59 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Closing thread.

TSmunak991
post Mar 12 2013, 10:57 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(andrewou95 @ Mar 12 2013, 10:52 PM)
hey hi,I'm look for some advice which one is better either taylor's or le cordon bleu I was told that le cordon bleu is in malaysia.
Yuu Le cordon Blue is in Malaysia, They tied with Sunway College.
If u want totally just Le Cordon Bleu Institution, go Thailand
sri mawanti
post Mar 27 2013, 07:47 PM

ANYONE interested in having an intensive baking class for 3 months in ICCA? I need 4 more people to open their class again. The class is including:
- strawberry mousse cake/fruit flan
- lemon meringue pie/apple pie
- choux paste/apple upside down cake
- honey carrot loaf/focaccia
- plaited cheese bread/pavlova
- puff pastries
- black forest cake/chocolate chiffon cake
- american pullmann bread
- multigrain loaf/tiramisu
- american devil food cake/mint chocolate brownies
- pretzel/raisin scones/pannetonne
- shortbread/oatmeal cookies/chewy cookies
- viennesse cookies/choc chunk cookies/almond biscotti
- dundee fruit cake/frozen blueberry/cheese cake
- croissant
- american jelly roll/opera cake

2 months, 8 weeks, 16 classes, more than 32 receipes, free tools worth more than RM 400!
RM 3500

I get no commision for this, i only need 4 more people to join this so that they can repeat the class again, because i have missed january intake and don't know yet when they can start the class again.

Any questions you can call ICCA directly at 03-6140-8835 or you can call me at 0169975301 Sri
5p3ak
post Mar 30 2013, 11:43 AM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

Hi there, I would like to enquire about Culinary Arts offered in KDU. May I know what is the difference between IMI Diploma in Professional Chef Training and IMI Diploma in Culinary Arts? Cuz got 2 of them according to the culinary study route.

I am unsure which is the right one for me. Some say both of them learn the same thing just 2nd year different? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by 5p3ak: Mar 30 2013, 11:44 AM
kelvintan_mobile
post Apr 3 2013, 04:24 PM

221 posts

Hi guys,

I am not sure whether i am allowed to post here regarding my cafe's (SetiaWalk), but i had just put up ads in lowyat classified regarding opening in my Cafe for chef/assistant chef/ barista/etc(can check for details). For more info, pls pm me. And if i m not allowed to do this, kindly let me know also , i will delete this post immediately
bandit94822
post Jun 22 2013, 01:13 PM

342 posts

i nt sure weather this post is dead or not? coz last reply was at april 3 2013

Well, to begin, i am currently taking Mechanical Engineering degree at UTAR and trust me, its hard and stressfull and prepare for tons of reports and assignment.

So i was planning to quit, and apart from that i am also interested in cooking stuffs so i found out there is this culinary arts degree

but not sure what graduates of this degree do? any ideas?

If i take this degree i will go to Berjaya Uni COll take? any students or graduates from there>? reali need ur advise
TSmunak991
post Jul 19 2013, 04:55 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Jun 22 2013, 01:13 PM)
i nt sure weather this post is dead or not? coz last reply was at april 3 2013

Well, to begin, i am currently taking Mechanical Engineering degree at UTAR and trust me, its hard and stressfull and prepare for tons of reports and assignment.

So i was planning to quit, and apart from that i am also interested in cooking stuffs so i found out there is this culinary arts degree

but not sure what graduates of this degree do? any ideas?

If i take this degree i will go to Berjaya Uni COll take? any students or graduates from there>? reali need ur advise
Well Hospitality field is even more stress, better go experience in a kitchen first before you go in
michealelsie
post Jul 28 2013, 06:43 PM

507 posts

I am interested with Le Cordon Bleu but seems like Sunway offering different syllabus compare with other campus eg: Paris, Japan

Can anyone provide some details on this, or anyone enrolling can share the experience?

Thank you so much
TSmunak991
post Aug 1 2013, 05:50 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(michealelsie @ Jul 28 2013, 06:43 PM)
I am interested with Le Cordon Bleu but seems like Sunway offering different syllabus compare with other campus eg: Paris, Japan

Can anyone provide some details on this, or anyone enrolling can share the experience?

Thank you so much
LDG is very famous with its Culinary Courses. They have very good background on Hospitality & Culinary.

Why not you take tour for few University and you decide =)

Taylors
LDG Sunway
KDU
BerJaya
bandit94822
post Aug 1 2013, 07:40 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Aug 1 2013, 05:50 PM)
LDG is very famous with its Culinary Courses. They have very good background on Hospitality & Culinary.

Why not you take tour for few University and you decide =)

Taylors
LDG Sunway
KDU
BerJaya
but what do grads from there do? working in restaurant? i think not standard 9~5 5 days per week routine right hmm.gif
TSmunak991
post Aug 1 2013, 07:45 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Aug 1 2013, 07:40 PM)
but what do grads from there do? working in restaurant? i think not standard 9~5 5 days per week routine right  hmm.gif
Okay, restaurant/hotel industry will never have 9~5 working hours nor 5 working days per week.

Normal scenario if you r lucky

6 working days (unflexi day off)
8 hour working ( straight shift if you are lucky)
Work during public holiday (very normal)
Work during peak, (eg Hari Raya, CNY, Deepvali, Christmas)

So what benefits you'll get if u grad as a Culinary Art Diploma/Degree

You get Promoted faster
You get hired easily
Your pay higher (slightly...)
bandit94822
post Aug 3 2013, 02:48 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Aug 1 2013, 07:45 PM)
Okay, restaurant/hotel industry will never have 9~5 working hours nor 5 working days per week.

You get Promoted faster
You get hired easily
what does ur promote means? pay higher? compared to ?
TSmunak991
post Aug 3 2013, 07:25 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Aug 3 2013, 02:48 PM)
what does ur promote means? pay higher? compared to ?
Promotion, u start as Commis(aka Kitchen Helper) no matter what u fresh grade, come out from SPm u start as Commis
bandit94822
post Aug 3 2013, 09:00 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Aug 3 2013, 07:25 PM)
Promotion, u start as Commis(aka Kitchen Helper) no matter what u fresh grade, come out from SPm u start as Commis
i see.... u experienced that? XD
AhmadNizrin
post Aug 5 2013, 01:20 AM

QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Aug 3 2013, 09:00 PM)
i see.... u experienced that? XD
i a diploma fresh grad-soon-to-be, imho this dip is worth taking IF you want to enjoy the easy college life before working. Practically what you learned in college will not really play a good part in ur future, reason being you need to adapt to their working style, that being said, learning everything all over again. Bear in mind that this route youre taking is hectic, stressful and you must physically and mentally strong, expect that during your time in college, because in the real world, its a different story.
With your diploma you will start at commis, like any other people w/out diploma, that explains why I said taking this course is to enjoy live in uni smile.gif

I believe if you have the passion for what you do and give your 100%, people will appreciate you. I've been shortlisted by my internship chef to work in the new restaurant outlet alongside with him when I graduated, as a Demi Chef which I think is a good start for a fresh grad. So think twice if not thrice before taking this path, if your direction of life is only towards the money, I shall advise you not to take it because ive seen people going from culinary to telco promoters, properties agents etc etc where money comes easy biggrin.gif

interest and passion in cooking is two different thing, one is a preference, one is a job for life. Good luck, I bid you good eating biggrin.gif
michealelsie
post Aug 6 2013, 12:21 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Aug 1 2013, 07:45 PM)

You get Promoted faster
You get hired easily
I am planning to take a tour in Sunway LCB campus to see how is it actually inside.

Is there anyone studying inside would like to share your experience?

@ munak, what are you currently working? In gastronomy sector?
TSmunak991
post Aug 6 2013, 01:17 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(michealelsie @ Aug 6 2013, 12:21 PM)
I am planning to take a tour in Sunway LCB campus to see how is it actually inside.

Is there anyone studying inside would like to share your experience?

@ munak, what are you currently working? In gastronomy sector?
I working in Food Industry FMCG goods, some how related to Culinary.
Not Hospitality indsutry
SUSPS3.Gamer
post Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Jan 21 2013, 12:48 AM)
1st of all

really love working in hotel ? serving customers everyday?

to be frank. a cert in hotel is useless. 99% of the subjects u study in so called hotel management also useless.

don waste ur money to study hotel management~~ better save the money... straight work in hotel (whichever dept u like ) and start gaining experience.

btw which dept u would like to join in hotel ? my current hotel has few openings if u would like to try whistling.gif
Rubbish.

I don't know about Malaysia, but I'm studying Hospitality and I learned things like Fine Dining service, Financial Accounting, learn how to use Opera, etc.

You need some background if you intend to go into Front Office or Managerial position.

If you want to be waiter all your life, then yeah, no need to study hospitality.
kueks
post Aug 22 2013, 07:24 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

QUOTE(PS3.Gamer @ Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM)
Rubbish.

I don't know about Malaysia, but I'm studying Hospitality and I learned things like Fine Dining service, Financial Accounting, learn how to use Opera, etc.

You need some background if you intend to go into Front Office or Managerial position.

If you want to be waiter all your life, then yeah, no need to study hospitality.
those are like basic things where u don need to study hospitality in order to know ... financial accounting ??? like credit debit ? the course teach u economics.. marketing too right... but all oso basics... not in depth

its like saying you study KOREAN language... after the course doesnt make u expert in korean language... just the basic hi bye stuffs

i taught few new staff to use OPERA .. they don have backgrounds.. no cert nothing....fresh from high school... and they are doing good now... the opera they teach u in hospitality are again... basics... u learn more by working 1 month than studying 1 sem to "learn" opera

This post has been edited by kueks: Aug 22 2013, 07:27 PM
kenneths88
post Aug 22 2013, 07:43 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(PS3.Gamer @ Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM)
Rubbish.

Support u.

QUOTE(kueks @ Aug 22 2013, 07:24 PM)
those are like basic things where u don need to study hospitality in order to know ... financial accounting ??? like credit debit ? the course teach u economics.. marketing too right... but all oso basics... not in depth

its like saying you study KOREAN language... after the course doesnt make u expert in korean language... just the basic hi bye stuffs

i taught few new staff to use OPERA .. they don have  backgrounds.. no cert nothing....fresh from high school... and they are doing good now... the opera they teach u in hospitality are again... basics... u learn more by working 1 month than studying 1 sem to "learn" opera
If you think having a cert for Hotel Management is useless, then you are wrong.
Like what PS3 says, those cert are preparing us for Managerial position.

Which means, without a cert, stay urself with low level position for another 10 years (Front Office Assistant or if you are lucky - Assistant Manager) & looking at your juniors, getting promoted to manager.

Like what you say, we may only learn basic in financial accounting. But, did you forget? Why do we study financial accounting? It is totally unrelated to our work. Let me tell you, when we are managers, we need to know every bit n pieces of things that happen in your department. It's not like, if I'm a Front Office Manager, i don't need to give a f to those accounting work. With basics, we could absorb faster.

Yes, in terms of promotion, still depends on experience or seniority.
kueks
post Aug 22 2013, 07:53 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

have u work in hotels or any hospitality related industries b4 ?
guess not based on ur reply

59 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0396sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:48 PM