127 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

missgeek
post Nov 28 2007, 04:18 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 28 2007, 02:14 PM)
Uh did you misunderstood something? The normal network we use is GSM (voice calls, sms, GPRS, I think EDGE as well) so that's why I said switch to GSM only rather than dual mode (means GSM and UMTS). I think if you switch to UMTS (3G) only, you cannot receive normal call/sms but only 3G calls which is the video call as well as MMS. If you use MMS then no choice have to be dual mode all the time lo.

I'm doing another charge of my battery and see if GSM only can last how long. laugh.gif
Hmmm.... well, when ppl said the phone is a 3G phone, that means it can operate on dual mode, GSM and UMTS. Even if you set your phone to use GSM, it can still use your 3G wap services. BUT, if you only set your phone to UMTS, when you go outside of town, where there is no 3G available, very high likely that you will not get any reception because those area without 3G coverage is operating via GSM network. So, the best is either set it to only GSM or dual, because when it is dual, when ur in 3G coverage, the speed of your internet connection is really fast, while when you use GSM, the max it will go is only EDGE speed.

You can still receive call when u are on UMTS, only and if only the area where you are when u make the call has 3G coverage. UMTS is also sometimes referred to 3GSM. To know about UMTS, here the article I found:

UMTS stands for Universal Mobile Telecommunications System. UMTS is one of the emerging mobile phone technologies known as third-generation, or 3G. Third-generation systems are designed to include such traditional phone tasks as calls, voice mail, and paging, but also new technology tasks such as Internet access, video, and SMS, or text messaging.

One of the main benefits of UMTS is its speed. Current rates of transfer for broadband information are 2 Mbits a second. This speed makes possible the kind of streaming video that can support movie downloads and video conferencing. In a sense, UMTS makes it possible for you to enjoy all of the functionality of your home computer while you are roaming. By combining wireless and satellite cellular technologies, UMTS takes advantage of all existing options to result in the Holy Grail of 3G presentation: seamless transitions between WiFi and satellite.

UMTS went live as a network for the first time in Japan in 2001. Austria had its own network two years later. A handful of other European countries joined the UMTS bandwagon in the next two years, with South Africa and a few other African countries soon following suit. The U.S. has employed UMTS networks in several large cities, and the number is steadily growing.

UMTS is based on the Global System for Mobile (GSM) standard, which is the gold standard in Europe and more than 120 countries worldwide. In fact, UMTS is sometimes referred to as 3GSM. The two systems are not compatible, however. UMTS is incompatible with GSM. Some phones are dual GSM/UMTS phones, but unless that exciting new mobile phone or handset that you can't wait to get your hands on has that kind of duality built in, you will only be able to utilize one mode, the one that came with the device.

As UMTS gains in credibility and functionality, experts believe it will overtake GSM as the industry standard. UMTS is already able to operate at a higher frequency than GSM.

Added on November 28, 2007, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Nov 28 2007, 12:40 PM)
@missgeek
can u change the msn msger download to rapidshare?
coz i keep facing problem of using megaupload
Hi guys,
The upload in my signature is not mine, I just googled it on the net smile.gif
That means the link is broken... If I have a new one I will put it in my signature then!

This post has been edited by missgeek: Nov 28 2007, 04:22 PM
D-Zire
post Nov 28 2007, 04:24 PM

560 posts

i think UMTS covers GSM...which means if u activate UMTS, GSM will be activated as well...so if u use GSM only then 3G is not enabled...
missgeek
post Nov 28 2007, 04:27 PM

318 posts

OK! The Windows Live Messenger in my signature is on rapidshare smile.gif

Added on November 28, 2007, 4:34 pm
QUOTE(D-Zire @ Nov 28 2007, 04:24 PM)
i think UMTS covers GSM...which means if u activate UMTS, GSM will be activated as well...so if u use GSM only then 3G is not enabled...
Correcto mundo! But I tried setting it to only UMTS, when I went back to my hometown where there is no 3G network, my quality of reception is worse than when I set to dual mode or only GSM. smile.gif So, I still say just put your phone in dual mode, because if u put only GSM, it will suck if when you want to surf the internet (max is Edge).

So mine I put in dual mode setting and I set my packet data connection (3G) to when available.

This post has been edited by missgeek: Nov 28 2007, 04:34 PM
pigcat
post Nov 28 2007, 04:57 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Nov 28 2007, 04:27 PM)
Correcto mundo! But I tried setting it to only UMTS, when I went back to my hometown where there is no 3G network, my quality of reception is worse than when I set to dual mode or only GSM. smile.gif So, I still say just put your phone in dual mode, because if u put only GSM, it will suck if when you want to surf the internet (max is Edge).

So mine I put in dual mode setting and I set my packet data connection (3G) to when available.

Hmm I think UMTS also handle normal voice calls and SMS (perhaps everything that GSM offered). However, there must be a reason for the Dual Mode option exist. I think calls made with GSM only phones cannot be received by a UMTS only phone? I don't think the network can be translated since as your quoted info stated both network are not compatible with each other. I could be wrong, though... hmm.gif

ericchan
post Nov 28 2007, 05:08 PM

488 posts

help i lost my dictionary how to install back?
pigcat
post Nov 28 2007, 05:14 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ericchan @ Nov 28 2007, 05:08 PM)
help i lost my dictionary how to install back?

After update firmware right? tongue.gif

Wait for the next firmware lo...I think anyone installed the latest firmware also tio dictionary lost...Stupid Nokia... doh.gif

Mr.Lonely
post Nov 28 2007, 05:40 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

lol , lucky i no update firmware... xD coz i get tis new few page back so i decide to stick with current firmware first

btw TQ missgeek for uploading to new site cheers.gif

can any1 recommand some useful software for N95 8GB? example , rotateme etc icon_rolleyes.gif
missgeek
post Nov 28 2007, 05:55 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 28 2007, 04:57 PM)
Hmm I think UMTS also handle normal voice calls and SMS (perhaps everything that GSM offered). However, there must be a reason for the Dual Mode option exist. I think calls made with GSM only phones cannot be received by a UMTS only phone? I don't think the network can be translated since as your quoted info stated both network are not compatible with each other. I could be wrong, though... hmm.gif
Yup, UMTS can handle the same thing like GSM, just for internet/packet data it is with higher speed smile.gif GSM only phone can't handle 3G/3.5G, which means no video call as the speed doesnt allow video conferencing. The reason for dual mode is of course if you want to use VOIP function of your phone (like Sykpe and the likes of it), which is obviously will use internet connection, the faster the connection, the better the call quality. smile.gif

But I always set it to dual mode because I am using 3G esp in KL I always get the 3.5G speed. Not to say if I use GSM mode I can't go online, it's just really painstakingly slow and in the area where UMTS is not available, your phone reception will suck too. I found out about this when I went back to my hometown. At first I thot my phone got something wrong with the reception because my old phone were working fine. Turned out it's because of my settings, hehe.
pigcat
post Nov 28 2007, 06:07 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Nov 28 2007, 05:55 PM)
Yup, UMTS can handle the same thing like GSM, just for internet/packet data it is with higher speed smile.gif GSM only phone can't handle 3G/3.5G, which means no video call as the speed doesnt allow video conferencing. The reason for dual mode is of course if you want to use VOIP function of your phone (like Sykpe and the likes of it), which is obviously will use internet connection, the faster the connection, the better the call quality. smile.gif

But I always set it to dual mode because I am using 3G esp in KL I always get the 3.5G speed. Not to say if I use GSM mode I can't go online, it's just really painstakingly slow and in the area where UMTS is not available, your phone reception will suck too. I found out about this when I went back to my hometown. At first I thot my phone got something wrong with the reception because my old phone were working fine. Turned out it's because of my settings, hehe.

Ah ok! Great info! thumbup.gif

aruja_69
post Nov 28 2007, 06:21 PM

3,786 posts

Got back my N95 8GB from Nokia Care today morning and they change the brand new one bcos they can't repair mine and now need install again all my msg and contacts.....sick lor....
TSAsh
post Nov 28 2007, 06:27 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

What problem did you have with your phone?
8legfreak
post Nov 28 2007, 06:32 PM

Validating
163 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 28 2007, 01:38 PM)
Mostly related to firmware, just go flash the firmware lo RM30 is really worth it. Mine also AP and go flashed, it's working very well. Oh yeah guys if you want to check if your AP set is original Nokia phone with correct IMEI, try register at My Nokia, it should identify yours is a N95 8GB with just IMEI numbers.
shitt... now mine got prob, after installed can't open, where shall i got it fix rite now bro? mine inside got indonesia, phillipine and english? most probably indonesian set rite?
is it bricked?? sad.gif

This post has been edited by 8legfreak: Nov 28 2007, 06:33 PM
aruja_69
post Nov 28 2007, 06:36 PM

3,786 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Nov 28 2007, 06:27 PM)
What problem did you have with your phone?
Screen went blank lor.....
xpresside
post Nov 28 2007, 06:43 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 28 2007, 04:57 PM)
where did u get this info rclxub.gif
missgeek
post Nov 28 2007, 06:48 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 28 2007, 01:38 PM)
Mostly related to firmware, just go flash the firmware lo RM30 is really worth it. Mine also AP and go flashed, it's working very well. Oh yeah guys if you want to check if your AP set is original Nokia phone with correct IMEI, try register at My Nokia, it should identify yours is a N95 8GB with just IMEI numbers.
Hehehe, already registered with no problems smile.gif My AP set is original Nokia phone with correct IMEI, teheehee.

Added on November 28, 2007, 6:53 pm
QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 28 2007, 06:43 PM)
where did u get this info  rclxub.gif
From my post, I got it by googling what is UMTS. Also based on my experience. smile.gif These 2 network is incompatible with each other in a sense that you need 2 different phones to use these two protocol but some phones have dual mode like our Nokia N95 8GB. In lament term, UMTS phones are what we call 3G phone. nod.gif
So, if you have only GSM phone, you can't use 3G service, you have to have 3G enable phones, that is usually a dual mode phone.

This post has been edited by missgeek: Nov 28 2007, 06:53 PM
minde
post Nov 28 2007, 07:07 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

hey , how come my AP N95 got the word TIM at the back?
Mr.Lonely
post Nov 28 2007, 07:33 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

Tim is 1 telecomunication company of 1 country , try search google u will get it xD.... just like vodafon cheers.gif

Added on November 28, 2007, 7:34 pmany1 know where to download rotateme 2.0 ?

This post has been edited by Mr.Lonely: Nov 28 2007, 07:34 PM
pigcat
post Nov 28 2007, 07:44 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 28 2007, 06:43 PM)
where did u get this info  rclxub.gif

I was just guessing only... tongue.gif

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 28 2007, 07:07 PM)
hey  , how come my AP N95 got the word TIM at the back?

Upon googling it seems like a Italian telco...

minde
post Nov 28 2007, 08:08 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

Add me minde ... Rm200 .... TIM AP SET BBS?
pigcat
post Nov 28 2007, 08:29 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 28 2007, 08:08 PM)
Add me minde ... Rm200 .... TIM AP SET BBS?
RM...200??? Water set also not so cheap leh... shocking.gif

Added on November 28, 2007, 8:35 pmOh nevermind, I read your story at the regular N95 thread...That's sad... sad.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Nov 28 2007, 08:35 PM

127 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:43 AM