hey.. where can i find pass years CAT papers???
ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)
Jan 10 2008, 08:09 PM
483 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
hey.. where can i find pass years CAT papers???
Jan 10 2008, 09:10 PM
2,656 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE 3 members replied to my post and I have randomly taken the first reply to take the issue a little further. This is the issue of written English. A good lecturer is not there or able to improve the quality of it. We're doing ACCA, a strategic paper that in normal circumstances, most of us would not be able to finish all the question with complete set of answer. Therefore, we need a strategy to pass the exam. A good lecturer with his experience able to point this out. Without a good lecturer, students tends to take more time in establishing his own strategy which may or may not be usefull at all. QUOTE For a written paper like P3, you cannot pass the paper by memory work. Becuase we are dealing with factors which are inherently uncertain such as people and the weather which affect strategy, the examiner is looking at how you provide factual, logical arguments. No two answers will be the same. Yes of course. English is one of the factor in passing ACCA. However, as long as students able to apply the concept and write out explanation and argument appropriately, i find no reason one can't pass P3. A good lecturer is here to point student how to tackle question. Points to be take note and etc. QUOTE Therefore, coming to my point, you need to express yourself well and be able to have a good command of English. This is to help you understand the questions and express yourself well in your answers. Of course english is important. However, what i'm stressing here is. Even though one may posses a good command of english, but if the lecturer is weak in teaching, he/she may not be able to pass the exam 'easily' than those who have better guidance from lecturer. QUOTE With due respect, there are many grammatical errors in the written replies of all 3 members who posted. The examiner is UK based and so is the Body, this is one major issue. How many Malaysian students fail their written papers due to poor English? Is a lecturer able to help you in your English? Afeter all, he is not there to teach you English. I would be interested to know the pass rates of Malaysian and Singapore ACCA student members. Is this available? You may try to contact ACCA Malaysia and Singapore respectively for the information. A good lecturer is not there to help students who's weak in english. However, he/she is there to helps the student by providing a strategy way to answer and tackle question and understand the framework in respective subject easier. Which comes back to my point: QUOTE Wrong. Good lecturers is a basic ways to success. Without a good guidance from lecturer, we might take more time to learn. A good lecturer makes you success faster and easier. A bad lecturer also can give u success, but you've to take more time (resit). With a fundamental rules, you must have a good command of english. Need not to be well versed, but at least no problem in reading and understanding. This post has been edited by keith_hjinhoh: Jan 11 2008, 11:56 AM |
Jan 11 2008, 12:44 AM
31 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Which lecturer is better in teaching F7?
Keith Farmer (Kasturi), Joe Fang (Kasturi), or Haneef (Mc Orange) Or other? Please recommend, cos i wanted to start to attend class.... thank thank thankSSS~ |
Jan 11 2008, 09:53 AM
858 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(jesswcp @ Jan 11 2008, 12:44 AM) Which lecturer is better in teaching F7? Keith Farmer - Suppose to start his 1st class on 10/1/2007 but suddenly received SMS said cancelled. Somebody said his teaching method and exam technique was very good.Keith Farmer (Kasturi), Joe Fang (Kasturi), or Haneef (Mc Orange) Or other? Please recommend, cos i wanted to start to attend class.... thank thank thankSSS~ Joe Fang - Very good in Consol, but just ok ok only in IFRS. Hannef - Very good in IFRS, but not so good in Consol. His method to answer consol question too slow. He is quite boring lecturer also and I feel very sleeply during I attend his 2.5 in SEGI. And his tuition also very expensive. Conclusion, both also good lah, but depend on wat u expect from them lo! |
Jan 11 2008, 01:45 PM
7 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
need help! who have f1 note or question?
Jan 11 2008, 05:43 PM
118 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(jesswcp @ Jan 11 2008, 12:44 AM) Which lecturer is better in teaching F7? for this paper, i suggest that you attend joe fang's class.Keith Farmer (Kasturi), Joe Fang (Kasturi), or Haneef (Mc Orange) Or other? Please recommend, cos i wanted to start to attend class.... thank thank thankSSS~ his method for conso, published accounts, cash flow and ratios is different from other lectuerers, which is quite fast in the examinations. people tend to be unable to finish the paper, but under his class, students have the speed to finish and still have time to check. besides that, that 3 parts will eventually give you maximun of 75 marks, which is far more than the passing mark. |
Jan 12 2008, 05:51 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
can any1 login into the ACCA website???
www.accaglocal.com |
Jan 12 2008, 06:12 PM
70 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jan 9 2008, 10:32 PM) Then u just ask me to correct it lo! lk to say sorry ... " IF "...it is politic apologize...y got "if"..sound lk blame ppl tk it too serious more than u wan to apologize for the wrong info !I just provide small mistake information only and not give everything wrong. Any way, I would like to say sorry for the small mistake information if u still want to take it so seriously. anyway wrong is wrong...n apologize shld be truely from heart...if u feel that u r right then dun need apologize misleading info hav a great impact to som studen...i agree vf som1 said that infomation provided must be accurate ! This post has been edited by lowyatman07: Jan 12 2008, 06:16 PM |
Jan 12 2008, 08:12 PM
have ur pay ur annual fees already ??
the pound rate is low.. |
Jan 12 2008, 10:37 PM
66 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: KayHell =) |
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 12 2008, 08:12 PM) Yeap! heard it was only RM6.5 to a pound Looks like theres a lit bit of commotion over here, from english to lecturers to taking things too seriously! I would say good english wud definitely be an advantage since we are sitting for an UK paper and at the same time simply having good english alone but not knowing what to write wudnt exactly help much either! So having good lecturers who guide you on preparing for the exams are advantages too! There's always the need to strike a balance And as for taking things seriously and the whole apologizing thingy.. No comments |
Jan 13 2008, 01:51 AM
1,171 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
umm..sometime in some occassion we might make some mistake coz the lecturer is changing here and there..
so about the mistake thing,one has pointed out and one has corrected,i think shd be case close... |
Jan 13 2008, 07:16 AM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 12 2008, 05:51 PM) the ACCA website is heretry it Added on January 13, 2008, 7:17 am QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 12 2008, 08:12 PM) it's really low now. maybe can also buy for the examinations fee. i checked yesterday was 6.35 already..This post has been edited by VpIc: Jan 13 2008, 07:17 AM |
Jan 13 2008, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(VpIc @ Jan 13 2008, 07:16 AM) the ACCA website is here yeah...ACCA website is normal again... try it Added on January 13, 2008, 7:17 am it's really low now. maybe can also buy for the examinations fee. i checked yesterday was 6.35 already.. yesterday they got maintenance.... today so smooth... |
Jan 13 2008, 08:56 PM
47 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
hey, would like to ask if anyone in this forum has attended Daniel Ho's class in FTMS before?
I am contemplating whether to join his F9 class or not. and i would like to know how is his teaching method, understandable and clear? or does he goes really fast? hope someone could shed me some light on this matter. thanks in advance. |
Jan 13 2008, 11:00 PM
3,212 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: atas bawah kiri kanan |
Erm, when is the last date to pay for annual fees?
Jan 14 2008, 01:00 AM
1,171 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(eternalflame @ Jan 13 2008, 08:56 PM) hey, would like to ask if anyone in this forum has attended Daniel Ho's class in FTMS before? i attended his 3.7 class last time..his teaching method is 1st share with u the theory then will do exercise with u..the way he explain can be understand and if u have any question,jus ask him and he will explain to you..I am contemplating whether to join his F9 class or not. and i would like to know how is his teaching method, understandable and clear? or does he goes really fast? hope someone could shed me some light on this matter. thanks in advance. i think he got some unique technique and method to deliver the thing to u lo..quite good..sometime he might not share too much on the theory but he got prepared all the notes for u to read up.. |
Jan 14 2008, 10:24 AM
32 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(mtcheh @ Jan 11 2008, 01:45 PM) erm..i have F1 notes from Mr Rohan..his note is too simple for me..what type of question paper do u want? PYQ or revision kit question? i don't have soft copy,so i being wonder how u going to get it..QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 12 2008, 08:12 PM) i pay the annual fees edi..if buy bank draft now..can keep the bank draft until the date we pay for exam fees? bank draft last how long to be valid? QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jan 13 2008, 11:00 PM) the last day is at 1 january 2008..but seem like many ppl paying after the date..not sure ACCA will fine u money or not..haha..i scare for being fine money or etc..so i quickly pay edi.. This post has been edited by Tinycat: Jan 14 2008, 10:25 AM |
Jan 14 2008, 10:35 AM
858 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(VpIc @ Jan 11 2008, 05:43 PM) for this paper, i suggest that you attend joe fang's class. Ya, I agree. Joe Fang have very good technique in answer calculation question in F7. his method for conso, published accounts, cash flow and ratios is different from other lectuerers, which is quite fast in the examinations. people tend to be unable to finish the paper, but under his class, students have the speed to finish and still have time to check. besides that, that 3 parts will eventually give you maximun of 75 marks, which is far more than the passing mark. Beside that, I suggest also student don't skip reading IFRS in F7, even 75% for this paper is on calculation. The reason was when student go to P2, examiner will require student must very strong and good understanding in IFRS. I know that a lot of student try to skip theory on F7/2.5. That's why when they go to P2/3.6 will feel very hard. So may be student attend Joe Fang class for exam and borrow F7/2.5 notes from Haneef student just for read and understand the IFRS. This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jan 14 2008, 10:37 AM |
Jan 14 2008, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(Tinycat @ Jan 14 2008, 10:24 AM) erm..i have F1 notes from Mr Rohan..his note is too simple for me..what type of question paper do u want? PYQ or revision kit question? i don't have soft copy,so i being wonder how u going to get it.. bank drafts can last for 6 monthsi pay the annual fees edi.. if buy bank draft now..can keep the bank draft until the date we pay for exam fees? bank draft last how long to be valid? the last day is at 1 january 2008.. but seem like many ppl paying after the date..not sure ACCA will fine u money or not..haha..i scare for being fine money or etc..so i quickly pay edi.. Added on January 14, 2008, 11:08 am QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jan 14 2008, 10:35 AM) Ya, I agree. Joe Fang have very good technique in answer calculation question in F7. i will agree with you on this. haneef's method of explaining IAS is very clear. a combination of haneef and joe fang will be the best, for both calculation and throey.Beside that, I suggest also student don't skip reading IFRS in F7, even 75% for this paper is on calculation. The reason was when student go to P2, examiner will require student must very strong and good understanding in IFRS. I know that a lot of student try to skip theory on F7/2.5. That's why when they go to P2/3.6 will feel very hard. So may be student attend Joe Fang class for exam and borrow F7/2.5 notes from Haneef student just for read and understand the IFRS. This post has been edited by VpIc: Jan 14 2008, 11:08 AM |
Jan 14 2008, 09:21 PM
96 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
anyone here got p1 & p2 notes. can u photocopy and sell to me ?
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:22 PM |