125 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

RegentCid
post May 30 2012, 12:22 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ May 30 2012, 10:24 AM)
This Dec, I go visit volcano Sakurajima, dunno Japanese no problem. smile.gif
That experience is different.... Going Kabukicho with knowing Japanese and without Japanese brows.gif

Sakurajima Volcano huh...can see from far only...but cannot go up there....because it always put out smoke...active 24hour 365 days

MOst perfect view are you need buy air ticket from Kagoshima Airport fly to Naha Airport...on way you can view the Whole Volcano Mt from SKy

This post has been edited by RegentCid: May 30 2012, 12:25 PM
Human Nature
post May 30 2012, 12:36 PM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 30 2012, 09:12 AM)
If dunno Japanese...no used...can't experience anything
QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 30 2012, 12:22 PM)
That experience is different.... Going Kabukicho with knowing Japanese and without Japanese  brows.gif
Elaborate please hmm.gif share some protip tongue.gif
beckham_zed
post May 30 2012, 12:43 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 30 2012, 09:12 AM)
If dunno Japanese...no used...can't experience anything
No problem, i know japanese...

I'm studying here right now. In Japan
deo.diande
post May 30 2012, 04:40 PM

Hey guys, I need a Japanese visa agent for my holiday on the 1st of July. Any trustworthy agency I can rely to?
And also I'm going on the 1st of July (in one month!), how long will the visa usually take?

I still have tons of questions, but for now let them be about these first rclxms.gif

Thanks forum Lowyat!
deodorant
post May 30 2012, 05:46 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(deo.diande @ May 30 2012, 04:40 PM)
Hey guys, I need a Japanese visa agent for my holiday on the 1st of July.

If you going holiday under travel agent, they will gaudim for you. If you going free n easy / self plan, why you need agent for visa? Just go embassy website collect all the documents fill in form and you can get the Visa yourself easily.
deo.diande
post May 30 2012, 06:55 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 30 2012, 05:46 PM)
If you going holiday under travel agent, they will gaudim for you. If you going free n easy / self plan, why you need agent for visa? Just go embassy website collect all the documents fill in form and you can get the Visa yourself easily.
That's true but I would do it myself if I have the time and energy.. sad.gif
I'm also willing to pay some cash to an agent.
And I'm a foreigner in Malaysia, does anyone know what documents I need? And can I download the form online?
RegentCid
post May 30 2012, 08:45 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(deo.diande @ May 30 2012, 05:55 PM)
That's true but I would do it myself if I have the time and energy..  sad.gif
I'm also willing to pay some cash to an agent.
And I'm a foreigner in Malaysia, does anyone know what documents I need? And can I download the form online?
You from which country? Some Country going Japan are no need Visa
deo.diande
post May 31 2012, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 30 2012, 08:45 PM)
You from which country?    Some Country going Japan are no need Visa
I'm from Indonesia and I'm aware that I need Visa sad.gif
Btw anyone is in Tokyo so I can "tumpang" to stay? Hehehe tongue.gif
deodorant
post Jun 1 2012, 12:23 AM

5,691 posts

Woo, the local SG Isetan started bringing in momo liao!

But but but ... they only got Fukuoka peaches that are damn small leh. Small as in, just the size of like a regular Fuji apple (3" diameter). I remember in tokyo last summer I bought those momo was like much much bigger (4"-4.5" diameter). hmm.gif

Some more so frickin expensive here, 1 biji sgd15 @_@
RegentCid
post Jun 1 2012, 09:28 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 31 2012, 11:23 PM)
Woo, the local SG Isetan started bringing in momo liao!

But but but ... they only got Fukuoka peaches that are damn small leh. Small as in, just the size of like a regular Fuji apple (3" diameter). I remember in tokyo last summer I bought those momo was like much much bigger (4"-4.5" diameter). hmm.gif

Some more so frickin expensive here, 1 biji sgd15 @_@
Come by Aircraft sure expensive...BTW the Summer season still not yet arrive .......

Emmm You sure want to eat Japan Momo ? Becasue Japan Momo majority 90% are grow in Fukushima....after Nuclear plant incident...i think this year Momo sure be very less....most of them are Radioactive.

Because Fukushima Fxxx already...now Japan 2nd output Momo placed are Okayama....So those MOmo u found are from Okayama ..not Fukuoka. Fukuoka export only because Okayama near to Fukuoka

After Eat Momo will became Hulk

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 1 2012, 09:31 AM
deodorant
post Jun 1 2012, 12:56 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 1 2012, 09:28 AM)
Emmm You sure want to eat Japan Momo ?  Becasue Japan Momo majority 90% are grow in Fukushima....after Nuclear plant incident...i think this year Momo sure be very less....most of them are Radioactive.

Don't care la, too ketagih liao. close eyes cross fingers only. Radiation thing was May '11 right? I went in Aug '11 and already ate momo, until now so far don't have any mutations so I think is sort of safe smile.gif
RegentCid
post Jun 1 2012, 01:38 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 1 2012, 11:56 AM)
Don't care la, too ketagih liao. close eyes cross fingers only. Radiation thing was May '11 right? I went in Aug '11 and already ate momo, until now so far don't have any mutations so I think is sort of safe smile.gif
Maybe your small bro start became small size ...from 3"" now became 2 1/2 '' after eat those radioactive food tongue.gif tongue.gif
engtat
post Jun 2 2012, 01:08 AM

394 posts

Just back from the holiday trip and share some tips here.

Tips: Planning
We went to Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto and Hakone. The best reference will be based on the travel pass you are going to get. For example, Tokyo Metro pass, Osaka pass, Kyoto bus pass and Hakone pass. Travel pass can give you an idea where to visit and usually they cover all the attractions.

Tips: Hakone Pass
Hakone is a good place to enjoy Onsen and the view of Mount Fuji. We used the pass to have round trip from Shinjuku to Hakone through Odawara. Of course, the pass also covers all Hakone attractions and transportation there. If you plan to visit Doraemon museum and probably biggest 100 yen shop by Daiso, get their customer servicing staff to write you a memo when you purchase the pass, so that you can get down at Mukogaoka-yuen station and Machida station on the way back from Hakone, travelling along the Odakyu train line.

Tips: Travel on Air Asia X
After custom clearing and baggage claim, it will be probably after 11pm. If you don't want to risk or rush to Tokyo city, you can book a night of hotel near Kamata area. There is one JR station nearby and you can take your sweet time the next day morning to go to Tokyo city, while enjoy hunting the local breakfast there. The bus fare is only 270 yen per person, worse you can have Keikyu train to be backup, or super bad luck, you can take a cab and Kamata is not that far from Haneda airport.

Tips: Willer Express bus pass
We found it is the most affordable way to travel back and forth to Osaka from Tokyo. The 3 days pass is highly recommended and it does not need to be used in consecutively 3 days. We used that for our night bus traveling and be sure to choose the "Relax - Comfortable seats with extra space" (this is the most high-end seat type if using bus pass). Very comfort and you can charge your electronic devices too!

Tips: Budget Meals
We tried the Udon noodles at Sanko (Rakugama) and rice at Sukiya as what being recommended in the first page. Nothing much for Sukiya, but the Udon at Sanko (Rakugama) is really nice. Top up 200 yen for the boneless chicken don is really worth. Mcdonalds always have free coffee where we were there. They have this 100 yen menu, and we tried the crispy chicken burger and it is not bad.

Tips: On saving
Plan your traveling routes well, and it can save a lot of your time and money too. Get the pass if possible. Little saving such as put your luggage at hotel, overnight also no problem, can save 500 yen per piece if you put it at station. Meal discount voucher if there is, like the Udon at Sanko has 30 yen discount. If you plan to go Haneda airport by Limousine bus from Tokyo, buy the package that comes with Tokyo metro pass, save 200 yen if you buy Tokyo metro pass alone, and etc. One part we could not save is when we were in Kyoto visiting all the temples, the admission fee is not cheap, and there is no travel pass for that. Well, they really have many temples shocking.gif For the Imperial Palace English guided tour, book your slot in advance, and it is free!

Our trip was 10 days 9 nights, and the total damage is RM 10K for two persons. It covers the flight, meals, accommodation and transportation. For the accommodation, we had 7 nights at hotel and 2 nights on bus. All our hotel rooms near train station and have private bath room. The total spending could even lower if we did not spend a luxury night at Hakone, around RM 2K a night (big Ryokan with private Onsen, haha! This is like reward for me and my wife) and around RM 1.3K on souvenirs. My wife is in her 5 months pregnant, so the trip must guarantee a certain comfort level thumbup.gif

Last tip for data roaming, our Nexus phone and S2 with both Digi and Maxis line did not work in Japan, if you want to get the data sim card, click on my signature if you travel on this month, June, haha!

And now, more foods...

This post has been edited by engtat: Jun 2 2012, 11:55 AM
Human Nature
post Jun 2 2012, 03:23 AM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

QUOTE(engtat @ Jun 2 2012, 01:08 AM)
Just back from the holiday trip and share some tips here.
Thanks for sharing and glad you enjoyed your trip. May I ask what is the Travel pass that you are talking about, and it is advisable to get one if I only plan to travel within tokyo? also, what is the name of the ryokan in hakone? biggrin.gif
engtat
post Jun 2 2012, 12:04 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 2 2012, 03:23 AM)
Thanks for sharing and glad you enjoyed your trip. May I ask what is the Travel pass that you are talking about, and it is advisable to get one if I only plan to travel within tokyo? also, what is the name of the ryokan in hakone?  biggrin.gif
For example, if you go to Osaka, get the Osaka travel pass. However, if you only travel within Tokyo, just get the Tokyo Metro pass, is enough for you to travel around using subway.

Our Ryokan is called Green Plaza Hakone, and we went for this special room, Japanese room with private open-air bath, haha! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by engtat: Jun 2 2012, 12:05 PM
bmkia
post Jun 5 2012, 10:12 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(engtat @ Jun 2 2012, 12:04 PM)
For example, if you go to Osaka, get the Osaka travel pass. However, if you only travel within Tokyo, just get the Tokyo Metro pass, is enough for you to travel around using subway.

Our Ryokan is called Green Plaza Hakone, and we went for this special room, Japanese room with private open-air bath, haha!  rclxms.gif
Thanks for the tips. May I know what time you reached Haneda via AAX at night and how long did it take to clear theit customs,etc. Really headache with the late arrival, prefer not to stay in one hotel because of the proximity and then change another hotel the next day. (hate waking up early to pack, travel, check in (time difference between check in and out) and unpacking again.
stimix
post Jun 5 2012, 10:32 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(bmkia @ Jun 5 2012, 10:12 AM)
Thanks for the tips. May I know what time you reached Haneda via AAX at night and how long did it take to clear theit customs,etc. Really headache with the late arrival, prefer not to stay in one hotel because of the proximity and then change another hotel the next day. (hate waking up early to pack, travel, check in (time difference between check in and out) and unpacking again.
Depending on how fast you can reach the immigration desk & thereafter custom 1st compare to others. Imagine that plane is carrying 300+ If you dun rush to the front and take the 1st bus out of the runway (Yes AAX is parked far away from terminal), you will be joining the long que. you need to rush straight to the counter ASAP..and hope not many other flights during the same time.

I rushed to the 1st bus & once reaching the immigration counter, we are the only flight there & I was ~ 5-6 in the que. wait for ~ 5min for my checked-in luggages (fast compare to LCCT!) Custom only check on those returning Japanese but not M'sian so I just quickly walk to the arrival info counter and ask for the limousine bus & grab the last "Day time" rate ticket to T-Cat.. rclxms.gif

Added on June 5, 2012, 10:34 amThe whole journey from the plane parking area ~ 1km away from the terminal & also clearance & buying the last ticket ~ 30min only... but if you dun rush.. you probably take >45min

This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 5 2012, 10:35 AM
mmyy
post Jun 5 2012, 11:42 AM

I arrived Haneda at 10.40pm, 20 mins earlier than scheduled. Runway is connected to terminal so no need to take bus. Well I took my own sweet time being the last one out, going washroom take pics of the toilet (hahah) refill water take more random pics - since I had decided to overnight at airport - but ended up it was 1130pm when I'm done with everything. Super fast, want to delay longer also cannot. lol

We were the last plane for the night I think.
stimix
post Jun 5 2012, 12:01 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah... damn jealous.. got aerobridge to terminal.. Mine.. the plane parked 1 km away darmit
Chrisky
post Jun 5 2012, 01:45 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

anyone got experience renting kimono / yukata in Kyoto ? would like to know if anyone can recommend a good shop for that biggrin.gif

currently i'm looking at these few :

http://www.yumeyakata.com/english/
http://www.okamoto-kimono.com/english/index.html
http://yumekyoto-kimono.com/english/

125 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0322sec    1.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:37 AM