i think still got chances... Wait China only...cause the logic board for SSD compare to other is simpler. If you notice, dosdude1 Mac Studio swap is using the logic board he printed outside not the stock Apple 1. So changes still there but see who will make it.
The nand module is same accross mac studio/pro and now mini right? If not mistaken, iphone also uses the same nand? If so the nand wouldn't be too difficult to source. Now just see if they make the board to host it.
just wait for SIRIM's approval. Possibly on the same or next day of approval you can purchase via apple online ready.
everyday checking sirim site. Still none yet lol.. I think after approval at least a week before appear online on apple store. iPad mini approed on 31st oct. Think start selling around 6th nov.
look foo sirim enquiry then Product information, just type in Mac Mini and apple respectively. You can then sort the date. The latest one was last year mac mini m2. When it’s approved, it will appear there. So far still no. Hoping by Friday got la.
Jeng jeng jeng!! It's coming soon boysssss. Ready your wallet!
This is the M4 Pro model. Hoping to see other models approved tomorrow. This is normal as M2 Mac mini also got 2 dates for other models, 1 day after another.
2 iMac already approved by sirim. Tomorrow wait them tabao breakfast first. makan dulu.. maybe by afternoon will update. Lol
example of last year Mac mini
This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 14 2024, 06:54 PM
still relax minum makan.. its friday perhaps. no time to put any real work. so far still just 1 M4 Pro model approved. Maybe need to wait til Monday then. As usual the way civil servant work. relax first. work comes last.
They added 2 Macbook Pro models instead,
This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 15 2024, 06:17 PM
This Mac Mini M4 probably even the cheapest Windows based arm system at the moment (if you install windows on it of course)
I've seen the Thinkpad and Asus offerings running the snapdragon X Elite/Plus, and they are all above RM6000-RM10000. I've not even seen desktop base windows arm systems yet in the market.
My question is do you know any windows offerings that can match the cost/value of the Mac Mini M4 at this moment?
It’s hard to match this M4 Mac mini cost to performance value. For 2.5k you get the fastest single core cpu in the market. Edu is 2k. You can’t built any pc with such performance.
I don’t believe X Elite is targeting desktops. It’s specifically designed for mobile devices. And since it’s not significantly cheaper either, I think it’s more practical to build a desktop PC with better software support. I believe X Elite faces competition from Apple, AMD, and Intel. AMD’s new mobile chip efficiency is already quite impressive, and I don’t see any reason why people would choose ARM over X86 if battery life is comparable.
The M4 chip in the Mac Mini M4 was also designed for mobile (iPhone/iPad) which later came to the Mac and MacBooks.
It's only a matter of time until you see ARM bases desktop PCs too (probably running snapdragon).
Anyways you're right cost to performance is amazing here, it leads me to believe Apple is trying to corner the desktop market from the old Wintel Era (windows/Intel).
Apple has a distinct advantage over other companies. They designed their own chip and operating system, which means their silicon is optimized for their devices. The Windows PC market is incredibly vast for desktops, and it’s unlikely that Qualcomm would create a chip to support AMD or Nvidia GPUs. So far, I don’t see any reason why they would enter the desktop market. Their pricing strategy is also quite discouraging for potential adopters of ARM devices.
So it's not true that should there be insufficient RAM, it'll draw off power from the SSD and uhmm slow the entire system down or something to that effect? The more I read the more confused I get man.... but I am definitely glad to hear your reply
Might need to bother you though as I start learning more about external SSDs/NVMe, etc etc.
With 16GB now, it would mostly be sufficient. I used to have the m2 base 8GB and 256GB. It uses swap(get storage as ram) when ram is not sufficient and it's only uses around 1-2GB more. The max I've seen was 5-6GB swap because I was running big ai language model.
Another question - will I be able to run applications off the external SSD drive? I'm thinking, if others are porting their entire Home folder and booting their system from it, I should be able to run applications like Photoshop and maybe some games from it right?
Booting off external ssd wil disable the ability to use Apple intelligence and Apple Pay. I have thought about it but knowing the caveats, wouldn’t go to this route. You can install apps to external ssd though straight from AppStore. Or just moving the apps from application folder to external ssd.
For external drive I plan to get Acasis TBU405ProM1 + WD SN850X 2TB combo is that a good combo? Not sure the 850X is a bit overkill for TB4 or I shall just get the SN770 intead?
depend price difference. But surely the speed is overkill for TB4. It's already limited to around 3500-4000MB/s. Unless you get thunderbolt 5 enclosure and M4 Pro. But don't think market has any TB5 enclosure yet.