Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

TSmindstorm
post Jan 20 2008, 03:20 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 19 2008, 05:54 PM)
Caught the spiders early this week, didn't feed it with much nice food.. just plain dead + sumtimes alive mosquitoes & small insects. Spray some plain water to keep it moist inside the case and drop some water at the bottom of the case. The spider seems not thirsty at all.

Only can play with the spiders for a while after work at home. Yup.. the video quality is from Dopod 838 pro and Casio dig camera... din take properly coz no skill.. and wanted to c the spider fight oso worry the spider will jump and run away. tongue.gif I don't have much time to train or play spiders nowdays coz bz working.. sweat.gif

Saw all ur spider video clips in Youtube..
http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=adrianlwkeat
Really good video quality. Thanks man.
I've dl and store in in my dopod 838pro.  Can c in when bored in office. This type of video are hard 2 find.. must keep rclxms.gif

So how many spiders u have now in total? Plan to keep it till grow into big spider? I'm not sure how long is the spider life. The most i kept bfr is about 1 year only. U got plan to breed it and sell ? laugh.gif

So far cant find any pet shop selling fighting spiders.  tongue.gif
Maybe can make good money oso. Young male 1 for RM 5, Adult male - RM 10. Strong fighter - RM 20
Female - RM3.  icon_idea.gif

I've 2male and 2 females.. thinking of release all at my house garden except the strongest male.  hmm.gif
Too many spiders need more time to take care of them.

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
Now got only 4 males. 2 female with eggs. 1 female carrying bighead's genes. And 2 males but havent change skin yet to adult male. We know it is males because of their big "teeth".
When the eggs hatch from one of the females then i will have potential 20-30 babies! This will be first time I try rearing from hatching to adult. Wish me luck.
Wah!! you keep so long? You mean you keep one single spider so long? You expert la. I suppose it is a male? Actually the longest I kept is only 2 months plus. Last time usually because i would have let them go or they die.
Sell? Dunno got ppl want or not. Walao, so expensive meh? Fighting fish plakat only 2-3 dollars.
Also not easy to mass produce.

What happened to the spider u saw when tying ur shoe?

pictures
1. Male that havent change skin. Notice the big "teeth"
2. Compare the size of the actual female's "teeth"
3. My males houses
4. Topman

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jan 20 2008, 03:40 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSmindstorm
post Jan 20 2008, 03:38 AM

900 posts

So how to prevent the throw?
By grabbing on to your opponent!

Topman(left) vs Bro1(right)
Picture preview
1. Arm waving push
2. When topman try to execute the throw(how i know it is trying to throw? can see topman tilted its head and arms upwards), notice how bro1 grab on to topman with its hindlegs! (video : at 13s)
3. The fight continues where bro1 launch a series of ferocious bite attempts
4. But topman ultimately won by successfully biting bro1 left arm which sent him scrambling! rclxm9.gif

Isn't fighting spiders exciting!

Actual video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37YbgDt6xfU

PS. And this is bro1 which when 1 day after it changed skin, i tried to fight it, it was kecut.. see other spider, straight away ran. So don't underestimate white leg spider if you catch one...keep them for a couple of weeks and see...

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jan 20 2008, 03:49 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSmindstorm
post Jan 20 2008, 04:07 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(terrorist @ Jan 19 2008, 08:57 PM)
wah.. this reminds me of my primary school days tongue.gif .. i remember last time when i catch spiders in school, i will pluck the whole leaf out.. then kena marah by the gardener laugh.gif

where u guys catch spider ah ? feel like playing with them again laugh.gif
usually the area must have a few criterias
1. shade
2. supply of insects (plants in the middle of roads you wont find)
3. fairly large flat leaves with no bulu
You can find them between the leaves. The easiest places to go is your normal housing area where there are alot of plants with overlapping leaves.. safe and easy or to some deserted plot of land in housing area also got

You from subang? I dunno subang got or not... to me seems like dont have....too barren and clean and hot...
but if u can get good la...i from puchong can easily come and we can have a spider fight! rclxms.gif
TSmindstorm
post Jan 20 2008, 04:12 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(pitinn @ Jan 19 2008, 09:17 PM)
I also feel like playing it again....LIke very nice....haha....TS ur spidys bite u anot?
haha more ppl play good la, then i got kaki.
These spiders dont bite la. Even if it trys to also cannot penetrate human skin... but golden spider can...

I believe there is other ppl still play, but many of them not so canggih come on to internet forum to discuss...
pitinn
post Jan 20 2008, 02:09 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 20 2008, 04:20 AM)
Now got only 4 males. 2 female with eggs. 1 female carrying bighead's genes. And 2 males but havent change skin yet to adult male. We know it is males because of their big "teeth".
When the eggs hatch from one of the females then i will have potential 20-30 babies! This will be first time I try rearing from hatching to adult. Wish me luck.
Wah!! you keep so long? You mean you keep one single spider so long? You expert la. I suppose it is a male? Actually the longest I kept is only 2 months plus. Last time usually because i would have let them go or they die.
Sell? Dunno got ppl want or not. Walao, so expensive meh? Fighting fish plakat only 2-3 dollars. 

What happened to the spider u saw when tying ur shoe?

pictures
1. Male that havent change skin. Notice the big "teeth"
2. Compare the size of the actual female's "teeth"
3. My males houses
4. Topman
wa....den the babies sure very geng to fight lor?How u breed?The male won't fight wif the female merz?Urs look really huge....Wat is golden spider?Got sample pic?

This post has been edited by pitinn: Jan 20 2008, 02:11 PM
viper88
post Jan 20 2008, 04:54 PM

2,359 posts

Wa..ur female spider quite big n fat leh.. rclxms.gif Nice spider case u have there..seems very hi-tech..lol
U got poke hole at the top of the case right? wa.. the leaves plant put inside water can last longer. My toothpick case very small n cramp, smelly also when the leaves dry out + dead insects smell.

Last time i keep my spiders in Trebor sweet case, poke few holes at top of the case using nails. Easy to carry around, i even bring my spider back to my hometown for CNY. tongue.gif. Spider are easy to keep, just feed them with insects + water. They can live long.. if keep it properly its case surrounded with water around to avoid ants go eat the spider. Keep them in good temperature, not too cold or too hot oso. Last time CNY when i go pai nien, i left my spider with case inside car with abit window open.. After came back from pai nien, c the spider dead ady cry.gif ... I think the weather is too hot ady and inside car, its even hotter.

The spider i saw few days ago when tying my shoe bfr i go work ran away ady.. cant find it.

Today caught some small green flies to fed my spiders.
Here's the banana leaf spider in action

After feed the spiders, went out and caught another big female spider. This female is much bigger compare to the earlier 2 females spider i've caught earlier. Defeated other 2 females spiders easily. Release the smaller female spider back 2 my garden.

Heres the pic my house garden spider with the new big female spider.

Banana leaf spider with the new big female spider.

v_viper88

-Y-
post Jan 20 2008, 09:04 PM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

OMG!!! this is real nostalgic one!! i still remember i play this 'laga spider' when i was young. i have my spider which is the king at my kampung once. but died bcos of too old. it is really hard to breed this spider. love it. good thread.
viper88
post Jan 21 2008, 12:47 AM

2,359 posts

Yup, nowdays hard to see ppl or skool kids play spider .
Wa.. ur spider is King at ur kampung.. died bcoz of too old? how long u keep the spider?

This evening, i went to my neighbour banglo house swimming pool to swim. I know his house back near the swimming got garden.. so bring along empty spider case to catch spider. tongue.gif

Manage to find few small spiders, din catch. Later found and caught 2 female spider. One quite big.

Cant find any males..decided to go into the swimming pool swim awhile.. feel abit disappointed coz cant find any male fighting spiders.
After swim few minutes decide to go look for male. Finally able to find 2 male spiders. 1 average size adult, and 1 big adult spiders. rclxms.gif
The Banglo big spider is bigger than the banana leaf spider! rclxms.gif

Later night at home, its Spider fighting time!

Round 1
New average size banglo spider vs my house garden spider.

My house garden spider win easily.

Round 2.
Banglo big size spider vs my house garden spider.
Slight arm pushing, my house garden spider ran off ady.

Round 3.
Banglo big size spider vs Banana leaf spider

Slight arm pushing oso, Banana leaf spider ran off ady... rclxub.gif

Didn't took any picture coz wanted to the fight ma.

Check out the Banglo spider wide long arms..

i think its arm is damn wide and scares off other fighting spider easily.. thumbup.gif

Maybe its nite time the spiders all sleepy duwan fight? hmm.gif

I bought a betta fish housing, put my spider in there now. So far so good. rclxm9.gif

v_viper88

QUOTE(-Y- @ Jan 20 2008, 09:04 PM)
OMG!!! this is real nostalgic one!! i still remember i play this 'laga spider' when i was young. i have my spider which is the king at my kampung once. but died bcos of too old. it is really hard to breed this spider. love it. good thread.
This post has been edited by viper88: Jan 21 2008, 12:58 AM

TSmindstorm
post Jan 21 2008, 01:22 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(pitinn @ Jan 20 2008, 02:09 PM)
wa....den the babies sure very geng to fight lor?How u breed?The male won't fight wif the female merz?Urs look really huge....Wat is golden spider?Got sample pic?
Well hopefully. I believe fighting ability genes can be passed down. If by selective breeding we can get tougher fighting spiders then the fights would be longer lasting.

Heh.. if male fight with female, how to continue the species?!

My female normal size only.

See golden spider(named by my fren and me because of its color) female below. Also known as the mangrove jumper(actual common name). Actually size for size golden spider is considered the toughest and fiercest jumper spider i know(maybe got some others i dunno know yet). Their body is like a tank!
If you put a fighting spider there, there is high possibility your fighting spider kena makan even though they are nearly the same length. They will even attack face-on and pierce their big sharp teeth directly into the head of a fighting spider if the fighting spider does not raise its fang fast enough. They can easily attack from side or back...any direction. Pretty scary. I used to play a lot with it last time because my house in SS2 got a mango tree full of it. I find the female golden more fierce than the male although the male got very long fangs which is bend inwards when resting. When it fights, waloa, u can see its very long fangs. I think my fren kena bitten once by them....maybe he can tell u the story...he is none other than Mangrovejumper!

Golden spider are tree spiders unlike fighting spider(which are shrub spiders). Last time I usually find them in rambutan, mango or kelapa sawit tree. If ur garden have a old big rambutan or mango tree, probably u can find them too. They like to make their nest in dead brown leaves that happen to be still stuck to tree, but sometimes also in green leaves. They seem to like very dark nest so that if another spider happen to wander through, it will become food before it knows what hit it.

For a picture of the male golden, see http://tramontina.fotopages.com/?entry=1297453
The top most middle picture. It has white eye shadow! hehe

TSmindstorm
post Jan 21 2008, 01:34 AM

900 posts

Top of my containers is actually cloth netting which i cut from leftover curtain cloth. The container i cut out one big hole mah. Then i just drip wax from a candle to seal the netting to the sides of the hole.

Yea, never put spider in car unattended. 100% die when sun comes out.

Woohoo!! Your spider big la! The arms so looonng flex.gif ...way longer than its body. Now got challenger for bighead! rclxms.gif
Comeon... lets have a fight. i think urs can win.

For me, wheather my spider win or lose doesn't matter, as long got good fight. I can videocam and put for everybody to see. For everybody following this tread, who agree to the fight?? Say yes! hehe...batu api... biggrin.gif

When bighead was caught (by Dan Lam aka Mangrovejumper on 25/11/07)...it was quite pale it colour. It lost to lumpy even though lumpy was smaller. Bighead top, lumpy bottom.

See video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lPr1sP-NfM

After several days, dunno why lumpy became kecut, so bighead became firstking because quietman has never won bighead before.

2 days ago...see bighead vs bigguns... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xB1qJRxGG8g

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jan 21 2008, 01:54 AM
TSmindstorm
post Jan 21 2008, 02:07 AM

900 posts

Haha..today the male that havent change skin changed skin!
Look at pictures below, hard to think the first picture is same spider as the ones after it huh?
I give it some water to drink, it drink very long. I think if you have a male that havent changed skin, best to give it a lot of food and water before and after it change skin...i think it will kembang more, hence you get a bigger spider.
Dunno true or not, just theory.

I think i will name it blurman cuz it looked quite blur. Anyway it is not big, small in fact.. maybe after 2 weeks i will fight it. Now sure kecut.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jan 21 2008, 02:08 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
terrorist
post Jan 21 2008, 03:01 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

LOL, let's organize a spider hunting trip la.. laugh.gif.. i am real excited looking at you guys " fighter " already.. feel like catching one back and fight with ur spiders.. laugh.gif
viper88
post Jan 21 2008, 03:02 PM

2,359 posts

Wa.. u use candle wax drip to seal the case, very creative. rclxms.gif
Yesterday, I bought a small bette housing, mostly small hole. Only have two slightly big holes, place to feed. I just cover it using cardboard paper with double tap.

Ya, last time was my mistake.. i thought if i unwind the car window abit air can flow in and out tats why i leave the spider inside the car. The hot air ventilation in the car is too much for my little spider to bear.. surfocated till death. sweat.gif

Ya..this morning i let the spiders fight again.

Garden spider vs Banana spider - Banana spider won
Short fight.

Banana spider vs Banglo spider - Banglo spider won.
Short fight also. No match at all. Banana spider was defeated easily. Not fierce like last time when it fight my House Garden spider.
I didn't expect it to lose easily to the Banglo spider. The Banglo spider is only slightly bigger and it arms are longer abit.

After some consideration, i decided to release all the male and female spider to my front house garden, only keep the strongest Banglo spider.
Its easier to take care. Plan to keep it till it grow Big big.. icon_idea.gif

Your spiders also big and arms also wide. Can see clearly in the pic and videos. Very fierce oo.. drool.gif
Fight with ur spiders? Your are in Puchong and i'm in KL leh.

Your spiders drink water alot? All the spiders i caught seems duwant to drink water when i drip the water near them. I just spay some water into the spider case just in case. It still eat fresh green flies as normal. Those small green flies we normally see in flower and leaves, not those big normal flies.

v_viper88

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 21 2008, 01:34 AM)
Top of my containers is actually cloth netting which i cut from leftover curtain cloth. The container i cut out one big hole mah. Then i just drip wax from a candle to seal the netting to the sides of the hole.

Yea, never put spider in car unattended. 100% die when sun comes out.

Woohoo!! Your spider big la! The arms so looonng flex.gif ...way longer than its body. Now got challenger for bighead!  rclxms.gif
Comeon... lets have a fight. i think urs can win.

For me, wheather my spider win or lose doesn't matter, as long got good fight. I can videocam and put for everybody to see. For everybody following this tread, who agree to the fight?? Say yes! hehe...batu api...  biggrin.gif

When bighead was caught (by Dan Lam aka Mangrovejumper on 25/11/07)...it was quite pale it colour. It lost to lumpy even though lumpy was smaller. Bighead top, lumpy bottom.

See video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lPr1sP-NfM

After several days, dunno why lumpy became kecut, so bighead became firstking because quietman has never won bighead before.

2 days ago...see bighead vs bigguns... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xB1qJRxGG8g

Added on January 21, 2008, 3:14 pmMost of the female spider wont fight with male or female spider, they only fight if want to protect their own territory or fighting for food.. etcs..

The fierce female spider sometimes will fight with the male spider also. It can defeated other smaller male spider.
Yesterday smaller male spider which i caught at my neighbour banglo also lost to one of the big female spider.
I release the male spider first to one leaves which already have spider nest, then i put the big female spider there also.
I saw both the spider fight awhile and the male spider ran away. doh.gif

v_viper88

QUOTE(pitinn @ Jan 20 2008, 02:09 PM)
The male won't fight wif the female merz?Urs look really huge....
This post has been edited by viper88: Jan 21 2008, 03:14 PM
Createmous
post Jan 21 2008, 03:32 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Jan 13 2008, 04:37 PM)
Wow.. that kind of place u go for spider hunting.. maybe good for snake hunting too tongue.gif
yea careful, dude. 1 of my friend when 2 hospital after being bite by a deadly snake while catching fighting spider "paw-foo". dont go 2 those places very dangerous may b got anaconda 2.. haha.. laugh.gif
viper88
post Jan 21 2008, 04:08 PM

2,359 posts

Fighting fish is too common ady.. Their fighting skill is so so.. more like for display only.
Fighting spider is difficult to find and breed. The big, strong and fierce ones is even harder to get.

I, myself as a fighting spider fan don't mind paying good money for a big and strong fierce fighting spider.

v_viper88

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 20 2008, 03:20 AM)
bartbarb
post Jan 21 2008, 04:14 PM

393 posts

recently my house got many of those black color one, just like the one posted, but i didn't catch them as i don't know how to rear them, later ended-up like old times kept them til died liao.
pitinn
post Jan 21 2008, 05:01 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 21 2008, 02:22 AM)
Well hopefully. I believe fighting ability genes can be passed down. If by selective breeding we can get tougher fighting spiders then the fights would be longer lasting.

Heh.. if male fight with female, how to continue the species?!

My female normal size only.

See golden spider(named by my fren and me because of its color) female below. Also known as the mangrove jumper(actual common name). Actually size for size golden spider is considered the toughest and fiercest jumper spider i know(maybe got some others i dunno know yet). Their body is like a tank!
If you put a fighting spider there, there is high possibility your fighting spider kena makan even though they are nearly the same length. They will even attack face-on and pierce their big sharp teeth directly into the head of a fighting spider if the fighting spider does not raise its fang fast enough. They can easily attack from side or back...any direction. Pretty scary. I used to play a lot with it last time because my house in SS2 got a mango tree full of it. I find the female golden more fierce than the male although the male got very long fangs which is bend inwards when resting. When it fights, waloa, u can see its very long fangs. I think my fren kena bitten once by them....maybe he can tell u the story...he is none other than Mangrovejumper!

Golden spider are tree spiders unlike fighting spider(which are shrub spiders). Last time I usually find them in rambutan, mango or kelapa sawit tree. If ur garden have a old big rambutan or mango tree, probably u can find them too. They like to make their nest in dead brown leaves that happen to be still stuck to tree, but sometimes also in green leaves. They seem to like very dark nest so that if another spider happen to wander through, it will become food before it knows what hit it.

For a picture of the male golden, see http://tramontina.fotopages.com/?entry=1297453
The top most middle picture. It has white eye shadow! hehe
I noe already!Last time I catch be4...It is gold in color.....And very huge and furry....And I ut 1 fighthing spider in he juz attack from the back and jump and eat.....Damn fast....

Added on January 21, 2008, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(Createmous @ Jan 21 2008, 04:32 PM)
yea careful, dude. 1 of my friend when 2 hospital after being bite by a deadly snake while catching fighting spider "paw-foo". dont go 2 those places very dangerous may b got anaconda 2.. haha.. laugh.gif
Ya....its call PAW FOO....In english I dunno.....haha

This post has been edited by pitinn: Jan 21 2008, 05:03 PM
terrorist
post Jan 21 2008, 05:05 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

Leopard Tiger ? laugh.gif
Core_Tracer
post Jan 21 2008, 06:23 PM

4 Stars Prodigy
599 posts

wow..cool insect....
these spiders fight till death?
viper88
post Jan 21 2008, 07:46 PM

2,359 posts

Yeah, its a cool insect. Their fighting skill is the best!!

Most of the time, the losing spider will just ran away. If fight with a very very fierce spider, the loser spider might end up with a broken arm, or got bitten to death. It will use its wide arms to grab/terkam its opponent and bite it fiercely till die without letting it run away. Normally the spider will
get ready with it fighting stance position and move closer to its opponent, it opponent will sense danger automatically "spider sense" and will get ready with fighting stance position also. When both spider is very close, they will exchange blows using their fighting arms, and try to bite each other when there's chance.

I've saw before my friend spider very fierce type terkam and bite its opponent spider which is still unaware/not ready to fight yet. The spider tat got hit by the surprise terkam attack will either die or injured and lose the fight. Only those really fierce and strong spider can give counter attack back like "mindstorm" spiders" rclxms.gif My friend's big strong and fierce spider some time also fight direct with few spider one after another one and still win. Undefeatable. thumbup.gif Seldom can get to see these type of fierce fighting spider tats on frenzy ready to kill off its opponent fast without waiting for the opponent to have a fair direct fight. shakehead.gif Saw my friend bite his finger and squeeze out some of his finger blood to feed his fierce spider, he says this will make the spider become frenzy and hunger to kill.. shocking.gif

I oso remember he told me his King spider died coz jump to a nearby kuali panas when he is playing spider in the kitchen. shakehead.gif
Not sure whether true onot.. but his spider is really fierce and GANAS laugh.gif .

v_viper88

QUOTE(Core_Trace(R) @ Jan 21 2008, 06:23 PM)
wow..cool insect....
these spiders fight till death?

149 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:45 AM