55 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro

yvliew
post Nov 7 2024, 02:35 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Nov 6 2024, 10:55 PM)
Is this true?

yeah. that’s the problem with apple. Every upgrade is $200. This is like their standard price. I’d rather get 2 mac mini than upgrade it like that.
Barricade
post Nov 7 2024, 01:30 PM

4,143 posts

Check out 'Mac Mini M4 ( latest/ 1 Year apple warranty / Book', available at RM1,900 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/uxyj5jp3jOb

Cheaper than education price. Sounds fishy
TSfarkingdom
post Nov 7 2024, 02:11 PM

594 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 7 2024, 01:30 PM)
Check out 'Mac Mini M4 ( latest/ 1 Year apple warranty / Book', available at RM1,900 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/uxyj5jp3jOb

I’d rather get from apple to be honest than risking it here
yvliew
post Nov 7 2024, 02:25 PM

3,918 posts

why so cheap.. but need deposit 900.. 5 stars lagi tu.. don’t know real review or not. i wouldn’t risk 1900 for it.
Redundant
post Nov 7 2024, 02:55 PM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Nov 6 2024, 01:36 PM)
Thinking of switching to Mac mini M4 from PC. However, I've been reading that Mac OS will not look good on our normal 27" 1080p and 2K resolution monitors correct?
Mind to share what monitors are u guys plan on pairing together with the mac mini M4? smile.gif
dwRK
post Nov 7 2024, 02:57 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

sometimes got some legit hard to believe deals around...

got a latest top of the range legion 5 for 2k less than other sellers on shopee... listed for months... after i buy others started buying... lol...anyways dyod...

shyan90's
post Nov 7 2024, 05:00 PM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,196 posts

This 1 is legit.. Proper shop...but i think better get it in Malaysia better..later he get your deposit maybe need few more week only can send u the unit...
Barricade
post Nov 7 2024, 06:09 PM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 7 2024, 05:00 PM)
This 1 is legit.. Proper shop...but i think better get it in Malaysia better..later he get your deposit maybe need few more week only can send u the unit...
Surprisingly he can sell cheaper than education price. Must be their profit margin is damn high. Deposit is a turn off…. If he is a proper shop he should stock up on the mini
yvliew
post Nov 7 2024, 06:12 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 7 2024, 06:09 PM)
Surprisingly he can sell cheaper than education price. Must be their profit margin is damn high. Deposit is a turn off…. If he is a proper shop he should stock up on the mini
Surprisingly many items are a lot cheaper. Really wonder what lubang he use to get those cheap items. But it’s kinda weird that mostly u need to wait weeks to 2 months. Macam sus… I mean they not scam you. sus how they get their hands on the item.
giggs_509
post Nov 7 2024, 09:53 PM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Nov 7 2024, 02:55 PM)
Mind to share what monitors are u guys plan on pairing together with the mac mini M4?  smile.gif
My small budget maybe getting dell s2722qc
ipohps3
post Nov 7 2024, 10:04 PM

1,974 posts

Barricade
post Nov 8 2024, 09:43 AM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Nov 7 2024, 02:55 PM)
Mind to share what monitors are u guys plan on pairing together with the mac mini M4?  smile.gif
DELL U2724DE Thunderbolt 120Hz Type C

https://s.shopee.com.my/9f3Vl33Wjh
shyan90's
post Nov 8 2024, 01:29 PM

1,196 posts

What a great news...the SSD IS NO LONGER SOLDER! JUST SAME AS MAC STUDIO! Can add into my cart tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Nov 8 2024, 01:29 PM
Barricade
post Nov 8 2024, 01:41 PM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 8 2024, 01:29 PM)
What a great news...the SSD IS NO LONGER SOLDER! JUST SAME AS MAC STUDIO! Can add into my cart tongue.gif
Which SSD brand/model is acceptable for an upgrade? I'm sure it requires certain spec only?
yvliew
post Nov 8 2024, 01:41 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 8 2024, 01:29 PM)
But this does not mean it's easy to swap isnt it? Didn't they lock the ssd or something with the mac studio?
Barricade
post Nov 8 2024, 01:47 PM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 8 2024, 01:41 PM)
But this does not mean it's easy to swap isnt it? Didn't they lock the ssd or something with the mac studio?
Requires an IPSW restore after the upgrade.
yvliew
post Nov 8 2024, 01:54 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 8 2024, 01:47 PM)
Requires an IPSW restore after the upgrade.
Means you need another mac. From past reviews of the mac studio, some swapping higher capacity to the mac studio and it refused to restore as well. Not sure if that has changed.
yvliew
post Nov 8 2024, 02:06 PM

3,918 posts

shyan90's
post Nov 8 2024, 02:13 PM

1,196 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 8 2024, 01:41 PM)
Which SSD brand/model is acceptable for an upgrade? I'm sure it requires certain spec only?
Too bad,these SSD market still dont have right now. Maybe previously due to it only applicable in MAC STUDIO which demand is not that much...but to mac mini, demand will be huge.

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 8 2024, 01:41 PM)
easy swap.. but u need another M series mac to perform restore. Plus these SSD just Memory without controller.. Controller is inside M4...Market do not have these SSD yet.

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 8 2024, 01:54 PM)
Means you need another mac. From past reviews of the mac studio, some swapping higher capacity to the mac studio and it refused to restore as well. Not sure if that has changed.
Changed already..you can check this video..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDFCurB3-0Q

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Nov 8 2024, 02:20 PM
yvliew
post Nov 8 2024, 02:56 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Nov 8 2024, 02:13 PM)
Too bad,these SSD market still dont have right now. Maybe previously due to it only applicable in MAC STUDIO which demand is not that much...but to mac mini, demand will be huge.
easy swap.. but u need another M series mac to perform restore. Plus these SSD just Memory without controller.. Controller is inside M4...Market do not have these SSD yet.
Changed already..you can check this video..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDFCurB3-0Q
So it’s doable but it’s not simple or you can even easily get the nand chip or the module. With mac mini launching and would definitely sell more. Hopefully these memory module will be made more and cheaper. This will make repairability easier since the SSD has finite of writes and with memory swapping, it would wear out faster as well.

55 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:34 AM