126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

thewayiam
post Aug 1 2008, 02:50 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 1 2008, 03:26 AM)
My PS3 is SG set, so its region 3. My FFVII and FFIX is also region 3(or rather NTSC-J), Jap version. Got it extremely long time ago.
oh u mean the jap versions actually play in english language as well?
coz playasia is actually selling both jap n us ones, im hoping it has english language T-T
SSJBen
post Aug 1 2008, 03:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Aug 1 2008, 02:50 PM)
oh u mean the jap versions actually play in english language as well?
coz playasia is actually selling both jap n us ones, im hoping it has english language T-T
Nope. Jap version of course plays in Jap language only(I don't think there was many PS1 games which has dual-language back then). I can read Jap.... tongue.gif
thewayiam
post Aug 1 2008, 06:07 PM

50 posts

..wow. damn untung la for u. lol. i cant play final fantasy on my ps3 sad.gif
thanks anyway man haih haih~
aiyish
post Aug 3 2008, 12:19 AM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

i guess kene revert back to old PSX to play my beloved FF series...huhu..
TENAXIS
post Aug 3 2008, 01:54 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Aug 1 2008, 03:27 AM)
NTSC-J only
soo korea is R2?? just wanting to make sure here...
vorchiel
post Aug 3 2008, 01:56 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(TENAXIS @ Aug 3 2008, 01:54 AM)
soo korea is R2?? just wanting to make sure here...
PS1 PS2 game only use NTSC-J NTSC-U/S PAL

1 2 3 4 5 is for DVD
BD-Movies use A B C
BD games also uses 1 2 3 4 5 for region identification purposes alhough no restriction is enforced for playing.

Korea is R3 I think

This post has been edited by vorchiel: Aug 3 2008, 01:58 AM
techgirl
post Aug 4 2008, 08:24 AM

91 posts

Hi All,

I'm using an old school Altec Lansing ACS45 (PC speakers with subwoofer) with 22" Samsung 226BW LCD monitor.

I'm need to get the following items (pls refer to the attached screen capture for items #2 & #3):

1. HDMI to DVI cable
2. Y splitter RCA cable - highlighted in blue box
3. Connector - highlighted in red box

Can any1 tell me where can I get these from Sunway Pyramid IT centre for a reasonable price?

This post has been edited by techgirl: Aug 4 2008, 08:27 AM

Borneo928
post Aug 4 2008, 11:49 AM

417 posts

greetings to all pros,

i just bought a 5.1 PC speakers which have the green, black, and orange cable output. now the thing is i'm using a Benq g2400w which only has the green input. which does not give out 5.1 surround sound.

so i was just wondering is there any way to connect my ps3 to my speakers to make it play real 5.1 sounds?
komputer
post Aug 4 2008, 01:20 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Aug 4 2008, 11:49 AM)
greetings to all pros,

i just bought a 5.1 PC speakers which have the green, black, and orange cable output. now the thing is i'm using a Benq g2400w which only has the green input. which does not give out 5.1 surround sound.

so i was just wondering is there any way to connect my ps3 to my speakers to make it play real 5.1 sounds?
You need a 5.1 decoder to get 5.1 sound.............................. Min rm 1k i think for a nice decoder...
SSJBen
post Aug 4 2008, 01:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(techgirl @ Aug 4 2008, 08:24 AM)
Hi All,

I'm using an old school Altec Lansing ACS45 (PC speakers with subwoofer) with 22" Samsung 226BW LCD monitor.

I'm need to get the following items (pls refer to the attached screen capture for items #2 & #3):

1. HDMI to DVI cable
2. Y splitter RCA cable - highlighted in blue box
3. Connector - highlighted in red box

Can any1 tell me where can I get these from Sunway Pyramid IT centre for a reasonable price?
I'm not sure which shop you can get it in Sunway Pyramid, don't go there too often. But prices are:

1. HDMI-DVI cable, around RM30-40 at most(given the fact this is Sunway) for a 3ft cable. Any more than that, forget it. Come to LYP and buy.
2. Y splitter-RCA cable - less than RM20 usually.
3. Y connector - less than RM20 again usually.

QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Aug 4 2008, 11:49 AM)
greetings to all pros,

The G2400W is audio output only through the HDMI connection.

There is a way is to get 5.1, however you'll need to check at the back of your PC's I/O(or if you have a soundcard with optical input, all the more better). If it has optical in, you can purchase an optical cable and connect your PS3 to your PC directly using the optical input. Configure in Windows to use 5.1 speaker setup like normal, then configure 5.1 surround as well under the PS3 Audio Settings.

So when ever you play your PS3, the sound will come directly from your PC. The downside of course, is that your PC needs to be turned on when ever you play your PS3.
Borneo928
post Aug 4 2008, 01:47 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 4 2008, 01:30 PM)
There is a way is to get 5.1, however you'll need to check at the back of your PC's I/O(or if you have a soundcard with optical input, all the more better). If it has optical in, you can purchase an optical cable and connect your PS3 to your PC directly using the optical input. Configure in Windows to use 5.1 speaker setup like normal, then configure 5.1 surround as well under the PS3 Audio Settings.

So when ever you play your PS3, the sound will come directly from your PC. The downside of course, is that your PC needs to be turned on when ever you play your PS3.
thanks for the reply SSJBen....is there another way rather then connecting through the PC? any device? maybe a converter from an optical cable that has the 3 colors input? (if there is such a thing lah hmm.gif )

my PC has sound card but no optical cable input, just those bunch of input colors, so are my speakers(no optical cable). how do u connect ps3 sound to the sound card and to the speakers? (Ps3> Sound card > Speakers) rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
aiyish
post Aug 5 2008, 01:51 AM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

need help here, if i purchase the Belkin G wireless router, is it compatible with my ps3 and Maxis BB??
oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 11:20 AM

Dear PS3 Sifus,

Need a bit of help here, i have an external USB notebook harddisk which is formatted with swissknife 40 GB FAT32.

I plug it to the PS3, it can detect the USB device, but why it cannot detect the content ?

I put in some MP3 songs and also some images into the harddisk, but the PS3 cannot detect the content ?

Did i do anything which is incorrect here ?

Thanks for your kind advise.
shindenv
post Aug 6 2008, 11:38 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Aug 5 2008, 01:51 AM)
need help here, if i purchase the Belkin G wireless router, is it compatible with my ps3 and Maxis BB??
I'm using Belkin wireless G router, working like a charm so far but i'm using streamyx and not Maxis cool2.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 6 2008, 12:04 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Aug 4 2008, 01:47 PM)
thanks for the reply SSJBen....is there another way rather then connecting through the PC? any device? maybe a converter from an optical cable that has the 3 colors input? (if there is such a thing lah hmm.gif )

my PC has sound card but no optical cable input, just those bunch of input colors, so are my speakers(no optical cable). how do u connect ps3 sound to the sound card and to the speakers? (Ps3> Sound card > Speakers)  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
No such converter for an optical-audio inline. If you want 5.1 surrond, the only way is through optical.

For me, I am using 2.1 speaker setup only. My PS3 is connected directly to my PC audio-in(Blue).

QUOTE(aiyish @ Aug 5 2008, 01:51 AM)
Am using Belkin Wireles 54G modem router, no problems at all. Superb modem, the best I've used.

As for Maxis BB..... forget it. Even if you can *somehow* manage to connect with the sh*tty connection, be prepared to be DCed like no tomorow. Which also means, forget about playing online.

QUOTE(oni-kun @ Aug 6 2008, 11:20 AM)
Dear PS3 Sifus,

Need a bit of help here, i have an external USB notebook harddisk which is formatted with swissknife 40 GB FAT32.

I plug it to the PS3, it can detect the USB device, but why it cannot detect the content ?

I put in some MP3 songs and also some images into the harddisk, but the PS3 cannot detect the content ?

Did i do anything which is incorrect here ?

Thanks for your kind advise.
You need to create the correct folders in your HDD like this:

PS3 > MUSIC > [Your MP3 file]

You can also *force* your PS3 to view all the contents on your HDD. However, it will also reveal the binary codes, the hidden files and whatnot on your external HDD as well. May be confusing if you don't know what those files are for.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 6 2008, 12:05 PM
aiyish
post Aug 6 2008, 12:05 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(shindenv @ Aug 6 2008, 11:38 AM)
I'm using Belkin wireless G router, working like a charm so far but i'm using streamyx and not Maxis  cool2.gif
thnx man biggrin.gif
oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 01:51 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 6 2008, 12:04 PM)
No such converter for an optical-audio inline. If you want 5.1 surrond, the only way is through optical.

For me, I am using 2.1 speaker setup only. My PS3 is connected directly to my PC audio-in(Blue).
Am using Belkin Wireles 54G modem router, no problems at all. Superb modem, the best I've used.

As for Maxis BB..... forget it. Even if you can *somehow* manage to connect with the sh*tty connection, be prepared to be DCed like no tomorow. Which also means, forget about playing online.
You need to create the correct folders in your HDD like this:

PS3 > MUSIC > [Your MP3 file]

You can also *force* your PS3 to view all the contents on your HDD. However, it will also reveal the binary codes, the hidden files and whatnot on your external HDD as well. May be confusing if you don't know what those files are for.
Hi SSJBen,

Thank you very much for your information, but how about video file and picture file ? What is the name of the folder that i have to create ? Is it like below :

PS3/MUSIC
PS3/VIDEO
PS3/IMAGE

Kindly advise and really really thanks for your quick response !
SSJBen
post Aug 6 2008, 02:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(oni-kun @ Aug 6 2008, 01:51 PM)
Hi SSJBen,

Thank you very much for your information, but how about video file and picture file ? What is the name of the folder that i have to create ? Is it like below :

PS3/MUSIC
PS3/VIDEO
PS3/IMAGE

Kindly advise and really really thanks for your quick response !
Here is the list(all folders in CAPS):

Music = PS3 > MUSIC
Video = PS3 > VIDEO
Images = PS3 > PHOTO/PICTURE
Themes = PS3 > THEME
Update = PS3 > UPDATE

Again, you can simply just display all the content on your HDD through the Photos/Video/Music menu by selecting Display All.
oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 6 2008, 02:10 PM)
Here is the list(all folders in CAPS):

Music = PS3 > MUSIC
Video = PS3 > VIDEO
Images = PS3 > PHOTO/PICTURE
Themes = PS3 > THEME
Update = PS3 > UPDATE

Again, you can simply just display all the content on your HDD through the Photos/Video/Music menu by selecting Display All.
Thank you thank you very very much for the information SSJBen, really appreciate it for your help, i just got my PS3 2 days ago tongue.gif Thanks again !
SSJBen
post Aug 6 2008, 03:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Cool, whats your PSN ID?

Hopefully you play MGO though laugh.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 6 2008, 03:19 PM

126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled