Dilemma: Malaysia Vs Singapore, Career choice in either SG or MY

TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:07 PM, updated 4 months ago

48 posts

Hi All,

Currently having a dilemma in my career choice.
Tendered resignation after work passes approved in SG this week but got counter offer.
Would like to seek opinions from sifus, which one would you all choose?

Malaysia:
MYR6,900
Banking industry
Counter offer RM10,000 + 2 level promotion (which will increase my future increment)

Benefits:
1) bank (iron rice bowl)
2) 3-6 mths bonus
3) 27 days annual leave
4) retirement benefit (last drawn salary X years worked)
5) 2% housing loan
6) very likely to reach 17k~20k & management level in 5 years time

Consideration:
1) High tax bracket
2) economic/political concern?
3) less spending power compared to SG (vacation, gadgets)
4) need to maintain excellent performance due to high expectation

Singapore:
SGD5,800
Payment industry, MNC

Benefits:
1) 1.5 mths bonus (can go up to 150% depending on performance)
2) 16 days annual leave, yearly +1 day until max 23 days
3) more spending power, x3.3 exchange rate
4) lower tax bracket
5) international exposure
6) reviews say more work life balance

Consideration:
1) Told them the counter offer but they can't increase the budget due to salary being one of the main point for my work passes being approved
2) Career prospects unknown
3) GF is working at SG for 2 years already (3k SGD)
4) job security, seems like lots of SG MNC are moving their operations to SEA countries like Msia, Thai & Viet

TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:39 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 23 2025, 02:15 PM)
No such thing as iron rice bowl anymore.

Looks like the 1.5 months bonus is not guaranteed.
The 1.5 months bonus is written into contract, so should be somewhat guaranteed I guess?

Looks like everyone here is leaning to SG 🤔
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 23 2025, 02:28 PM)
Is there a place waiting for u to stay in SG ? If yes then go lar
If go SG, will look for a new master room to rent with my gf.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Aug 23 2025, 02:40 PM)
I'm in payment industry too - Fintech MNC SG. For $5.8K, how many years of experience is this for? IT or non-IT role?
That would be a better gauge.
5 years experience.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 02:48 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(zerogun @ Aug 23 2025, 02:23 PM)
Only when resigned, got counter offer. Even accept, also environment or atmosphere will be different at same company. Last2, resign juga.
Actually they already planned for my succession. Promoted me last year, and already decided to promote me this year(Sept is the promotion month).
They don't have any other youngster in the team and I am one of the pioneer for the critical project.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 03:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Aug 23 2025, 02:59 PM)
What was the  reason you looked out from your current role? If there are any other push factors other than monetary, better to just leave. Rule number 1 in resignation is never to accept counter-offer once you have given the resignation letter. Can negotiate salary BEFORE resignation, not after.

Purely from monetary, RM 10k will give you better lifestyle here than SGD 5.8k. But need to consider future as well. SG has much more exciting roles and at the same level of career will give you better lifestyle until the senior roles. At senior level, Malaysian banking salary should give you better lifestyle as you can control your spending here better than in SG.

Also, if you skip this opportunity, not easy to go to SG after this.
Half of the reason is my gf, we have been on LDR for 2 years+, but one thing to consider is that she prefers Msia lifestyle.

About monetary factors, I am still pondering whether the new company can give me the raises like now, I have worked here for 4 years+ with consistent 10~20% increment (I started with RM3,500).

I think the main factor holding me back is the fear of leaving comfort zone and jump into the unknown territory.

One side of me is thinking why bother going if I already can live comfortably with big house & car. Another side is thinking why not take the risk and explore more when I am still young.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 03:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Aug 23 2025, 03:18 PM)
Most people who goes to SG will not see such fast salary growth. But I have seen some that shine as well, really depends on individual. For you, I suggest that you go if you intend to make it work with gf. Just go and try it out, and then if things don't work out, can always come back. It is easier to come back than to go to SG once your salary goes above RM 10k as you will likely not be willing to take the lifestyle hit.

Also depends on which area of banking are you doing? If you can give me broad description, I can give better advice.
Thanks for the advice. I am specialized in credit card, specifically as a programmer.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 06:12 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Aug 23 2025, 05:41 PM)
Accomodation in singapore is expensive

1 masterbed room in singapore vs whole condo to yourself in malaysia

can't own your own place until many years later means a lot of the extra money earned is used for rent

I had the same dilemma before. stayed in malaysia and moved to europe eventually
How is your life in Europe now?
TSplaynice96
post Aug 24 2025, 10:34 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Aug 24 2025, 07:47 AM)
Ts... You say naik pangkat but tonwhat level? If naik to manager level then consider staying. Because getting manager level is a milestonenthat will unlock a lot of experience.

If you go sg you still become Kuli. And in sg it's very hard to naik pangkat because it's competitive. Is say get manager level experience. Get the status in your resume first, then next time try again at job hopping also no problem.
Assistant Manager level.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 24 2025, 08:54 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Aug 24 2025, 04:20 PM)
KL need to rent? Is your family here? Any strong attachment to friends, family or gf ?
If choose to stay in KL I will buy a house with staff housing loan. My siblings and parents are all in KL (hometown Kelantan). No particular strong attachment as already get used to be away from home since university.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 24 2025, 08:54 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(NoComment222 @ Aug 24 2025, 04:52 PM)
Chinese?
Yes.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 24 2025, 09:03 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Aug 24 2025, 08:59 PM)
But if you live in Singapore, you have to rent instead. it will be a while before you can get your own place
Yes, fastest also 4 years baru can buy a hdb.

0.0163sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:45 PM