ok
after reading all
now i lagi undecided....
relax 1st
YoungMan
post Mar 16 2025, 11:10 AM

6,793 posts

If you plan to stay in the same place for the next 20 to 30 years, then buying is a good option. You won’t have to worry about landlords increasing rent or potentially asking you to move. When the time comes that you can no longer live independently due to age, you can sell the property and use the proceeds to cover your nursing care. By then, assuming the property has appreciated in value due to its location, you’ll likely have made a good profit.
Lester1987
post Mar 16 2025, 11:34 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 16 2025, 04:48 AM)
hello, i really need advise to buy or countinue rent a unit...
i am 41years old,got no more family,wife,kids and wanna maintain that way till i die,

the unit i wanted to buy is rm 90k shop apartment studio upstairs (highest floor) 3rd floor just 400 sq.ft (approximately)

and the unit i renting currently is a room rm320 rent + tnb n water rm170 total up about rm 490 a month..landed property

sometimes i wonder y buy a  property when i die it will not be pass to anyone, (just a piece of my mind)
but in the mean time,i really like to live in peace aka senyap enviroment,the room i renting got other tenant with kids n near diswahing area,which can jolt me up from sleep when in use,eventhough its for few minute..

pls just advice me (buy or not to buy)

i am kindda unsure,
thank you in advance
Instead of answering the renting room vs the studio you looking at, let me give you some insights of renting vs owning. I will list our the pros of each

Renting
1. You are free to move around when better job opportunity in other area comes.
2. Not much head ache on maintenance as landlord suppose to fix it for you for major issue.

Owning
1. You won’t get kicked out by landlord when they want to take their house back.
2. U locked down the price of your house since you bought it and you won’t get affected by raising rent prices. (I personally find this reason alone is enough to make me buy.)

My studio I buy at 140k last time. Monthly only around 600-700. Now they selling 250k and if you want to rent become 1.4k. Since I bought it, my monthly still remain at 600+.

Acoen
post Mar 16 2025, 11:39 AM

296 posts

Maybe can consider ground floor unit of walkup apartment.

The pros of having own unit is the privacy and no need to stay inside the room whole day if not going out.
TSpoco loco
post Mar 16 2025, 11:44 AM

610 posts

i should add more info about this topic,

1,i going to buy this studio cash,so no loan thinggy (hate to utang utang)
2,my job is grab rider,so i can start anywhere anytime (so there will be no relocating for job purposes)
3,i work 3-5 hours dailly (so ill be at home most of the time)might adopt a bisu doge to stay wif me

This post has been edited by poco loco: Mar 16 2025, 11:45 AM
gashout
post Mar 16 2025, 11:45 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Satori 14118a @ Mar 16 2025, 05:48 AM)
pls consider the effort climbing up the stairs as you grow older
this, my mother, stroke... even first floor. one stair also cannot...

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 16 2025, 11:06 AM)
ok
after reading all
now i lagi undecided....
relax 1st
this one in cheras? so cheap.

read the above pls
TSpoco loco
post Mar 16 2025, 11:51 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Mar 16 2025, 11:45 AM)
this, my mother, stroke... even first floor. one stair also cannot...
this one in cheras? so cheap.

read the above pls
the studio is very near that kajang terminal bus station...

about leg pain etc.....we really cant predict all this stuff,so i guess thing will change when u have that issue at that time kut
gashout
post Mar 16 2025, 11:54 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 16 2025, 11:51 AM)
the studio is very near that kajang terminal bus station...

about leg pain etc.....we really cant predict all this stuff,so i guess thing will change when u have that issue at that time kut
yes, so poco needs to consider health level now.... healthy or not... if not, look after health

90k is really good, if it's near to mamak/ 99 speedmart/ kopitiam... its not a bad choice at all

you can deisgn your place nicely, but the size is a bit too small for my liking, 20+ ok, 60 you do wish you have a larger house
TSpoco loco
post Mar 16 2025, 11:55 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Mar 16 2025, 11:54 AM)
yes, so poco needs to consider health level now.... healthy or not... if not, look after health

90k is really good, if it's near to mamak/ 99 speedmart/ kopitiam... its not a bad choice at all

you can deisgn your place nicely, but the size is a bit too small for my liking, 20+ ok, 60 you do wish you have a larger house
ya got 99 speedmart,jpn,kwsp,etc....
Boomwick
post Mar 16 2025, 12:21 PM

980 posts

Rent sahaja la..

Maybe cost upfront like legal fee, mot stamp duty, insurance..
TSpoco loco
post Mar 16 2025, 12:28 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Mar 16 2025, 12:21 PM)
Rent sahaja la..

Maybe cost upfront like legal fee, mot stamp duty, insurance..
how much are those? insuran is compulsory?
first time home buyer me
kesvani
post Mar 16 2025, 02:27 PM

953 posts

Be honest why didnt marry. Cannot get GF of prefer single but its the latter.

I prefer marry but prefer single lifestyle
Jazted
post Mar 16 2025, 02:36 PM

542 posts

Rent started to get difficult when you are above 50. Many owner scare you might pass away in the house.

And you might not able to get 90% or 85% once you reach a certain age. I would suggest buy a studio unit with near to park or hospital.
alanyuppie
post Mar 16 2025, 02:42 PM

2,834 posts

i am 41years old,got no more family,wife,kids and wanna maintain that way till i die,

the unit i wanted to buy is rm 90k shop apartment studio upstairs (highest floor) 3rd floor just 400 sq.ft (approximately)

highest floor = Red flag

You'll be alone till you die at 80 years old on average. If you want good quality of life being alone in your twilight years. better opt for lower floors.

TSpoco loco
post Mar 16 2025, 02:53 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Mar 16 2025, 02:27 PM)

single = easy life
merid =hardmode
merid wif kids = nah no thx

so if u can choose the mode of life in your own life then choose wiselly,bcause some desicion cant be undone
Boomwick
post Mar 16 2025, 03:50 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 16 2025, 12:28 PM)
first time home buyer me
If u take loan, bank compulsory masuk for u, unless ur jmb got cover master fire insurance

Since u say shop apartment, i assume no jmb and no fire insurance.

For 90k case, maybe 1 year 300 i think la
Boomwick
post Mar 16 2025, 03:51 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Mar 16 2025, 02:27 PM)

Prefer marry but want single life

Means only want kukujiao happy and no other responsibility la
KenM
post Mar 16 2025, 04:30 PM

185 posts

for shoplot..
parking, neighbors, top floor ( hot, how to walk up when older?), misc costs, no rental increase, no shoosh you, no more selective renters ( more difficult as you get older and to show possibility to pay rent), a place to call your own
for rent
selective renters, forever increase, parking, no one wants to rent to old people, can change location, no need to worry incidental costs
don’t forget inflation, 90k today isn’t the same 20yrs from now
advisable to look for your own space, a little further but within your means..
gashout
post Mar 16 2025, 06:26 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 16 2025, 12:28 PM)
first time home buyer me
If you've life insurance. They won't force you take mrta

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:10 PM