11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

carlosandy
post Jan 5 2008, 11:53 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(mns369 @ Jan 5 2008, 02:08 PM)
hey guys,i rly rly need ur help now...any of u here currently taking MR JACKSON CHAN P7 (KASTURI) class? im tnking of joining his classes n i understand that he has finished one class (ie yesterday)... wat did he cover during that one class? wud i be missing a lot of i decided to join now? thanks in advance guys...
I think u better choose other lecturer since got KSA student complaint about his teaching method in P1 (P7 don't know).

Actually it is very high risk to take P7 since the KL 2 best audit lecturer Philip Woo and Sheila also stop teaching this paper. I also don't think Jackson Chan will be better than Philip Woo and Sheila in teaching audit paper.

You try some lecturer got better experience, may Fung Chee Kang (FTMS) lah!
carlosandy
post Jan 6 2008, 09:58 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(schuen @ Jan 6 2008, 08:45 PM)
Used to study ACCA in Sunway for a few sem. Sunway uses differentiation strategy : better study environment, longer tuition hours, lecturers ok, lots of prize winners produced, famous college, premier plus status, high passing rate etc & so, fees also expensive lor...

Prize winners will not feel expensive coz got money rewards kua I think...For those working students from big 4, especially PWC, EY & KPMG, no feelin of expensive kua coz sponsor by their co, need to bond however. Tat's why part time classes consist majority of these ppl who r very proud of themselves n they deserve to be proud lor.

Left only those who pay for the full fees, no sponsors, no rewards, not fr rich family n not earning high salary will feel the pain like me...so changed to ksa las sem. brows.gif 

However, need to clarify, Sunway is indeed a good tuition provider for ACCA if u dun compare the price lor.
Actually for me, the most important is to get better lecturer other than study environment.

Ya, I agree with u, Sunway uses differentiation strategy, provide better study environment and longer tuition hours. But all this for me is not important.

Talk about the prize winner and high passing rate for ACCA, actually a lot of them not just appear in Sunway list, but also appear in KSA/MCO list.

A lot of KL lecturer prepare a lot of study notes and teach very good exam technique, but for Sunway only few lecturer can do this. That's why a lot of Sunway student also come to KL for additional tuition.

Even we didn't compare the price, we also need to compare quality of lecturer. For eg, in the 3 core paper, Sunway only got good and famous lecturer in P2, but KSA/MCO can provide good lecturer in all 3 papers.
carlosandy
post Jan 7 2008, 12:19 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 6 2008, 10:46 PM)
lol, so generally if anti mco and sunway, that means he is a ksa supporter la.. XD must be KSA agent.
Ha Ha Ha, I'm not KSA agent or supporter lah. But they truely provide good quality lecturer and acceptable tuition fees.

I also recommend some lecturer in MCO, FTMS or SEGi mah!

Ha Ha Ha, even I anti MCO, I also go for Sheila class in MCO ah!

I always said go to ACCA class follow lecturer, not follow college.

You can see from my recommendation list of lecturer, I also recommend some MCO lecturer wo!
carlosandy
post Jan 7 2008, 09:00 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Jan 6 2008, 11:15 PM)
I need advice here,I'm going to take P2 and am normally a Sunway student.The problem is that I strongly dislike Menon's style of teaching since 2.5 with Sunway's signature overlong hours of classes (which I have little tolerance for) plus extra classes to finish the syllabus.Her style of teaching is like expecting 100% of the students are eager to get world prize, leaving less enthusiastic students (like me blush.gif ) with difficulty to cope.I am more comfortable with essay papers than calculation based papers.I really get frustrated every time I attend her class.It really made my life miserable studying that subject, took me 3 tries to finally pass the paper and also affected my focus on other papers.

However,she's admittedly well versed with her stuff and often praised as a good teacher.Should I take the safe way and continue learning P2 from her since my fundamental knowledge from 2.5 was from her (although my foundation is still quite shaky)?Or should give Joe Fang from KSA a try?I'm afraid I can't follow his lectures since I came from Menon's school of teaching.All I need is to know enough to pass this dreadful paper once and for all, help please notworthy.gif
You may be can try some lecturer in KL:

Joe Fang (KSA) - He got the very good technique in answer consol question, but the IFRS part is just ok ok only.

Keith Farmer (KSA) - He was very famous and experience lecturer in teaching this paper. According to his student, his notes and exam technique is very good. But I'm worry he can't finish the syllabus on time.

Haneef (Mc Orange) - He was very good in teaching IFRS, can give u very good fundamental and understanding in answer IFRS question. But for consol part, he is not so good, cos his technique in answer consol question too slow already. In his class, you will feel very boring. His tuition fees also expensive.

So, depend on what u expect in this paper. Difference lecturer got difference teaching style. You always must remember there is no perfect lecturer in any paper also.
carlosandy
post Jan 8 2008, 10:08 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(BSE87 @ Jan 7 2008, 08:10 PM)
HI need some advice , i just finished my diploma and im starting ACCA classes tomorrow.Im studying FULL time. Im exempted  the first 4 papers so i start with F5. Anyways im planning to take 4 papers(F5-F8) for this coming June exam.  Im taking it in SEGI coll , im not sure if tehy have good lecturers for ACCA there.
Ok so my question is

1) Is it wise to take up to 4 papers per seating? (studying FULL time)

2) Is lecturer's notes enough to pass  ACCA exams?

ADVICE please!!
Actually it is depend on individual lah! Some people feel that can take 4 papers study full time, but some ppl thing it is difficult to take 4 papers.

F5 to F7 will involve a lot of calculation. You need to spend a lot of time to practice the calculation. Beside calculation, you also can't skip theory cos no more optional question in this paper. ACCA know, last time a lot of candidates try to skip question on more theory and gain marks from calculation, so under new syllabus they don't allow student skip theory question.

For F8 Audit & Assurance, this is a killer paper in fundamental level. A lot of student die in this paper since Alan Lewin become examiner. You need to understand a lot of audit procedures for this paper. If I'm not mistake, the passing rate for this paper last time was a lowest in Part 2.

So it is very depend on individual. But for me, it is very hard for me to take 4 paper together even study full time. So may be u try 3 paper first lah if u thing u can't do it.

For lecturer notes, if you attend the class where he/she can provide you with good lecturer notes and teach you step by step to answer past year question, it should be enough for you study for ACCA exam. Text book may be only use for other reference purpose when u can't understand from lecturer notes.

For SEGi College, I think it is not a good choice for you cos only left Kwai Fatt in SEGi currently. A lot of ex-SEGi very good lecturer like Sheila, Vikness, Hannef already went to other college. So currently beside Kwai Fatt, I'm not sure other SEGi lecturer good or not. May be u can try my recommendation lecturers in below lah:-

F5 - Andrew Pang (Kasturi)
F6 - Alan Yeow (Kasturi), Siva Nair (FTMS) , Choong Kwai Fatt (SEGi, IRC only)-if he teach
F7 - Keith Farmer (Kasturi), Joe Fang (Kasturi), Haneef (Mc Orange)
F8 - Philip Woo (Kasturi), Sheila (Mc Orange), Fung Chee Kang (FTMS)

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jan 8 2008, 10:34 PM
carlosandy
post Jan 8 2008, 10:04 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(VpIc @ Jan 8 2008, 09:38 PM)
please update your information please?

Chow Kim Tai is not teaching in FTMS anymore. He is teaching in McOrange only for paper P5.

please do not recommend lecturers who are not teaching anymore. it's quite misleading.
Small mistake only, why u so take it so serious?
carlosandy
post Jan 9 2008, 11:29 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Jan 9 2008, 09:20 AM)
wei dont fight here...we are here to discuss...somemore ppl just request u to correct ur mistake...it seems u r the one who taking it so serious...cheers! smile.gif.....
Ya, I agree, we just discuss only. If I make a mistake, then just ask me correct it and no need to come out some word look like so serious.
carlosandy
post Jan 9 2008, 10:32 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(VpIc @ Jan 9 2008, 04:37 PM)
not that i want to take it seriously, but we are future professionals. our information must be accurate.. seriously, no offence.
Then u just ask me to correct it lo!

I just provide small mistake information only and not give everything wrong.

Any way, I would like to say sorry for the small mistake information if u still want to take it so seriously.

carlosandy
post Jan 11 2008, 09:53 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(jesswcp @ Jan 11 2008, 12:44 AM)
Which lecturer is better in teaching F7?

Keith Farmer (Kasturi),
Joe Fang (Kasturi), or
Haneef (Mc Orange)
Or other?
Please recommend, cos i wanted to start to attend class....

thank thank thankSSS~
Keith Farmer - Suppose to start his 1st class on 10/1/2007 but suddenly received SMS said cancelled. Somebody said his teaching method and exam technique was very good.

Joe Fang - Very good in Consol, but just ok ok only in IFRS.

Hannef - Very good in IFRS, but not so good in Consol. His method to answer consol question too slow. He is quite boring lecturer also and I feel very sleeply during I attend his 2.5 in SEGI. And his tuition also very expensive.

Conclusion, both also good lah, but depend on wat u expect from them lo!
carlosandy
post Jan 14 2008, 10:35 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(VpIc @ Jan 11 2008, 05:43 PM)
for this paper, i suggest that you attend joe fang's class.

his method for conso, published accounts, cash flow and ratios is different from other lectuerers, which is quite fast in the examinations. people tend to be unable to finish the paper, but under his class, students have the speed to finish and still have time to check.

besides that, that 3 parts will eventually give you maximun of 75 marks, which is far more than the passing mark.
Ya, I agree. Joe Fang have very good technique in answer calculation question in F7.

Beside that, I suggest also student don't skip reading IFRS in F7, even 75% for this paper is on calculation. The reason was when student go to P2, examiner will require student must very strong and good understanding in IFRS.

I know that a lot of student try to skip theory on F7/2.5. That's why when they go to P2/3.6 will feel very hard. So may be student attend Joe Fang class for exam and borrow F7/2.5 notes from Haneef student just for read and understand the IFRS.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jan 14 2008, 10:37 AM
carlosandy
post Jan 15 2008, 09:00 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Jan 15 2008, 12:23 AM)
so confirm that farmer class starts on 17 Jan? blink.gif
Should be confirmed 17/1/08 for P2, hope won't be cancelled. I will check with KSA again tomolo.

carlosandy
post Jan 15 2008, 04:25 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Jan 15 2008, 03:48 PM)
anyone has dr choong kwai fatt latest edition advanced taxation and malaysian taxation ( i mean photostat copy) coz to buy it is really killing me (rm160 per book) thanks domo
Email to him said u are ACCA student and ask him come back to teach IRC, I think he will give u some discount.

But if u photostat his text book, please don't show him if you attend his class. Cos he will very angry when see people photostat his book. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jan 15 2008, 04:29 PM
carlosandy
post Jan 16 2008, 02:40 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Jan 16 2008, 09:35 AM)
haha..yalo..let u see u bring his photocopy version of textbook..sure kena tease one..

if u attend his irc,u can buy at discounted price.,but so far only 2007 version available la..
But I remember during I joint his normal class, he bought the Kaplan Revision Kit for us to photostate. Ayuh, photostat his text book cannot, but photostat other text book is OK lah! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
carlosandy
post Jan 18 2008, 09:48 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Jan 18 2008, 09:05 AM)
based on his reply to one student,he is not conducting irc for this coming sitting...but i will double confirm i think by march o apr again...
I think any student need to attend his IRC, better email to him lah! May be yours also ask TARC College P6 student email him also cos I know a lot of TARC student take P6 this sitting.
carlosandy
post Jan 18 2008, 01:04 PM

858 posts

Just start Keith Farmer P2 class yesterday. Both his teaching method and notes also good and easy to understand. But 1 problem was his language..........the way he talk very fast, I miss out some wording he present to us.

Basically he is good, but we must try to accept the way he speak.
carlosandy
post Jan 18 2008, 02:47 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(peng123 @ Jan 18 2008, 02:06 PM)
did he teaching standard  or conso  now  ?
According to his notes, he will teach consol 1st.
carlosandy
post Jan 19 2008, 01:24 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Jan 18 2008, 06:40 PM)
Remember,P2 is focus on the thoery  compare to calculation,
What theory you learn in F7 is very important for P2.

This is i heard from my friends. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Ya, I know more than you. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Both consol and FRS also important in this paper. I think for consol, better have a express method to answer consol question, otherwise it will spend a lot of time until we can't do or finish other question.

Lecturer like Haneef is very good in this paper, but his technique to answer consol question very slow. cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jan 19 2008, 01:31 AM
carlosandy
post Jan 19 2008, 11:56 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Jan 19 2008, 05:51 PM)
glad to hear that....he really teach for quite long oledi..i like his note esp the q and a section coz all answer provided..

if u attend the irc,u will have a set of summarised standard note somemore... brows.gif
We need to attend the IRC oso if sign up 2nd term course. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

carlosandy
post Jan 21 2008, 01:53 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Jan 21 2008, 11:59 AM)
I hope can get the P6 notes,
F6 i got already
His notes is more on Chart format, w/o his explaination, I think is hard for u to understand.
carlosandy
post Jan 21 2008, 09:58 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Tinycat @ Jan 21 2008, 07:06 PM)
hai..i was attending andrew pang class for F5..found out that he always just call us to go back home to read notes from this page to that page..and he always just read every sentence in the notes..not always give us key point too..
it give me the feeling that we can miss the class and just read his notes...

is his teaching style like this from long time ago?
Actually he teaching style is more on calculation than theory. He is very expert in calculation, but no so good in theory.

You better don't miss his class also, cos in one day he can teach u a lot of calculation. For theory part, your level is not difficult. May be you buy the Kaplan Revision Kit, inside a lot of theory question, I think it can assist you to answer the theory question.

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:18 AM