CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

siutimtim
post Mar 7 2008, 11:08 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Mar 7 2008, 10:39 AM)
The UOB plat is UOB one platinum, which is same standard wif our classic card. It's easy to get. Having plat card does not necessary show status. If your gold card requirements are high, it will show your status as well. Some more, usually real platinum cards meaning the spending must be very high, even their privileges also push ppl to spend.
UOB plat is UOB one platinum ? last time you guys said different now same again ? hmm.gif

now all gold card requirements also very low already where got show status.. which bank is most high class.. hehe
siutimtim
post Mar 7 2008, 12:07 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Mar 7 2008, 11:55 AM)
You are right. It's just a name. A lot of ppl thinking it's very easy to get UOB platinum, but little do they know it's only UOB one platinum. Just a name, doesn't show status at all.
why UOB application form dun have standard classic or gold card box to tick ? There is no more such normal card ?

RHB bank is higher than Alliance bank.. it is RM150k!!!!!!!!!!

but I think not many ppl use alliance bank card because I see their website also no many benefits.
siutimtim
post Mar 7 2008, 05:32 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 7 2008, 03:16 PM)
How low was the credit limit ?
my collegue got petronas card from maybank.. credit limit is 15k
that is low or high ?

i am still waiting for my uob one platinum approval.. hmm.gif I hope will get 15k also drool.gif
siutimtim
post Mar 7 2008, 11:38 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Mar 7 2008, 06:23 PM)
mine is 4k sweat.gif
FOund that the lowest requirement to get plat card besides of ONE platinum : check rhb bank plat.. requirement is only RM60k lower than direct access.. look like all bank trying to lower down all the requirement..
siutimtim
post Mar 8 2008, 12:06 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 7 2008, 11:42 PM)
If you have any gold card with credit limit RM20k, standard chartert will give you plat

Added on March 7, 2008, 11:43 pmI think in 2 to 3 years time... Plat will be like Gold now. Everyone got one
Have to pay for standard chartered plat card is it ? by the way, how to get credit limit rm20k ? any requirements?
siutimtim
post Mar 8 2008, 12:34 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 8 2008, 12:09 AM)
That day when i was at car wash, there was a credit card booth. The salesman promoting Citibank, HSBC and Standard at one go

He said Standard Plat Free for life with 0 condition.

Credit Limit 20k?
1) use your credit card for many years. the bank will progressively increase your credit limit
2) find a higher earning job lor

Nowadays our generation would be able to get Plat. It's only a matter of time / age
I checked their web site.. all cards also have to pay.. the agent bluff one is it.. if free for life with no condition = direct access ?
siutimtim
post Mar 8 2008, 01:43 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(ultramanbabe @ Mar 8 2008, 03:54 AM)
RHB platinum benefit

-VIP airport lounge
-extra insurance
-no annual fee
-free Rm100000 life insurance for a year
-contest to win 2tickets for eurocup 2008+airflight to euro
-alot of...discount,cash voucher....

pls pm me for further details
but the website doesnt show it is free for life.. what is the condition like? are u credit card agent as well... hmmm.. no annual fee for all cards or plat only ?

Added on March 8, 2008, 1:46 pm
QUOTE(feralee @ Mar 8 2008, 10:36 AM)
eon bank
RHB only RM60k.. hahaha.. soon there will be another RM40k then get plat.. but plat & gold card in singapore is about the same..

This post has been edited by siutimtim: Mar 8 2008, 01:46 PM
siutimtim
post Mar 9 2008, 12:32 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 9 2008, 10:21 AM)
On one of the roadshows, I was approached by their OCBC sales rep to apply for the Robinsons Platinum card. I applied but thank god the application didn't went through (I used a new card as reference, sales rep didn't check this) as after reaching home I read the entry requirement and was shocked it was very low.

I think the card main strategy & target market is for people to shop at Robinsons as to get the annual fee waiver, you have to spend a certain amount at Robinsons to qualify.
hmm... why you said lucky they reject your application? Not up to your class?

I check their website also.. ocbc card is really no class.. I got few friends take home loan from ocbc and income not high but automatic ocbc give them plat card credit rm10k only doh.gif if me i will not use ocbc

now confirm ocbc is lowest requirement plat. Is this robinson plat = uob one platinum = not real plat card rclxub.gif
siutimtim
post Mar 9 2008, 10:40 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 9 2008, 06:43 PM)
I would want any Platinum card to carry some "real" Platinum standards. Had they approved the application, probably I'd reject the card anyway. Not sure whether anyone else felt this but when Direct Access first introduced their Gold and Platinum cards several years back - it had the lowest entry point for a Gold card as compared to other Gold cards from other banks at that point of time. So if you had a Direct Access gold card, probably the market didn't regard you highly if you hold this card. (The only selling point back then among consumers was its Free For Life status)

Now it seems to be another Deja-Vu again - Platinum cards are slowly lowering their standards and most cards now have Free for Life status in one form or another.
Direct Access plat card has standard requirement RM80k, only gold card like very easy to get, RM2k/month same like maybank petronas gold card..

i will get plat card after 2 years the plat card requirement drop.. icon_rolleyes.gif

ocbc plat card is easy to get but have to pay year fee,, where got buy so many thing from robinson,, not even spend rm10 in that shop.. h shakehead.gif

Added on March 9, 2008, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(Velent @ Mar 9 2008, 02:55 PM)
opss...mbf just sent me 2 CC last friday...only classis but limit 6k...more than my upgrade citi gold...
citibank punya gold card tipu punya.. most of my friend also get auto upgrade but same limit.. less than rm6k.. hong leong bank also use the same strategy...

This post has been edited by siutimtim: Mar 9 2008, 10:42 PM
siutimtim
post Mar 10 2008, 10:02 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 10 2008, 10:00 AM)
lol...upgrade but same limit? That's not called an upgrade.
they upgrade just to encourage spending... gold, classic or plat, the cost of the card still the same.. so bank got nothing to lose though..
siutimtim
post Mar 10 2008, 11:03 AM

353 posts

I called standard chartered bank and they said no free for life card la (classic/gold/plat all also have to pay after 1 or 2 year).. who said they offer free for life with no condition... hmmm..
siutimtim
post Mar 10 2008, 03:43 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 10 2008, 02:38 PM)
StanChart rejected me  wink.gif
ultraman said RHB has no annual fee but why no news from him already ? another salesman offer some invalid benefit again ? hmm.gif

no all sales agent are desperate :
classic - get RM50/card approve
gold - get RM100/card approve
plat - RM200/card

my friend work in citibank say now they give gold and plat card easily but all bank has lower all the credit limit to their customers..income RM8k/month maybe will only get credit RM15k (normally x2 ur monthly income)... not easy like last time easy get RM20k, 40k limit and etc.. true or not ?
siutimtim
post Mar 13 2008, 11:18 AM

353 posts

i read newspaper cimb and direct access has new plan iplayplan ???

they say u can buy whatever you want then pay installment but why website no this plan information ?
siutimtim
post Mar 15 2008, 12:43 AM

353 posts

which bank credit card has the best promotion for their members besides of rebate.. I think highest rebate now is UOB..

which one offer the best maybe for travel, dining and etc? Lets share
siutimtim
post Mar 16 2008, 09:45 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 16 2008, 09:32 AM)
Took some time to dig through the old papers as the info is not available on the CIMB/Direct Access website yet

3 plans exist (Min Purchase Amount, No of monthly installments, One time Interest)

- RM 1K, 10, 2%
- RM 3K, 20, 4%
- RM 5K, 30, 6%

You can convert ANY of your purchases (local or abroad) to the plans above. Need to settle monthly installment in full or the outstanding amount will be charged 1.5% interest. The entire purchase amount will be taken out from your credit limit and will be gradually released back as you make the monthly installments.

Comparatively the old plan is (For Direct Access / CIMB)

- RM500, 12, 3% / RM500, 12, 3%
- RM3K, 24, 4.5% / RM3K, 24, 4%
- RM5K, 36, 6.5% / RM5K, 36, 5.5%
they will only release your credit after you make full payment not gradually sad.gif
you charge rm10k for this plan they will reserve rm10k till you full settle rm10k...
siutimtim
post Mar 16 2008, 08:34 PM

353 posts

I was offered free for life HSBC credit card at the curve today.. they said only swipe 12 times a year will do no matter you apply for classic, gold or platinum...

but why their website didnt say free for life or swipe 12 times a year ?? so weird... another bluffing agent ??

siutimtim
post Mar 16 2008, 09:07 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 16 2008, 09:02 PM)
The same description I read from the HSBC booth that came to my company. Swipe at least once a month to get the waiver.
but why there is no such information displayed in their web site ?
siutimtim
post Mar 16 2008, 10:48 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 16 2008, 09:30 PM)
There are certain promos that banks do not publish on the web site. All banks does this from time to time. For example of the previous promotions includes

-> Direct Access / CIMB Open Day - Visit them at their branch in Plaza Damansara and you'll get your card approved on the spot (Newspaper adverts only)
-> Hong Leong / Citibank - New branch opening, credit card approval on the spot + More than 1 year free annual free waiver. (Newspaper adverts only)

Just be on the lookout for weird promos which you know does not exist. HSBC usually is very conservative is their marketing but I think they got a little bit more exciting in terms on marketing recently. (But still careful on who they award the card to)

I know that HSBC have such promos because I got my card on that promo too previously and I have nothing to complain.  rclxm9.gif Oh yes, there's a chance the CS might not know. For HSBC cards - ask the sales agent to show you the promo code that he/she is registering you under - different promos entitles you to different annual fee entitlement. However, the promo code might not be visible to the CS. (I tried calling once and the CS told me that all new HSBC cards application comes with 1 year free annual free waiver, subsequent years are chargeable)

The recently concluded MATTA fair (KL) saw a few credit card players going on the aggressive mode.

- Participating banks include EON, Citibank, UOB, RHB, StandardChartered, HSBC, AMBank, AllianceBank, MBF, Maybank, Hong Leong (CIMB, PBB, OCBC was not present)
- Free gifts are aplenty - 2GB thumbdrive, Calendar, bags, chess set, toys, bunny bank, massager, mini iron, etc. (I'm not that crazy about all these free gifts anymore)
- If you sign up with one bank, the next thing you notice you'll be swarmed with other banks clamoring for you application as well! rclxub.gif
- Introduction of a new card from EON bank (Matta card - Classic, Gold & Platinum) On the spot approval (I didn't try so don't ask me) + the card uses the KLCC Twin Towers as the background. Annual fee waiver is based on no of usage per year similar to most of its other card products.
- If I'm not mistaken the RHB card application is being managed by an agency instead of the bank itself. StandardChartered has been on this model for years. (Not sure what this means - if the guys here could explain what's the impact both from the bank and the customer would be good)
if the CS dont know about the free for life promo, next year they charge us then how we can prove they offer free for life card? No black and white ? sound fishy... hmm.gif

siutimtim
post Mar 17 2008, 09:48 AM

353 posts

why hsbc platinum like very dull... no diamond shining like other platinum ? platinum word also so small and ugly.. looks macam ONE platinum..haha
siutimtim
post Mar 17 2008, 11:03 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(mrcloud9 @ Mar 17 2008, 10:36 AM)
i like it this way. better. when i use my maybank visa platinum, the writing is so big it attracts unnecessary attention. what for? and hsbc's platinum is black colour. nice!

Added on March 17, 2008, 10:37 am

please explain.
UOB visa platinum is more simple.. black and only platinum word.. I think hsbc is the only platinum card without the diamond shining color... except the UOB ONE plat card tongue.gif why so low class make the card.. I thought u guys say hsbc very high class ? hmm.gif

requirement is rm150k, lower cant apply ?

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:22 PM