QUOTE(peace230 @ Apr 26 2011, 11:33 AM)

Just want share my old artwork.

Software: Google SketchUp
Render: V-ray/ irender NXT.
Extrat : Photoshop/ After Effect

1) Penguin City (imcomplete)
[attachmentid=2179155]

2) Rifle - ( for more detail & mechanical drawing- skill testing)
[attachmentid=2179157]

2A) Tree - ( for more detail & mechanical drawing- skill testing)
[attachmentid=2179172]

3) F1 - ( for more detail & mechanical drawing- skill testing)
[attachmentid=2179158]

4) HDRI Testing- (testing for outdoor sun light, fog..environment)
[attachmentid=2179156]

5) Irender NXT testing.
[attachmentid=2179160]

Conclusion: Sketchup suitable for beginner, inter-middle, & pro. easy to use, & easy to understand the concept compare to other software.

Modeling need u to explore, rendering need u to practice.

Good Luck..... smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
bit it has limitations bro, owh i wish i can use max
Cyprid Dark ii
post Jan 10 2012, 03:38 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(DeeteeCG @ Jan 8 2012, 04:04 AM)
may i know how do you create light trail in 3dmax??
It actually a simple tube line which I trace from the surrounding object to make the light trail.

& the material is a simple standard material with the glossiness adjustment is less than the specular level in order to make the bloom effect when it combine with nearby light.

Then for the object properties(the light trail) you can chose to have the shadow or not,but my preference is to have the shadow off so it does look realistic.

I can make the light trail using glow properties,but its not MR compatible & it takes a lot of time so I created this easy method to enhanced my rendering feel.

BTW,here my new work.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

It still unfinished & lotsa work ahead....but for those didnt know what is this,this is NASA VAB(Vehicle Assembly Building).The real thing located in John Kennedy Space Centre(NASA HQ),Cape Caneveral,Florida.
It was the biggest ever building & workspace ever built.This because to make a vertical assembly of Saturn V during NASA Apollo moon landing program in the 60's.

To avoid weather on such tropical climate on Florida & to assemble all the main unit on such big rig(Saturn V dry weight alone before NOX & SOB(solid Oxygen Booster) is around 3,000 000 kg) the building has lot of gantry cranes to ensure more working capability & to put the finished product on the NASA space crawler(that thing itself is as wide as 2 8 lane highway,& there is one special highway for the crawler on NASA HQ to take the rocket/space shuttle to LC-39 Launch pad.)

finger_waverz
post Jan 10 2012, 09:54 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(newbiehere @ Jun 24 2011, 04:00 PM)
I am still a newbie in 3d.
critics and comments are welcome
are you using sketchup for modelling/? looked nice...

look at my blog i do most of my work using sketchup and vray.

never had an oppurtunity to use max.

BLOG

DeeteeCG
post Jan 10 2012, 02:19 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ Jan 10 2012, 03:38 AM)
It actually a simple tube line which I trace from the surrounding object to make the light trail.

& the material is a simple standard material with the glossiness adjustment is less than the specular level in order to make the bloom effect when it combine with nearby light.

Then for the object properties(the light trail) you can chose to have the shadow or not,but my preference is to have the shadow off so it does look realistic.

I can make the light trail using glow properties,but its not MR compatible & it takes a lot of time so I created this easy method to enhanced my rendering feel.

BTW,here my new work.

It still unfinished & lotsa work ahead....but for those didnt know what is this,this is NASA VAB(Vehicle Assembly Building).The real thing located in John Kennedy Space Centre(NASA HQ),Cape Caneveral,Florida.
It was the biggest ever building & workspace ever built.This because to make a vertical assembly of Saturn V during NASA Apollo moon landing program in the 60's.

To avoid weather on such tropical climate on Florida & to assemble all the main unit on such big rig(Saturn V dry weight alone before NOX & SOB(solid Oxygen Booster) is around 3,000 000 kg) the building has lot of gantry cranes to ensure more working capability & to put the finished product on the NASA space crawler(that thing itself is as wide as 2 8 lane highway,& there is one special highway for the crawler on NASA HQ to take the rocket/space shuttle to LC-39 Launch pad.)
i see... mind if i ask how do you do the light trail motion blur in 3ds max???
im particular interested in the method u make it has motion blur...
for the light trail i would suggest make it half transparent will looks nicer imo...

your this NASA VAB modeling looks very detail... looking forward for the final art work. smile.gif
hardy_hadi
post Jan 12 2012, 01:45 PM

63 posts

I'm still a newbie in 3D. These are some artworks that i've done using open-source 3D software, Blender.
Please give ur comments /critics. Thanks.

peace230
post Jan 12 2012, 04:21 PM

475 posts

nice... but u need to practice more on reflextion, effect, lighting & shadowing. (adjust the opacity).

The bullet surface do u apply any mode on it, it look like window glass tile effect.

Rendering just need to practice more & more. but sometime u need to edit in PS for more realistic.
Cyprid Dark ii
post Jan 12 2012, 05:12 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(DeeteeCG @ Jan 10 2012, 02:19 PM)
i see... mind if i ask how do you do the light trail motion blur in 3ds max???
im particular interested in the method u make it has motion blur...
for the light trail i would suggest make it half transparent will looks nicer imo...

your this NASA VAB modeling looks very detail... looking forward for the final art work. smile.gif
Motion blur can be made with either max DOF(Depth Of Field) setup or the easiest way like I always do now,is by using PS.

& thanks for the encouragement....BTW,I have made the LUT(Launch Umbillical Tower) setup,& the rocket has been gone through with more details & paintjob.
Still had some to come but as the references on how gargantuan the size of today rocket/space shuttle setup on NASA,here I put 2 human model as size references.

BTW,the feels that I depicted on the render is not the launch sequences or big exhaust fume,but instead prior-to-launch setup which is the maintainence tower is secured the rocket on its place & mist of hydroflourocarbon-with seawater is sprayed through the rocket exhaust noozle to work as sound dampening.(because during launch & burning sequence,the heat from the jet-noozle & the small earthquake nearby with super high desible sound is always happening,& the water would reduces half of the annoyingly devastated desible sound & at the same time cooling the nearby structures.

Details:

asthrophils
post Jan 13 2012, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(dollah_3d @ Apr 27 2011, 08:56 AM)
hi...just want to share..not sure if this is the right place to post.whatever..

wip

by the way, nice job peace230
wow..amazing image, nice color combination
Cyprid Dark ii
post Jan 14 2012, 05:00 AM

640 posts

Making the Transporter Crawler....damnn this thing is so complicated as usual!
But anyway I would try to get it finish. biggrin.gif
DeeteeCG
post Jan 14 2012, 05:17 AM

648 posts

how long it takes for your modeling???
i likes your detail. and your rendering on previous page is awesome.
but the sky doesnt seems to be matching the mood you cast on your rocket...
Secret of Fiore
post Jan 14 2012, 04:59 PM

Cyprid Dark ii,

Your artwork are great!

Cyprid Dark ii
post Jan 15 2012, 11:07 PM

640 posts

Thanks for all the like! biggrin.gif

So,here the progress......I need to finish the traction motor & abit more of the mechanical thing,then have it textures,& going to model the crawlerway.
So still so much more to do.

Close up details on the transporter crawler.

H4XF4XTOR
post Jan 16 2012, 12:56 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

thats quite detail....u must have powerful pc to render all that biggrin.gif
Cyprid Dark ii
post Jan 16 2012, 03:04 PM

640 posts

Finally modeled the traction motor & the tracks.

So now need to put the details like linkage in-between the set of tracks & ventilated hydraulic suspension.
After that I might going to rescale the tracks since I think it was too big for now.

Close-up details on the crawler-transporter:

neoexcaliber
post Jan 16 2012, 06:55 PM

86 posts

Cyprid,
I've been following your awesome artworks for a while but I've always wondered where do you work?
Anyway, I haven't posted here in a while so here's something I worked on since Christmas last year biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by neoexcaliber: Jan 16 2012, 07:16 PM
Cyprid Dark ii
post Jan 16 2012, 08:17 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Jan 16 2012, 06:55 PM)

Cyprid,
I've been following your awesome artworks for a while but I've always wondered where do you work?
Anyway, I haven't posted here in a while so here's something I worked on since Christmas last year  biggrin.gif

Thanks for the words,mate.

BTW,I just a freelancer.But I do got some outside offering & from NASA.(as visual artist/part-CAD/3D model design & concept render department)

Yeah,from NASA...but not from the adminstration,but it comes from some worker that work as part-time lecturer at Centre Art College,CA,but at the same time work at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory for ATHLETE Mobile Habitat Project(since 2008-present)

But,since I still didnt finish study(I need to retired after finished my foundation studies in 2008 due to help my parents running the company) so I need to declined the offer & now I do a freelance jobs & mostly helping my dad as runner for company & making my own farm.

BTW,your work was great,bro!
Where do you work if you dont mind me asking?

So here is some more side rendering of the crawler,& just like any NASA mission,I had to made my own Mission Insignia/Badge. biggrin.gif

Details:

neoexcaliber
post Jan 17 2012, 08:39 AM

86 posts

I'm currently freelancing as well but I might go back to fulltime in a few months. biggrin.gif
Are you based in Malaysia?
Cyprid Dark ii
post Jan 17 2012, 03:54 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(neoexcaliber @ Jan 17 2012, 08:39 AM)

I'm currently freelancing as well but I might go back to fulltime in a few months.  biggrin.gif
Are you based in Malaysia?
Yes,I was based in Malaysia.

Also trying to find contract job actually,or fulltime job with normal office hours.

Anyway good for you to going back to fulltime after all the freelance work. rclxms.gif

So,here is the crawler tracks that I resized,& put some textures on the crawler rig.
Still got so much things to do but I can say it almost finish by looking on the progress altogether.

Close-up details:

OH-
post Jan 23 2012, 02:11 PM

1,010 posts

I've been searching for a thread like this for quite some time, and finally, search is over!
I've been playing around Max and Maya for some time already, and I really like Maya better. Self taught, and I would love to further my studies in this industry when I get my SPM results. As for now, below is the thing I've modelled (My first 3D model without using a tutorial).

It's actually a simple antique wood item I saw at my friends house, so I decided to model it. The 2nd model, I was just trying out Maya's import/export function, so I imported another model which I created without using a tutorial, some random tron like disc and just placed it to ring the item. Need your opinions peeps, thanks! biggrin.gif

Added on January 23, 2012, 2:12 pmBy the way, Cyprid, your works are amazing!
I would certainly create something with that much detail if I didn't kena this friggin PLKN =,=!

This post has been edited by OH-: Jan 23 2012, 02:12 PM
pf-L33
post Jan 23 2012, 04:07 PM

87 posts

hello guys.. dont have much to show, but i do have 2 videos which might be of interest to some of you..

they are a lil introductions to 2 separate projects i produced during my years in the university.

both available on HD 1080p!!

Pavilion to the DarkSide of the Moon, 2010

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bajL8I5pcWw&feature=related

Morphogenesis.Biomimetic Experiment.Centre of Sustainable Tropical Architecture, 2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqmq9BALV6k&feature=related

Feedback and comments please!
critics are highly appreciated.

thanks guys and Happy New Year, Happy Holidays!

This post has been edited by pf-L33: Jan 27 2012, 10:06 AM

118 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:52 AM