11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro

yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 11:51 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 21 2024, 10:46 AM)
lol already got people selling the 3D print chassis

https://s.shopee.com.my/9pNGlGHr4V
That's actually illegal. Someone did the same thing on reddit selling their print.

His shopify page already deleted now.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 21 2024, 11:56 AM
yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 12:04 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(ephunk @ Nov 21 2024, 11:42 AM)
I Ask 3D printer seller. They quote price around that too.
i asked my friend, its only about RM35

Double seems fair because fail rate quite high sometimes.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 21 2024, 12:04 PM
yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 12:27 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Nov 21 2024, 12:14 PM)
Any recommended external SSD for Mac Mini M4?
Samsung T5 seems lower speed for TB4, and T9 seems incompatible.
How about Samsung 990 Pro with enclosure?
Overkill because limited by TB4 speed around 3500MB/s.. Get a TB4 enlosure that comes with fan inside for better cooling. Keeping it cool is important if you are going to store a lot apps and runs off external. If overheat it will disconnect itself. You can take a look at UGREEN and ORICO enclosure. Don't know specific model name. I've seen them on Taobao.

Can look for Kingston KC3000. Around 350 for 1TB and 800TBW compared to many 1TB ssd that's only 600TBW

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 21 2024, 12:29 PM
yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 02:21 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Nov 21 2024, 12:50 PM)
My Acasis enclosure and WD SN850X 2TB are on the way lol. The nvme is a bit overkill but I'm gonna run apps off it and some video/photo editing so I think no harm. Just afraid about overheating with the dram on it but I saw quite a few reviews the Acasis case while not getting the maximum speed it's very good at temp control with the fan.
DRAM is useless in an enclosure i think? It won’t be able to use the DRAM. Only if you install it on motherboard slot. I might be wrong. Read it somewhere.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 21 2024, 02:22 PM
yvliew
post Nov 21 2024, 02:23 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 21 2024, 02:07 PM)
So anyone thinking of hooking up a power bank to this thing can think otherwise. Price + mobility will be a factor here.

We're looking at RM2500 + RM1000, might as well just get a MacBook (although with slower processor).

Don’t forget a portable monitor.
yvliew
post Nov 22 2024, 10:51 AM

3,918 posts

Guess not launching today.
yvliew
post Nov 22 2024, 05:32 PM

3,918 posts

So there is 3 method i'm considering now to use the external ssd.

1. Only use external as normal storage and moving and install apps directly to it. When unplugged, nothing going to happen. In this case I have a 20gbps 1TB ssd I can use.

2. Moving whole home folder to external SSD. Everything will be installed there including some apps data. External ssd will have to be plugged in all the time. Not sure what will happened if mac wasn't boot up together with it or when it's unplugged. But it is also recommended to create a backup user with admin priviledge on the mac if that happens. In this case I will get the USB 4 enclosure + PCIE4 NVME SSD to fully utilize the usb 4 speed of 40gbps.

3. Install macOS to external SSD. This will disable Apple Intelligence and apple pay. This method I will skip.

So I'm undecided on method 1 or 2 right now. It's better to decide before start using the mac. If anyone wants tutorial on method 2 I can share the youtube link.

What do you guys think? Which one would you opt for if you're going for the base model?

Found even cheaper combo for the external SSD on taobao.
yvliew
post Nov 22 2024, 05:47 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 22 2024, 05:37 PM)
using 1 since 4 years ago
Yeah previously I am also using method 1. But then some apps still store data locally in home folder. Apps like ai and ollama. Those are very big and have big models files. So now have to think which to go for.
yvliew
post Nov 22 2024, 10:52 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 22 2024, 08:49 PM)
not in English but you can understand the concept, you can use any old laptop lying around with the mac mini m4.

a mac within a mac... so maception? why though?
yvliew
post Nov 23 2024, 12:03 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 22 2024, 10:58 PM)
Give life back to an old MacBook or iMac
will need a good capture card as there may be high latency. I have tried it before and not really good.
yvliew
post Nov 23 2024, 11:07 PM

3,918 posts

Finally decided to get the 1TB ssd and enclosure to move Home folder to external. Total damage RM439.

Also my friend has helped me printed this.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 23 2024, 11:15 PM
yvliew
post Nov 24 2024, 12:23 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Nov 24 2024, 06:27 AM)
Waiting for the launch…. Anyone if this can claim lifestyle tax relief?😄
Surely can. It’s computer. I am also planning to do this that’s why want to buy it within 2024..lol
yvliew
post Nov 25 2024, 11:41 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Nov 25 2024, 11:15 PM)
Talking about insider info. I saw a clip on douyin which showing modder is adding 2TB to 256GB, he shows the machine which is comes with 3 pin plug and guess what? A MCMC sticker on it too...LOL
can share the link?
yvliew
post Nov 26 2024, 01:01 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ Nov 26 2024, 12:15 AM)
damn that's real. So you mean the mcmc staff.. sold it maybe high price to china buyer to make video..?

we haven't even launch here so it's not like they can purchase it from our store.

but funny thing is China already launched. No reason they get from malaysia..

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 26 2024, 01:09 AM
yvliew
post Nov 26 2024, 01:22 AM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 26 2024, 01:13 AM)
How possible they get MCMC machine.... possible SG also use MCMC?
I found some article on it...
https://mcmc.gov.my/en/media/press-clipping...accelerate-grow
It says nothing about certification. So I don't think SG uses mcmc. Somemore SG launched earlier than us means they had already certified earlier than us. This is really strange how they got the mcmc certified device on their hands before launch.
yvliew
post Nov 26 2024, 08:48 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 26 2024, 05:51 PM)
Check out 'Mac Mini Pro Mac Mini M4 Enclosure', available at RM229 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/PSUozgfTPOb

So expensive!!!
https://s.shopee.com.my/60Age1tKFz

Macam macam ada…. HEPA filter for Mac mini 😂😂😂
my friend already printed for me RM35 je.. filament + electric.
yvliew
post Nov 26 2024, 09:05 PM

3,918 posts

guys.. 1 day how many times you check apple.com to see mac mini available or not? lol
yvliew
post Nov 26 2024, 09:47 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 26 2024, 09:37 PM)
I check here better knowing lowyat forumer will post here immediately 🤣
i will order first then post here haha
yvliew
post Nov 28 2024, 02:56 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Nov 28 2024, 10:41 AM)
Hi. Like everyone else I am just waiting for the mini to go on sale. My plan is to use my 2020 27" iMac as the main display. I have tried using a video capture card dongle to connect my Macbook to the iMac as a trial but really found the resolution lacking and pales in comparison to the actual iMac display. How will it look like when I finally hook up the mini to it? Anyone has experience with the previous generation mac mini?
is this 5K display? I think some ppl would actually DIY it to become a full fledge monitor by adding a board to it. But if your imac still working it’s probably not worth it? Maybe can try Luna? Not sure if can use full 5k resolution or not. can search more about it.
yvliew
post Nov 28 2024, 03:19 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Nov 28 2024, 03:06 PM)
I bought a USB c luna display dongle and the lag and resolution was poor. Was really disappointed by such an expensive purchase. What do mean by "adding a board"?
alternatively maybe try look into DUET.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 28 2024, 03:21 PM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:41 AM