320 posts

GI JOE... lots of action...!!!
Mov_freak
post Aug 29 2009, 10:49 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 29 2009, 10:11 PM)
Speed Racer

I like it even more now.
You know what, not many people do!

And I have to add, I like it LOT.

Andy Wachowski & Larry Wachowski made it for they inner child, and people who has not lost their appreciates that!!

Nuff said.
TSMakakeke
post Aug 30 2009, 01:15 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 29 2009, 10:49 PM)
You know what, not many people do!

And I have to add, I like it LOT.

Andy Wachowski & Larry Wachowski made it for they inner child, and people who has not lost their appreciates that!!

Nuff said.
SR was real fun, I pity those who overlooked its "cartoonish" outlook.
azarimy
post Aug 30 2009, 02:57 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

Broken Embraces

most might not be familiar with this if they're not exposed to spanish cinema. this is the latest masterpiece of the oscar award winning director pedro almadovar staring (again) penelope cruz. it's a brilliant drama with a twist of mystery that takes u into the life of a blind film maker and those around him.

it's a heavy drama, takes u one step at a time, and tells the story passionately. the visual ambience is enhanced by the choice of music that is very almadovar. if u've seen his previous work "Volver", u'd know what i mean. it's a brilliant film, very satisfying even for me who's not so much into drama.

verdict: 8/10

and owh, u get to see penelope cruz' marvelous twin assets.
FamousLastWords
post Aug 30 2009, 03:01 AM

932 posts

District 9,

they look more like roaches than prawns. cool2.gif

UP,

heartwarming and fun show. very worth it ! thumbup.gif
peng7688
post Aug 30 2009, 03:06 AM

149 posts

D-9.

@Cheesenium
Where do u watch Inglorious Bastards? Outside of malaysia?
Cheesenium
post Aug 30 2009, 09:11 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 29 2009, 10:11 PM)
Speed Racer

I like it even more now.
Where?
QUOTE(peng7688 @ Aug 30 2009, 03:06 AM)
D-9.

@Cheesenium
Where do u watch Inglorious Bastards? Outside of malaysia?
I watched it outside Malaysia.

It's draggy in some sense,but it's fun.
vivienne85
post Aug 30 2009, 03:24 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 29 2009, 10:09 PM)
Just watched Inglorious Bastards.

Damn awesome.
aiyo........so nice...

yr rating on it??
Cheesenium
post Aug 30 2009, 03:47 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

i give it 8.5/10.

Some parts are very intelligent.
freystrey
post Aug 30 2009, 04:45 PM

140 posts

Just watched Princess Protection Program starring Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato..
Id give 6/10.
Its a girly thing.
Im a dude guys.
Still wondering why i could watch that movie. tongue.gif
jackolantern
post Aug 30 2009, 10:42 PM

495 posts

watched crank 2..got "buah-buahan" everywhere.. lol
Mov_freak
post Aug 30 2009, 11:02 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Taken

Wow. A very UNDERRATED movie.

Liam Neeson does a good job as an ACTION star.

Good action thriller storyline. Good acting. Highlights the seedy side of France, Paris!!

Recommend this to thrill seekers! smile.gif
QuickFire
post Aug 30 2009, 11:16 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Its not underrated at all. If memory serve me right it got good reviews from critics, and audiences everywhere love it. It's a very entertaining flick, and Neeson is just badass.

Sunshine Cleaning - Only saw this because of Alan Arkin and Amy Adams. Turned out to be very good. Nicely paced and acted, its the kind of movie that doesnt break any new ground but leaves you with a nice smile and no regrets spedning the last 90 minutes watching it. 4/5

Brick - Didnt start off well for me, maybe because I wasnt used to the matching of noir to a high school setting, but about half an hour in everything begins to click and after that its an engrossing and a very different take on the crime/detective genre. Some of the dialogue is just rapid though, and I dont really understand everything in the end, but this doesnt hurt the movie really. A unique film. 4.5/5
Mov_freak
post Aug 31 2009, 11:37 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 30 2009, 11:16 PM)
Its not underrated at all. If memory serve me right it got good reviews from critics, and audiences everywhere love it. It's a very entertaining flick, and Neeson is just badass.
I'm sorry, I should have made myself clearer. What I meant by underrated was that it should have made ALOT more in terms of Box Office (> US Box Office of USD 145,000,989)! smile.gif

The Last House on the Left (2009)

Bad things happen to good people and then good people turned bad-ass!! smile.gif

Saw the unrated version and boy is it VIOLENT!!

Interesting to see Tony Goldwin (great grand son of Metro Goldwyn Mayers also know for his role of @zzhole in Ghost and Disney's "Hm Hm Hm Tarzan"!) as father roles and the kid from Gladiator and Unbreakable all grown up!

If you like VIOLENT movie, the unrated version of this movie is for u (especially the closing scene!!!)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 31 2009, 01:34 PM
TSMakakeke
post Aug 31 2009, 12:14 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 31 2009, 11:37 AM)
I'm sorry, I should have made myself clearer. What I meant by underrated was that it should have made ALOT more in terms of Box Office (> US Box Office of USD 145,000,989)! smile.gif

The Last House on the Left (2009)

Bad things happen to good people and then good people turned bad-ass!! smile.gif

Saw the unrated version and boy is it VIOLENT!!

Interesting to see Tony Goldwin (great grand son of Metro Goldwyn Mayersm also know for his role of ashole in Ghost and Disney's Hm Hm Hm Tarzan!) as father roles and the kid from Gladiator and Unbreakable al grown up!

If you like VIOLENT movie, the unrated version of this movie is for u (especially the closing scene!!!)
The closing scene as in the microwave scene? It was such a stupid and ridiculous scene lah.. The movie was overall just decent entertainment.

btw, 150 million is actually quite a good turnover, some good films (Oscar films) never pass the 100 million mark.
shinjite
post Aug 31 2009, 03:21 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

My last was Kungfu Cyborg and I don't know why I watched that ~_~
Freaking horse s**t of a movie
Mov_freak
post Aug 31 2009, 04:47 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Aug 31 2009, 12:14 PM)
The closing scene as in the microwave scene? It was such a stupid and ridiculous scene lah.. The movie was overall just decent entertainment.

btw, 150 million is actually quite a good turnover, some good films (Oscar films) never pass the 100 million mark.
Well, i thought that the ending is a little CRUDE but effective way of getting rid of the baddies!! tongue.gif

Yes, USD 150M is respective, but if it had made alot more, then movie studio would make more movie like Taken (that I'm assuming cost USD 80M - USD100M to make or District 9 [which cost USD 30M to make] for that matter) then movie I don't know like Transformer 2 which made USD 398,441,218 to date but cost USD200M to make and market!! (*Sigh*). Movie companies HAVE TO LEARN that a movie with GREAT stories and well made (Below USD 100M) are BETTER then more Transformer (the horror, the horror, 3 & 4????!?)

My two sens!

Added on August 31, 2009, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 22 2009, 11:41 PM)
That alone puts most non-Pixar animations to shame.
Quick question Quickfire, I know you usually don't like animation from other company (eg Dreamworks etc) but what did you think of Kungfu Panda and Happy Feet?

Added on August 31, 2009, 5:21 pmJust re watched Happy Feet on BD.

It's great movie except for the overly optimistic ending!

Also would have like to see an actual making of the movie!

Two Thumbs up!

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 31 2009, 05:21 PM
QuickFire
post Aug 31 2009, 09:33 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 31 2009, 04:47 PM)
Well, i thought that the ending is a little CRUDE but effective way of getting rid of the baddies!! tongue.gif

Added on August 31, 2009, 4:50 pm

Quick question Quickfire, I know you usually don't like animation from other company (eg Dreamworks etc) but what did you think of Kungfu Panda and Happy Feet?

I like myself some gore, but the microwave was so obviously tacked on, and its not helped by the rubbish CGI either.

Actually I like some of the Dreamworks stuff like Shrek, Bee Movie, Flushed Away, and Kung Fu Panda. Those are okay. But they are grossly inferior to anything Pixar has put out, yet most people I know say things like "Pixar cartoons ah... okay okay lah... not bad, but Dreamworks much better lah. So much funnier".

Never seen Happy Feet.

P/S: Now that you've mentioned Kung Fu Panda, I might rewatch it again sometime this week.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Aug 31 2009, 09:35 PM
kding2
post Aug 31 2009, 09:54 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 31 2009, 09:33 PM)
I like myself some gore, but the microwave was so obviously tacked on, and its not helped by the rubbish CGI either.

Actually I like some of the Dreamworks stuff like Shrek, Bee Movie, Flushed Away, and Kung Fu Panda. Those are okay. But they are grossly inferior to anything Pixar has put out, yet most people I know say things like "Pixar cartoons ah... okay okay lah... not bad, but Dreamworks much better lah. So much funnier".

Never seen Happy Feet.

P/S: Now that you've mentioned Kung Fu Panda, I might rewatch it again sometime this week.
Because that is purely based opinion..so I see nothing wrong if people prefer over x over y and vice versa. smile.gif
Mov_freak
post Aug 31 2009, 11:25 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 31 2009, 09:33 PM)

Never seen Happy Feet.

You should have seen the deleted scene of that scene on the DVD/BD!! tongue.gif

I like the First Shrek, Flush Away and Kung Fu Panda.

Wow, if you haven't watched happy Feet, I can only imagine how you would react after watching it! (I can still remember the FIRST time I watch it!!)

Go on, give yourself a treat and watch it!! nod.gif

121 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:17 AM