[2025] iPhone 17/Air Discussion

TSwestlife
post Oct 13 2025, 09:57 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 12 2025, 01:15 PM)
I usually laugh at them. Old cannot see is it.

I used various sizes, from 11 then down to 13 mini and back up to 15. Loved the 13 mini but the battery was too compromised.

I test drove 16 pro max  twice… natural and black. Was simply too heavy, not nice to hold 1 hand even with MagSafe ring. I really dig the natural finish. The screen didn’t matter at all to me since I use it mainly to read and watch YouTube which is 60fps max anyway. Screen size is big, but I went back to 15 no issue. Wasn’t life changing. Oh and it was heavy as fk. I was fond of the 16 pro, lucky didn’t buy else I’ll be wtf 17 better. (I don’t need telephoto lens).

It really is personal preference but calling vanilla 17 small is.. I dunno. Phones just keep getting bigger.

I guess I am an outlier. lol. Form factor matters more. And no iPhone is “slow” since Apple’s A chips are always top of the game.

But smart commercial move by Apple. If you want big screen, it’s Pro Max.
that's pretty individual thinking, ultimately only if pro max users can know if they can accept 17 for that.

if pro max users really care so much about the weight etc. they would have already gone for pro in the past e.g. 17 pro, 16 pro, 15 pro etc...
look at the previous many gens of iphones, pro max is still way more popular choices among lowyat members and even for 17 series, looking at the no of the replies to threads can clearly tell this.
17 is a value for money choice but does not mean that all existing pro max users will really switch to it.
ever since iphone 6 plus time, ppl always go for the biggest possible screen. This is the trend and from sales figures can tell also.

most ppl who go for pro max a lot of time is due to the fact that bigger screen always give better media consumption, gaming experience etc... and also better battery life. not simply becos they cannot see the content on the screen.

iphone 17 this year no doubt has very high CP value, but as said, it is not for everyone.
apple knows this as well, else they will not be removing plus becos it will compromise the sale of pro max.

chongkiatz
post Oct 13 2025, 10:01 AM

6,731 posts

AIR is like peace of ART , maybe u will more appreciate each time u using and holding the phone than a regular iphone pro/max and forgot about those battery life and camera system.

It's like people who driving an antique car and forgot about their horse power , fuel consumption , milage per full tank , 0-100 how many sec. biggrin.gif Must have this kind of mind when u using peace of ART.

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Oct 13 2025, 10:08 AM
YoungMan
post Oct 13 2025, 11:33 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Oct 13 2025, 09:34 AM)
I think its about 1 charge vs 2 charge thing , the air and the 17 should be just need extra 1 juice in the middle and good to go. And can forgot about the 20-80% on these phone , just fully use the battery capacity , charge to 100%.
QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 13 2025, 09:37 AM)
Haha yea should just full charge till 100%, otherwise life will be hard to start the day 80%...1 charge in the middle of the day is not that bad actually..in exchange for the slim and light weight...thinking hard if I should do it..biggrin.gif
100% all the time, read this.
https://www.zdnet.com/article/after-2-years...lts-shocked-me/
chongkiatz
post Oct 13 2025, 11:50 AM

6,731 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Oct 13 2025, 11:33 AM)
I actually dont limit my phone to charge to 80% , my ip16pm stil 100% charge all the way from the first day til date , and now it drop to 92% of battery health after a year , consider i';m quite heavy user that use for video and live streaming.

It's no right or wrong , but some people might have self-satisfaction about the result to keep the battery health as good as they can , but no ppl actually can answer "How accurate" is the battery health that show by Apple , if the OS drain battery , your phone will stil drain too no matter u are on 99% battery health or 92% battery health laugh.gif

The only reason that i could think of is , higher battery health percentage might be easier to sell to 3rd party person , at least can bargain for a higher price , but if u are kind of directly trade-in to like Apple Store , apple store dont ever care what your battery health percentage , which doesnt make sense to taking extra care about the battery health smile.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Oct 13 2025, 11:50 AM
Jason
post Oct 13 2025, 12:32 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Oct 13 2025, 11:33 AM)
Actually… the biggest killer for the phone is charging overnight while you sleep.

Batteries don’t like to stay at high % state of charge. So if you keep it “plugged in” the battery will die very fast. E.g. overnight for 7 hours at 80% plugged in.

That author didn’t say his charging routine so it’s useless reference. I keep battery limit to 80% if I am in my usual routine e.g. work day. Since I can charge at work and in my car. But when I travel or going out on weekends I’ll charge it to 100%. I don’t see the need to kill my battery for no good reason. Same with my NMC EV, I daily charge to 50% since I have a 22kW charger at home. But if going outstation I’ll charge to 100% and reach my destination without stopping to charge.

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 13 2025, 09:57 AM)
that's pretty individual thinking, ultimately only if pro max users can know if they can accept 17 for that.

Indeed. Thus I said I’m an outlier. Plus many choose Pro Max cause they want the best. I have friends who get it every year.

I’ve never actually used a Pro more than a month lol.

ftan
post Oct 13 2025, 01:07 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 13 2025, 09:20 AM)
Yea of coz the pro max is king, I just wanna benchmark the pro max to estimate how much lesser battery the air has..
Thanks for sharing. So if you use both the devices same usage, how much batt's left by end of the day on both the pro max and air?
Unfortunately, I don’t have this data measurement. I usually charge my phone when it drop less than 70%. I can’t help it as I like to see the phones at 100%.

As for battery health, not so worry on this as I changed phones yearly. About 98% for the previous iPhone 16 pro max based on my charging habits.

This post has been edited by ftan: Oct 13 2025, 01:08 PM
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 06:18 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Tried the 17 Air at Switch, seems like it's weights same like my 16e, it's not really as light as feathers like what apple wants you to believe
GamersFamilia
post Oct 21 2025, 10:14 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,700 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 21 2025, 06:18 AM)
Tried the 17 Air at Switch, seems like it's weights same like my 16e, it's not really as light as feathers like what apple wants you to believe
QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 21 2025, 03:09 AM)
Good offer, good price, good specs, good quality, good design, good OS, good better than iOS 26. Everything under the sun, china fons have
QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 21 2025, 05:09 AM)
Huawei, xiaomi, vivo, oppo, realme, iqoo, nubia. All my favorite China fons. Cincai² also better than ios26.
once again iphone definitely not for you bro, clearly you are frustrated with your 16e, what's the point trying out 17 air since you hate ios so much, it doesn't matter what ever iphone variants currently or coming soon, all will be on ios, accept the fact 🙄🔥
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 10:18 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 21 2025, 10:14 AM)
once again iphone definitely not for you bro, clearly you are frustrated with your 16e, what's the point trying out 17 air since you hate ios so much, it doesn't matter what ever iphone variants currently or coming soon, all will be on ios, accept the fact 🙄🔥
Curious about the hype apple sheeps keeps talking online, so walk in grab & touch the 17 Air for a while, not even 5 mins, I walk out again, nice fon but IOS 26 not for me.
YoungMan
post Oct 21 2025, 07:58 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 21 2025, 10:18 AM)
Curious about the hype apple sheeps keeps talking online, so walk in grab & touch the 17 Air for a while, not even 5 mins, I walk out again, nice fon but IOS 26 not for me.
Go china phone thread lah. keep bugging here for what? enjoy your bloatware and unreliable OS update there.
quadcube
post Oct 21 2025, 08:26 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Oct 13 2025, 12:33 PM)
i used to keep it at 80% most of the time for my 15 pro, until recently as battery health becomes lower (90% 583 cycles), i increase the charge % toward 100% laugh.gif
GamersFamilia
post Oct 22 2025, 03:47 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,700 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Oct 21 2025, 08:26 PM)
i used to keep it at 80% most of the time for my 15 pro, until recently as battery health becomes lower (90% 583 cycles), i increase the charge % toward 100% laugh.gif
Me myself set 90% for charging limit for my 16 pro max cuz a few trusted websites mentioned set between 80 to 90 percent would be the best and highly recommended 😎🔥
N9484640
post Oct 23 2025, 12:43 PM

Chasing Electric
1,281 posts

iPhone Air already start discounting - Rm100 off
last week all iPhones got Rm100 off too at Shopee

This post has been edited by N9484640: Oct 23 2025, 12:44 PM
fruitie
post Oct 23 2025, 02:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,749 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Oct 23 2025, 12:43 PM)
iPhone Air already start discounting - Rm100 off
last week all iPhones got Rm100 off too at Shopee
I'm waiting for 11.11 to see if I can grab cheaper iPhone 17 for my mom.
N9484640
post Oct 23 2025, 02:42 PM

Chasing Electric
1,281 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2025, 02:09 PM)
I'm waiting for 11.11 to see if I can grab cheaper iPhone 17 for my mom.
How much do you expect it to be before you buy?
fruitie
post Oct 23 2025, 02:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,749 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Oct 23 2025, 02:42 PM)
How much do you expect it to be before you buy?
At least RM 200 off but not in hurry to get.
TSwestlife
post Oct 23 2025, 11:21 PM

14,227 posts

Apple's iPhone Air Experiment Fails as Supply Chain Cuts Production by 80%

iPhone Air has no 17 in its name for reason. tongue.gif
GamersFamilia
post Oct 24 2025, 10:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,700 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 23 2025, 11:21 PM)
We can aspect huge discount soon 🐝🐝🐝🐝
TSwestlife
post Oct 25 2025, 08:12 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 24 2025, 10:53 PM)
We can aspect huge discount soon 🐝🐝🐝🐝
yeah. those who wants Air, wait longer a bit sure will get rewarded. biggrin.gif
GamersFamilia
post Oct 25 2025, 08:26 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,700 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 25 2025, 08:12 AM)
yeah. those who wants Air, wait longer a bit sure will get rewarded.  biggrin.gif
May be on black friday or christmas sale ooh laa laa, we will see how it goes 🐝🖤🐝

36 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0145sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:37 AM