127 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

tgeoklin
post Sep 16 2009, 07:43 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 15 2009, 08:34 PM)
@vampbreak,
Eh.. no need 2-3 days for approval lah.  1 call is good enough smile.gif
Yeah, 1 call is good enough but they still take their time about it. Last time I tried, they took 1 week to approve the request and it was just for a measly RM100K, which UOB approved in just an hour. Or maybe you are on their prefer customer lists hmm.gif
bingozero
post Sep 16 2009, 09:01 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

I want to pay my AMEX gold cc statement bill, while I going to ATM machine, found that it should enter the 16 digit of cc number, but AMEX show 15 digit number, what should I enter in the last blank? Just ignore it?
MilesAndMore
post Sep 16 2009, 11:02 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Sep 16 2009, 09:01 AM)
I want to pay my AMEX gold cc statement bill, while I going to ATM machine, found that it should enter the 16 digit of cc number, but AMEX show 15 digit number, what should I enter in the last blank? Just ignore it?
You can't pay for your AMEX Gold CC (the one without Maybank logo) via any Maybank CDM. Not really sure if you can transfer money from your Maybank savings/checking account through the ATM but last time i always helped my mom to pay her AMEX Personal charge card bill over the counter. But since it is always hard to find a parking space at the Maybank building, i decided to apply for a Maybank savings account. Now i usually go to Maybank at night to deposit some money into my savings account, then i will go home and transfer the money to AMEX via M2U. It is so much more convenient this way tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 16 2009, 05:45 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 16 2009, 11:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Sep 16 2009, 09:01 AM)
cash or cheque? I did pay by cheque at MBB machine.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 16 2009, 11:02 AM)
You can't pay for your AMEX Gold CC (the one without Maybank logo) via any Maybank CDM.
Well, I paid my AMEX Gold CC at Maybank branch last month using the Cheque Deposit Machine. Type my card number and my name came out at machine. However I can't seem to do that for my AMEX charged card where I usually just deposit into the drop box.

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Sep 15 2009, 03:53 PM)
hi all..
i am using Amex gold credit card now.. i have some other Maybank credit cards also. total combined credit limit is 8k

well, i am going to buy a few laptops, for me and friends with it, on 1st October.. hopefully can win that the Longines Watch or Delsey Expandable Cabin Case..

but my credit limit is just 8k.. the laptops i am going to buy cost 9k++

is it possible to call Amex to increase my credit limit to 10k??
if you read my previous posts, AMEX or MBB did entertain my increase in CL twice. Initially for AMEX Gold CC, the CL was combined with my MBB Petronas Gold Card at RM20K. So after getting the card I called the CS and initally was told need to hold the card a few months and then request. So I said go check on my charged card expenses in their system and immediately after checking the CS said he will put in request. Then after few days CS called me and inform CL increased and ask me enough or not and I said no the next day called me and said CL increase to amount I requested.

In your case, I guess if you do have good record with MBB card, no reason why they won't increase your CL.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 15 2009, 09:35 PM)
Just called AMEX to convert our MR to cash rebate. Call was answered in less than 1 minute. Very efficient !  rclxms.gif
YES, AMEX have the best and most curteous CS and truly 24/7 and it offers TOL free for Gold Cards smile.gif

With AMEX Gold CC 5X rewards points I do see my points accumulate very fast. Get extra points at Esso and JJ and same time get their points smile.gif

Now when I log on to AMEX for my charged card, it goes to US site (?).

Anyway, just to update you guys, I notice my 8X rewards points not credited into my account yet, so called CS and he informed me the 8X points will be credited on 25th Sep. Some of you have posted that you have got the 8X (actually 5-6X after subtracting 2X or Turbo 3X).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 16 2009, 11:53 AM
bingozero
post Sep 16 2009, 12:51 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

You can't pay for your AMEX Gold CC (the one without Maybank logo) via any Maybank CDM. Not really sure if you can transfer money from your Maybank savings/checking account but last time i always helped my mom to pay her AMEX Personal charge card bill over the counter. But since it is always hard to find a parking space at the Maybank building, i decided to apply for a Maybank savings account. Now i usually go to Maybank at night to deposit some money into my savings account, then i will go home and transfer the money to AMEX via M2U. It is so much more convenient this way  tongue.gif
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 16 2009, 11:48 AM)
cash or cheque? I did pay by cheque at MBB machine.
Well, I paid my AMEX Gold CC at Maybank branch last month using the Cheque Deposit Machine. Type my card number and my name came out at machine. However I can't seem to do that for my AMEX charged card where I usually just deposit into the drop box.
Usually I pay my Petronas goldcc using ATM by transfer my saving acount money to my credit card, not using CDM.
Go to ATM, select other transaction -> payment -> express payment -> credit card, I just key in my 16 digit credit card number and then it sucessfully transfer, how about AMEX gold cc with 15 digit account number?

This post has been edited by bingozero: Sep 16 2009, 12:51 PM
vin_ann
post Sep 16 2009, 01:20 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Sep 16 2009, 12:51 PM)
Usually I pay my Petronas goldcc using ATM by transfer my saving acount money to my credit card, not using CDM.
Go to ATM, select other transaction -> payment -> express payment -> credit card, I just key in my 16 digit credit card number and then it sucessfully transfer, how about AMEX gold cc with 15 digit account number?
since u already have Maybank saving account, why not utilise the Maybank2u online banking?

u also can pay ur petronas card and amex cc card at the same time.
bingozero
post Sep 16 2009, 01:27 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 16 2009, 01:20 PM)
since u already have Maybank saving account, why not utilise the Maybank2u online banking?

u also can pay ur petronas card and amex cc card at the same time.
If I don't want to use m2u online to pay my AMEX cc bill, any suggestion?
cute_boboi
post Sep 16 2009, 01:44 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Sep 16 2009, 01:27 PM)
If I don't want to use m2u online to pay my AMEX cc bill, any suggestion?
Write cheque. Snail-mail it, or drop into cheque deposit box.
princess_autumn87
post Sep 16 2009, 02:15 PM

Glamorous diva-Ghetto arse
597 posts

You can't pay for your AMEX Gold CC (the one without Maybank logo) via any Maybank CDM. Not really sure if you can transfer money from your Maybank savings/checking account but last time i always helped my mom to pay her AMEX Personal charge card bill over the counter. But since it is always hard to find a parking space at the Maybank building, i decided to apply for a Maybank savings account. Now i usually go to Maybank at night to deposit some money into my savings account, then i will go home and transfer the money to AMEX via M2U. It is so much more convenient this way  tongue.gif
yes, u can jst deposit it and ignore it tho. mbb internet banking transfer also can

Added on September 16, 2009, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Sep 16 2009, 02:24 AM)
@princess_autumn87

In addition to that, the CS did inform me something interesting about the fee.

For plat charge, they will give you another plat charge card with word "A/C" on the card after your name to seperate between personal and business use. This is free and available upon request.

For the plat cc, it's free unless you cancel your plat charge card. Which means, if you cancel you plat charge, then you have to pay for the plat cc e:g RM 800p/a.

And oh, the will bill you the MYR 2380 anual fee immediately after you received the card. sweat.gif
Dear Vampbreak,

wow, tx for updating me these...

i guess we shall experience it now and share u others ltr time. do share yr experience too thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by princess_autumn87: Sep 16 2009, 02:23 PM
TSDozz
post Sep 16 2009, 03:54 PM

2,149 posts

So far no one from AMEX call me to follow up the invitation for plat charge card, i guess they sent out plenty of invitations and no time to entertain one by one. lol.,....
tgeoklin
post Sep 16 2009, 04:52 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 16 2009, 03:54 PM)
So far no one from AMEX call me to follow up the invitation for plat charge card, i guess they sent out plenty of invitations and no time to entertain one by one. lol.,....
Actually, they are like reader digest, apple polish you to give the impressions that you are a specially selected few, but once your RM2K++ is in their a/c, you are just another statistic rclxms.gif

StupidZ
post Sep 16 2009, 10:17 PM

>_< || ◕‿◕
1,287 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 16 2009, 11:48 AM)
Anyway, just to update you guys, I notice my 8X rewards points not credited into my account yet, so called CS and he informed me the 8X points will be credited on 25th Sep. Some of you have posted that you have got the 8X (actually 5-6X after subtracting 2X or Turbo 3X).
Until today, my account still haven't updated the reward point.

I calling CS three time in past few weeks, and give up on it, different CS give different reason, 1st CS said going updated on 15 Sept, 2nd CS said system will update after 15 Sept which is 16 Sept and the last CS said it will be updated on next billing statement. Now you got the information is 25 Sept? Don;t know who can trust now rclxub.gif

sherrina
post Sep 18 2009, 09:46 PM

179 posts

I'm Sherrina. New user of Amex Maybank Gold. But my card don't have Maybank logo. I have no idea why I read that some have Maybank amex with maybank logo and some don't.

I applied for it coz of the 9% per annum interest which is lower that any other visa or mastercard. But now I realized that not many place accept it. For example this evening I went to TM Point to pay bills. They tried my Amex, cannot. I have to use my other Visa instead. The night before I already called Amex CS and asked bout it. They said the Maybank Amex CC can be used at any terminal that accept Visa and Master. But it failed at Telekom.

I tried to find list of places that accept Amex so that I can plan my shopping in advance but failed. Is there anywhere in the internet or website where I can find them?

Since not all shops accept this Maybank Amex, I applied for Maybank Sony card to share the limit with Amex so that whenever I want to shop but the place don't accept Amex, I can use Sony Visa. Too bad I canceled all my old Visa and Mastercard to concentrate on this Amex card only.

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 6 2009, 11:42 AM)
@zenquix,
I don't have a MBB Sony card.. Wondering if anyone used AMEX at Sony Sytle before...
I went to Sony Style few days ago to survey on handycam. I asked about Amex and yes, they said they accept it.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 18 2009, 10:14 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sherrina @ Sep 18 2009, 09:46 PM)
I applied for it coz of the 9% per annum interest which is lower that any other visa or mastercard. But now I realized that not many place accept it. For example this evening I went to TM Point to pay bills. They tried my Amex, cannot. I have to use my other Visa instead. The night before I already called Amex CS and asked bout it. They said the Maybank Amex CC can be used at any terminal that accept Visa and Master. But it failed at Telekom.

I tried to find list of places that accept Amex so that I can plan my shopping in advance but failed. Is there anywhere in the internet or website where I can find them?

TM Point doesn't accept AMEX. You need to look for the AMEX logo or you can just ask the cashier whether they accept AMEX or not. Anyway, below is the list of merchants that accept AMEX.

- Kinokuniya Bookstore
- MPH Bookstore
- Times Bookstore
- Carrefour
- Giant
- Tesco
- Cold Storage
- Guardian
- Watson
- Parkson
- Isetan
- Jaya Jusco
- Metrojaya
- Uda Ocean
- Shell Station
- Petronas (**need to pay at counter)
- ASTRO (**over the counter, by phone or auto-debit only)
- Speedy Video
- SONY STYLE
- DELL
- Chocolates shops in KLIA
- Certain cafe outles in KLIA
- KLIA Express
- KLIA Airport Limo
- Air Asia
- Well known hotels such as Mandarin Oriental, Hilton, Hyatt, Le Meridien, JW Marriott, Westin etc.
- All major hospitals
- All the high-end retail stores in KLCC, Pavillion, Mid Valley, The Gardens etc.
- Most major restaurants such as Pizza Hut, Sushi King, Amarin Heavenly Thai, C-Jade, Athena etc.
- Starbucks
& many more. Just that i couldn't remember all at once.

TM only accept AMEX for auto-debit.

QUOTE(sherrina @ Sep 18 2009, 09:46 PM)
Too bad I canceled all my old Visa and Mastercard to concentrate on this Amex card only.
A big mistake, obviously. You should always carry a VISA and/or Mastercard with you all the time, along with your AMEX. But at least you have the SONY VISA smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 18 2009, 11:30 PM
Shinichi
post Sep 18 2009, 11:25 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 18 2009, 10:14 PM)
TM Point doesn't accept AMEX. You need to look for the AMEX logo or you can just ask the cashier whether they accept AMEX or not. Anyway, below is the list of merchants that accept AMEX.

- Kinokuniya Bookstore
- MPH Bookstore
- Times Bookstore
- Carrefour
- Giant
- Tesco
- Cold Storage
- Guardian
- Watson
- Parkson
- Isetan
- Jaya Jusco
- Metrojaya
- Uda Ocean
- Shell Station
- Petronas (**need to pay at counter)
- ASTRO (**over the counter, by phone or auto-debit only)
- Speedy Video
- SONY STYLE
- DELL
- Chocolates shops in KLIA
- Certain cafe outles in KLIA
- KLIA Express
- KLIA Airport Limo
- Air Asia
- Well known hotels such as Mandarin Oriental, Hilton, Hyatt, Le Meridien, JW Marriott, Westin etc.
- All major hospitals
- All the high-end retail stores in KLCC, Pavillion, Mid Valley, The Gardens etc.
- Most major restaurants such as Pizza Hut, Sushi King, Amarin Heavenly Thai, C-Jade, Athena etc.
- Starbucks
& many more. Just that i couldn't remember all at once.

TM only accept AMEX for auto-debit.
A big mistaken, obviously. You should always carry a VISA and/or Mastercard with you all the time, along with your AMEX. But at least you have the SONY VISA  smile.gif
Great sharing there bro. I think thread owner should update this at front page so other user can easily find the list of merchants that accept Amex... notworthy.gif
jack2
post Sep 18 2009, 11:26 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

I sent email to maybank CS to withdraw my Amex Gold Credit Card application since it is already 1 month and I did not receive any calls from them.

The application was still in process. Yesterday I called Amex CS instead of Maybank and they were quite helpful and checked the status. Since it took time, they called me back later.

The status is withdrawn... haha...

Since I own Amex Gold charge card that invited by Maybank, I don't see there is any big difference among the two cards except that we can pay minimum amount on credit card instead of must pay amount in charge card.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 18 2009, 11:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 18 2009, 11:26 PM)
Since I own Amex Gold charge card that invited by Maybank, I don't see there is any big difference among the two cards except that we can pay minimum amount on credit card instead of must pay amount in charge card.
The main difference would be the point earned. AMEX Gold credit card gives you 5xMR points at selected places whereas all other range of AMEX do not.

Another difference is the no pre-set limit feature for your charge card.
jack2
post Sep 18 2009, 11:47 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 18 2009, 11:32 PM)
The main difference would be the point earned. AMEX Gold credit card gives you 5xMR points at selected places whereas all other range of AMEX do not.

Another difference is the no pre-set limit feature for your charge card.
Aiya.... didn't notice about this 5X.... damn, already withdrawn....

But I use Amex for petrol only and 200+ a month. 200 @ 5X = 1000 points liao.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 19 2009, 12:09 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 18 2009, 11:47 PM)
But I use Amex for petrol only and 200+ a month. 200 @ 5X = 1000 points liao.
Yes. That's correct. You will be able to convert the points into cash rebate in no time thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 19 2009, 12:16 AM
sherrina
post Sep 19 2009, 12:55 AM

179 posts

Thanks, Mileandmore. I would like to suggest that this list to be put up at the front for everyone to view and from time to time we can contribute new places that we know accept Amex.

I wonder why the Amex CS claimed that any credit card terminal can also accept Amex Gold CC coz it's credit card. Not charge card.

I agree bout the points. I have not used in for a month and most of time use it for petrol at Shell and boy, my points already 900++. That's the fastest way of collecting points via cc I've ever seen in my life after been using more than 4 cc from different banks smile.gif

127 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:35 PM