11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro

yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 01:09 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

I’m not sure if it’s the best time to order right now. School is almost out, and I remember when I ordered my M1 Mac mini around November or December. There weren’t any free or cheap add-ons. When I ordered my M2 Mac mini last July, I didn’t get any add-ons either, but after about a week or two, I checked again and could add on free AirPods 2 or 3, or even AirPods Pro. It felt a bit unfair, so I called Apple and told them about the situation. They were happy to give me the AirPods 2 for free. I’m really impressed with Apple’s customer service. I think if you’re looking to buy something with freebies, you might want to wait until January or so. Maybe when school starts again. I also helped my friend buy an iPad before through the EDU account, and we got some freebies during the back-to-school season.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 10:40 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Nov 19 2024, 10:22 AM)
Back to school promo u mean? Wasn’t it in july each year?
Yes July have, I bought it before. I think around early or the year also have.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 11:36 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 19 2024, 11:02 AM)
hahah....if we can wait till july. I will buy when release
same here. since I sold my M2 mac mini liao.. I don’t really like using windows…those copy from phone paste on mac features.. are convenient for my work.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 04:06 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(shahr04360 @ Nov 19 2024, 03:14 PM)
Base M4 model, A3238 just get approved.
Came here to say that. lol. Finally. Hopefully can order by Friday

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 19 2024, 04:43 PM
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 04:13 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 19 2024, 04:09 PM)
can order also useless...no stock availability. SG only receive on 10 Dec- 18 Dec
At least you will know when can get rather than just waiting for a date
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 04:45 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(fabvader @ Nov 19 2024, 04:27 PM)
How to do the edu account? Asking for a friend.  console.gif
If you have .edu email. Can verify through unidays.com. I got one ready too, using it for my apple music student price RM8.90/month.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 05:03 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 19 2024, 04:54 PM)
true. i dont put high hope that we will get earlier than SG
If we can order on friday. I expect maybe mid Dec la shipping. Won't until January.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 08:01 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 19 2024, 07:00 PM)
My M1 Mac mini run 256GB. Can survive for 4 years with external nvme (2TB). So should be fine for me
The base model price is too good which makes upgrading storage not worth it. if you buying something maybe RM4k, adding storage 512 with RM850, it seems fine. But at RM2069/2699 adding RM850 is too much lol.. that’s over 40% of the total price. It’s either getting base model or go to M4 Pro.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 08:03 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 19 2024, 08:01 PM)
Do you all plan to beli AppleCare+ with your Mac Mini's? At RM499 it's a little steep eh for a product that doesn't have a screen/battery/or won't be moving around much?
Nop. Desktop not worth getting applecare+ since it’s mostly sitting on the desk. Maybe portable device or imac worth la incase you dropped it, crack the screen etc..
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 08:06 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 19 2024, 08:04 PM)
Solution..buy 2699, then change ssd from 256 to 2TB..price agak 1.2k settle..hahahhhaa
Upgrade ram also won’t upgrade storage.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 08:12 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 19 2024, 08:09 PM)
I was originally looking at the 24/512 but after all the talk about external SSD, I think maybe I'll just save and go with 24/256. Will have to ask you si-fu here about external SSDs later.
Been using mac mini since 2021, my available storage usually around 150gb. Using external nvme ssd. Depends what you do with your machine, 16GB for macOS is more than enough. Cannot compare macOS ram and windows PC ram. I think 16GB ram is more like 32GB ram in windows.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 08:21 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 19 2024, 08:15 PM)
It's my first Mac Mini. I'm currently on a 2016 MBP running 8GB RAM but 512GB storage so I'm a bit concerned about 256GB. Am gonna be running a couple of instances of game so figured I better push RAM to 24GB. Not necessary?
It’s better you get external nvme thunderbolt 4 storage. With RM850, you can get 2TB at least. You can install apps to external. I think 16GB is really fine. But if you have the budget, definitely 24GB will have more headroom. But 16GB will be enough for some gaming already. You want more ram if you’re running AI models locally like chatgpt.
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 08:28 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 19 2024, 08:24 PM)
Nah, I rarely use AI. Yeah I like it when you help me save $$.......... the base model should be a far cry from my current system, betul kah? I think currently I'm using 2.9Ghz i5/8GB RAM/512GB HDD
the base model will blowwwwwwwwww your intel mac away lol..for some reason i thought you were using M series 8GB which isn’t bad compared to intel mac 8GB.. lol..
yvliew
post Nov 19 2024, 10:23 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 19 2024, 10:11 PM)

If can find outlet It is quite portable already as it only needs a cable and not those laptop power brick cable. I would try going to cafe and set it up with ipad(as monitor)+magic keyboard with the mac mini.
yvliew
post Nov 20 2024, 07:29 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(69ers @ Nov 20 2024, 03:17 PM)
almost end of november already, no release date in sight. Haiyooo
I really hope by friday. If not then latest by next week wed maybe.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 20 2024, 07:29 PM
yvliew
post Nov 20 2024, 08:09 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Nov 20 2024, 07:48 PM)
Apple only refresh the catalogue on Fri and Wed?
May I know most of you will buy it from Apple online or tru physical store?
Usually apple launch their sales on Friday. Always pre order friday, release on the following friday..
yvliew
post Nov 20 2024, 08:19 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Nov 20 2024, 08:14 PM)
So those who purchase it online will get it to ship to them before the release date or Apple online will start shipping after the release following friday?
no la. for us won't have pre order. I think we can directly buy but the shipment date it's probably going to be around mid december la..

yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 12:17 AM

3,918 posts

Does anyone here actually have experience with EDU account buying more than 1 mac on the same order? Can buy more than 1 or not?

I’ve always only bought 1 mac at a time or 1 ipad at a time. I’ve read before the terms it says that can only buy 1 mac, 1 ipad etc once a calendar year.

Althought I’ve tried adding 2 Macbook in the cart, it was able to go to checkout page. Have not try to go further than that.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 21 2024, 12:23 AM
yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 12:46 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 21 2024, 12:35 AM)
Just try what's the harm?

Personally never really buy much on Apple website. Even my iPad recently I bought from Lazada cause good deal (better than edu account).

But this Mac mini M4 for sure will buy from apple site cause cheaper than anywhere else.

Now I cannot decide between standard M4 or to go with the M4 Pro for larger RAM and storage too, but too bad M4 Pro doesn't have discount. So most probably just go with standard M4.
wouldn’t want to risk of order getting cancelled and delay shipment etc… i will probably buy one first and try buy another later then.
yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 11:48 AM

3,918 posts

Found this on TaobAo and cost around RM750 for 1TB

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:25 AM