[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro

ericlaiys
post Oct 30 2024, 07:25 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Oct 30 2024, 02:56 AM)
Tempting because of 16GB base. edu price 2069 which I can get. How much do you think I can sell my M2 base Mac Mini? Would be great to run 13B LLM.
u can check from apple website the trade in value. my m1 only cost rm800
ericlaiys
post Oct 30 2024, 02:13 PM

7,529 posts

anyone do trade in with apple before? we will get apple gift card + top up remaining using cc?
ericlaiys
post Nov 3 2024, 05:05 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 3 2024, 03:27 PM)
does anyone know when we can start ordering this m4 mac mini in Malaysia?
QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 3 2024, 04:40 PM)
Nobody knows. Check apple website every day until they have a release date. Plenty of seller offering in Carousell at a price higher than education discount but cheaper than retail price.
Won’t be so fast. Other countries available only on 8 nov. plus here not yet pass sirim. If too many preorder then may have stock availability issue.Priority to Christmas countries

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Nov 3 2024, 05:05 PM
ericlaiys
post Nov 3 2024, 07:25 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Nov 3 2024, 07:04 PM)
looks like DUET is a good option! Just need to pay $9.99 to use its app forever right?

How was your experience using? Is it cumbersome to carry and use compared to Macbook?
eh...now with latest ipados and macOS, need app? With usb c connected between both and some setting on display set on mac and ipad, already can mirror/extend screen. condition is must login in to macOS first before can use
ericlaiys
post Nov 4 2024, 10:51 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Nov 4 2024, 09:08 AM)
I saw somewhere from other countries start from 8th Nov, maybe we also same date
in your dream. they can pre-order now and get on 8. we not yet pass sirim and no pre-order yet.
u can see from ipad mini. why other country available but MY not yet
ericlaiys
post Nov 4 2024, 06:21 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(gabriel.l @ Nov 4 2024, 05:00 PM)
Might be at the end of November or in December.
right time before xmas...lol
ericlaiys
post Nov 4 2024, 10:13 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(gabriel.l @ Nov 4 2024, 09:17 PM)
Yea, I'm also waiting for the iPad mini sad.gif It’s been a week since it was launched.
It just got approved by Sirim last week.
best time to order case, pencil, screen protector first on 11-11
ericlaiys
post Nov 5 2024, 08:58 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 5 2024, 07:42 AM)
wa nice, my 2014 already turned into a proxmox server laugh.gif nice low-power and reliable one
only intel model can do. m1 onward cannot

QUOTE(gabriel.l @ Nov 5 2024, 08:28 AM)
3rd party accesories maybe can la, like the docking station.
i use external 2tb nvme. work great for few years
ericlaiys
post Nov 8 2024, 10:23 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Nov 8 2024, 09:08 PM)
you can install macos on external ssd disk and boot it from external ssd, but you cant expand the internal system disk with external ssd disk.

In the video, she created a new partition in the built in ssd disk, and expand it with external disk, this cannot expand macos system partition.
why u want to do that?
my m1 256gb storage - store OS and app
External nvme 2TB - store data

Work as expected and 256GB can survive for 3 years+ without any issue. By doing this, original storage seldom do writing as only store OS and App. More read/write is on my external nvme. This increase the life span of storage also

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Nov 8 2024, 10:25 PM
ericlaiys
post Nov 9 2024, 02:06 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 9 2024, 11:41 AM)
Successfully upgraded the nand chip from 256gb to 1TB.

it not direct replace with other nvme. so too high risk to replace it.
ericlaiys
post Nov 10 2024, 09:21 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 10 2024, 02:58 AM)
Base M4. Not bad at all I would say.

I am watching this guy live streaming testing games on m4 base mac mini as well now. Seen a lot of games are performing quite well even it's running parallels

Cute mac pro mini

been running base model m1 since 4 years ago. no problem
With m4, i will be huge jump
M1-> M4
8GB -> 16GB RAM
Storage - same. not an issue as i got nvme 2TB
More ports USB C
2 monitor -> 3 monitor
Big size -> small size

Will trade in when it is available
ericlaiys
post Nov 10 2024, 08:51 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 10 2024, 07:27 PM)
Wanna ask, to claim from tax refund for 2024, we must buy computer stuff in this year 2024? what if Jan 2025? cannot liao?

Man I hope this mac mini comes in time before 2025.
Jan - Dec only
ericlaiys
post Nov 12 2024, 11:23 PM

7,529 posts

i just checked at Switch store. according to them, they dont accept trade in for mac mini. Therefore if you would like to do trade in, may be can try TRX, Machine or online. May be some can advise if possible to trade in at TRX or machine?

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Nov 12 2024, 11:25 PM
ericlaiys
post Nov 13 2024, 10:17 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 13 2024, 12:13 AM)
I’m sure you can trade in at Apple store TRX.

No wonder I check trade in list of switch and don’t have mac mini.
Machine also don’t have the list for Mac mini. So mean the only choice is go trx and apple online
ericlaiys
post Nov 13 2024, 11:01 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(69ers @ Nov 13 2024, 10:48 AM)
any idea when this gonna be available in malaysia? This base mac mini is so tempting
wait for sirim to pass first. No pass, no stock. It going to take 1 month since sg just available online
ericlaiys
post Nov 13 2024, 10:00 PM

7,529 posts

MY availability won't be so fast. SG delivery date now
05/12/2024 - 12/12/2024
Currently physical store not available
ericlaiys
post Nov 16 2024, 07:03 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 15 2024, 11:48 PM)
Dont so gan jeong...haha..my wild guess next week Mon/Tuesday Approve, agak Friday on sales. Before dec can get already.
i doubt so. SG now delay delivery till 9- 16 dec. So MY unit, should be same time or later
You can order online but delivery highly push back due to high demand. Quite impossible for them to priority order from MY

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Nov 16 2024, 07:04 AM
ericlaiys
post Nov 16 2024, 11:26 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 13 2024, 12:13 AM)
I’m sure you can trade in at Apple store TRX.

No wonder I check trade in list of switch and don’t have mac mini.
Trx also dont accept trade in for mac mini and iMac. according to them, these devices can only trade in from online. initially thought want to trade in and get gift card but after checked their system mentioning cannot.
well at least now i know the process and do it when online available
ericlaiys
post Nov 17 2024, 12:40 AM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 16 2024, 11:37 PM)
Apple has a distinct advantage over other companies. They designed their own chip and operating system, which means their silicon is optimized for their devices. The Windows PC market is incredibly vast for desktops, and it’s unlikely that Qualcomm would create a chip to support AMD or Nvidia GPUs. So far, I don’t see any reason why they would enter the desktop market. Their pricing strategy is also quite discouraging for potential adopters of ARM devices.
Microsoft tried before using their Windows RT with arm and failed miserablely. Thought arm is dead, But then Apple come to the rescue and released M1. Did not expect it run well on their own chip & OS ,then continue to expand till M4.

Moving away from using Intel seem to be correct way.

Now apple seem to be in better position especially saw what they tried to do with ram increased to 16GB on all models [thanks to AI].

This year i feel apple really nail it with correct strategy on M4 Mac mini. Even ipad move to 128GB storage compare to previous 64GB.

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Nov 17 2024, 12:42 AM
ericlaiys
post Nov 17 2024, 01:06 PM

7,529 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 17 2024, 12:06 PM)
Jumping on the bandwagon and everyone's excitement, what's your take on upgrading the MM's internal SSD from 256GB to 512GB?
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 17 2024, 12:13 PM)
Don’t do it. Get an external 1TB ssd for cheaper.
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 17 2024, 12:21 PM)
So it's not true that should there be insufficient RAM, it'll draw off power from the SSD and uhmm slow the entire system down or something to that effect? The more I read the more confused I get man.... but I am definitely glad to hear your reply  rclxm9.gif

Might need to bother you though as I start learning more about external SSDs/NVMe, etc etc.  rclxub.gif
Internal storage 256gb more than enough. I have survived 4 years. I just add on 2tb nvme
Waste of money to upgrade internal storage. Besides trade in value is only higher when base model rather than upgrade.

Ram bump to 16gb memory is great for normal use.
Last time my m1 run 8gb and 256gb can do video editing as well

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Nov 17 2024, 01:07 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:56 AM