10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Movies Last movie watched, share and discuss

TSMakakeke
post Oct 30 2007, 10:31 PM, updated 16y ago

310 posts

I bet this thread is gonna stay for eternity tongue.gif Just list down your last movie watched and perhaps discuss about it?

I just caught De Palma's The Untouchables which I thought is a very good flick. Great soundtrack as usual by Morricone, briiliant cast of Costner, Deniro and Connery and great directing. This was a much better film than Scarface which was just average. I'll give it a soild 8/10.

This post has been edited by Makakeke: Oct 31 2007, 12:48 AM
TSMakakeke
post Oct 30 2007, 11:47 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 30 2007, 11:29 PM)
One of my favorite movies of all time. Okay, watching Monty Python and the Holy Grail but last movie watched was 12 Angry Men (recommended by QuickFire) which was absolutely brilliant. Despite its age, it is just brilliant. Loved that movie every single bit. And I disagree with your take on Scarface.
Nah, scarface is nothing compared to the other gangster movies. the soundtrack especially was horrible. the other aspects of the film was just ok IMO.

12 angry men is a brilliant movie, i watched it 3 times myself laugh.gif
TSMakakeke
post Oct 31 2007, 12:24 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 31 2007, 12:13 AM)
You got 12 Angry Men on DVD? If so, mind telling what kind? brows.gif
not dvd la, avi format brows.gif
TSMakakeke
post Oct 31 2007, 12:34 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 31 2007, 12:26 AM)
ceh, same. But any movies you'd recommend. Waiting for Casablanca but contemplating on It's A Wonderful Life. Are they good?
Both are awesome. The perfect film to watch this Christmas has to be It's a Wonderful Life, a really touching film. Casablanca is self-explanatory.
TSMakakeke
post Oct 31 2007, 12:41 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 31 2007, 12:36 AM)
Ahhhh, well I bought the original copy of Amadeus and Singin in the Rain for RM 39.90 each. Trying to collect the great movies you know (well those that I like, I keep at least).

BTW, mind me asking, how old are you? tongue.gif
Me? 21 only laugh.gif
TSMakakeke
post Oct 31 2007, 12:48 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Oct 31 2007, 12:44 AM)
watching superbad atm...so that'll be my latest/last movie.

critics seem to adore this movie,but im not lovin it that much..

too much needless swearing,IMO...
Yea, i dun understand the hype on this teen flick. but i do like the penis part though laugh.gif
TSMakakeke
post Oct 31 2007, 09:17 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 31 2007, 12:50 AM)
Ever since Knocked Up, I have become a fan of Jonah who reminds me of Cartman of South Park. Will watch Superbad though. Next on my list of movies this week:

1) West Side Story
2) Fish Called Wanda
3) Casablanca
4) Fight Club
5) Ocean's Thirteen tongue.gif
you have some good movies there. I'm in the midst of my finals, need to cut down my movie watching for the next 2 weeks sad.gif
TSMakakeke
post Oct 31 2007, 12:08 PM

310 posts

Its a wonderful life is another 40's classic. The only famous actor is James Stewart, the same actor from Rear Window.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 1 2007, 07:51 PM

310 posts

Just watched Groundhog Day, a 90's movie which i think was good. Nice screenplay and Bill Murray is just funny being him.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 5 2007, 05:11 PM

310 posts

Despite of my finals, i still managed to watch Seabiscuit, borrowed the DVD from my uni's library. Quite a touchy movie with some great cinematography.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 5 2007, 05:27 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(van_nadzrool @ Nov 5 2007, 05:19 PM)
makakeke, your uni's library has dvd rental/lending service?
yea, cool right? 3 days loan. too bad im approaching the end of my semester, will only be back nx Feb.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 5 2007, 05:55 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(e30 @ Nov 5 2007, 05:47 PM)
the untouchables is a good film.. wouldnt have seen it hadnt cinemax screened it like 2 years ago.. so thanx astro thumbup.gif  ... but dude, gotta disagree on Scarface being average. personally to me, among gangster films, scarface is untouchable, no pun intended.. i am a fan of mob flicks, and i suggest you watch goodfellas, godfather trilogy if you havent already.
last movie i watched? ummm at the cinema: bourne ultimatum which was  thumbup.gif  for me and on tv (astro): the inside man which was a great spike lee joint.

and on my next to watch list, hehe the latest among gangster films : American Gangster! just finished downloading it so gonna watch it soon..
Yup I've watched all the gangster flicks and I like most of them. Scarface for me lacked in the soundtrack/score part which I really hated the 80's techno music. It didn't really work for me.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 5 2007, 06:05 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Nov 5 2007, 06:02 PM)
"Dreamgirls" will always be there for you~!

You haf to watch the film to feel how sweet the soundtrack is.

Is a must watch musical movie.
Well I'm not a big fan of musicals but Dreamgirls was really dissapointing. The first half was ok, but then it became very draggy with all the unnecessary drama around. and Jennifer Hudson shouldn't had won the oscar, she was no good!
TSMakakeke
post Nov 5 2007, 06:14 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Nov 5 2007, 06:08 PM)
haha..yeah the story is pretty old drama fashion. But the editing gives it a good image.

btw, how good is RAY? i want to watch this long time ago..
Oh ya, me too. Can't seem to find this movie.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 5 2007, 06:43 PM

310 posts

UCSI has some but Untouchables? NEVER!!

What are you studying there? Film studies? I've got a few friends taking this subject in ucsi.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 9 2007, 02:37 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 9 2007, 02:13 PM)
Damn I got to get my hands on Stranger than Fiction, Stardust
Stardust is showing now wat...im planning to watch it next week rclxms.gif
TSMakakeke
post Nov 18 2007, 06:00 PM

310 posts

I just got the DVD for Hitchcock's Vertigo and watched it. It has the dark mysterious theme to it, really liked it.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 18 2007, 08:18 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 18 2007, 06:45 PM)
Where did you get it? Only my college's library had it. I loved it too though Stewart and Kelly had more chemistry in Window if you ask me.
They were a couple in RW, in vertigo they were trying to be one. i only watched both once so i can't give much comments, movies like this takes several viewings.

btw i bought it in tower records hartamas shopping centre. they have some cheap ori dvds. might apply to all tower records i guess.
TSMakakeke
post Nov 18 2007, 11:14 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 18 2007, 08:52 PM)
Well yeah, maybe so but Kelly was gorgeous lar and you can't say the same with Novak. How much was it? I bought North By Northwest the other day for RM 39.90. Returned it the next day (no DTS sound as promised on the cover) and exchanged for Strangers on a Train [preferred Train].
Wow, really? which tower records? maybe i could do the same hmm.gif
TSMakakeke
post Nov 20 2007, 10:29 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(X-Zen @ Nov 20 2007, 01:46 PM)
Movie buff here, just finished movie marathon last weekend. Watched

1. Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind  rclxms.gif
Gosh, you just made me watch it for the 4th time! I really loved that film too, the best movie of the decade, period.

Added on November 20, 2007, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(van_nadzrool @ Nov 20 2007, 02:58 PM)
oldboy - the twist in the story (the climax) is very sick. i'm quite suprised about that.

taxi driver - i don't have any comment as i didn't really understand the story. lol.

casino - it is like watching goodfellas.
Oldboy really took me by a surprise. I was expecting a twist but it was greater than what I imagined. Taxi Driver takes multiple watching, give it a few more tries.

This post has been edited by Makakeke: Nov 20 2007, 10:31 PM

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0159sec    1.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:07 AM