Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 11:20 AM

Dear PS3 Sifus,

Need a bit of help here, i have an external USB notebook harddisk which is formatted with swissknife 40 GB FAT32.

I plug it to the PS3, it can detect the USB device, but why it cannot detect the content ?

I put in some MP3 songs and also some images into the harddisk, but the PS3 cannot detect the content ?

Did i do anything which is incorrect here ?

Thanks for your kind advise.
oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 01:51 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 6 2008, 12:04 PM)
No such converter for an optical-audio inline. If you want 5.1 surrond, the only way is through optical.

For me, I am using 2.1 speaker setup only. My PS3 is connected directly to my PC audio-in(Blue).
Am using Belkin Wireles 54G modem router, no problems at all. Superb modem, the best I've used.

As for Maxis BB..... forget it. Even if you can *somehow* manage to connect with the sh*tty connection, be prepared to be DCed like no tomorow. Which also means, forget about playing online.
You need to create the correct folders in your HDD like this:

PS3 > MUSIC > [Your MP3 file]

You can also *force* your PS3 to view all the contents on your HDD. However, it will also reveal the binary codes, the hidden files and whatnot on your external HDD as well. May be confusing if you don't know what those files are for.
Hi SSJBen,

Thank you very much for your information, but how about video file and picture file ? What is the name of the folder that i have to create ? Is it like below :

PS3/MUSIC
PS3/VIDEO
PS3/IMAGE

Kindly advise and really really thanks for your quick response !
oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 6 2008, 02:10 PM)
Here is the list(all folders in CAPS):

Music = PS3 > MUSIC
Video = PS3 > VIDEO
Images = PS3 > PHOTO/PICTURE
Themes = PS3 > THEME
Update = PS3 > UPDATE

Again, you can simply just display all the content on your HDD through the Photos/Video/Music menu by selecting Display All.
Thank you thank you very very much for the information SSJBen, really appreciate it for your help, i just got my PS3 2 days ago tongue.gif Thanks again !
oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 6 2008, 03:18 PM)
Cool, whats your PSN ID?

Hopefully you play MGO though laugh.gif
Err, i haven't get a router yet, so i haven't go online. But i created my ID already, is Onibokuro kekekke. i kinda noob as i have left the console world since Sega megadrive hahahahhaa i know u must be laughing like mad tongue.gif

anyways i bought the ps3 with the first reason to play GT5P hahahhaa and 2nd reason is to watch blue rays.

so i am like kinda lost with the games available now, btw i got the MGS4 for free, but i haven't install it yet to try.

u say MGO is what game ? hahahhhaa
oni-kun
post Aug 6 2008, 05:58 PM

QUOTE(Scavengers @ Aug 6 2008, 05:35 PM)
10% is reserved by the ps3 if i'm not mistaken, i read it in the faq
anybody can re-confirm this
cheers
Yeap around there, i just changed the harddisk to 160GB, after that i havent install anything there write only left 135GB or something like that
oni-kun
post Aug 14 2008, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(cynicks @ Aug 14 2008, 12:20 AM)
1 question , I might missed the post. When I copied an .avi file to my thumbdrive, it doesn't detect the file.

How do I play avi files ?
In your thumbdrive you need to have folders. If you put ur video file in the root, the PS3 will not be able to detect.

You need to create a folder in your thumbrive like below, all in capital letters :

X:\VIDEO

You should check the first page of this post, it will answer your questions later if your video cannot watch.

This i learn from bro SSJBEN hehehehhee, correct me if i am wrong.

0.0363sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:42 AM