[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro

razkal
post Dec 11 2024, 09:21 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 11 2024, 09:06 PM)
I think ppl have said 1440p monitors are the worst for macOS. Maybe need to upgrade 4k monitors.
I guess upgrading is the only option. I did search for solution. Many mentioned that apple want you to purchase their product and because of that they didn't improve their monitor scaling issues
yvliew
post Dec 11 2024, 09:24 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

QUOTE(syukry @ Dec 11 2024, 11:55 AM)
anyone can recommend any thunderbolt 4 hub/adapter for mac mini?
I plan to get one just to get extra port for USB and other. but not sure which brand is okay. Please advice smile.gif
TB dock is so expensive still. Honestly I won't recommend it. It's better you just get a 10gbps dock with extra USB ports such as C and A ports for other device like keyboard/mouse,external HDD and pendrive. You don't need full 40gbps for those devices. You still have 2 more TB4 usb c ports for fast external nvme ssd for permanent connection or other fast devices.
razkal
post Dec 11 2024, 09:27 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 11 2024, 09:07 PM)
i'm using 1080p monitor, its not really good, text is blurry, but i can live with it.
For me I prefer sharp text/display and it's annoying that the problem can only be improve using third party solution. I noticed better improvement using 2k with better display. Also tried using dual monitor drop and drag the windows sometime the windows doesn't snap properly and occasionally 2nd monitor black out not sure why. Seems like a bug.
ericlaiys
post Dec 11 2024, 09:28 PM

7,546 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 11 2024, 02:35 PM)
Finally received my SSD and usb 4 enclosure. Ready for mac mini liao. Setup straight away change Home folder to external.
I just tested my ugreen. can get 3000 read/write speed. I also move home and application to external.

QUOTE(muman7 @ Dec 11 2024, 02:45 PM)
Is it necessary to put home folder on external? For average user what's your home folder size after a few years? Anyone with a device for a few years pls report here. Thanks.
It is worth it to move. i also notice keep writing due to cache/swap.

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 11 2024, 03:20 PM)
usually apps can install externally. But some apps still needs to install their data in Home folder which is what ollama does. Don’t want to worry about that so just move home folder to external can enjoy the computer at fullest. Since now M4 and 16GB, much more capable than my previous M2 8GB, I’d like to do more with it.
I also think that way on m1 with 256gb storage and 8gb. but I also move it to external storage. RAM got 16GB. Use already 12GB, Cache size - 4GB and swap 23MB. Look like new OS use many memory.

Therefore advice to move

shyan90's
post Dec 11 2024, 09:29 PM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,197 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 11 2024, 09:28 PM)
I just tested my ugreen. can get 3000 read/write speed. I also move home and application to external.
It is worth it to move. i also notice keep writing due to cache/swap.
I also think that way on m1 with 256gb storage and 8gb. but I also move it to external storage. RAM got 16GB. Use already 12GB, Cache size - 4GB and swap 23MB. Look like new OS use many memory.

Therefore advice to move
Ideal already use so much?

Skeuomorphic
post Dec 11 2024, 10:20 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(razkal @ Dec 11 2024, 08:57 PM)
Anyone using Mac mini with sub 4k monitor? For example WUXGA resolution or 2k monitor How's your experience? I've tried on these types of monitor and so far not satisfied with font sharpness. Also tried better display app. Seems not so much different. My windows laptop with these displays have better sharpness.
try installing BetterDisplay and enable HiDPI
jonthebaptist
post Dec 12 2024, 01:33 AM

1,036 posts

razkal
post Dec 12 2024, 08:45 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Dec 11 2024, 10:20 PM)
try installing BetterDisplay and enable HiDPI
Yup done that. not much of improvement on said monitor. basically the problem is on sub 4k monitor scaling.
yvliew
post Dec 12 2024, 10:34 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 12 2024, 01:33 AM)

I think saw this in taobao. This one is more expensive than the one shared earlier here. Around RMB1099. Need to pre order it.
hellfried
post Dec 12 2024, 11:09 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(ohkeat @ Dec 11 2024, 08:37 PM)
10pm? Unlikely... Their employee need rest and ZZzzz.  biggrin.gif      Anyway, this Ayam brand courier company... Don't expect much!  biggrin.gif
Now out for delivery again (second time). Lets see if we can get our unit today.
Skeuomorphic
post Dec 12 2024, 11:19 AM

671 posts

same here except because i refused delivery yesterday lol

This post has been edited by Skeuomorphic: Dec 12 2024, 11:19 AM
jonthebaptist
post Dec 12 2024, 11:20 AM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Dec 12 2024, 11:19 AM)
same here accept because i refused delivery yesterday lol

In all honesty who knew there was holiday yesterday. Plus we all thought impossible to out of delivery so fast.

I suspect they already had the stock in warehouse nearby, the tracking was merely for show.
jonthebaptist
post Dec 12 2024, 11:22 AM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 12 2024, 10:34 AM)
I think saw this in taobao. This one is more expensive than the one shared earlier here. Around RMB1099. Need to pre order it.
I'm looking for cooling case.

So far saw someone use aluminium heatsink on Reddit, the temps went down a bit (doesn't justify the modifications).

Now waiting someone try it with fans like below:

This post has been edited by jonthebaptist: Dec 12 2024, 11:22 AM
shyan90's
post Dec 12 2024, 11:24 AM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,197 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 12 2024, 10:34 AM)
Can early bird around 799.
yvliew
post Dec 12 2024, 11:37 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 12 2024, 11:24 AM)
Can early bird around 799.
it's much more expensive than some good PC casing already. I don't think it's worth it. Around 500 better buy more storage or other useful add ons.
muman7
post Dec 12 2024, 11:48 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 12 2024, 11:22 AM)
I'm looking for cooling case.

So far saw someone use aluminium heatsink on Reddit, the temps went down a bit (doesn't justify the modifications).

Now waiting someone try it with fans like below:

For mac mini or the ssd enclosure? I thought mac mini won't have overheating problem?
My m2 ssd stays around 40-45 idle and around 50-55 when in operation, that's without the fan on. If turn fan on can reduce 5 degree overall.

hellfried
post Dec 12 2024, 11:49 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 12 2024, 11:20 AM)
In all honesty who knew there was holiday yesterday. Plus we all thought impossible to out of delivery so fast.

I suspect they already had the stock in warehouse nearby, the tracking was merely for show.
Finally delivered........My family thought he had made a mistake as it is so small. They cannot believe it is the entire pc smile.gif

This post has been edited by hellfried: Dec 12 2024, 11:50 AM
jonthebaptist
post Dec 12 2024, 12:02 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 12 2024, 11:49 AM)
Finally delivered........My family thought he had made a mistake as it is so small. They cannot believe it is the entire pc smile.gif
Same here, I thought wtf is the box, is it really Mac mini inside, even took recording of the unboxing just in case got scammed.
jonthebaptist
post Dec 12 2024, 12:03 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Dec 12 2024, 11:48 AM)
For mac mini or the ssd enclosure? I thought mac mini won't have overheating problem?
My m2 ssd stays around 40-45 idle and around 50-55 when in operation, that's without the fan on. If turn fan on can reduce 5 degree overall.

For Mac mini, it's not really needed, it's more like extra and hobby and to get more juice and performance from your Mac mini
jonthebaptist
post Dec 12 2024, 12:07 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Dec 12 2024, 11:37 AM)
it's much more expensive than some good PC casing already. I don't think it's worth it. Around 500 better buy more storage or other useful add ons.
The Mac mini by itself already perfect, like I see you all want to use ssd as home folder or buy casing, for me it will make the Mac mini less useful.

Now I can hook it up to monitor, or quickly move it around and hook it up with TV - that's the beauty of this machine, it's like a "compute stick" or Chromecast where you can just plug and play.

55 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:38 PM