Dilemma: Malaysia Vs Singapore, Career choice in either SG or MY
TSplaynice96
Aug 24 2025, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(cms @ Aug 24 2025, 04:20 PM) KL need to rent? Is your family here? Any strong attachment to friends, family or gf ? If choose to stay in KL I will buy a house with staff housing loan. My siblings and parents are all in KL (hometown Kelantan). No particular strong attachment as already get used to be away from home since university.
TSplaynice96
Aug 24 2025, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(NoComment222 @ Aug 24 2025, 04:52 PM) Yes.
mystalyzer
Aug 24 2025, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 24 2025, 08:54 PM) If choose to stay in KL I will buy a house with staff housing loan. My siblings and parents are all in KL (hometown Kelantan). No particular strong attachment as already get used to be away from home since university. But if you live in Singapore, you have to rent instead. it will be a while before you can get your own place
TSplaynice96
Aug 24 2025, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Aug 24 2025, 08:59 PM) But if you live in Singapore, you have to rent instead. it will be a while before you can get your own place Yes, fastest also 4 years baru can buy a hdb.
shingo81
Aug 24 2025, 09:32 PM
TS, if u intend to climb the corporate ladder, SG is a better choice, in terms of exposure and work culture
Make the move before your salary hit rm10k as HR over there tend to justify the conversion rate and low ball you because competition is stiff there and they have a huge talent pool to choose from
Also, make the jump before you start a family. Priorities will change when you have children and getting older
Where else, if you intend to branch out into business down the road, MY would be a better and more ideal choice
Lastly ask yourself, you can tahan living in a condo or HDB for the rest of your life?
SUSNoComment222
Aug 24 2025, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 24 2025, 08:54 PM) Test SG market. I was from there before moving to Aussie and now UK occasionally due to governmental collaboration efforts. If you dont like the lifestyle, can always go back MY
cms
Aug 24 2025, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 24 2025, 08:54 PM) If choose to stay in KL I will buy a house with staff housing loan. My siblings and parents are all in KL (hometown Kelantan). No particular strong attachment as already get used to be away from home since university. Seems both KL and SG need to pay rent, not much attachment at KL. SG lo. Easy choice.
mystalyzer
Aug 24 2025, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(shingo81 @ Aug 24 2025, 09:32 PM) Lastly ask yourself, you can tahan living in a condo or HDB for the rest of your life? Can always retire back in Malaysia. Big profit with currency conversion
SUSSyok Your Mom
Aug 25 2025, 06:52 AM
If you're type C can mandarin can English going to Singapore is a no brainier. Banking sector when you reach over 40s be prepared to be assigned to menial tasks that makes you feel frustrating