post Aug 23 2025, 03:09 PM

751 posts

SG any day.... Might be your best decision ever
DoomCognition
post Aug 23 2025, 03:13 PM

737 posts

Something to take note as well is in SG, most senior nonC-Suite salary is around SGD 15k to 25k unless you are in special roles.

In Malaysia, can go from 20k to 50k. Bonuses in Malaysia is also typically better in terms of multiplier. At this level, I personally prefer to be in Malaysia as life here is less stressful.
DoomCognition
post Aug 23 2025, 03:18 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 23 2025, 03:09 PM)
Half of the reason is my gf, we have been on LDR for 2 years+, but one thing to consider is that she prefers Msia lifestyle.

About monetary factors, I am still pondering whether the new company can give me the raises like now, I have worked here for 4 years+ with consistent 10~20% increment (I started with RM3,500).

I think the main factor holding me back is the fear of leaving comfort zone and jump into the unknown territory.

One side of me is thinking why bother going if I already can live comfortably with big house & car. Another side is thinking why not take the risk and explore more when I am still young.
Most people who goes to SG will not see such fast salary growth. But I have seen some that shine as well, really depends on individual. For you, I suggest that you go if you intend to make it work with gf. Just go and try it out, and then if things don't work out, can always come back. It is easier to come back than to go to SG once your salary goes above RM 10k as you will likely not be willing to take the lifestyle hit.

Also depends on which area of banking are you doing? If you can give me broad description, I can give better advice.
LDP
post Aug 23 2025, 03:20 PM

622 posts

Half of the reason is my gf, we have been on LDR for 2 years+, but one thing to consider is that she prefers Msia lifestyle.

About monetary factors, I am still pondering whether the new company can give me the raises like now, I have worked here for 4 years+ with consistent 10~20% increment (I started with RM3,500).

I think the main factor holding me back is the fear of leaving comfort zone and jump into the unknown territory.

One side of me is thinking why bother going if I already can live comfortably with big house & car. Another side is thinking why not take the risk and explore more when I am still young.
If u hv a big house and big car here, then stay. I dont think u will like taking public transport … also also sana punya working style different.

This post has been edited by LDP: Aug 23 2025, 03:21 PM
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 03:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Aug 23 2025, 03:18 PM)
Most people who goes to SG will not see such fast salary growth. But I have seen some that shine as well, really depends on individual. For you, I suggest that you go if you intend to make it work with gf. Just go and try it out, and then if things don't work out, can always come back. It is easier to come back than to go to SG once your salary goes above RM 10k as you will likely not be willing to take the lifestyle hit.

Also depends on which area of banking are you doing? If you can give me broad description, I can give better advice.
Thanks for the advice. I am specialized in credit card, specifically as a programmer.
SUSboyboycute
post Aug 23 2025, 03:30 PM

534 posts

Still young. Of course, go for the money and pusi...got water face summore

Can gain extra Star ✨ after being cop verified as PR in Singapore

After Singapore, try to get higher by going to Oz... You'll gain double Star and probably new pusi

Why waste time in Boleh Land where bandits ,idiots and monkeys live

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Aug 23 2025, 03:35 PM
GHBZDK
post Aug 23 2025, 03:47 PM

173 posts

Need more money sg lo.
gnc88
post Aug 23 2025, 04:05 PM

145 posts

20% is usually when you are promoted. Typically 5%-10% for FinTech MNC. 10% also means you are really outstanding.
You are right about comfort zone. Suggest tahan long enough to get PR so that you are not held at ransom. SG is banking heavily on banking/fintech.
However, a caution is to settle down, can be pricey as HDB are getting more expensive, month by month. However, the amount you bring back eventually to MY, will be a lot if you work hard / smart.. To put in perspective, with combine salary of just $30K/mth, you are drawing RM1M/year in salary. This is quite achievable in banking/fintech space. However, likely by then, you would have changed your nationality.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gnc88: Aug 23 2025, 04:11 PM
beetch
post Aug 23 2025, 04:19 PM

429 posts

Take counter offer rm 10k

Sg 5.8k in singapork is nothing after minus off ur accomodation and food etc. Its like earning 5.8k in malaysia. Unless u willing sacrifice ur time and health travel everyday to jb.

No brainer, take my 10k counter offer.
knwong
post Aug 23 2025, 05:27 PM

3,558 posts

Join the M’sia bank but ask to work out of JB branch if have. Nearer to your GF.
Mr.Robert
post Aug 23 2025, 05:33 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 23 2025, 02:39 PM)
The 1.5 months bonus is written into contract, so should be somewhat guaranteed I guess?

Looks like everyone here is leaning to SG 🤔
I voted for ts to stay

10k in Malaysia, saving on rental

Already a good deal.

With career prospects in Management level

Career for guy is important
You go SGD5k salary is nothing wokay after minus rent

You can always fly SG or she fly to u for LTR
If love is strong 💪
You must able to provide financial stability prove to her

Girl like alpha male in Management

Mr.Robert
post Aug 23 2025, 05:33 PM

293 posts

edited double post

This post has been edited by Mr.Robert: Aug 23 2025, 05:34 PM
mystalyzer
post Aug 23 2025, 05:41 PM

394 posts

Accomodation in singapore is expensive

1 masterbed room in singapore vs whole condo to yourself in malaysia

can't own your own place until many years later means a lot of the extra money earned is used for rent

I had the same dilemma before. stayed in malaysia and moved to europe eventually
ridin
post Aug 23 2025, 06:03 PM

22 posts

Stay in Malaysia for sure.

$5k is not great at all.

RM10k in Malaysia is quite comfortable. Better build up career and seniority in Malaysia first.
TSplaynice96
post Aug 23 2025, 06:12 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Aug 23 2025, 05:41 PM)
Accomodation in singapore is expensive

1 masterbed room in singapore vs whole condo to yourself in malaysia

can't own your own place until many years later means a lot of the extra money earned is used for rent

I had the same dilemma before. stayed in malaysia and moved to europe eventually
How is your life in Europe now?
ByteKnight
post Aug 23 2025, 06:31 PM

$5k is actually nothing in SG
mystalyzer
post Aug 23 2025, 06:32 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(playnice96 @ Aug 23 2025, 06:12 PM)
How is your life in Europe now?
Dream come true. You can see where I work and travel here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5403291&hl=

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5426670&hl=

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5468704&hl=

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5395991&hl=
jaapers
post Aug 23 2025, 06:38 PM

141 posts

Look at annual compensation. With the counter offer, you are getting 150-180k. SG offer is 78k SGD, which is less than 50% dollar to dollar. Normally people will move from MY to SG for 60-80% dollar to dollar.

You should do your own calculation to include employer EPF and LHDN tax compared to no CPF and lower IRAS tax. Include also rental cost and generally higher cost of living. The reason is because 5.8k sgd is quite low, your disposable income is gonna be quite little. If you are comparing 20k MYR vs 10k SGD, it would be a different story.

This post has been edited by jaapers: Aug 23 2025, 06:40 PM
MGM
post Aug 23 2025, 06:51 PM

18,397 posts

QUOTE(ByteKnight @ Aug 23 2025, 06:31 PM)
$5k is actually nothing in SG
I tot IT fresh grad starting pay in SG is already sgd4500.
hellothere131495
post Aug 23 2025, 07:11 PM

473 posts

more work life balance in SG?

I guess that's just more than the hectic job at SG. Probably still considered hectic by malaysian.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0179sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:14 PM