[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro

yvliew
post Nov 5 2024, 10:25 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 5 2024, 05:34 PM)
Got rid of it for 1.5k base model M2. It will be damn hard to sell later since retailer will be throwing price for new units as well.
listed on FB marketplace, within couple hours sold liao my mac mini… 1800 i include satechi dock which i tried selling for so months and unable to sell.. bundle it seems more attractive deal.
Barricade
post Nov 5 2024, 11:03 PM

4,142 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 5 2024, 10:25 PM)
listed on FB marketplace, within couple hours sold liao my mac mini… 1800 i include satechi dock which i tried selling for so months and unable to sell.. bundle it seems more attractive deal.
Now the waiting game - hope the official launch soon!!
yvliew
post Nov 5 2024, 11:27 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 5 2024, 11:03 PM)
Now the waiting game - hope the official launch soon!!
Yeah. Meanwhile back to Windows or ipad connect to external monitor. I hope latest by Dec will release la..
quadcube
post Nov 6 2024, 07:37 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(tomato people @ Nov 5 2024, 07:43 PM)
Its time to upgrade my old gen ipad...but at the same time my  desktop also dying...price wise both quite tempting tongue.gif
then.... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

i also thinking of getting an ipad mini for work for the external display support
hellfried
post Nov 6 2024, 09:20 AM

436 posts

Anyone have used Astropad's luna display with their mac mini? My plan is to get the new M4 mac mini and then use my 2020 intel imac as the main display.

This post has been edited by hellfried: Nov 6 2024, 09:21 AM
jonthebaptist
post Nov 6 2024, 12:56 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 5 2024, 10:25 PM)
Are you planning buy the M4 Mac Mini? If yes why not keep the satechi dock, more ports is always better.

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-mi...t-work.2442026/
Redundant
post Nov 6 2024, 01:36 PM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

Thinking of switching to Mac mini M4 from PC. However, I've been reading that Mac OS will not look good on our normal 27" 1080p and 2K resolution monitors correct?
69ers
post Nov 6 2024, 01:39 PM

25 posts

When they gonna release this mac mini in malaysia?
Im planning to buy the base model 16/256 for my study in web development.
Mainly will be used for learning TypeScript/NodeJs.

Will this base mac mini m4 be adequate for my usage?
yvliew
post Nov 6 2024, 01:51 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 6 2024, 12:56 PM)
Are you planning buy the M4 Mac Mini? If yes why not keep the satechi dock, more ports is always better.

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/mac-mi...t-work.2442026/
Yes i'm planning to get the m4 Mac mini.

Satechi dock has issue with losing power all the time causing ssd to removed abruptly. This issue since M1 mac mini.. even still persist on m2 mac mini. I already didn't use it for many months after getting another adapter with m.2 slot, hdmi output and power with usb so it won't lose connection because lack of power. The dock size also made for old mac mini design anyway. It won't sit nicely with the m4 mac mini.
fabvader
post Nov 6 2024, 01:54 PM

78 posts

Will be possible to play games in say high settings?

yvliew
post Nov 6 2024, 01:55 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(fabvader @ Nov 6 2024, 01:54 PM)
M4 max might be able to.

What kind of games are you talking about?
jonthebaptist
post Nov 6 2024, 02:04 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(fabvader @ Nov 6 2024, 01:54 PM)
QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 6 2024, 01:55 PM)
M4 max might be able to.

You probably can expect iPad/iPhone level games for now, but we probably going to see some AAA Games seeing how powerful the spec of the M4 is and how cheap Apple made the new Mac mini M4.

https://www.yahoo.com/tech/m4-mac-mini-appl...-200417831.html
yvliew
post Nov 6 2024, 02:26 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 6 2024, 02:04 PM)
You probably can expect iPad/iPhone level games for now, but we probably going to see some AAA Games seeing how powerful the spec of the M4 is and how cheap Apple made the new Mac mini M4.

https://www.yahoo.com/tech/m4-mac-mini-appl...-200417831.html
There are few AAA games available already.

You can also compare it with iPad Pro M4 gameplay of Assassin's Creed Mirage.

Seeing how M3 already can perform quite good, M4 should handle it even better. Also 8GB vs 16 GB ram helps a lot with the FPS as well.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 6 2024, 02:27 PM
jonthebaptist
post Nov 6 2024, 02:47 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 6 2024, 02:26 PM)
There are few AAA games available already.

You can also compare it with iPad Pro M4 gameplay of Assassin's Creed Mirage.

Seeing how M3 already can perform quite good, M4 should handle it even better. Also 8GB vs 16 GB ram helps a lot with the FPS as well.

Yes this is probably the beginning of AAA gaming on the Mac. This Mac Mini M4 probably cheaper then the next PlayStation/Xbox/Nintendo.
jonthebaptist
post Nov 6 2024, 03:23 PM

1,036 posts

For anyone wondering how to use iPad as a display for Mac mini: https://www.arzopa.com/blogs/how-to/ipad-as...or-for-mac-mini

https://youtu.be/S_0KfcKyTBY?si=bVJYixfYd-QFQidj

https://youtu.be/zHrTqQ2FSUE?si=xbQV9BkB7HdP2R9t

Credit: https://www.reddit.com/r/macmini/s/TOKif239Tm
fabvader
post Nov 6 2024, 05:48 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 6 2024, 01:55 PM)
M4 max might be able to.

not very demanding ones, diablo 4, CS go
yvliew
post Nov 6 2024, 05:59 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(fabvader @ Nov 6 2024, 05:48 PM)
not very demanding ones, diablo 4, CS go
Since those games are not ported, you will need to install it through apple’s game porting toolkit 2. That will reduce some performance and not sure how it will work with online games also because of anti cheat.

Looks quite promising on M2 Max which M4 is more powerful than it. Online works too.

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 6 2024, 06:15 PM
jonthebaptist
post Nov 6 2024, 10:55 PM

1,036 posts

Is this true?

This post has been edited by jonthebaptist: Nov 6 2024, 11:01 PM
jonthebaptist
post Nov 6 2024, 11:01 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 6 2024, 10:55 PM)
Is this true?

Pukimak it's true by RM50

This post has been edited by jonthebaptist: Nov 6 2024, 11:02 PM
shyan90's
post Nov 6 2024, 11:03 PM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,189 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 6 2024, 11:01 PM)
Pukimak it's true by RM50

doublet the power, lesser price.

55 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:39 AM