4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Dilemma: Malaysia Vs Singapore, Career choice in either SG or MY

TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:07 PM, updated 4 months ago

48 posts

Hi All,

Currently having a dilemma in my career choice.
Tendered resignation after work passes approved in SG this week but got counter offer.
Would like to seek opinions from sifus, which one would you all choose?

Malaysia:
MYR6,900
Banking industry
Counter offer RM10,000 + 2 level promotion (which will increase my future increment)

Benefits:
1) bank (iron rice bowl)
2) 3-6 mths bonus
3) 27 days annual leave
4) retirement benefit (last drawn salary X years worked)
5) 2% housing loan
6) very likely to reach 17k~20k & management level in 5 years time

Consideration:
1) High tax bracket
2) economic/political concern?
3) less spending power compared to SG (vacation, gadgets)
4) need to maintain excellent performance due to high expectation

Singapore:
SGD5,800
Payment industry, MNC

Benefits:
1) 1.5 mths bonus (can go up to 150% depending on performance)
2) 16 days annual leave, yearly +1 day until max 23 days
3) more spending power, x3.3 exchange rate
4) lower tax bracket
5) international exposure
6) reviews say more work life balance

Consideration:
1) Told them the counter offer but they can't increase the budget due to salary being one of the main point for my work passes being approved
2) Career prospects unknown
3) GF is working at SG for 2 years already (3k SGD)
4) job security, seems like lots of SG MNC are moving their operations to SEA countries like Msia, Thai & Viet

ZeneticX
post Aug 23 2025, 02:10 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

Most people held back from moving to SG due to personal and attachment reasons (family, personal commitments etc)

Since your gf already there, I'll say just go for it. Better for your relationship and both of you can work out your future as well (settle there or move back to Msia eventually)

Also

Benefits:
1) bank (iron rice bowl)
2) 3-6 mths bonus
3) 27 days annual leave
4) retirement benefit (last drawn salary X years worked)
5) 2% housing loan
6) very likely to reach 17k~20k & management level in 5 years time
Don't think these should be considered a guarantee. Anything can happen within 5 years.

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 23 2025, 02:16 PM
COOLPINK
post Aug 23 2025, 02:15 PM

3,655 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 23 2025, 02:07 PM)
Hi All,

Benefits:
1) bank (iron rice bowl)

Benefits:
1) 1.5 mths bonus (can go up to 150% depending on performance)

No such thing as iron rice bowl anymore.

Looks like the 1.5 months bonus is not guaranteed.
zerogun
post Aug 23 2025, 02:23 PM

55 posts

Only when resigned, got counter offer. Even accept, also environment or atmosphere will be different at same company. Last2, resign juga.

jackyyong
post Aug 23 2025, 02:24 PM

431 posts

Go work in SG bro, I also work in banking / insurance industry in Malaysia, but it's not what it was 10 / 15 years ago. Nowadays working banks and insurance doesn't guarantee anything. I just got put in PDP, and if I fail the PDP, they will have a reason to fire you. Nowadays there is no such thing as loyalty to a company anymore. Just go wherever the money is.

Somemore u have a GF there. It's a no-brainer. I can't go to SG because my wife and kids are in KL. If I'm single, I long time migrate there work already lor.
lj0000
post Aug 23 2025, 02:26 PM

2,198 posts

Go sg experience
Then migrate australia
LDP
post Aug 23 2025, 02:28 PM

622 posts

Is there a place waiting for u to stay in SG ? If yes then go lar
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:39 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 23 2025, 02:15 PM)
No such thing as iron rice bowl anymore.

Looks like the 1.5 months bonus is not guaranteed.
The 1.5 months bonus is written into contract, so should be somewhat guaranteed I guess?

Looks like everyone here is leaning to SG 🤔
gnc88
post Aug 23 2025, 02:40 PM

145 posts

I'm in payment industry too - Fintech MNC SG. For $5.8K, how many years of experience is this for? IT or non-IT role?
That would be a better gauge.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 23 2025, 02:28 PM)
Is there a place waiting for u to stay in SG ? If yes then go lar
If go SG, will look for a new master room to rent with my gf.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Aug 23 2025, 02:40 PM)
I'm in payment industry too - Fintech MNC SG. For $5.8K, how many years of experience is this for? IT or non-IT role?
That would be a better gauge.
5 years experience.
Chanwsan
post Aug 23 2025, 02:42 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Lol
gnc88
post Aug 23 2025, 02:46 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 23 2025, 02:41 PM)
5 years experience.
Ok. This's about right. Anyway, I had starting pay as such >10 years ago. Since then, salary went up exponentially. So if you ask me, my vote is SG.
OrganicRepublic
post Aug 23 2025, 02:46 PM

53 posts

Take SG offer.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:48 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(zerogun @ Aug 23 2025, 02:23 PM)
Only when resigned, got counter offer. Even accept, also environment or atmosphere will be different at same company. Last2, resign juga.
Actually they already planned for my succession. Promoted me last year, and already decided to promote me this year(Sept is the promotion month).
They don't have any other youngster in the team and I am one of the pioneer for the critical project.
empstar2
post Aug 23 2025, 02:50 PM

185 posts

nia ma

like this also need to think,
10k++ vs 20k +-

SINGAPOK la
OrganicRepublic
post Aug 23 2025, 02:58 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 23 2025, 02:48 PM)
Actually they already planned for my succession. Promoted me last year, and already decided to promote me this year(Sept is the promotion month).
They don't have any other youngster in the team and I am one of the pioneer for the critical project.
Sorry to break it to you, you're not as important as you think you are.

You're still young and naive, move around and gain some experience.
DoomCognition
post Aug 23 2025, 02:59 PM

737 posts

What was the reason you looked out from your current role? If there are any other push factors other than monetary, better to just leave. Rule number 1 in resignation is never to accept counter-offer once you have given the resignation letter. Can negotiate salary BEFORE resignation, not after.

Purely from monetary, RM 10k will give you better lifestyle here than SGD 5.8k. But need to consider future as well. SG has much more exciting roles and at the same level of career will give you better lifestyle until the senior roles. At senior level, Malaysian banking salary should give you better lifestyle as you can control your spending here better than in SG.

Also, if you skip this opportunity, not easy to go to SG after this.
COOLPINK
post Aug 23 2025, 03:07 PM

3,655 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 23 2025, 02:39 PM)
The 1.5 months bonus is written into contract, so should be somewhat guaranteed I guess?

Looks like everyone here is leaning to SG 🤔
Well the statement 'can go up to 150% depending on performance' is 1.5 months bonus though.
so whats their real intention?

Generally leaning towards SG for better future.
If not married or commitments here, all will say go SG.

TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 03:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Aug 23 2025, 02:59 PM)
What was the  reason you looked out from your current role? If there are any other push factors other than monetary, better to just leave. Rule number 1 in resignation is never to accept counter-offer once you have given the resignation letter. Can negotiate salary BEFORE resignation, not after.

Purely from monetary, RM 10k will give you better lifestyle here than SGD 5.8k. But need to consider future as well. SG has much more exciting roles and at the same level of career will give you better lifestyle until the senior roles. At senior level, Malaysian banking salary should give you better lifestyle as you can control your spending here better than in SG.

Also, if you skip this opportunity, not easy to go to SG after this.
Half of the reason is my gf, we have been on LDR for 2 years+, but one thing to consider is that she prefers Msia lifestyle.

About monetary factors, I am still pondering whether the new company can give me the raises like now, I have worked here for 4 years+ with consistent 10~20% increment (I started with RM3,500).

I think the main factor holding me back is the fear of leaving comfort zone and jump into the unknown territory.

One side of me is thinking why bother going if I already can live comfortably with big house & car. Another side is thinking why not take the risk and explore more when I am still young.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:08 PM