Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

TSmindstorm
post Jun 18 2009, 02:38 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jun 17 2009, 10:17 PM)
Walau...more incredible clips from u! The fight btw Valor and Darkmatter really gruesome. Can see Darkmatter from 18-22 already got badly injured by Valor's attack but mistake by Darkmatter as not wanting to run away. At 30, DM still got chance to run away to go under the platform but unfortunately still want to fight despite being injured. 36 already can see DM trying to escape but too injured leow. From 43 onwards technically it is no longer a fight but waiting for death! Ur pushnig allow DM to escape in the end, but half dead leow. Hope it will survive. Valor damn fierce man, remind me of ur Hope.

Valor vs Giga also good match. Never see before fs being throw so far away, somemore face the other side. Cannot see how Giga got thrown...somehow looks like he got catapulted away.

Thanks for sharing. So now ur first king is Valor?
TSmindstorm
post Jun 20 2009, 10:19 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(KENZ691 @ Jun 20 2009, 09:44 PM)
Hi all bros! good sat evening! Nice meeting you today bro Krauser n Dreamchaser.

Juz a recap on the impt matches we had today. Matches and results as per below:

Terminator vs Joy - Terminator won. (Joy like not himself today, not in a perfect form i guess)

Terminator vs Tony Jaa - Terminator won. (Quite a good match with both exhausted.)

Robocop vs Cacardon - Robocop won ( quite a short fight surprisingly , Robo went in first with his chop)

Robocop vs Aries (a terminator size sup pao! of bro BTL) - Robocop won. ( Was also surprised that itz not a long fight. both fs pounced on each other at the start, both flipped but Aries ran off after awhile . As both are huge n both are either sup n kop pao, this is a very good match to see.)
rclxms.gif  Kudus to all fs who fought today. I would say that they are all great to look at matches! Videos are we our videographer Bro Kop pao!
Tommorrow sunday,  Bro Ken25 n me will be going hunting again! Anyone else joining??  Plz sms me if u or Ken25 if u guys wanna joiin n we will let you know where n when to meet. Any suggestions are welcome too!! smile.gif 

Kenz691 (91833039)

Cheers!!
Haolao! Cacardon knocked out! Wat happened to Megadon? Still around?

Wah...Terminator and Robocop clean sweep. 1st and 2nd king now in Singapore??

Added on June 20, 2009, 10:21 pmKsiao : Welcome, we are happy that anyone join in fs catching and fighting fun!

Added on June 20, 2009, 10:32 pmI doubt can find any wild fighting fish in singapore. Even in Malaysia also very difficult, maybe only in the northern part of Malaysia in padi fields, their species known as betta imbellis. Besides, even for betta splendens/smaragdina, the wild ones only fight probably 15mins or so. It is the bred ones that are bred to last long in fights.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jun 20 2009, 10:32 PM
TSmindstorm
post Jun 26 2009, 12:12 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(Trevally @ Jun 24 2009, 05:18 PM)
[attachmentid=1040932]

this pic show the place at normanton park estate (end of science park drive) got see the CB trees ? heheh
wat is CB trees?

Wah if u guys fight fs in McDonalds, must take some pics leh...haha!

ok, just doing some reporting for the record. Oldguy still alive and with quite a full tummy too. Took him out from his nest just now at night and took some pics of him. He is still capable of jumping far(as evident by the first pic where he was just jumping onto my camera) and climbing up his own web. Still very much healthy apart from the fact he can no longer hang on to vertical plastic surface like those of my vials. 4 months 3 weeks leow. Judging from his fitness level, i'm not surprised if he can live longer than 5 months after last moult. After photosession i let him back in a nest on my plants. Hope to be able to find him again in July.
TSmindstorm
post Jun 26 2009, 12:16 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(lycon @ Jun 23 2009, 12:41 PM)
sweet!! last time catch a lot and fight!!! but now no more playing.... haha... ur guy all from? hehe, any kaki here from PG? if got can go hunt and try fight fight!! hehe

Added on June 23, 2009, 12:43 pmLast time i caught a big fighter also....with leg spend i think got 2 cm.... all my fren's spider saw then run away.... not even fight also can win.....

but in the end i let it go back to natural world...
haha! i think no one active here from penang. I'm from klang valley and so is viper. Mangroove jumper from the US. The rest from Singapore. But u're welcome to share ur stories or pics and clips if u still play with them. We'll all love to see them.

Added on June 26, 2009, 12:25 am
QUOTE(Krauser @ Jun 24 2009, 06:22 PM)
Why not a good sign to see FS rubbing its fangs?

Anyway can either of the 2 Ken bros tell me where to put my car if goin Yishun Park tommorow? I see a few CPs on the map around the park itself? Block 349 or 654 or 666?

C U guys tommorow!
Some years back i was keeping a first king when he started to rub fangs quite frequently(after frequent fighting and eating housefly), 1 week later it died. I guess prolonged fang rubbing maybe a sign that the fs may have gotten some infection around the mouth area. Who knows? Unless someone is scientist enough to see with microscope. Prolonged rubbing is different from just a short rub after being wet or eating an acidic ant. The latter is harmless while the former is, like Bro Trevally said, not good sign to me too.

Added on June 26, 2009, 12:33 am
QUOTE(dreamchaser1 @ Jun 26 2009, 12:14 AM)
Hey Bro BTL, will try your method with one of my friend's sup pao, hope the other normal stance fs will be able  to survive. tongue.gif
Bro Viper88, will try out ur method too if we manage to find a female chop fs. But so far we dun even bother to catch them. When i first saw Terminator, he was in a relax mode and u can see his hairs on his arms clearly, bright in colour too, definitely the biggest fs i ever seen so far. Hope to see him in action again =D

Manage to capture a fight between my friend's 1 arm sup pao trying to convert my fs.
Here's the link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=suwCmZH9DMk
Definately aggresive, mostly coming from the suppao...but at last it retreated after losing its stamina. 2nd king defended quite well but not aggressive enuf to chase after suppao to finish him off.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jun 26 2009, 12:33 AM
TSmindstorm
post Jun 26 2009, 12:49 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jun 24 2009, 08:47 PM)
Spoke with Yuda in msn 2day.. he told me Terminator head size is 2X his Cacadon head size..  shocking.gif
Tats huge man..
Wah...sure or not wor? Sorry guys but unless I see picture, I must say I'm skeptical of that claim. Seems exagerated because Cacadon itself is already so big.
I hope someone can take close-up pic of Terminator's head against a 1mm grid paper(can buy from any book store, make sure not 2mm)just like wat i did here(i showed this with a write up in page 6 of this forum)
That way we can have record of the largest FS sizes and compare them.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jun 26 2009, 12:54 AM
TSmindstorm
post Jun 30 2009, 01:54 AM

900 posts

TERRIFIC MATCH between Terminator and Robocop!! Terminator did a great job in defending the aggressive robocop. Can see terminator was holding pretty steady all the while except during 23-24 when he nearly got overturned by Robocop. Robocop all the time attacking from below as if trying to lift Terminator.

Noticed Robocop got an interesting stance right at the beginning, with "forearms" placed somewhat forward. He is a koppao but yet display stance in the beginning, infact go-stanning a bit also. His forward rush also in a stance position. If you stop at 12, can clearly see that Robocop actually launched a flank attack for his first kop. Lucky for Terminator, Robocop did not secure a bite on base of the arm or it could have come off! In the end, Terminator still has the slight advantage of size over Robocop to fend him off. Clash of 2 titans lasted a good 30s.

Both titans seems to be at their prime, well-kept and very alert.
Kudos to Kenz.

Beautiful take too. Nice big leaf for a platform and both fs fought in the middle. Clear lighting.
Thanks for the upload, BTL. thumbup.gif

Added on June 30, 2009, 2:32 amJust want to ask...i remember Terminator lost to Bro Koppao's fs last time. Bro Koppao, what happened to that large fs of urs?

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jun 30 2009, 02:38 AM
TSmindstorm
post Jul 12 2009, 02:52 AM

900 posts

i must say best video of all time is caca vs robo. close and clear and long match btw 2 kings. Thanks very much to koppao for taking the trouble to unload the video...FINALLY! rclxm9.gif (i commented in youtube)
wah u guys in singapore have so much fs, i also hard to remember whose is whose. Tony is whose one?

i see u guys also begining to build natural homes for fs. Great man! Fs can excercise more.

Just some reporting. Oldguy died on the 2nd July. Died in a container i kept him in. I can safely say he lived for 5 months after last moult. Never thought fs can live so long. But because he hardly fight.

Anyway i have a sling who reached 4th instar leow! FULLY CAPTIVE raised from 1st instar(after hatching). Later will show some pics. This is just to prove something. It is NOT IMPOSSIBLE to raise fs in captive! Cheers!!
TSmindstorm
post Jul 13 2009, 02:45 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(Krauser @ Jul 12 2009, 01:12 PM)
Bro Mindstorm, whats 4th instar? Is the sling a Kang?
Instar refers to stage in between moults.

As FS grows, they need to change skin mah, cuz the skin can stretch only until certain size.

When first hatch from egg, we call the slings 1st instar. After 1st moult, then become 2nd instar lor and so on.

Last time i had a discussion with one lady researcher from NUS(can see in this forum, some past pages) who also tried to raise fs in captivity but she failed to raised them beyond 2nd instar. Meaning, her slings did go through 1st moult but died before having 2nd moult.
I too tried many times to raise but failed. But this time, a breaktrough has come and 2nd instar is no longer a limit.
Now my goal is to see how many moults a fs takes to reach adulthood and roughly how long.
TSmindstorm
post Jul 29 2009, 02:29 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(betweentheleaves @ Jul 26 2009, 11:35 PM)
Spotter vs Hashbrown (Spotter Wins)
One of the good Sup pao matches we had.... rclxms.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6am8r064s4
hua, this is one of the most violent and messy fight i have ever seen.
And finally....."Revenge of the Fallen"
(Transformer is the one who made the first attack)
End of the day Hulk emerge as the winner as he endured and persisted.... rclxms.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXtOx1AGXZk
Very good fight even though not very long. Seems both of them injured their arms?
Kudos to everyone who met today and contributed to today's wonderful matches! P.s. No FS casualties today, Destroyer was doing fine now...phew... biggrin.gif
He looks finished after fighting Jong...

Added on July 29, 2009, 2:49 am
QUOTE(jong71 @ Jul 28 2009, 10:03 PM)
Yo, nice to to see sg fs team getting more and more members..jong71, alex31 and fsnow55.(why all end with number? got meaning one ah? age?)
I thought all along the sg bros have been trying to rank their fs. But sure to be a bit messy, since kings come and go..
An official tournament and league system would be interesting but i think a lot of the ranking of current fs would already be known since you all have been quite actively fighting them. But if there is to be one, chipping in by each participant as registration fees for some prizes for the winner(s) would make the whole event more enjoyable.
Who knows? If the prizes is attractive enuf, u may suddenly get some quiet unknowns suddenly showing up for the challenge..

Added on July 29, 2009, 2:55 amI always have some crazy ideas. One of them i have all along but never get around to do is to preserve the passed- away kings in a glamourous way. Sort of put them in a fighting stance and preserve them in a clear resin like how they make insect jewellery. In that way, you will always be able to eyeball compare sizes of kings from different generations.

http://www.ehow.com/how_5003475_make-insect-jewelry.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0pnr21sjV2g&feature=related

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jul 29 2009, 03:07 AM
TSmindstorm
post Jul 29 2009, 03:07 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(fsnow55 @ Jul 19 2009, 11:30 AM)
I remembered as a kid seeing a bunch (>10 s-m size) of FSs streaming out of a banana trunk.. surprised the hack out of me since I don't expect to see more than 1 at the same place. Also we had this superstition about banana plants so I didn't try to catch any. Perhaps they're a different species (they seemed darker/blacker, but similar size) or maybe spiderlings? Perhaps Mindstorm/viper/mangrovejumper or other spider experts can confirm? Maybe these are the brother paos?
this must be the weirdness story i have heard about fs. I would understand if they are slings. But s-m size? 10? walau.

Personally, i don't have any impression of catching 2 males one nest. Maybe i did, but i don't remember it at all. It must be a big nest if that is the case. I doubt fs understand wat is brotherhood about. I have been rearing slings on and off recently and i can tell u this. After a few days after hatching, the slings would separate and should they meet, they will square off! With stance and all. And not uncommonly, one of them can even launch a chop!(You can try that yourselves, catch some similar slings and fight them!) They are born to fight!

But i wouldn't deny the possibility that some offsprings may somehow acquire tolerence shld they be "forced"(for lack of better choice) to grow inside the same nest. Just like fighting fish. I have seen my friend reared about 30-40 adult males fighters in one large tank since they are fries. Now and then a couple may flare up but otherwise they seems like females in a tank. So it is possible that may be the case with "brother" fs.

The brother fs i talked about very early in this forum(bro1 and bro2) were not caught in same nest. They were caught while still in the stage before the last moult(black face) and because they both moulted exactly the SAME night, i ASSUME they are brothers. Also because they were nearly same size and pattern and caught in nest that were quite closeby. Now come to think of it, it must be terribly coincidental that 2 brother fs can moult exactly the same time for ALL the number of moults until the last one. rclxub.gif

I found that slings can moult exactly the same day for the first moult but got also a few days apart. But overall this shows that the cycle can be fairly predictable, means the cycle fall within a small range of deviation, provided they are not starved or diseased i suppose.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jul 29 2009, 03:21 AM
TSmindstorm
post Jul 29 2009, 03:18 AM

900 posts

Here is something interesting i noticed. After a moult, the sling actually would suck on its moulted skin.(I've seen it several times). This i think is the 3rd instar. It seems they maybe getting some nutrients left in their moulted skin and so as not to waste it, they would suck on it.
TSmindstorm
post Aug 1 2009, 02:58 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(kopPao @ Jul 31 2009, 11:05 PM)
thks bro Trevally. i feel it is a 50-50.

Bro BTL, there's a video whereby the initial portion is not captured.
i hv it in my cam, so i upload it again for the benefit of those who miss the starting part. hope u dont mind.

LaLang VS FS(sorry man, i 4got whose it belongs to)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbmsOXlKQy4
LaLang was once a normal fighter.

Added on July 31, 2009, 11:07 pmwhat happen when some1 tries to snatch your GF away from u ?
u Fight back of course !!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfJvuZyHLkU
Lalang looks potent now after becoming chop. How long u keep him leow?
TSmindstorm
post Aug 13 2009, 01:46 AM

900 posts

Gila vs Lalang Rd2

WALAN EH. Underside attack/troat bite or watever u call it...this is another first ONE OF ITS KIND fight variation. A sudden strong jerk push from gila at 0.41 flipped lalang upside down and amazingly gila still standing upright which allowed it to have a deadly point of attack. Notice at 0.40-0.41 both arms of lalang is wide open. At 0.39 just b4 the flip, lalang's right arm is held away...maybe that's why the flip can happen. Lalang was not holding on to its opponent tight enuf... Probably Lalang already weaken also. After the roll about in the first 6 seconds, can see Lalang already injured. Heck man, Gila really aggressive and gila too. Perfect choice of name man!
Good that the brothers there then also try to stop the match, at least saved Lalang. (But even the attempt to save Lalang was incredible! Despite whoever was that tapping hard underneath the leaf to break up Gila's stronghold, Gila was still holding on to its victim like mad!)

I can understand moderator Nairud's concern about death matches. I think this is a very controversial issue and surely different brothers here will have different viewpoints which are valid. Actually from many of the fights clips, we can see that most of the time,whenever there an impeding death match, there will be someone who would try to stop the match. Sometimes it happen so fast and unexpectedly that hardly anything can be done. Afterall they are spiders and spiders can deliver a fatal bite to kill their prey(including other spiders) in a split second. But most of the time, maybe we also unsure wheather a hold would lead to death or not cuz sometimes the fs being held can turn around to counter.

Added on August 13, 2009, 2:19 am
QUOTE(Trevally @ Aug 11 2009, 02:41 PM)

Added on August 11, 2009, 5:19 pmbro koppao, glad that u like abt my blog. i'm thinking of opening up the blog to bros here. meaning that if u guys got any articles to contribute regarding fighting spider, u can email me one and i will put it up for u. the author of the article would be inline with the article as well. hope u guys can write some articles on hunting, matches and discovery. the best is with some pics. pls email me trevally@live.com if u have one.

i've changed the title of the blog to Singapore - Malaysia Fighting Spider Enthusiasts. let's let our fighting spider activities be remembered and continued.
Yeah, kudos to ur blog! I think thanks to internet, this hobby will never die out and always be remembered and hopefully lived on. If you want, you are of cuz free to use any content too from me which i post almost all in this tread, maybe for rediscussion or watever. I am happy we now have so many enthusiasts from Singapore to continue to liven this hobby.

Bro Jong71, I too also have this concern that this forum might one day not approve our content or one day take down this tread for watever reason. Hence, I actually save almost all the pages whenever i have the time!! haha! In case one day, computer harddisk crash or watever, I can shift all this to another website/forum/blog! so that we all still can continue the fs hobby. Now that Trevally got his own blog, in case this happen then we all jump to his blog!(Trevally then will have quite a bit of work to put up the now 100+ post from this tread if he agree to it!)
I guess forum tread allows the contributors more power to load up their own content to contribute but blog content mainly must go through the blog owner before you can see it. Is that correct, trevally? cuz i also not sure about blogging. But i guess google blog allows more freedom for the type of content, while forum got moderator(police) to check check on us. i guess for blog the police is the blogger himself.

Added on August 13, 2009, 2:25 am
QUOTE(Krauser @ Aug 11 2009, 01:43 PM)
BTW Mindstorm, if you're still reading this thread or any of the other Bros who have experienced Bu molting to Kang before, is there any chance that this Bu here will molt to a Kang? Its bloody huge and its face is unusually white for a Bu, however the palps aren't as swollen like those of a Kang's. Been keeping it for almost 2wks already but still no molt

[attachmentid=1130557]
haha, of cuz i still reading this tread!
Since u said this but already so big, i assume adult leow so I think no chance this bu will ever moult let alone moult to Kang. Hmm... could this be another species like the one Viper gave me? can u show us a pic of it from the top, showing its abdomen pattern also?

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Aug 13 2009, 03:57 AM
TSmindstorm
post Oct 2 2009, 12:45 AM

900 posts

wow, i think you guys just set another record... largest fighting spider hunting group!! (and elders too i suppose...) As far as i can remember even back in the 80s i don't remember seeing more than 5 fellas hunting together, usually only 3-4 at most. so nine people is definately the most i know of. (i remember there was another group hunting last year by a group from arofanatics but can't remember how many went).

Special thanks to jong71 for your interesting report and BTL for the clips and group photo! It's a pleasure to see so many fs kakis together smile.gif

Added on October 2, 2009, 1:25 amsince i suddenly reappear after being MIA for some time, i'll just do some reporting too. Not much and nothing to do with fighting but i do have a couple of new facts regarding their biology.

To date i have reared more than 10 fs past 2nd instar but even after that, the growing fs can still die with unknown reason. Since i last posted abt growing fs, i had this sling which was eating very vorociously and growing really fast compared to its siblings. I was banked on being the first to know how fast possibly does it take for a fs to reach adulthood from hatching/coming out of the nest. UNFORTUNATELY when it reached 6th instar, after i changed it to a new container, i didn't realize there was a tiny opening in the container. F***, one afternoon i came out and it was torned up by ANTS. vmad.gif i squished every ant in the container i found. Pretty sad day for me.

Anyway, by 6 instar it was already the size of a small adult and i could see that it was most probably a female.
here are the dates i joted down

18th may - hatched
(21 days as 1st instar)
7th june - 1st moult
(11 days as 2nd instar)
18th june - 2nd moult
(21 days as 3rd instar)
9th july - 3rd moult
(11 days as 4th instar)
20th july - 4th moult
(16 days as 5th instar)
5th aug - 5th moult ..........approximately 2 and a half months old
..kept for a couple more days as 6th instar b4 being lunch for ants

this fella was the fastest growing one, and i figured that given another moult or 2 it would be adult. Meaning fs can possibly turn to adult as soon as 3 and half months or 4 months since hatching.
Notice the time in between moults alternate between longer and shorter time...21,11,21,11,16 days.
I also notice it grew really fast during its 3rd instar and 6th instar(even that short few days)...which is during the longer in-between moult period. Contrary to what i read and thought that spiders only grow right after moulting(maybe that few hours after moulthing or day to expand), i realized it wasn't the case for fs. They can grow rapidly for many days in-between moults. But i do notice that once they start to turn black, they probably stop growing and will moult soon.

Anyway there was another of its siblings which was living among the plants and it took probably twice the time to reach the same size as this fast growing fella. Which i think on a more average rate, fs probably will take 4-6 months to reach adulthood judging from the range of rate of growth i know so far. And if we take that fs can live for maybe 3-5 months after the last moult, we can postulate that on the whole, the lifespan of fs is probably 9 months to a year at most?

Hopefully we will know the truth soon, as i still have 2 slings(out of 8) from another batch already at their 5th instar(hatch out from nest on 4th August) which is also quite fast growing(but not as fast as the first one). And i "think" both are male. nod.gif Last previous moult was 28th Sept. I will get a pic of them on grid paper maybe the day after tomorrow(tom really busy).

Added on October 2, 2009, 1:33 amone more thing... i noted that some time ago, some of u posted ur fs on grid paper. i so wanted to compare the sizes but unfortunately(again) i already uninstalled that huge photoshop software from my comp which was taking up a lot of space which my old comp doesnt have. so i couldn't play around with the pics.

i wonder any of u happened to have a copy of image composer 1.3. It is a discontinued graphic software from microsoft which came with frontpage 2000 i think. It is one of the best simply software for graphic manipulation, would be perfect to compare fs sizes on grid, better than having a bloated photoshop. i lost mine after a friend didnt return my cd copy. Can't seem find it in cd stores nowadays.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Oct 2 2009, 01:41 AM
TSmindstorm
post Oct 5 2009, 10:57 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(Ken25 @ Oct 3 2009, 06:02 AM)
Hi Bro Mindstorm, nice to hear from u again.....Personally, I am very impressed and amazed by your research and findings on the fs...bcos i am really ignorant about all these facts...... Kudos to u and thanks for sharing....
thanks. i've been curious about everything regarding fs since long long time.
I have never expected the life span of fs can last 9-12 months from eggs, as our "captived" fs has never exceeded 4 months(i think), so only assume that from hatch til adulthood is about 3months, then another 3 or 4 months it will die, didnt expect it to go thru months of moulting and so many stages of "Instar".
i should think they have to go through many moults since they are really really tiny as new born.
By the way, Did u mate ur fs with the strongest and biggest male? and do believe in the genetics of fs?
nope, i didn't do any selection this time. i just got the eggs laid on my plants from a female which i caught pregnant.
i started this tread with "strongest and biggest male" breeding in mind, but due to the numerous problems of fs mating, egg brooding and rearing, i guess i was forced to overcome the problems one at a time. right now the focus is on getting at least just one fs to adulthood.

certainly i believe in the genetics of fs. genetics applies to all living creatures. it is either natural selection or human selection that can result in the traits of an animal. and the fs traits we desire is bigger, stronger and fiercer!

only mate the strongest and biggest will produce better offsprings?
i should think so. it has been proven without doubt in other fighting animals... dog, cock, plakat eg eg
so does that means that a female theoretically grows faster than male? i have caught few "bu" that are so huge that they put many "kang" to shame.....but these few big "ladies" normally wont allow any "gentlemen" to even come close to them, they seem too fierce to mate...  biggrin.gif
i am apt to think so too...because females seems to be more greedy and less fussy about food!
but unless we have a larger study, we can't conclude for sure. but over time if i can continue to raise fs slings, then no doubt, in time, we will know for sure.

yes, as most of us here should know(if u ever attempt to mate fs), it is extremely difficult or almost impossible to get males to mate with matured females, more so if the female is large, and esp if it is pregnant with eggs. through observation both in the wild and from the talk i had with a nus researcher last year...i think that it is possible that males may be able to mate with sub-adult females just before they moult OR males may seek out sub-adult females and stay with them until the female moult, and then mate with the female at the first sign of readiness. that would most probably be how fs mate despite we finding it almost impossible to mate a male and female.

Bro Trevally, I have read ur blog, very detailed written in events, matches and outings, with videos, pictures....I love it!!!!! SALUTE !!!
yeah, bro trevally, i like ur blog too. one good thing about blog is that u can categorize topics unlike this forum when information comes in a chronological way. after a while it becomes difficult to find back certain information in a forum.

on a side note, i realized the links to the activities last year from the guys from arofanatics are all gone...the conversations, the photos and the fight competition clips. so sad. i should have saved them too..but i didn't. on the contrary, this link started by viper in lowyat in 2007
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/522060
still can be found!

...which reminds me i should be saving some of the recent pages here....just in case. hehe.

TSmindstorm
post Oct 5 2009, 11:05 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(Trevally @ Oct 5 2009, 09:46 AM)
Bro mindstorm, your research findings on fighting spider was great. It gives us an insight on the growth of fighting spiders. Kudos to you.
Regarding the softwre Image Composer 1.3, I think I might have it as you said its bundled together with Frongpage 2000. I've the frongpage 2000 software and if you need the image compaser 1.3, do let me knows.

hoho!! u are my saviour! how big is the installer for image composer 1.3?
can u winzip(only for image composer) and email me? adrianlwkeat@gmail.com

if too big, can burn and send the cd to me?(if can i'll pm u my add) i'll pay for all cost.
or can pay u in fs too...haha!

with image composer 1.3, can do a whole lot of cool stuff with graphics easily.
TSmindstorm
post Oct 5 2009, 11:18 PM

900 posts

ok here are some shots on tim and max. both came out from nest on 4th August. Both now in 5th instar.
Notice their pedipalps are rather thick...expected to be males.(if i'm correct, then it would mean by 5th instar can differentiate fs sex... i remember i couldn't tell in the previous instar)

Tim
-shortform for timid...timid is slightly smaller than max. He was extremely difficult to photograph, refusing to stay in the spotlight on the grid paper and keep jumping off. i think i must have exhausted it the first round until it began walking lethargically. only second round of photoshooting did it calm down a bit.

Max
-shortform for "maximum growth". Bigger and bolder than Tim. He stood under spotlight the first round looking around curiously.

Will max turn out to be like this???(in case for the clueless...this photo is the first photo found on the first page of this forum) smile.gif

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Oct 5 2009, 11:28 PM
TSmindstorm
post Oct 8 2009, 02:07 AM

900 posts

yeah, great pics from kenz691. One of the most close-up pics i've seen on fs.

But the most awesome macro pics i've come across on a jumping spider's face got to be from here...post 307#
http://www.arachnoboards.com/ab/showthread...t=38262&page=21
my eyes nearly popped out when i saw the Evarcha arcuata, adult male close up.
And the nymph!! shocking.gif

TSmindstorm
post Oct 15 2009, 11:50 PM

900 posts

The results are out. Max moulted yesterday night and Tim just now...and they're both adult males. It took them a mere 2 months 10 days to reach adulthood from the day they left their nest. That's suprising fast. I guess there was no 6th instar stage which i thot the previous female i had was in. Apparently it was already adult. Hence, FS goes through 5 moults and 5 instar stages...after the 5th moult, they turn to adult. The previous female took about 2 and a half months to reach final moult. Very close to the time Tim and Max took. The 5th instar stage for Max was 15 days, and for Tim was 16 days. The previous female was 16 days. Again almost same. There u have it...

Max turned out to be medium size only while Tim is small sized. Guess they don't have the large genes.

Max

Tim...straight out of the oven

Exoskeletons. Max left, Tim right.
TSmindstorm
post Oct 18 2009, 12:53 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(Ken25 @ Oct 16 2009, 02:14 AM)
Hey Bro, they look great....Nice work man.....
i tot Max seems big even before moult? i think it may still grow bigger....right?
Abt 70days to adult(captive), in wild maybe could be faster....during cative abt 3-4 months already very weak...so fs lifespan only abt 8-12 months? thats bad....the frequency we hunt here gives no chance for them to grow into L size or even M-L size...no wonder fs are getting smaller.....maybe we shld let them grow first if we still want more of Termy size... rclxm9.gif
actually i'm assuming 2 months 10 days would be on the faster scale as the ones successfully reared up to adult were all the fastest growing ones since 2nd or 3rd instar. i doubt even in the wild would be very much faster.
Assuming the they 2-3 months of growing time and adult stage last 3-5 months(5 months is the longest recorded), you can see that the shortest theoretical lifespan(provided not killed by other means apart of old age), would be 5 months(2+3)(grow fast, die fast) and longest theoretical lifespan would be 8 months(3+5). Suppose we give it another month of subadult growing(4 months)(which is possible by eating less frequently), then the maximum theoretical lifespan would be only 9 months. Much less than what i approximated, which was 1 year.

Yes, by hunting them, you basically reduce their chance of breeding esp with bigger males, and hence there is less chance of having big males. Basically it also means their gene pool for large genes are being siphoned off.

Added on October 18, 2009, 1:02 am
QUOTE(Trevally @ Oct 16 2009, 10:19 AM)
Bro mindstorm, your findings are great.  Is it that when females molted to males, that would be their last molt ? Would a male be able to molt again ? Hasn't seen bros here witnessed a male motled. I once caught a small male, if male fs don't molt, that means the small male fs won't be able to grow big anymore ?
As i mentioned before, technically, the "females" that moulted to males were not females in the first place. They are actually males that look like females because they still have black faces. Now we know that in the 5th instar stage, even though it still have black face, we can distinguish male from female because for the males, the pedipalps are much thicker.

Once a fs male moulted its last moult and show a white face, that's it. It will not moult again and it won't grow bigger too. Yes, it means a small male fs won't be able to grow big(it terms of head size). Never ever in my entire fs experience have i seen it. Only the abdomen can grow fatter if u feed it alot.

Added on October 18, 2009, 1:10 am
QUOTE(betweentheleaves @ Oct 16 2009, 10:43 PM)
Hi Bro Mindstorm,
    My admiration for your deep passion in FS, you really took time to study their growth, we are fortunate to have you to provide such insights....kudos to you... smile.gif  notworthy.gif

I have similar question as Bro Trevally... does small males (sometimes may not be young males) get a chance to molt and grow larger? i have kept females who molted to be big females and even females molted to big males
    but never experience small males molting.... hmm.gif I used to keep Fighting fish for competition (not the fighting ones), over the years there have a new category call the Giant Betta category, those were unusually bigger than
    the rest and breeders achieved this thru mating of alpha males with alpha females. Maybe L size males were possible because of the same reason? its not a matter of allowing time for them to grow but rather the "special"
    alpha genes? hmm.gif

there u have it. once white face, they will never molt again.

Yes, it is not a matter of time but rather genes. Nutrition helps but for exceptional traits eg being larger, an animal need to be selected for their genes.

Added on October 18, 2009, 1:26 amAnother suprising thing. I put Max and Tim together and Tim ran away when Max show angry face. Before changing to adult, I also have seen Max chasing Tim out of its nest. Just now i tried to put them 2 together, they were very close together when they suddenly saw each other... and Max straight CHOP at Tim. Walau, ONLY 2 days after moult already can chop. Must find other males to test out Max...

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Oct 18 2009, 01:26 AM

18 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 >Top

0.0808sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:32 PM