QUOTE(PS3.Gamer @ Aug 22 2013, 02:51 PM)
Rubbish.
I don't know about Malaysia, but I'm studying Hospitality and I learned things like Fine Dining service, Financial Accounting, learn how to use Opera, etc.
You need some background if you intend to go into Front Office or Managerial position.
If you want to be waiter all your life, then yeah, no need to study hospitality.
Support u.I don't know about Malaysia, but I'm studying Hospitality and I learned things like Fine Dining service, Financial Accounting, learn how to use Opera, etc.
You need some background if you intend to go into Front Office or Managerial position.
If you want to be waiter all your life, then yeah, no need to study hospitality.
QUOTE(kueks @ Aug 22 2013, 07:24 PM)
those are like basic things where u don need to study hospitality in order to know ... financial accounting ??? like credit debit ? the course teach u economics.. marketing too right... but all oso basics... not in depth
its like saying you study KOREAN language... after the course doesnt make u expert in korean language... just the basic hi bye stuffs
i taught few new staff to use OPERA .. they don have backgrounds.. no cert nothing....fresh from high school... and they are doing good now... the opera they teach u in hospitality are again... basics... u learn more by working 1 month than studying 1 sem to "learn" opera
If you think having a cert for Hotel Management is useless, then you are wrong.its like saying you study KOREAN language... after the course doesnt make u expert in korean language... just the basic hi bye stuffs
i taught few new staff to use OPERA .. they don have backgrounds.. no cert nothing....fresh from high school... and they are doing good now... the opera they teach u in hospitality are again... basics... u learn more by working 1 month than studying 1 sem to "learn" opera
Like what PS3 says, those cert are preparing us for Managerial position.
Which means, without a cert, stay urself with low level position for another 10 years (Front Office Assistant or if you are lucky - Assistant Manager) & looking at your juniors, getting promoted to manager.
Like what you say, we may only learn basic in financial accounting. But, did you forget? Why do we study financial accounting? It is totally unrelated to our work. Let me tell you, when we are managers, we need to know every bit n pieces of things that happen in your department. It's not like, if I'm a Front Office Manager, i don't need to give a f to those accounting work. With basics, we could absorb faster.
Yes, in terms of promotion, still depends on experience or seniority.
Aug 22 2013, 07:43 PM

0.0320sec