ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

Zoeee
post Dec 8 2007, 03:15 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(babysept @ Dec 8 2007, 05:52 AM)
was kinda sick on that day itself.. den college hall, blardy cold..

cant really answer some Q also.. nub =p

btw, jus a reminder for u coursemate, bring jacket, wear long sleeve shirts and long pants!

also, last but not least, bring only black pen, no blue pen is allowed!

jiaaa you!

and thanks for the advice on CMMI, will hav a look later!
Can use BLUE Pen to answer?? Coz arr~~ i personally dun like use black pen answer coz...the paper sheet alreadt black ..... so theform i fill in with black n answer with blue?? Can? will they mark my answer?? rclxub.gif

N for conso, joe fang ask us use black for the figure given n blue for the answer we do oo.... hmm.gif

n wna ask arr~~ can use short form for exam F7? like b/f, urp (unrealised profit) use nca for non current asset?? Can ? icon_question.gif

N any tips for F7 to share or emphasis on f7?? Not so good....mark for correct figure right? n oni mark working if figure wrong....but seem like we need can balance it in exam oo... how?? blink.gif

Added on December 8, 2007, 3:20 pmI mean its like we never can balance the b/s in the exam.... some note dunno how to do n then sometime calculator press wrong.... tongue.gif now my f7 revision is like doing auditing...do question while looking at the answer... hehe blush.gif

This post has been edited by Zoeee: Dec 8 2007, 03:20 PM
Zoeee
post Dec 8 2007, 09:43 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Dec 8 2007, 08:45 PM)
^Yea,those that u know what's coming out (groups,blah blah) just keep posting stuff collecting easy marks. Pretty much what I did. (thought I was gonna fail 2.5,fortunately I passed laugh.gif)
Any std to focus on for f7 on q4, q5? icon_question.gif ...coz i found its tough ...so i been ask my lecturer once, i say if i juz do 1,2,3 n let go 4,5 can arr??? he say ok...but 1,2,3 need to be very good....till now juz revise till q1, 2mr need to revise q2 n q3...n then 4, 5 for monday... God bless us.... smile.gif

Added on December 8, 2007, 9:45 pm
QUOTE(Computer^freak @ Dec 8 2007, 08:17 PM)
F7 last paper , cant wait.

I think Menon did mentioned about doing Q1,Q2 and Q3 fast so that
there's extra time for Q4 & 5, which I think she has a point coz Q4 & 5
are the toughest as it is random unlikely Q1,2 & 3.
any focus from ms menon? especially on std? ...for q1, i think mayb conso b/s n i/s for holding n subsidiary..

This post has been edited by Zoeee: Dec 8 2007, 09:45 PM
Zoeee
post Dec 10 2007, 05:54 PM

87 posts

ooo.. study F7 until brain malfuntion... so far oni cover q1,2,3 the std.,..study tonite.... really hv tp pray hard... duno y feel so stress with this paper compared to F8... ai~~ icon_question.gif

Added on December 10, 2007, 5:56 pmCan i totally skip the ratio analysis arr~ since came out last sitting, anyone hv the past year analysis? seem everyone spotting CF this sitting

Added on December 10, 2007, 5:57 pmAnd those the article important? like Intangible asset.. bla bla...

This post has been edited by Zoeee: Dec 10 2007, 05:57 PM
Zoeee
post Dec 13 2007, 02:56 PM

87 posts

OOO.. finally finish exam... pengsan sweat.gif

Another new sem startng soon after few weeks holiday. Need to find class again.. rclxub.gif

Planning to take p2- joe fang , p3-parminder .. p4 and p6... heard tat tax more useful...

however any recommendation for p4-adv fin management?
and p6-adv taxation? choong kwai fatt(segi)? or Chow chee yan (mc orange)?

p1 mayb later.. plan to go 4 class... then if at the end mayb too heavy then take 3 paper...
go class first lo... later working only take p1 and either 1 from above... hmm.gif

Anyway hv the lastest timetable n enrollment form for each college? smile.gif pls upload here, thx
Zoeee
post Dec 14 2007, 10:22 PM

87 posts

So..... how? Kwai fatt is not teaching normal class? so it mean only 1 lecturer teaching P6 other than sunway??

Alan yeo oso x teach P6.... so will the mc orange tax full hse then??

I plan to take P2,P3 and P6... can jump paper right??
Zoeee
post Dec 17 2007, 04:27 PM

87 posts

Chan Tze Kang- wer he teach?

P1-?
p2-joe fang
p3- parmindar? anyone attended his p3? how his approach?
p4-daniel ho ? chan tze kang?
p6-low chin ann? or chow chee yan?

Pls advice, tq ^^

Added on December 17, 2007, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(shuyin_lenne_2007 @ Dec 15 2007, 11:00 PM)
when it states just 'P2' alone in the timetable, it means both lecturers (Joe Fang & Keith Farmer) have class of their own on that day itself. that's the KSA style, both lecturers run on the same day, pretty interesting isn't it? therefore it's clearly stated.
Hi, smile.gif wna ask, how parmindar approach for p1 and p3 last sitting? Might not go sunway, still back to kasturi.... so plan to take up p1,2,3,4,6 class.... any suggestion? By the way wat class u plan to go? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Zoeee: Dec 17 2007, 04:50 PM
Zoeee
post Dec 17 2007, 05:03 PM

87 posts

p1- philip woo, last sitting i went for F8, good but seem x suit my learning style...

p2- used to be joe fang student for F5... duno cahnge to keith framer can or not

p3- ok...will go for parmindar

p4- wait ftms....duno daniel ho still teach or not

p5- how bout alan yeo?...
Zoeee
post Dec 17 2007, 05:31 PM

87 posts

oooo...ic.... thx for the advice... ^-^

p1- never attend shiela, agreed with u, philip more story to tell n understanding...

p2-mayb i change to keith farmer

p5- then no choice, maybe chow chee yan...mc orange....wah....mustb expensive
Zoeee
post Dec 18 2007, 11:35 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(andy888 @ Dec 17 2007, 06:35 PM)
wah. u taking 5 papers ?? sweat.gif  sweat.gif

for p2, last time i got see his notes, quite excellent. thumbup.gif
U mean Keith farmer notes? I might go for Joe Fang...coz my "loan provider" prefer Joe Fang. Then actually i plan to take 5 paper for class.. then maybe go class first then exam later...but advices given.. better complete P1 at last, therefore..i will take

P2-Joe Fang
P3- Parmindar
P4- Daniel Ho (i cant get timetable, ftms still not email me the fees,timetable, anyone hv? pls upload here, tq)
P6- Alan Yeo

Therefore, anyone hv same class v me? See u all next year~~ ^-^
Zoeee
post Dec 18 2007, 01:17 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Dec 18 2007, 11:58 AM)
u cannot take p1 at last and complete option 1st unless u take at same sitting after u pass ur p2 and p3 ma..

and it is not advisable to attend class then sit exam later

coz sometime lecturer focus will be more to that sitting...
oo....how bout if June 08 sitting, i take p2,3,4,6 lik tis can?? coz.....i tot...now can jump right? or hv to complete all core paper then only can do option??

Zoeee
post Dec 18 2007, 01:30 PM

87 posts

oo..its mean, for june 08 i can only take P1,2,3 and then choose either 1, P4 or P6...??

Zoeee
post Dec 18 2007, 02:41 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Dec 18 2007, 01:54 PM)
ya,last time still got IT paper easier to pass..now it is all got standard liao..all also quite hard to pass liao..

so if cannot afford,don try to take 4 papers together esp u in part 3..
Oic, smile.gif thx for the advice....emm.. coz desperate to finish acca quickly....after june 08, need to start work, so think while fulltime now,take more, later oni change to partime wen work...

so...now..mean i hv to take

p1-....undecided yet - philip woo? (easy understand...but on Sunday full day) parmindar? jackson?(i been both of them revision for 2.1 & F8, quite ok)
p2-joe fang (his former student) or keith farmer....( seem like lots ppl talking about him, coolly u oso go for it right?)
p3-parmindar

either 1:
p4- daniel ho
p6- alan yeo

Added on December 18, 2007, 2:43 pmEmm, previously, i heard that P1 is new syllabus n is like combination of other paper, so will be tough & tot of how about do it later ^-^

This post has been edited by Zoeee: Dec 18 2007, 02:43 PM
Zoeee
post Dec 18 2007, 06:34 PM

87 posts

Hi, may be abit out of topic here, i need a room for next year, since the class mostly in KL (kasturi & ftms) anyone study acca there & need a roomate? or hd known any fren got room to let? Or any recommendation for area to stay in KL? Prefer those nearby LRT station or komuter station, thx alot ^-^
Zoeee
post Dec 18 2007, 09:28 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Dec 18 2007, 08:43 PM)
seriously consider abt section 2 wangsa maju especially block B or G... becoz they are nearer to PUTRA LRT WANGSA MAJU which you may comfortably depend on it to bring you to KL (MASJID JAMEK STATION)/(PASAR SENI STATION) which after you take off from train 15 mins walk will take you to kasturi, ftms, kolej bandar, segi and mcorange. the train frequency will not be disappointing you.  icon_rolleyes.gif

breakfast, lunch and dinner is not a worry as there is DESA SETAPAK which is oso very near to PUTRA LRT WANGSA MAJU consist of many food stall which provide you economy rice with affordable price (lee loke or moon fatt-shop name). of coz there is variety of noodle stall available which give you choices of wanton mee, fishball mee, curry mee, pan mee, yee mee lots lots more. others like "curry chee cheong fun" is very popular especially for breakfast. thumbup.gif

mamak stall is oso a hit in wangsa maju  brows.gif BRJ offer variety of dishes like roti canai, nasi kandar, nasi lemak even western food.

there is a stationery shop which the owner sometime will give you discount. i always buy test pad from that shop last time. in front of this shop, there is a board which most of the TARC student will check on which hse or room available for rent.  sweat.gif

there is plenty of optical shop and seriously many many many hair salon  rclxub.gif

miscellaneous shop ( 7-11, watson, guardian, living cabin, computer shop, photo shop and clinic)

extra information** for leisure purposes
1) Shopping mall JAYA JUSCO ALPHA ANGLE which contain varieties of brand like padini group, samuel and kelvin, watson, guardian, hush puppies.....

2) Hypermarket CARREFOUR which is situated a bit further in section 4 or 5 selling fresh vege, fruit...there is
    pos office there too

hopefully this will help

ok ya price for one room i guess is around rm300 better share with someone lor
Oh.. thx for the info, its help a lot, got Jusco,...then ma can do part time job oso? tongue.gif
Emm... try to find there ^-^ thx.

Zoeee
post Dec 19 2007, 03:30 PM

87 posts

Students must sit the exams in module order - Knowledge, Skills, Essentials then Options - but can attempt papers within a module in any order. However, as the syllabus has been developed to progress educationally in the order presented, ACCA recommends that papers within a module are taken in order.

Papers may be attempted from different modules at the same sitting as long as the modules are attempted in order eg a student can attempt at one exam session Papers F1-F3 (all of the Knowledge module) and any one paper from F4-F9 (Skills module).

FAQ from acca website.. ^-^
Zoeee
post Dec 20 2007, 12:04 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Dec 19 2007, 11:56 PM)
Tax u need lots of reading and application of coz in addition, practice..practice questions which same with all acca papers, just that tax u need to spend most of the time reading on the legislation and also the tax case law,the rational behind each of the case i.e similar to paper F4/2.2
if im not mistaken,few years back there is a question on 3.2 regarding the decision behind the case i.e Ketua pengarah Vs xxxx, so u need to justify why does the decision are taken also know the proper format way of calculating, so memorising the computation of each tax is essential,coz u have to follow the rule of calculating it,cannot use alternative or ur own way, which differs from P4 where calculation can be used in any way (except if they are to use i.e. Black Scholes model,CAPM) which u must derived to the correct answer. of coz both subject is cumbersome to learn, but depends on ur style, if u like bind by/follow rules...tax would be ideal or P4 if u are freestyle yet financial issues and deep understanding or each financing approach u should concern on, at the end of the day, regardless which paper u take in optional, the main point is that finish ACCA, the specialised thing can be worried later,which u will be taught or trained during work or experience based.. smile.gif
OO, i will pick P4 and P6 for my optional...even tho, i dont like tax.. blush.gif
Zoeee
post Dec 21 2007, 12:01 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(nobuta @ Dec 20 2007, 03:12 PM)
anyone attended Joe Fang's P2 class ? is his teaching style same as F7?
does he put more emphasis on standards and theory ?

Besides , does P1 similar to audit paper? is it studying with audit lecturer will be better ?
i will go for Joe Fang P2 & Parmindar P1... ya, oso wondering how the P1 paper itz better with audit lecturer? Coz.... i agreed philip woo good at understanding, but i cant go Sun 10-5pm class.. then Jackson, i only been to F8 IRC... okok...(he is audit lecturer) then parmindar(IT background) been to IRC for 2.1.. okok. Anyone taken Parmindar n Jackson P1, can comment on it? (teaching style)

Anyway, my combination for new sem:

P1-parmindar
P2-joe fang
P3-parmindar
P4-daniel ho

Zoeee
post Dec 21 2007, 01:40 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Dec 21 2007, 11:47 AM)
i'm also taking 4 papers.

P2- this sitting confirmed failed already. plan to self study or attend 2nd term
P3- parmindar FT
P4- chan tze kang PT
P5- chow kim tai PT

next sitting is the last sitting my parents to pay for my fees. after that no matter i pass or fail i will have to start working and survive on my own. that's why i must study kao kao start from January! rclxub.gif
@roy_pck, took ur P1 already? Then after this 4 paper gona to be completed lo? Gambateh

Haha, me too.... I start working on July... cry.gif so June 2008 take 4 paper, left P6 will take partime while working.. to survive..

Must study properly lo....

Emm...

P1-no choice lo..... Philip alw full fouse... F8 on sat, P1 on sun morg-eve... time x suit, i been his F8 class.... till now i still can sing his Internal control circle circle for purchase...( Hope my F8 will pass, pray hard hard laugh.gif )ya, he is good... so this sem, give parmindar a try.

By the way, wna ask, will the note OF PART 2 going to use for PART 3?

F6>>P6
F7>>P2
F8>>P1
F9>>P4

Packing ACCA notes into box, if next sem wna use hv to take out... ^-^
Zoeee
post Dec 21 2007, 07:22 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Dec 21 2007, 06:10 PM)
yeah i took F8, P1 and P2 in Dec 07 sitting. think should be able to pass F8 and P1. so 4 papers left lo. sekali gus gao dim it then come out work. old liao...family giving pressure le  sad.gif
Yalo...me too.. sweat.gif many pressure to survive on.. desperate to complete acca... flex.gif Gambateh for everyone lo~

Zoeee
post Dec 24 2007, 12:45 PM

87 posts

HI, wna ask on behalf of my fren, for part three, we can jump, not follow sequence, so can she just take P3 first for the coming sitting, and then take P1 for the next next sitting? Thx

0.0192sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:29 AM