100 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V4), Cockcroach AMD :P

ongbs
post Jan 1 2008, 05:55 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 1 2008, 04:49 PM)
bro u put heatsink on the caps ah?
yalor, stuck with 3M thermal tape thumbup.gif

once Vcore >1.5V the PWM include those caps shoot up >80C doh.gif
If running long hours sure the mobo will kong very soon (those were not solid caps bro)!

If I put a 120mm fans on top, PWM + caps easily will drop 20C tongue.gif
Last time using CM Germin II with 2x120mm fans mobo temp not that serious....
If using WC I will put a fan on top of PWM side, no $$$ to change mobo liau whistling.gif

dj.eRicZzz
post Jan 1 2008, 06:00 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(ongbs @ Jan 1 2008, 05:55 PM)
yalor, stuck with 3M thermal tape  thumbup.gif

once Vcore >1.5V the PWM include those caps shoot up >80C  doh.gif
If running long hours sure the mobo will kong very soon (those were not solid caps bro)!

If I put a 120mm fans on top, PWM + caps easily will drop 20C  tongue.gif
Last time using CM Germin II with 2x120mm fans mobo temp not that serious....
If using WC I will put a fan on top of PWM side, no $$$ to change mobo liau  whistling.gif
eh how u check your caps temp? i din touch mine before...i scad will same like u hot hot caps
ongbs
post Jan 1 2008, 06:01 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jan 1 2008, 02:01 PM)
thousands apologies ,  notworthy.gif
just a wild guess from me laugh.gif
nothing serious lah bro, actually I tried 412HTTx8.5=3510MHz, can run memtest and boot into Vista safe mode.

Normal mode Vista crash....CPU temp too high@1.6V sweat.gif
Later will try WC.

I believe many mid-end mobo can do >400HTT nowadays tongue.gif
lohwenli
post Jan 1 2008, 06:17 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 1 2008, 04:49 PM)
bro u put heatsink on the caps ah?
I think you mean the Power MOSFETS..its not possible to heatsink capacitors..
And if you put enough current through them that they need heatsinks, even solid state caps will arc & blow up..
ongbs
post Jan 1 2008, 06:22 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jan 1 2008, 06:17 PM)
I think you mean the Power MOSFETS..its not possible to heatsink capacitors..
And if you put enough current through them that they need heatsinks, even solid state caps will arc & blow up..
he is right...I put heatsinks on both MOSFETs and CAPs as well smile.gif
On top of CAPs the metal casing expose right? I just stick Heatsinks with thermal tape on it.....

Make sure to use better quality thermal tape as we dun want the HS drop halfway and short the mobo sweat.gif
lohwenli
post Jan 1 2008, 07:08 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(ongbs @ Jan 1 2008, 06:22 PM)
he is right...I put heatsinks on both MOSFETs and CAPs as well smile.gif
On top of CAPs the metal casing expose right? I just stick Heatsinks with thermal tape on it.....

Make sure to use better quality thermal tape as we dun want the HS drop halfway and short the mobo  sweat.gif
Close to useless putting HS on top of caps..too little contact area to make much difference..
Anyway, PWMs produce less than 40W heat even with 200W processors, a small medium speed fan blowing on them is enough already.
ongbs
post Jan 1 2008, 08:05 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jan 1 2008, 07:08 PM)
Close to useless putting HS on top of caps..too little contact area to make much difference..
Anyway, PWMs produce less than 40W heat even with 200W processors, a small medium speed fan blowing on them is enough already.
May be u are right but since I got many extra HS I still prefer to stick it on the CAPs too smile.gif

Without fan and HS I can't even touch my hand on top of those caps for 10sec if OC kaw2 + full load (should be >65C).
Now with HS attached and fan blowing, I can leave my hand on top of caps as long as I want even full load (below 55C).

While, the caps won't spoilt overnight even running >65C.
If my memory serves me right, I read some articles stated that the lifespan of Electrolyte CAPs will drop 10-20% with every increase of about 10 to 20C.
Even later I change mobo with Solid CAPs, I will do this as well as cooling mod is one of my interest, just like OC tongue.gif
Love to do some simple mods to bring down heats whenever possible biggrin.gif

Those high temp on CAP i think is the heats generated by PWM and transfer to CAPs via PCB/ convection.

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 1 2008, 08:09 PM
alive88
post Jan 1 2008, 08:38 PM

Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!!
1,406 posts

evryone here is so technical..it makes me wonder..who am i?huhu...
planning to change my mobo..anyone hve any suggestion?..would like to prefer atx mobo..but can oc just like the ta690g did.
TS-pWs-
post Jan 1 2008, 08:51 PM

8,545 posts

How bout Biostar TA770 A2+?? brows.gif

-pWs-
dblooi
post Jan 1 2008, 08:53 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 1 2008, 08:51 PM)

-pWs-
that mobo got max 2.9vdimm drool.gif
and can stick to 5x HT multiplier till end of the world laugh.gif
yeop
post Jan 1 2008, 08:54 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 31 2007, 01:55 PM)
Waa...I cannot get over 3500MHz  doh.gif
Bro,
I still cannot get it stable @ 3300MHz @ 1.45v.
Any idea??  icon_question.gif

-pWs-
haha same like me pws,just now stable at 3.2 then 3.3 cannot pulak shakehead.gif anybody help us rolleyes.gif

btw how to check PWM temp on dfi mobo?what software?
alive88
post Jan 1 2008, 08:55 PM

Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!!
1,406 posts

ta 770?have anyone try it b4?how much?
TS-pWs-
post Jan 1 2008, 09:02 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(yeop @ Jan 1 2008, 08:54 PM)
haha same like me pws,just now stable at 3.2 then 3.3 cannot pulak  shakehead.gif anybody help us rolleyes.gif

3.2GHz not enuf yet?? shocking.gif shocking.gif

QUOTE(alive88 @ Jan 1 2008, 08:55 PM)
So you want to be white mouse?? tongue.gif

-pWs-
ongbs
post Jan 1 2008, 09:02 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(yeop @ Jan 1 2008, 08:54 PM)
haha same like me pws,just now stable at 3.2 then 3.3 cannot pulak  shakehead.gif anybody help us rolleyes.gif

i believe no PWM temp sensor built-in on our DFI model. Me just use thermal probe to measures smile.gif
DevilMan
post Jan 1 2008, 09:20 PM

==[ Hardware Swinger ]==
653 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 1 2008, 08:51 PM)

-pWs-
biostar ta770 promoter? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on January 1, 2008, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 1 2008, 09:02 PM)
3.2GHz not enuf yet??  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
So you want to be white mouse??  tongue.gif

-pWs-
should put some recommended mobo and price on the main page. brows.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by DevilMan: Jan 1 2008, 09:21 PM
dj.eRicZzz
post Jan 1 2008, 09:46 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Jan 1 2008, 08:55 PM)
you sponsor me half or buy my current mobo then i try and tell you results ^^
AoiNatsume
post Jan 2 2008, 04:46 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

currently in a very very very very disappointed mood.

Bought my MSI K9A2 today, just finish got everything up and running and even lapped my F3 and planning to push my proc further where my previous board limits me.

As usual, most of us sick overclockers here, the first thing you do when u boot up will be hitting the "del" key, i was no exception. Was happy to see LOTS of overclocking setting, but... wtf the max vcore is only 1.48!!!

Crap, if they dont release any new bios to improve this, ill be dammed. RM5xx mobo only to get max 1.4v.... doh.gif
ongbs
post Jan 2 2008, 05:25 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 2 2008, 04:46 AM)

Bought my MSI K9A2 today, just finish got everything up and running and even lapped my F3 and planning to push my proc further where my previous board limits me.

As usual, most of us sick overclockers here, the first thing you do when u boot up will be hitting the "del" key, i was no exception. Was happy to see LOTS of overclocking setting, but... wtf the max vcore is only 1.48!!!

Crap, if they dont release any new bios to improve this, ill be dammed. RM5xx mobo only to get max 1.4v.... doh.gif
pity bro sad.gif

Aiyo, only 1.48Vcore max ah?
Why u never check the BIOS setting before buying this mobo huh?
dblooi
post Jan 2 2008, 06:30 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 2 2008, 04:46 AM)

so sorry to hear that cry.gif
1.48v is too handicap for a high end mobo sad.gif
what about vdimm? what's the max vdimm for that mobo?
TS-pWs-
post Jan 2 2008, 06:32 AM

8,545 posts

I thought it is nice to have MSI K9A2, but turn out so limited Vcore. doh.gif

-pWs-

100 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top