i put them in jelly case 2gether for fight.
I don't handle these spiders using hand coz worried they will bite me.

After saw my other friends play FS, their FS fighting stance, fighting techniques and style, exotic green/blue stripes colour, i stop playing other spider type and only play FS icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Feb 6 2009, 08:25 AM)
It's what we call Golden spider.  Also known as Mangrove jumper (Ligurra Latidens).  You're describing a male L. latidens.
They're the best fighters I know of, pound for pound, but they can't swim.

http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...ra_latidens.htm
pasarmalam
post Feb 6 2009, 11:42 AM

276 posts

Thx for the info brings back alot of memories

Oh its the male one lol.
Ya la always catch female one .Males are harder to find.

Its been awhile lol.But it really fun.Used to keep in Match box of Film container lastime.

Damn I miss my spider catching days.Used to climb mango & Rambutan tree to find them.

Never really like the pandan spider.Not ganas enuf haha.I can still remmeber my spider killing my friends one terus grip then trus suck it dry was damn cool.Of course my was the bigger spider lah haha.

Also have seen one shed skin.From gold to like grey color very wierd.I was only primary scholl so I was not sure if it did happen lol.

Used to feed em toilet flies and sometimes house fly and some nyamuk

I might go home and check out my mango tree again tongue.gif

149 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:12 PM