to buy or not to buy a living space, shop apartment studio upstairs unit

KenM
post Mar 16 2025, 04:30 PM

185 posts

for shoplot..
parking, neighbors, top floor ( hot, how to walk up when older?), misc costs, no rental increase, no shoosh you, no more selective renters ( more difficult as you get older and to show possibility to pay rent), a place to call your own
for rent
selective renters, forever increase, parking, no one wants to rent to old people, can change location, no need to worry incidental costs
don’t forget inflation, 90k today isn’t the same 20yrs from now
advisable to look for your own space, a little further but within your means..
KenM
post Mar 16 2025, 07:25 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 16 2025, 01:42 PM)
highest floor = Red flag

You'll be alone till you die at 80 years old on average. If you want good quality of life being alone in your twilight years. better opt for lower floors.
unless have lift…( even if you do decide to sell, it’s a selling point…).. i have clients, office on 3rd floor, even to do random visit still take an effort ( walk up)

This post has been edited by KenM: Mar 16 2025, 07:26 PM
KenM
post Mar 16 2025, 10:13 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 16 2025, 06:32 PM)
those fees fees is about 3-4% of property price. so 90k u ready 4k also cukup liao.

insurance nt compulsory, and since u buying cash, no need bank loan = no need insurance

jus find a lawyer, they settle for u.
there’s insurance if you buy on lian, that’s MRTA, in case something happens it will cover the entire loan..
the other insurance is home insurance against fire and other causes, this is necessary because if your neighbors house catches fire, your house could be affected as well… but it’s not too expensive and affordable
then you have utilities, cukai pintu, cukai tanah, indah water and maintenance for gated/apartments
many have said buy first, as you get older,renting will become expensive
KenM
post Mar 17 2025, 08:02 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 17 2025, 06:15 AM)
5 more month only fd mature ni. x cukup duit ni
or should i forfeit it jer?

best if can drag 5 more month 😄
you don’t need the full amount on confirmation to purchase… normally ready 10-15% of purchase price… it takes time for the lawyers to finalize the transaction and subject to authorities approval for some cases…
talk to your lawyer, they will advise
KenM
post Mar 17 2025, 10:15 AM

185 posts

anyone knows? for shop apartments, do they have maintenance?.. what happens if roof damage? toilet stucked or leaking? main pipe, common area electrical issues?..
i think advisable to purchase residential apartment for peace of mind… further more, you have your private car park to rent if not using..maintenance etc all settled with proper security
KenM
post Mar 19 2025, 03:30 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(poco loco @ Mar 17 2025, 10:31 AM)
i got  a plan if i still renting if owner scared to rent to old ppl.....offer 1-2 years payment upfront jer,i bet they will take it
reverse the situation… would you accept 2 years advance from an old tenant?… in fact, i would be very suspicious…
just buy within your means… every property will have its value… 20-40 years from now, another poco will be looking for a similar property!

0.0154sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:01 PM