Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1
Adrian1981
Dec 23 2010, 10:56 AM

My friend plan to visit Japan during CNY for 1 week .. knowing that most japanese do not speak English, i guess it's better to join a travel agency huh ??
ANyone can recommend any travel agency around Bukit Bintang area ?? cheers !!
Shazzac
Dec 23 2010, 11:11 AM
Maybe just 50% of Japanese speaks English.
But they are very helpful. If you actually join a tour group for your Japan trip, you will sometimes miss out the other things that locals are doing. Tour Groups usually will bring you to touristy places and eat maybe chinese food. That's what I usually hear from my friends.
I usually travel on my own as you get the full experience of actually taking their Metro, the bus, walking around the area where your tour group will never bring you to. Also taking your time to visit each place rather than being chased around by your tour guide to hurry up.
It's actually very easy to navigate in Tokyo. The signs are all in alphabets and also Japanese characters. You could also check out which places you want to go online and find out which train station that the place is at and then go from there onwards.
HTH!
air
Dec 23 2010, 02:20 PM
Hi there, gonna need some help for Japan Visa application(2011 March):
Example:
My bank acc: RM5000 Type: Travelling alone Purpose: LIVE Concert Days of staying: 3 or 5 days
For this case, along with complete documents filled, first time application suppose can pass with breeze?
Thanks for the reply first.
Shazzac
Dec 23 2010, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(air @ Dec 23 2010, 02:20 PM) Hi there, gonna need some help for Japan Visa application(2011 March): Example: My bank acc: RM5000 Type: Travelling alone Purpose: LIVE Concert Days of staying: 3 or 5 days For this case, along with complete documents filled, first time application suppose can pass with breeze? Thanks for the reply first. I believe should pass. Also you need: Letter from your employer Flight Schedule Hotel Confirmation (via email is enough) Itinerary of trip Since you are going for a Concert, photocopy of Concert tickets will be good. So far, i've only heard 1 story from my friends - his cousin kena reject at Narita Airport Immigration - sent back to Malaysia on the next flight out. Didn't give reason though.
RegentCid
Dec 23 2010, 09:35 PM
Visa minimim RM6k in Bank Statement...Rm5k...emm 50 / 50
This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 23 2010, 09:36 PM
b00n
Dec 23 2010, 09:37 PM
delusional
Letter from employer would definitely help a lot especially MNCs.
air
Dec 23 2010, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 23 2010, 09:35 PM) Visa minimim RM6k in Bank Statement...Rm5k...emm 50 / 50 I tot the embassy replied earlier post that there are no such minimum amount except that enough for cover the traveling expenses? How about my trip of 3 days only? Added on December 23, 2010, 11:21 pmQUOTE(b00n @ Dec 23 2010, 09:37 PM) Letter from employer would definitely help a lot especially MNCs. MNC refers to multinational companies? This post has been edited by air: Dec 23 2010, 11:21 PM
RegentCid
Dec 23 2010, 11:51 PM
Visa minimum is 1 week.....1 week Visa bank Statement is RM6k
air
Dec 24 2010, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 23 2010, 11:51 PM) Visa minimum is 1 week.....1 week Visa bank Statement is RM6k Hm... Okay, 1k more should be ok geh~~ Just curious, although they din stated in the webpage, but how come got such hidden minimum amount of savings req. for VISA?
Shazzac
Dec 24 2010, 10:10 AM
I don't think there is a minimum of the amount of $ that you should have in the bank.
The embassy just wants to make sure that you are able to support yourself while you're in their country and not ask for their govt's help.
I think at that time i present an a/c worth ##k to them and I was given a 2 weeks single entry visa.
But Mayflower CS (the one that i usually deal with) did advise to put in RM5k or more.
And yup, letter from employer (better if MNC) is a good gurantee for the embassy for your return.
This post has been edited by Shazzac: Dec 24 2010, 10:11 AM
air
Dec 28 2010, 03:59 PM
@Shazzac
Booked air ticket, guess what? I got it both day in promotion offer!!! total cost for air ticket: RM1005 (3 days two nights)
Whats left? Concert ticket bidding/accquiring, and VISA to go!!!
My colleague mentioned it is always better to let travel agency do the application for you. What say you?
Shazzac
Dec 28 2010, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(air @ Dec 28 2010, 03:59 PM) @Shazzac Booked air ticket, guess what? I got it both day in promotion offer!!! total cost for air ticket: RM1005 (3 days two nights) Whats left? Concert ticket bidding/accquiring, and VISA to go!!! My colleague mentioned it is always better to let travel agency do the application for you. What say you? Hey Air, It's doable on your own as well. Does not really matter who does it for you though. As long as you have the complete documents required, then it should be no problem at all. I got Mayflower (my company's corporate travel agent) to do because they only asked for RM15 service charge. It's a good deal as I do not live in KL city and it will be a hassle for me to take leave and purpose go submit, then take leave again to purposely go back 3 days later to get the approved visa. Not sure how much they'll charge outsiders though. You can always enquire within.
Kenki
Dec 28 2010, 09:42 PM
My friend just back from Japan and he told me he spent about 10k. Just asking, is it more worthy to follow travel agency or go alone?
Shazzac
Dec 28 2010, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(Kenki @ Dec 28 2010, 09:42 PM) My friend just back from Japan and he told me he spent about 10k. Just asking, is it more worthy to follow travel agency or go alone? In my opinion, free & easy is the best but of course if you are not daring enough to explore on your own or aren't very good in planning your trip, then you should join a tour group. Different people spend different amount of money. Just because your friend spent 10k for his/her trip, it doesn't mean that you will be spending that much or that little. It all depends on your planning and your budget. Everything is do-able if you know how.
Dec 31 2010, 03:55 PM
6-7 days enuf to explore Tokyo? plan to go on 15th Mar.
RegentCid
Dec 31 2010, 04:53 PM
1 week sure enough...you want put Osaka + Kyoto + Hakone together also can but you need very fine good plan everything.
Hakone is must go area if you went to Tokyo.....is like you go visit Seremban then must go visit Port Dickson together also
This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 31 2010, 04:55 PM
Shazzac
Dec 31 2010, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 31 2010, 04:53 PM) 1 week sure enough...you want put Osaka + Kyoto + Hakone together also can but you need very fine good plan everything. Hakone is must go area if you went to Tokyo.....is like you go visit Seremban then must go visit Port Dickson together also LOL I total agree. Hakone is like the cutest little town ever!!!! I still remember, standing at the entrance of the factory outlet village and saw mount fuji! Amazing!!
Dec 31 2010, 06:07 PM
OK so will go Tokyo + Hakone, should it be Tokyo 5 nites + Hakone 1 nite? First time to Tokyo, place to stay will be budget hostel, probably at Asakusa/Ueno area or should I stay in Shinjuku?? should I spend all my 5 nites there or all 6 nites and take a day trip to Hakone I m going to Kyushu in Jan alone company trip for 2week, plan to go Tokyo in Mar bring wife for a walk to get taste of Japan. Happy new year 2011. This post has been edited by 266K: Dec 31 2010, 10:53 PM
cyjh
Jan 17 2011, 07:08 PM

am travelling to tokyo, japan coming CNY 2011...
thot of renting a car to drive ard for sightseeing... any advice on driving condition in tokyo?