Phenom x3 and x4 now in Malaysia, The new K10
X.E.D
Mar 16 2008, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(ikanayam @ Mar 16 2008, 10:42 AM) It is extremely unlikely for cache to cause hotspots unless there's a huge problem with the cache design. 1. TLB.  2. They're using L2 cells for L3, seems like pure cutting money on R&D and verification moolah. It might be that AMD's L2 never went above 1MB because of redundancy on K8, and they didn't discover that scaling it up would not be ideal. Oh, and getting L3/NB below 1.8Ghz is the key for current Phenom overclocking so it could be them. As for clocks, there's something in Barcelona that's being the clock/volt wall. I'm not sure it has to do with the cores themselves- not much more than K8 with some parts replaced, and still under 65 SOI... the most possible suspect might be the L3 and MC.
ikanayam
Mar 16 2008, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Mar 16 2008, 01:14 AM) 1. TLB.  2. They're using L2 cells for L3, seems like pure cutting money on R&D and verification moolah. It might be that AMD's L2 never went above 1MB because of redundancy on K8, and they didn't discover that scaling it up would not be ideal. Oh, and getting L3/NB below 1.8Ghz is the key for current Phenom overclocking so it could be them. As for clocks, there's something in Barcelona that's being the clock/volt wall. I'm not sure it has to do with the cores themselves- not much more than K8 with some parts replaced, and still under 65 SOI... the most possible suspect might be the L3 and MC. 1. There is no L3 TLB. And even if there was, that's a tiny part of the chip, and if they can't manage that then they sure as hell can't manage the L1 and L2 TLB heat density. 2. You don't cut money on such things. You just don't. The investment there is nothing compared to the cost of your fabs and the money you save on a smaller/denser chip. Also, you amortize huge fixed costs over a huge number of chips that you sell. That's the only reason we can afford to buy these things. edit: the reason why they did it is probably because making the cells smaller for the L3 would not have helped them due to their issues with low swing read cells. They are using single ended reads so they needed larger cells for that anyway. 3. The K10 core is basically a K8 core with an extra FPU stuck on the side with more front end bandwidth. So it will likely not have much/any clock headroom over the K8 given the same conditions. This post has been edited by ikanayam: Mar 16 2008, 03:01 PM
gtoforce
Mar 16 2008, 04:15 PM
will there be phenom-FX?
rainingzero
Mar 16 2008, 04:21 PM
wanna ask here, will there be a significant improvement if i'm changing my proc to phenom X4, with my current mobo?? coz the HTlink speed will be limited to 2000mhz instead of 3200/4000mhz... kinda lazy to change mobo, my pocket not allowed either.but kinda eager to try out quad core..  edit: most of times my pc will be running for autocad, graphics app, office works, solidworks and other engineering software applications. sometimes do gaming, but not too heavy...  using asus m2n-e... This post has been edited by rainingzero: Mar 16 2008, 04:26 PM
User_Xp
Mar 16 2008, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Mar 16 2008, 04:21 PM) wanna ask here, will there be a significant improvement if i'm changing my proc to phenom X4, with my current mobo?? coz the HTlink speed will be limited to 2000mhz instead of 3200/4000mhz... kinda lazy to change mobo, my pocket not allowed either.but kinda eager to try out quad core..  edit: most of times my pc will be running for autocad, graphics app, office works, solidworks and other engineering software applications. sometimes do gaming, but not too heavy...  using asus m2n-e... i dun think ur mobo can support phenom bro..better save ur money and get good AM2+ mobo.. now..B3 stepping is out there if u will...wait for B4 stepping...hear that this stepping really designed for OC... or just wait for AM3 socket
rainingzero
Mar 16 2008, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(User_Xp @ Mar 16 2008, 05:01 PM) i dun think ur mobo can support phenom bro..better save ur money and get good AM2+ mobo.. now..B3 stepping is out there if u will...wait for B4 stepping...hear that this stepping really designed for OC... or just wait for AM3 socket  i already do research and with updating my bios my mobo can support AM2+ proc... thats y i'm asking is there any significant improvement?? coz if not, better save my money to get those extreme proc by intel other than getting good AM2+ mobo...
akachester
Mar 17 2008, 07:08 AM
The Answer to the TLB problem found ? : AMD's B3 Stepping Phenom Previewed, TLB Hardware Fix TestedSource : http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3260&p=1
cyew86
Mar 23 2008, 02:14 PM
while Penryn price is increasing due to huge demand, Phenom price been decreasing, now 9500 selling only at RM599, can consider this instead of Athlon X2 6000+
xen0
Mar 23 2008, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 17 2008, 07:08 AM) The Answer to the TLB problem found ? : AMD's B3 Stepping Phenom Previewed, TLB Hardware Fix TestedSource : http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3260&p=1looks like it performs well
cyew86
Mar 24 2008, 11:08 PM
maybe 3.0GHz phenom will be available by the time Intel launches their Nehalem
serve
Mar 25 2008, 12:36 AM

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Mar 24 2008, 11:08 PM) maybe 3.0GHz phenom will be available by the time Intel launches their Nehalem  but by then maybe its to late as Intel will push their clock higher than 3Ghz...its a disappointment to see AMD turn out like this
AMDAthlon
Mar 25 2008, 02:06 AM
No = =.Its not so late.From what i HEARD its around May.Correct me if i am wrong.I found it somewhere in softpedia.
serve
Mar 25 2008, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Mar 25 2008, 02:06 AM) No = =.Its not so late.From what i HEARD its around May.Correct me if i am wrong.I found it somewhere in softpedia. U mean the B3 or 3.0Ghz phenom?if its 3.0Ghz..then its a good news from amd to us wondering what the price might be?
cyew86
Mar 25 2008, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(serve @ Mar 25 2008, 06:50 PM) U mean the B3 or 3.0Ghz phenom?if its 3.0Ghz..then its a good news from amd to us wondering what the price might be?  i doubt it's 3.0GHz, most probably just B3 now 9500 selling at rm599, take a guess it will take awhile before phenom's price be as cheap as athlon x2 in the mean time, penryn seems more worth it
KiNd3rbU3no
Mar 26 2008, 02:48 AM

i heard from my frends,they say now d phenom not very stable? i going to build my new CPU,i wanna try phenom 9600~ any feedback for me?
xen0
Mar 26 2008, 03:33 AM
QUOTE(KiNd3rbU3no @ Mar 26 2008, 02:48 AM) i heard from my frends,they say now d phenom not very stable? i going to build my new CPU,i wanna try phenom 9600~ any feedback for me? who are your friends? microchip engineers ? lol..  phenom is ok la dude..just a lil bit behind Core2 in term of performance.. it is a good budget for a quad core proc.. btw, wait for B3 stepping phenom..
En.Vader
Mar 26 2008, 12:05 PM

QUOTE(KiNd3rbU3no @ Mar 26 2008, 02:48 AM) i heard from my frends,they say now d phenom not very stable? i going to build my new CPU,i wanna try phenom 9600~ any feedback for me? I think in term of stability after oc yes, because of the defective core issues. Not many phenom user able to oc it more than 100mhz. Herm, I doubt B3 will be any differ.
AMDAthlon
Mar 26 2008, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(serve @ Mar 25 2008, 06:50 PM) U mean the B3 or 3.0Ghz phenom?if its 3.0Ghz..then its a good news from amd to us wondering what the price might be?  Definitely the B3 and 3.0Ghz Phenom Price maybe will be equal to Q6600?
KiNd3rbU3no
Mar 26 2008, 03:16 PM

Next month,got new proc cuming out is it?