[2025] iPhone 17/Air Discussion

fruitie
post Yesterday, 02:13 PM

Rise and Shine
72,862 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2025, 01:31 PM)
[attachmentid=11523140]

Tmt packing so light.
Congrats! Now I'm so tempted to get one if it is around RM 3k. laugh.gif

QUOTE(decavalera @ Dec 15 2025, 01:42 PM)
So fragile feeling lah this air.. i’ll for sure slap it with this tank case if i buy 1
Well, that's the beauty of Air, not to cover it like that. laugh.gif
lwl_80
post Yesterday, 02:18 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(decavalera @ Dec 15 2025, 02:42 PM)
So fragile feeling lah this air.. i’ll for sure slap it with this tank case if i buy 1
pitaka slim case is really good on the air, almost "non-existent" feel

dikae
post Yesterday, 02:40 PM

an apple a day
9,230 posts

QUOTE(decavalera @ Dec 15 2025, 01:42 PM)
It’s not supposed to use any case to really enjoy the phone’s uniqueness (super slim and light form factor), I’d recommend going for a thin gel clear case, then slowly go naked once you gain the confidence/courage.

I’m going the caseless route soon for my air…it’s really good I hardly touch my main phone (17 PM) anymore..the weight is 1 thing, more importantly is the slim profile which dictates the way how I hold and grip and maneuver the phone…as simple as just pulling out from the pocket to snap something quick, or qr payment, or just simple notes…

Have to be honest it feels bizarre whenever I switch back to the pro max, the transitioning feels like a brick.. feeling big difference especially making calls without AirPods…holding it for a 15-20 mins over the ear is actually hefty on the hands…actually even holding wifey’s 17 pro already gave me that kind of feel…

This post has been edited by dikae: Yesterday, 02:44 PM
TongCN
post Yesterday, 03:11 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,689 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 15 2025, 02:40 PM)
It’s not supposed to use any case to really enjoy the phone’s uniqueness (super slim and light form factor), I’d recommend going for a thin gel clear case, then slowly go naked once you gain the confidence/courage.

I’m going the caseless route soon for my air…it’s really good I hardly touch my main phone (17 PM) anymore..the weight is 1 thing, more importantly is the slim profile which dictates the way how I hold and grip and maneuver the phone…as simple as just pulling out from the pocket to snap something quick, or qr payment, or just simple notes…

Have to be honest it feels bizarre whenever I switch back to the pro max, the transitioning feels like a brick.. feeling big difference especially making calls without AirPods…holding it for a 15-20 mins over the ear is actually hefty on the hands…actually even holding wifey’s 17 pro already gave me that kind of feel…
On behalf Tim : Wow Thank you thumbsup.gif

fruitie
post Yesterday, 03:20 PM

Rise and Shine
72,862 posts

I'm thinking of selling off my 17PM and going for Air. laugh.gif Since I intend to buy the Ricoh GR IV as my serious camera. Day-to-day photography, I think the Air will do it fine. laugh.gif Just a wild thought.
dikae
post Yesterday, 03:33 PM

an apple a day
9,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2025, 03:20 PM)
I'm thinking of selling off my 17PM and going for Air. laugh.gif Since I intend to buy the Ricoh GR IV as my serious camera. Day-to-day photography, I think the Air will do it fine. laugh.gif Just a wild thought.
Haha when I gotten the air I also thought it’s a wild thought (even only using it as second phone), but now I hardly pull out my pro max from the bag…I’ll also sell it if really decided a full switch…

Few things you might want to take note..the camera, the battery, and the speaker VS the 41% lighter weight and the most importantly slimmer body/ form factor….to some, it’s a big trade off…

The camera on the air is actually quite good, until you start zooming or macroshotting stuffs…I lowkey hated the macro shot, every time when taking food pics I have to disable the yellow flower for better angle/shot. If you use it day 2 day shot you probably won’t notice any difference, I’ve tested this alot, even loaded both same photo onto comp and they turn out to be the same…if you use ProRes/log2 to edit your footage then the air doesn’t have that..

Battery is not bad especially if you’re always working from home or have access to charger all the time…best comparison between the pro max and pro and air (same usage +/-) = 55% -> 40-> -25%

Speaker wouldn’t be a problem if you’re always on the AirPods or don’t watch movie with loud speaker…on voice call it’s barely noticeable unless purposely point out on the crisp then yes there’s a difference on the bass, volume slightly softer at maxed..

Typing is a bliss on the air, you have no idea how much I love to type on this than the pro max, can you literally single hand it..

And lastly, you will get alot more attention at places with people who knows the air, places with people who doesn’t, they might think its an older or cheaper model..

This post has been edited by dikae: Yesterday, 03:39 PM
decavalera
post Yesterday, 03:34 PM

bloody roots
2,383 posts

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2025, 01:49 PM)
Then no more air.
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2025, 02:13 PM)

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2025, 03:20 PM)
Agree, this is the only iphone that i think worth to use without any casing but MUST pay the AppleCare Coverage...
Really scary holding the display unit, soo light, soo thin, cannot imagine if accidently jatuh even at 1 feet... mega_shok.gif ph34r.gif bye.gif
dikae
post Yesterday, 03:43 PM

an apple a day
9,230 posts

QUOTE(decavalera @ Dec 15 2025, 03:34 PM)
Agree, this is the only iphone that i think worth to use without any casing but MUST pay the AppleCare Coverage...
Really scary holding the display unit, soo light, soo thin, cannot imagine if accidently jatuh even at 1 feet...  mega_shok.gif ph34r.gif bye.gif
It feels very different when you held it at the store display unit with the leash on, vs using it freely…it just hits different…

You can start off with a thin case, and keep it that way, not necessarily need to go cashless if not comfy…after all this thing is quite durable, it already feels more durable than the pro max on hand, and tests showed that it can withstand damages pretty well…don’t get intimidated by the thinness, this thing will give you much lesser anxiety than the pro max…
fruitie
post Yesterday, 03:47 PM

Rise and Shine
72,862 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 15 2025, 03:33 PM)
Haha when I gotten the air I also thought it’s a wild thought (even only using it as second phone), but now I hardly pull out my pro max from the bag…I’ll also sell it if really decided a full switch…

Few things you might want to take note..the camera, the battery, and the speaker VS the 41% lighter weight and the most importantly slimmer body/ form factor….to some, it’s a big trade off…

The camera on the air is actually quite good, until you start zooming or macroshotting stuffs…I lowkey hated the macro shot, every time when taking food pics I have to disable the yellow flower for better angle/shot. If you use it day 2 day shot you probably won’t notice any difference, I’ve tested this alot, even loaded both same photo onto comp and they turn out to be the same…if you use ProRes/log2 to edit your footage then the air doesn’t have that..

Battery is not bad especially if you’re always working from home or have access to charger all the time…best comparison between the pro max and pro and air (same usage +/-) = 55% -> 40-> -25%

Speaker wouldn’t be a problem if you’re always on the AirPods or don’t watch movie with loud speaker…on voice call it’s barely noticeable unless purposely point out on the crisp then yes there’s a difference on the bass, volume slightly softer at maxed..

Typing is a bliss on the air, you have no idea how much I love to type on this than the pro max, can you literally single hand it..

And lastly, you will get alot more attention at places with people who knows the air, places with people who doesn’t, they might think its an older or cheaper model..
To be honest, battery is a concern for me so I'm still hesitating. These days I charge my 17PM daily to 90% and use it to 20% or below and will charge it. My usage is definitely higher than when I had the 16PM. But again I bought a new secondary Android phone and it will reach me soon, so I will always have 2-3 spare phones lying around. Just that bringing it out, I only bring one. So Air seems like a good choice.

I mentioned on this thread before this, when Air was still a rumor that I really like it. laugh.gif

Seeing the price drops, I'm tempted to make a switch, to be honest. laugh.gif

QUOTE(decavalera @ Dec 15 2025, 03:34 PM)
Really scary holding the display unit, soo light, soo thin, cannot imagine if accidently jatuh even at 1 feet...  mega_shok.gif ph34r.gif bye.gif
Yeah, AppleCare coverage if intend to use it naked. tongue.gif
dikae
post Yesterday, 04:09 PM

an apple a day
9,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2025, 03:47 PM)
To be honest, battery is a concern for me so I'm still hesitating. These days I charge my 17PM daily to 90% and use it to 20% or below and will charge it. My usage is definitely higher than when I had the 16PM. But again I bought a new secondary Android phone and it will reach me soon, so I will always have 2-3 spare phones lying around. Just that bringing it out, I only bring one. So Air seems like a good choice.

I mentioned on this thread before this, when Air was still a rumor that I really like it. laugh.gif

Seeing the price drops, I'm tempted to make a switch, to be honest.  laugh.gif
Yeah, AppleCare coverage if intend to use it naked. tongue.gif
If battery is a concern then better don’t switch, coz it will disappoint..especially coming from pro max..

But yes if you got a few spare phones for other heavy duty stuffs then by all means, go with the air biggrin.gif

Right now I’m still daily charging my air and pro max, just that for the air I charge around 25 to 95%..the pro max I charge at 50% to 90%…both also require daily charge so yea….unless I charge the pro max to 100%, use until 60% then maybe can last 2 days per charge..
Gold_Moderator
post Yesterday, 04:15 PM

3,135 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2025, 02:13 PM)
stay tuned for coming sales

actually iphone air can sell, just the pricing.

This post has been edited by Gold_Moderator: Yesterday, 04:18 PM
dikae
post Yesterday, 05:42 PM

an apple a day
9,230 posts

Walk passed Machines so hop in to check out their stuffs, the air caught the SA’s attention and a few of them came to me and start going woah woah using air bro, how’s it…so nice…blue and gold looks good…good or want to change etc etc…never had I gotten these attention when I walk in AASP with the pro max tongue.gif fruitie ahem

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2025, 04:15 PM)

It’s a good phone, hope there will be gen 2 next year..

This post has been edited by dikae: Yesterday, 05:55 PM
fruitie
post Yesterday, 07:11 PM

Rise and Shine
72,862 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 15 2025, 04:09 PM)
If battery is a concern then better don’t switch, coz it will disappoint..especially coming from pro max..

But yes if you got a few spare phones for other heavy duty stuffs then by all means, go with the air biggrin.gif

Right now I’m still daily charging my air and pro max, just that for the air I charge around 25 to 95%..the pro max I charge at 50% to 90%…both also require daily charge so yea….unless I charge the pro max to 100%, use until 60% then maybe can last 2 days per charge..
Yeah, that's why I'm still hesitating as battery is a concern for me. laugh.gif
Let's see when I will have the rezeki to buy it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Dec 15 2025, 04:15 PM)

Yeah, waiting for you to share the good deal here. tongue.gif

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 15 2025, 05:42 PM)
Walk passed Machines so hop in to check out their stuffs, the air caught the SA’s attention and a few of them came to me and start going woah woah using air bro, how’s it…so nice…blue and gold looks good…good or want to change etc etc…never had I gotten these attention when I walk in AASP with the pro max tongue.gif fruitie ahem
It’s a good phone, hope there will be gen 2 next year..
If I were to get one, I might get gold. laugh.gif Good to catch some attentions. tongue.gif

I doubt so, there will gen 2 since bad sales. If I were to buy also for collectible purposes and as a secondary phone.
dikae
post Yesterday, 07:26 PM

an apple a day
9,230 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2025, 07:11 PM)
Yeah, that's why I'm still hesitating as battery is a concern for me. laugh.gif
Let's see when I will have the rezeki to buy it. laugh.gif
Yeah, waiting for you to share the good deal here. tongue.gif
If I were to get one, I might get gold. laugh.gif Good to catch some attentions. tongue.gif

I doubt so, there will gen 2 since bad sales. If I were to buy also for collectible purposes and as a secondary phone.
Gold is nice too, but I wanted something different than the desert titanium 16 pro max so went with the blue…

42 Pages « < 40 41 42Top

0.0157sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:51 AM