8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

So I fell for a scam...not an investment scam., (final update)

fusionlance
post Aug 29 2025, 02:30 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Aug 27 2025, 11:04 PM)
Money lose and earn over time is fine, for me it's not the money. It's the damn credit card companies wanting to you settle the outstanding asap. That's the headache for me.
For credit card issue, you can try approach AKPK. They will mediate with the bank on your behalf and get rates/ period that bank will never give to individual.
Work out a payment plan with them that won't burden you, the repayment period might be long but you will be able to manage month by month.
You won't be able to use any CC for a period though so keep that in mind.

On the flip side, think of this experience as a RM 20K+ tuition. You definitely won't make the same mistake again.
If it helps, be grateful it is "just" RM 20K+, not RM 200K life savings like some retiree kene. Best of luck to you.
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 29 2025, 02:58 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(fusionlance @ Aug 29 2025, 02:30 PM)
For credit card issue, you can try approach AKPK. They will mediate with the bank on your behalf and get rates/ period that bank will never give to individual.
Work out a payment plan with them that won't burden you, the repayment period might be long but you will be able to manage month by month.

On the flip side, think of this experience as a RM 20K+ tuition. You definitely won't make the same mistake again.
If it helps, be grateful it is "just" RM 20K+, not RM 200K life savings like some retiree kene. Best of luck to you.
Thank you for the advice, I will try to drop akpk a call later.
Takudan
post Aug 30 2025, 01:49 AM

1,056 posts

Hi TS, sorry to hear your loss. Mistakes were made and you're owning it, so credit where it is due, you have my respect. It's not easy at all to come forward to the public to share your situation, as you already experienced first-hand: many are quick to get on their high horse.

I see you're doing quite ok handling the "higher-ups" so keep it up, no pun intended biggrin.gif

My personal story: I was a victim to a family who got scammed by a "friend" till bankruptcy (I had to help, which meant shouldering some debt). Compared to your story, I'd say you're doing very well on:
1) your intentions - you were desperate to protect your family where you thought they were possibly in danger. You weren't greedy.
2) your accountability - you're not afraid to admit your mistake despite knowing you'd get laughed by the public. It's okay to hide from your partner for now: not all truths need to be told immediately; there's a time and place for certain truths. That said, hiding this from your partner means you must be able to handle it without affecting your family at all. They must know if you would end up troubling them in any way.

--
To those confident and smart people: good luck in your life and may your judgement never be clouded.

This post has been edited by Takudan: Aug 30 2025, 01:50 AM
pej425
post Aug 30 2025, 06:10 AM

88 posts

Sad to say this but almost zero chances. Enforcement here is very lax unless Ur someone of influence . The police will always say they will update U untill U just give up asking and the banks will keep pushing the ball to police thats why scammers are so widespread here
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 30 2025, 07:20 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(pej425 @ Aug 30 2025, 06:10 AM)
Sad to say this but almost zero chances. Enforcement here is very lax unless Ur someone of influence . The police will always say they will update U untill U just give up asking and the banks will keep pushing the ball to police thats why scammers are so widespread here
Yeah, the police are very unhelpful. I don't want to discount the banks just yet, but they all want me to restructure my payment just so that I can pay them so yeah....
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 30 2025, 07:21 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Aug 30 2025, 01:49 AM)
Hi TS, sorry to hear your loss. Mistakes were made and you're owning it, so credit where it is due, you have my respect. It's not easy at all to come forward to the public to share your situation, as you already experienced first-hand: many are quick to get on their high horse.

I see you're doing quite ok handling the "higher-ups" so keep it up, no pun intended biggrin.gif

My personal story: I was a victim to a family who got scammed by a "friend" till bankruptcy (I had to help, which meant shouldering some debt). Compared to your story, I'd say you're doing very well on:
1) your intentions - you were desperate to protect your family where you thought they were possibly in danger. You weren't greedy.
2) your accountability - you're not afraid to admit your mistake despite knowing you'd get laughed by the public. It's okay to hide from your partner for now: not all truths need to be told immediately; there's a time and place for certain truths. That said, hiding this from your partner means you must be able to handle it without affecting your family at all. They must know if you would end up troubling them in any way.

--
To those confident and smart people: good luck in your life and may your judgement never be clouded.
I'm already troubled enough as is without this damn scam, so they didn't notice a thing. Still upsetting though.

Thanks a lot man.

This post has been edited by TsubakiKira: Aug 30 2025, 07:22 AM
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 30 2025, 07:34 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 29 2025, 10:59 AM)
ALso, just wanna put this here.

If you're young, starting your career etc... 20k might seem the world to you and losing that will hurt alot. Totally understand and I have been there.

But, give it time, by the time you're an old fag like me, you will look back to that amount of moneyand smile thinking it was a good lesson and not worry about it much.
I work only as front desk, apa career haha. Bodoh bangang, can't move myself up the career ladder because of old world mentalities around. Filthy rich but won't even spare advance pay.
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 30 2025, 07:37 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(fusionlance @ Aug 29 2025, 02:30 PM)

Not even one cc? I'm asking as I have one main CC that I use on a daily basis. That card was largely unaffected and we plan to put on restructuring anyway as there were large expenses on that card
cms
post Aug 30 2025, 08:08 AM

758 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 28 2025, 02:25 PM)
but she transfer money to mule account

why need to do all those pawning to raise cash for ?

just say no money lah...

polis so good in money collection meh? if like this, I got debt issue, ask them help to chase..where got polis so good one
In a calm, ideal mind yes of course its not logical.

But there will be certain momentary lapse of judgement, certain trigger points that makes the best of us make wrong decisions, use of certain words and tone that skipped our suspicion and logical decision making.

So the best we can do is to keep reminding ourself and our loved ones about all these scams at least weekly basis. To reinforce and keep a clear logical mind.
hoonanoo
post Aug 30 2025, 08:14 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Aug 30 2025, 08:08 AM)
In a calm, ideal mind yes of course its not logical.

But there will be certain momentary lapse of judgement, certain trigger points that makes the best of us make wrong decisions, use of certain words and tone that skipped our suspicion and logical decision making.

So the best we can do is to keep reminding ourself and our loved ones about all these scams at least weekly basis. To reinforce and keep a clear logical mind.
Yes, the one thing we should know how to do is to walk out of a deal when we sense something not right

for eg, when we sense internal control or lapse in SOP.

But it would really help if we have solid Anti laws on Scams as well as Banks make quick decisions to freeze transactions.

I find our banks lacking in this area, in comparison to Singapore banks. I read so many news that Spore banks managed to stop potential scams from happening.

As for our laws, its disappointing to see opposition everyday talk about RnR issues, but issues that cover all races are not debated at all. For eg, laws that persecute more scam artists and prevent it from happening. But there are some MPs that talk about having a language addition to the IC card or another MP quick to criticize another MP for wearing a round neck in parliament. So a lot of time is wasted, little push for Madani to make more pertinent laws to make the nation great.
cms
post Aug 30 2025, 08:21 AM

758 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 30 2025, 08:14 AM)
Yes, the one thing we should know how to do is to walk out of a deal when we sense something not right

for eg, when we sense internal control or lapse in SOP.

But it would really help if we have solid Anti laws on Scams as well as Banks make quick decisions to freeze transactions.

I find our banks lacking in this area, in comparison to Singapore banks. I read so many news that Spore banks managed to stop potential scams from happening.

As for our laws, its disappointing to see opposition everyday talk about RnR issues, but issues that cover all races are not debated at all. For eg, laws that persecute more scam artists and prevent it from happening. But there are some MPs that talk about having a language addition to the IC card or another MP quick to criticize another MP for wearing a round neck in parliament. So a lot of time is wasted, little push for Madani to make more pertinent laws to make the nation great.
Yes agree, another way is to always consult more ppl around us for opinion even /k. instead of acting alone and being isolated by these scammers. No harm to consult, consult consult.

Agree on the Banks part. Try these banks wanna recall their money paid by their error and see. Find u, lock your account, etc etc. But when comes to scam, kenot help lah, dunno lah. BNM needs to enforce some liability to these banks.

hoonanoo
post Aug 30 2025, 08:42 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Aug 30 2025, 08:21 AM)
Yes agree, another way is to always consult more ppl around us for opinion even /k. instead of acting alone and being isolated by these scammers. No harm to consult, consult consult.

Agree on the Banks part. Try these banks wanna recall their money paid by their error and see. Find u, lock your account, etc etc. But when comes to scam, kenot help lah, dunno lah. BNM needs to enforce some liability to these banks.
A lot of people who kena scam are usually older people with lots of retirement savings.

some of them are not married, single. By the time you reach 60yo and over, you don't really have much friends.

then there are some who are younger, tend to make decisions without consulting, maybe its due to pride. For eg, I have a colleague who took early retirement in 40s, he told us that he had big investment plans, he is making a lot of money, no need to work anymore. He even claim to want to teach us how to make more money on stocks, crypto and forex, passive income - no need to work anymore. Mana tau, he lost all his money in scam investments then landed up in govt hospital after kena stress stroke due to loss of money.
staind
post Aug 30 2025, 11:21 AM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

I sometimes pickup all these random call. Then put the phone aside and do my usual stuff including talking, walking, watching movie. The caller will hello, hello, , hello, sometimes I get a few knnccb but it is satisfying as hell.

I doubt you will get back any money back. Just take this as a lesson and move on.
marfccy
post Aug 30 2025, 04:15 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Aug 30 2025, 07:20 AM)
Yeah, the police are very unhelpful. I don't want to discount the banks just yet, but they all want me to restructure my payment just so that I can pay them so yeah....
you also need to remember one thing. the police's job is to investigate crimes and catch criminals

in a scam case however, they have no way at all to do any of this considering its all related to bank transactions and digitally. the most they can pin the crime onto are onto the "owners" of the bank accounts you have banked in to

in reality thats where their jurisdiction ends cause they have no resources at all to combat these level of crime
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 30 2025, 04:31 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Aug 30 2025, 04:15 PM)
you also need to remember one thing. the police's job is to investigate crimes and catch criminals

in a scam case however, they have no way at all to do any of this considering its all related to bank transactions and digitally. the most they can pin the crime onto are onto the "owners" of the bank accounts you have banked in to

in reality thats where their jurisdiction ends cause they have no resources at all to combat these level of crime
I don't fault them, they can only do so much. But at least with the police report in hand, something can be done.
xpole
post Aug 30 2025, 05:48 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

Reading post number 1 on the first line already can guess that this is a scam.

This kind of scam is so famous that local news already highlights so many times.

The moment your call being transferred to police officer, that's a scam.

They are using the basic tactic of scam all the time. They just spin a little bit and people always took the bait.

This post has been edited by xpole: Aug 30 2025, 08:55 PM
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 30 2025, 05:51 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Aug 30 2025, 05:48 PM)
Reading post number 1 on the first line already can guess that this is a scam.

This kind of scam is so famous that local news already highlights so many times.

The moment your call transfer to police officer, that's a scam.

They are using the basic tactic of scam all the time. They just spin a little bit and people always took the bait.

For myself, being chronically online on Reddit and Forum Lowyat helps me a lot.
too bad for me i touch grass too much haha.
After everything said and done, I just hope for the best. Nothing else.

poooky
post Aug 30 2025, 06:18 PM

824 posts

Normal lah don't be too hard on yourself. You are very brave to share your experience. Unker myself also kena scam by snake oils salesppl play on unkers emotion many times in the past.

Even ppl who read these cases say they will never fall haven't been tested. In the heat of moment we no longer act rationally.
TSTsubakiKira
post Aug 30 2025, 08:50 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 30 2025, 06:18 PM)
Normal lah don't be too hard on yourself. You are very brave to share your experience. Unker myself also kena scam by snake oils salesppl play on unkers emotion many times in the past.

Even ppl who read these cases say they will never fall haven't been tested. In the heat of moment we no longer act rationally.
what's done is done, just have to service the debt from this. can't say i wished i turn back time, although I do with other people just slapped the phone off my hand to wake me up at the time.
adamhzm90
post Aug 31 2025, 12:00 AM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(TsubakiKira @ Aug 30 2025, 08:50 PM)
what's done is done, just have to service the debt from this. can't say i wished i turn back time, although I do with other people just slapped the phone off my hand to wake me up at the time.
Read more. It has been shared extensively on media, news etc on scammer MO. Hope you will never face anything like this again

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0155sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:37 AM