LYN Mazda CX-30 Owners/Fans Discussion V1, Red Dot Design Award Winner 2020

TSZeneticX
post Feb 2 2024, 05:07 PM, updated 3w ago

stars for what
12,413 posts

Specifications (CKD variants - as of Feb 2024)

Official Download Link

Standard on All Variants

2.0L 2WD Standard

2.0L 2WD High

2.0L 2WD High+

2.0L 2WD High+ Premium

Owners List (PM me with colour and spec, or reply in thread tagging me)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 9 2024, 01:13 PM
TSZeneticX
post Feb 2 2024, 05:07 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Owner Tips & Trcisk / FAQs

1) Dirt inside rear door panel

2) Key fob sleep mode and AA/AC from centre armrest usb port

3) DO NOT attempt to wipe or clean the instrument cluster window

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 9 2024, 01:12 PM
TSZeneticX
post Feb 2 2024, 05:07 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

reserved
blanket84
post Feb 2 2024, 05:13 PM

1,520 posts

I come here to support. Pertamaxx! laugh.gif
blanket84
post Feb 2 2024, 05:15 PM

1,520 posts

Change the title to owner/fans discussion lah bro. We are not owner, yet laugh.gif
TSZeneticX
post Feb 2 2024, 05:16 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 2 2024, 05:15 PM)
Change the title to owner/fans discussion lah bro. We are not owner, yet laugh.gif
Owner / Discussion same lah biggrin.gif non owners can join in for discussion also

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 2 2024, 05:17 PM
blanket84
post Feb 2 2024, 05:17 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 2 2024, 05:16 PM)
Owner / Discussion same lah biggrin.gif not owners can join in for discussion also
Oh okay. Understood what you meant.
General_Nic
post Feb 2 2024, 07:21 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

ZeneticX Soul Red Crystal High spec here icon_rolleyes.gif
blanket84
post Feb 2 2024, 09:42 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Feb 2 2024, 07:21 PM)
ZeneticX Soul Red Crystal High spec here  icon_rolleyes.gif
Any complaint that prospect buyers should know so far?
General_Nic
post Feb 3 2024, 12:41 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 2 2024, 09:42 PM)
Any complaint that prospect buyers should know so far?
the rear doors due to the way the claddings are designed, dirt will enter inside the door panel
no worries dirt won't enter the passenger cabin because got rubber seals, it's just that u need to wash frequently the inside of the door panels that is not blocked by the rubber seal

another option is to buy 3rd party plastic mudguard that install in the wheel well which covers the gap
it's plug & play using the existing clips in the wheel well
I did install it on my car and it works well

TSZeneticX
post Feb 3 2024, 01:36 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Another common issue I noticed in fb owner group is after done tinting at some shops, car not able to start with some error or malfunction shown on dash. Main suspect is moisture leaked in somewhere on dashboard and affected the electronics. For most cases just wait for awhile for it to dry then its back to normal, but some serious and unlucky case need to tow back to SC. It seems there's some highly sensitive electronics under the dashboard

Highly recommended to do your tinting at reputable shops. They will be aware of this issue and know how to prevent it from happening

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 3 2024, 01:37 AM
hunterlala
post Feb 7 2024, 10:40 PM

77 posts

Finally got group in lyn, getting high soec tomorrow 😬😬
TSZeneticX
post Feb 8 2024, 10:42 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(hunterlala @ Feb 7 2024, 10:40 PM)
Finally got group in lyn, getting high soec tomorrow 😬😬
Congrats. What colour?
hunterlala
post Feb 8 2024, 06:45 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 8 2024, 10:42 AM)
Congrats. What colour?
platinum quartz, this time dont want add those premium colour liao.

cos previous soul red easily chip off when kena stone.

btw, if use apple carplay with google map, i cant listen to fm radio one izit???
TSZeneticX
post Feb 9 2024, 02:59 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(hunterlala @ Feb 8 2024, 06:45 PM)
platinum quartz, this time dont want add those premium colour liao.

cos previous soul red easily chip off when kena stone.

btw, if use apple carplay with google map, i cant listen to fm radio one izit???
Audio will default to spotify, apple music etc whatever music streaming service you have

If want radio maybe can try looking for fm streaming app or app for the specific radio station
Rubz77
post Feb 9 2024, 04:14 PM

19 posts

Deep Crystal Blue H+P July 2023

So far so good...its my second Mazda after a Mazda 3 BM.
Some minor rattles from the door cards which I can live with. Overall NVH is definitely way better than the Mazda 3 BM hahaha...though I feel the CX30 models without the sunroof is even quieter hmm.gif

Just need to get my alignment done properly. The car is not pulling left or right but the steering is slightly off centre to the left...its annoying haha.
TSZeneticX
post Feb 9 2024, 04:42 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Feb 9 2024, 04:14 PM)
Deep Crystal Blue H+P July 2023

So far so good...its my second Mazda after a Mazda 3 BM.
Some minor rattles from the door cards which I can live with. Overall NVH is definitely way better than the Mazda 3 BM hahaha...though I feel the CX30 models without the sunroof is even quieter hmm.gif

Just need to get my alignment done properly. The car is not pulling left or right but the steering is slightly off centre to the left...its annoying haha.
I'm considering H+P also. Do you think its worth the premium over H+?

For me the sunroof is optional.... but i really want the 360 cam and FCTA
Rubz77
post Feb 9 2024, 05:00 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 9 2024, 04:42 PM)
I'm considering H+P also. Do you think its worth the premium over H+?

For me the sunroof is optional.... but i really want the 360 cam and FCTA
It depends on your budget, as long as you don't over stretch yourself. Having said that, the additional RM10k plus interest on a 5-year repayment works out to be RM185-Rm190 extra per month for the H+P over the H+.

I went for H+P also mainly for the 360 camera and the ALH haha. The 360 cam is good because of the blind spots while maneuvering through tight parking lots and also, for not "kerbing" the front of the car laugh.gif

The FCTA, well yea its handy but can be a bit annoying. I too am not keen on the sunroof, I personally feel its useless in Malaysia laugh.gif It would have been better to have powered front passenger seat instead and maybe a BOSE sound system? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Rubz77: Feb 9 2024, 05:06 PM
TSZeneticX
post Feb 9 2024, 05:11 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Feb 9 2024, 05:00 PM)
It depends on your budget, as long as you don't over stretch yourself. Having said that, the additional RM10k plus interest on a 5-year repayment works out to be RM185-Rm190 extra per month for the H+P over the H+.

I went for H+P also mainly for the 360 camera and the ALH haha. The 360 cam is good because of the blind spots while maneuvering through tight parking lots and also, for not "kerbing" the front of the car  laugh.gif

The FCTA, well yea its handy but can be a bit annoying. I too am not keen on the sunroof, I personally feel its useless in Malaysia  laugh.gif  It would have been better to have powered front passenger seat instead and maybe a BOSE sound system?  tongue.gif
Both ALH and CTS are useful features to have as well

FCTA i feel its more important than RCTA since we do mostly reverse parking. And when exiting from tight spaces sometimes its hard to see incoming traffic from both sides due to blind spot or obstacles

For the sunroof at least you have cover to close, instead like some nowadays its fixed and without cover. Also many people didnt know, but sunroof is good for letting heat escape from car after you park under hot sun, just tilt it open a bit

Yeah agree on Bose... should've included it in the top trim

And extra bonus would be ventilated seats. CX5 have this from 2.0 High spec onwards...

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 9 2024, 06:45 PM
blanket84
post Feb 10 2024, 08:39 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Feb 9 2024, 05:00 PM)

I went for H+P also mainly for the 360 camera and the ALH haha. The 360 cam is good because of the blind spots while maneuvering through tight parking lots and also, for not "kerbing" the front of the car  laugh.gif

The FCTA, well yea its handy but can be a bit annoying. I too am not keen on the sunroof, I personally feel its useless in Malaysia  laugh.gif  It would have been better to have powered front passenger seat instead and maybe a BOSE sound system?  tongue.gif
I am also considering H+P because of 360 cam & ALH. But then because of the useless sunroof, I did think off just getting H+ instead. I wish they offer sunroof as optional instead.
TSZeneticX
post Feb 11 2024, 08:13 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Wonder when Bermaz will update CKD CX30 to same spec as M3 IPM... larger infotainment screen and updated software

The HUD now supports direction from AC or AA instead of just the internal map like previous

https://carsick.my/2024/02/2023-mazda-3-hig...irE_Tg4Z8epS3_0

General_Nic
post Feb 11 2024, 09:04 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 11 2024, 08:13 PM)
Wonder when Bermaz will update CKD CX30 to same spec as M3 IPM... larger infotainment screen and updated software

The HUD now supports direction from AC or AA instead of just the internal map like previous

https://carsick.my/2024/02/2023-mazda-3-hig...irE_Tg4Z8epS3_0

I'm indifferent with the larger screen, but I do hope the HUD navigation function frm AC/AA can be added via software update
Rustyee
post Feb 14 2024, 12:21 AM

25 posts

Me and my wife deciding to get either CX30 H+P or Mazda 3 Ignite (more inclined towards the lift back). Wife prefers a smaller car cause it is easier for her to handle, else I would have gotten a CRV for space. Anyway, below are some of my concerns:

CX30
1) Wired Apple CarPlay, don’t want to keep plugging our phone everytime we drive it
2) CKD built quality, saw quite a number of post in FB but surprisingly don’t see much complain / issues / warranty claims on Mazda 3’s CBU built
3) tight rear passenger space

Mazda 3 ignite
1) lesser visibility for driver when compared to cx30 (also because it sits lower)
2) don’t have Adaptive LED headlamps
3) very tight rear passenger space
4) don’t like the red burgundy interior
5) not easy for elderly to get in / out of rear passenger seats

Both CX30 and Mazda 3
1) 2019 model with Mazda probably launching a new generation CX30 / Mazda 3 soon
2) no touch screen when using Apple CarPlay
3) I would consider both as a driver’s car instead of a family car. We got plans for family, hence using a rear facing baby seat could be a challenge

Feel free to highlight if my info above is incorrect or if any owners with first hand experience have been through any of the above or have any feedback, would greatly appreciate your info.

TSZeneticX
post Feb 14 2024, 03:33 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Rustyee @ Feb 14 2024, 12:21 AM)
Me and my wife deciding to get either CX30 H+P or Mazda 3 Ignite (more inclined towards the lift back). Wife prefers a smaller car cause it is easier for her to handle, else I would have gotten a CRV for space. Anyway, below are some of my concerns:

CX30
1) Wired Apple CarPlay, don’t want to keep plugging our phone everytime we drive it
2) CKD built quality, saw quite a number of post in FB but surprisingly don’t see much complain / issues / warranty claims on Mazda 3’s CBU built
3) tight rear passenger space

Mazda 3 ignite
1) lesser visibility for driver when compared to cx30 (also because it sits lower)
2) don’t have Adaptive LED headlamps
3) very tight rear passenger space
4) don’t like the red burgundy interior
5) not easy for elderly to get in / out of rear passenger seats

Both CX30 and Mazda 3
1) 2019 model with Mazda probably launching a new generation CX30 / Mazda 3 soon
2) no touch screen when using Apple CarPlay
3) I would consider both as a driver’s car instead of a family car. We got plans for family, hence using a rear facing baby seat could be a challenge

Feel free to highlight if my info above is incorrect or if any owners with first hand experience have been through any of the above or have any feedback, would greatly appreciate your info.

CX30 CKD is considerably well built if compared to other CKD makes especially Honda. I'm in the owners group in fb and there's really not much complaint when it comes to quality issues, at least there nothing wide spread like Honda's famous steering rack issue. Most issues are isolated cases aka luck involved when buying cars. NVH is also still good compared to CBU

Another con for Mazda 3 is the low ground clearence especially the hatchback. Depending where you stay and the road condition this could be an issue, need careful maneuvering when going over road bumps and steep car park ramps

Since you are considering family car why not CX5? Yes its considered outdated compared to CX30 or M3 but its still a competant car when it comes to drivability and you get more choices when it comes to engines as well. The rear space is actually similar between both (i tried both CX30 and CX5 on the same day), but CX5 have more headroom and the seats are slightly more comfortable. Overall it is not as big as the CRV and you get 360 cam on all spec except the lowest

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 14 2024, 03:44 AM
Rustyee
post Feb 14 2024, 03:57 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 14 2024, 03:33 AM)
CX30 CKD is considerably well built if compared to other CKD makes especially Honda. I'm in the owners group in fb and there's really not much complaint when it comes to quality issues, at least there nothing wide spread like Honda's famous steering rack issue

Another con for Mazda 3 is the low ground clearence especially the hatchback. Depending where you stay and the road condition this could be an issue, need careful maneuvering when going over road bumps and steep car park ramps

Since you are considering family car why not CX5? Yes its considered outdated compared to CX30 or M3 but its still a competant car when it comes to drivability and you get more choices when it comes to engines as well.  The rear space is actually similar between both (i tried both CX30 and CX5 on the same day), but CX5 have more headroom  and the seats are slightly more comfortable
Yea, I agree with you that there aren’t much issues when compared against other brands. But I was very surprised when compared against Mazda 3, because I couldn’t find any warranty claims, issue, problem. I am in several FB groups for both CX30 and Mazda 3. Perhaps there are some that I am unaware?

Ground clearance and road conditions shouldn’t be an issue since our existing car is equally low at 135mm. Only thought of getting a CX30 over Mazda 3 because it would be easier for our parents to get on/off the car.

Wife doesn’t like CX5 because it is too huge for her. EV and other options have been sidelined. We filtered our options down to only a few.
1) CX30 H+P
2) Mazda 3 Lift back Ignite
3) Golf GTI
4) X1 sDrive20i
5) XC40 B5

At the moment, we prefer Japanese brand for its reliability and it is cheaper compared to the other 3 continentals. Thought of gathering feedbacks from existing owners who are also ferrying their parents / using a rear facing child seat on CX30 / Mazda 3 Lift Back on their daily usability / practicality.

TSZeneticX
post Feb 14 2024, 04:11 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Rustyee @ Feb 14 2024, 03:57 AM)
Yea, I agree with you that there aren’t much issues when compared against other brands. But I was very surprised when compared against Mazda 3, because I couldn’t find any warranty claims, issue, problem. I am in several FB groups for both CX30 and Mazda 3. Perhaps there are some that I am unaware?

Ground clearance and road conditions shouldn’t be an issue since our existing car is equally low at 135mm. Only thought of getting a CX30 over Mazda 3 because it would be easier for our parents to get on/off the car.

Wife doesn’t like CX5 because it is too huge for her. EV and other options have been sidelined. We filtered our options down to only a few.
1) CX30 H+P
2) Mazda 3 Lift back Ignite
3) Golf GTI
4) X1 sDrive20i
5) XC40 B5

At the moment, we prefer Japanese brand for its reliability and it is cheaper compared to the other 3 continentals. Thought of gathering feedbacks from existing owners who are also ferrying their parents / using a rear facing child seat on CX30 / Mazda 3 Lift Back on their daily usability / practicality.
I'd recommend to have a look at the CX5 again, size wise it really isn't significantly bigger than the CX30 and not as big as the CRV

If you're considering for your parents getting on off the car, I can tell you for sure CX5 is better as well. Not only because of the ride height, but the larger door opening and taller roof as well

Practicality wise the M3 hatchback is definitely out, the boot and rear space is already smaller than even the M3 sedan, might as well just go for sedan. Most buyers for the hatchback are in for the looks and drivability only

Still if you are set on CX30.... its still OK for a single child, might need to sacrifice some space for the front passenger if the child seat is bulky type. Boot space will take a hit as well after loading up with necessities

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 14 2024, 04:14 AM
TSZeneticX
post Feb 21 2024, 02:35 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

CX30 with HKS exhaust

General_Nic
post Feb 21 2024, 03:43 PM

3,508 posts

want cheaper exhaust mod got local option brows.gif

https://maxracing.co/product/mazda-cx30-2-0...xhaust-package/

LY125
post Mar 3 2024, 04:12 PM

13 posts

Is there no wireless CarPlay in 2024 version?
TSZeneticX
post Mar 3 2024, 04:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(LY125 @ Mar 3 2024, 04:12 PM)
Is there no wireless CarPlay in 2024 version?
Our CKD variants still not updated to latest global spec update yet
LY125
post Mar 3 2024, 05:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 3 2024, 04:28 PM)
Our CKD variants still not updated to latest global spec update yet
I see, any news saying there is gonna be a refresh this year? Am looking to buy one but not sure if any refresh coming up?
TSZeneticX
post Mar 3 2024, 10:24 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(LY125 @ Mar 3 2024, 05:56 PM)
I see, any news saying there is gonna be a refresh this year? Am looking to buy one but not sure if any refresh coming up?
According to few SA i asked... no plans for refresh this year

I also thinking to get one this year
emilyngsc
post Mar 4 2024, 09:56 AM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Feb 3 2024, 12:41 AM)
the rear doors due to the way the claddings are designed, dirt will enter inside the door panel
no worries dirt won't enter the passenger cabin because got rubber seals, it's just that u need to wash frequently the inside of the door panels that is not blocked by the rubber seal

another option is to buy 3rd party plastic mudguard that install in the wheel well which covers the gap
it's plug & play using the existing clips in the wheel well
I did install it on my car and it works well

What’s the damage?
emilyngsc
post Mar 4 2024, 10:00 AM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 3 2024, 10:24 PM)

Might be refresh with more type-c/wireless charging & Bose ss or 10.25” info-tainment screen with touch screen icon_idea.gif
General_Nic
post Mar 4 2024, 11:00 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Mar 4 2024, 09:56 AM)
What’s the damage?
about RM200

I DIY, very easy and don't need to jack up car
TSZeneticX
post Mar 4 2024, 11:52 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Mar 4 2024, 10:00 AM)
Might be refresh with more type-c/wireless charging & Bose ss or 10.25” info-tainment screen with touch screen icon_idea.gif
If the refresh does come this year then it will follow the M3 IPM. Yes larger screen and type c ports. Bose.... keep my hopes low after what happened with CX5 facelift

U heard anything about a refresh this year?
emilyngsc
post Mar 4 2024, 12:28 PM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 4 2024, 11:52 AM)
If the refresh does come this year then it will follow the M3 IPM. Yes larger screen and type c ports. Bose.... keep my hopes low after what happened with CX5 facelift

U heard anything about a refresh this year?
No news from SA and quite tight. Depending the CX-5 sales and Bose is really coming.
TSZeneticX
post Mar 4 2024, 12:53 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Mar 4 2024, 12:28 PM)
No news from SA and quite tight. Depending the CX-5 sales and Bose is really coming.
If got Bose then expect the price to increase... maybe approaching 170 - 175k for High+ P... unless they remove something, i don't mind the sunroof tongue.gif
LY125
post Mar 4 2024, 06:55 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 4 2024, 12:53 PM)
If got Bose then expect the price to increase... maybe approaching 170 - 175k for High+ P... unless they remove something, i don't mind the sunroof tongue.gif
Yes it would be very nice if they have Bose here.

Also maybe to see if they are giving Raya rebate.
blanket84
post Mar 4 2024, 07:26 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 3 2024, 10:24 PM)

Normally SA would only know about the updates around 2-3 months before the official announcement. Now it’s only March. Still 7-8 months to go before we can say there wouldn’t be any update.

Australia & UK (two biggest RHD market) already received 10.25” screen update. Hopefully we will get ours soon. If no news by June or July, probably I would just buy as it is. Thinking of getting mazda 3 instead, but then sedan version has no “high+ premium” model.
TSZeneticX
post Mar 4 2024, 07:44 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 4 2024, 07:26 PM)
Normally SA would only know about the updates around 2-3 months before the official announcement. Now it’s only March. Still 7-8 months to go before we can say there wouldn’t be any update.

Australia & UK (two biggest RHD market) already received 10.25” screen update. Hopefully we will get ours soon. If no news by June or July, probably I would just buy as it is. Thinking of getting mazda 3 instead, but then sedan version  has no “high+ premium” model.
the only M3 variant worth getting for me (if u ignore all the refresh add ons) is the ignite edition hatchback for the Bose, and the looks

but nowadays looking for something more practical so I'm personally leaning towards CX30

price vs spec if compare between CX30 and M3, M3 really lose out unless you really dont like crossover and dont mind paying more for CBU quality

Australia & UK (two biggest RHD market) already received 10.25” screen update. Hopefully we will get ours soon. If no news by June or July, probably I would just buy as it is. Thinking of getting mazda 3 instead, but then sedan version  has no “high+ premium” model.

very hard to say when it comes to Bermaz.... see how long it took for them to launch CX5 facelift. And the launch is a dissapointment still (no Bose, still old 8.8 screen with old system)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Mar 4 2024, 07:45 PM
blanket84
post Mar 4 2024, 08:27 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 4 2024, 07:44 PM)
the only M3 variant worth getting for me (if u ignore all the refresh add ons) is the ignite edition hatchback for the Bose, and the looks

but nowadays looking for something more practical so I'm personally leaning towards CX30

price vs spec if compare between CX30 and M3, M3 really lose out unless you really dont like crossover and dont mind paying more for CBU quality
very hard to say when it comes to Bermaz.... see how long it took for them to launch CX5 facelift. And the launch is a dissapointment still (no Bose, still old 8.8 screen with old system)
Yeah. Liftback is really impractical for a main car, which is what I’m looking for. That’s why I was considering CX-30 or sedan Mazda 3. Like you said, Mazda 3’s highest specs lose out to CX-30’s highest specs, which makes me unlikely to buy mazda 3.

One thing that makes me having high hopes of CX-30 getting at least the infotainment update is because the shape of the screen is unique. LHD one cannot be used in RHD car, unlike CX-5. So, it would be logical for Mazda to only produce screen according to their biggest market rather than having to many variation in term of size.

My take is that they are clearing the 8.8” first before upgrading every market with 10.25”.
TSZeneticX
post Mar 4 2024, 10:26 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 4 2024, 08:27 PM)
Yeah. Liftback is really impractical for a main car, which is what I’m looking for. That’s why I was considering CX-30 or sedan Mazda 3. Like you said, Mazda 3’s highest specs lose out to CX-30’s highest specs, which makes me unlikely to buy mazda 3.

One thing that makes me having high hopes of CX-30 getting at least the infotainment update is because the shape of the screen is unique. LHD one cannot be used in RHD car, unlike CX-5. So, it would be logical for Mazda to only produce screen according to their biggest market rather than having to many variation in term of size.

My take is that they are clearing the 8.8” first before upgrading every market with 10.25”.
fingers crossed CKD CX30 will be updated this year then

we are missing out on some goodies compared to other markets (typical for us)

Aus and UK both get e-Skyactiv G 2.0 mild hybrid. Technically this engine is suitable for us as well (unlike Skyactiv X which might require good quality fuel), just probably pricing being prohibitive

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Mar 4 2024, 10:26 PM
SFX
post Mar 5 2024, 11:56 PM

236 posts

General_Nic, was your Toyo tires the original factory installed tyres?

Has anyone went through at least one round of changing tyres from factory fitted tyres? If yes what was the size you went for? Was it the original 215/55 R18 or was it one size up 225 R18?

215 R18 tyres are really rare to find.

This post has been edited by SFX: Mar 5 2024, 11:57 PM
General_Nic
post Mar 6 2024, 12:43 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(SFX @ Mar 5 2024, 11:56 PM)

General_Nic, was your Toyo tires the original factory installed tyres?

Has anyone went through at least one round of changing tyres from factory fitted tyres? If yes what was the size you went for? Was it the original 215/55 R18 or was it one size up 225 R18?

215 R18 tyres are really rare to find.
yeah mine still OE, just gotten my car last Nov

I'm thinking to change to Michelin Primacy 4, it has 215/55 R18
I personally wouldn't change to 225 cuz the diameter is different from OE

another option is to change rims to 8JJ or 8.5JJ and use 235/50 R18

mikazzz
post Mar 8 2024, 10:24 PM

< / >
879 posts

Finally getting mine this month after thinking for so long. Any recommended accessories to improve QoL for new owner?
TSZeneticX
post Mar 9 2024, 04:14 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(mikazzz @ Mar 8 2024, 10:24 PM)
Finally getting mine this month after thinking for so long. Any recommended accessories to improve QoL for new owner?
From owners group in fb -

i) coating or ppf, mazda paint is known to be thin. Easily chipped

ii) replace the front windscreen tint, the specs are not ideal. The other windows are ok. But pls make sure to choose a reputable tint shop

iii) dashcam, essential for every car

iv) do the wheel arch cover mod. Can refer to 2nd post at first page

Congrats on the new ride. What colour and spec?

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Mar 9 2024, 04:14 PM
mikazzz
post Mar 9 2024, 04:34 PM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 9 2024, 04:14 PM)
From owners group in fb -

i) coating or ppf, mazda paint is known to be thin. Easily chipped

ii) replace the front windscreen tint, the specs are not ideal. The other windows are ok. But pls make sure to choose a reputable tint shop

iii) dashcam, essential for every car

iv) do the wheel arch cover mod. Can refer to 2nd post at first page

Congrats on the new ride. What colour and spec?
thanks! will be getting a H+P Platinum Quartz

i) been thinking of this a lot but thinking if it's better to just leave it and repaint after 5-6 years, on the reasoning that i'm not the type who diligently wash car by themselves every weekend. What's your take on this?

ii) put on another layer or remove and replace would be better?

iii) definitely will do this

iv) the whole reason of doing this is so that the dust and sand won't get into the passenger seats behind right?
layzieboy
post Mar 9 2024, 07:54 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(mikazzz @ Mar 8 2024, 10:24 PM)
High owner here. I would recommend doing ppf on the gloss black panels on the window pillars as they scratch really easily. There are ready made kits online and are quite easy to DIY.
TSZeneticX
post Mar 9 2024, 08:12 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(mikazzz @ Mar 9 2024, 04:34 PM)
thanks! will be getting a H+P Platinum Quartz

i) been thinking of this a lot but thinking if it's better to just leave it and repaint after 5-6 years, on the reasoning that i'm not the type who diligently wash car by themselves every weekend. What's your take on this?

ii) put on another layer or remove and replace would be better?

iii) definitely will do this

iv) the whole reason of doing this is so that the dust and sand won't get into the passenger seats behind right?
For ppf, you can opt to just apply the front part as that part is the most easy to get chipped. But of course if you got budget then just ppf the whole car, make sure its real TPU ppf so it doesn't turn yellow

I feel its good to have some protection for your new car (and its not a cheap car)

For tint recommended to remove and reapply

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Mar 9 2024, 07:54 PM)
High owner here. I would recommend doing ppf on the gloss black panels on the window pillars as they scratch really easily. There are ready made kits online and are quite easy to DIY.
What's your car colour? Updating the owners list

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Mar 9 2024, 09:40 PM
layzieboy
post Mar 10 2024, 07:33 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 9 2024, 08:12 PM)
What's your car colour? Updating the owners list
Machine grey

This post has been edited by layzieboy: Mar 10 2024, 07:34 AM
LY125
post Mar 18 2024, 11:40 PM

13 posts

Which bank gives the best rate/HP loan?
layzieboy
post Mar 26 2024, 08:34 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(LY125 @ Mar 18 2024, 11:40 PM)
Which bank gives the best rate/HP loan?
No clue and it depends on factors like how much are you taking, loan tenure etc.. usually your sa will submit to a few banks and you pick one that you like. They are usually very close/ competitive

This post has been edited by layzieboy: Mar 26 2024, 08:34 AM
layzieboy
post Mar 26 2024, 08:35 AM

496 posts

Does anyone know a way to permanently disable istop?
LY125
post Mar 26 2024, 10:56 PM

13 posts

Waiting to collect my car, what accessories or items I should get in preparation hehe
TSZeneticX
post Mar 27 2024, 12:00 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(LY125 @ Mar 26 2024, 10:56 PM)
Waiting to collect my car, what accessories or items I should get in preparation hehe
Dashcam for sure

Also TPU protector for the infotainment screen and driver gauge

LY125
post Mar 28 2024, 11:13 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 27 2024, 12:00 PM)
Dashcam for sure

Also TPU protector for the infotainment screen and driver gauge
Any good recommendation on driver gauge?
TSZeneticX
post Mar 28 2024, 12:40 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(LY125 @ Mar 28 2024, 11:13 AM)
Any good recommendation on driver gauge?
Can try this maybe

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.8oAQa

Lazada and Shopee got a few options

Taobao also got more choices of accessories

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Mar 28 2024, 12:41 PM
LY125
post Mar 31 2024, 05:03 PM

13 posts

Does anyone know how much windscreen for CX-30 costs? Trying to see how much to insure.

Don’t wanna under or over insure.

This post has been edited by LY125: Mar 31 2024, 05:03 PM
mikazzz
post Apr 3 2024, 01:05 PM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(LY125 @ Mar 31 2024, 05:03 PM)
Does anyone know how much windscreen for CX-30 costs? Trying to see how much to insure.

Don’t wanna under or over insure.
mine is 5k, but i heard some insure for 6.5k as well, since include the tinting i guess
mikazzz
post Apr 3 2024, 01:06 PM

< / >
879 posts

wanna check, does anyone here install dashcam for their cx-30. Thinking of doing it NOT via hardwire method since SA said will void warranty. Wanna see how to route the power from dashcam all the way to 12v in center console there
TSZeneticX
post Apr 3 2024, 04:09 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(mikazzz @ Apr 3 2024, 01:06 PM)
wanna check, does anyone here install dashcam for their cx-30. Thinking of doing it NOT via hardwire method since SA said will void warranty. Wanna see how to route the power from dashcam all the way to 12v in center console there
you planning to DIY?

i believe if you go to any reputable accessories shop they will figure out a way to route the cable
mikazzz
post Apr 3 2024, 05:47 PM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 3 2024, 04:09 PM)
you planning to DIY?

i believe if you go to any reputable accessories shop they will figure out a way to route the cable
nah, gonna send to store. Just curious how they do it, since i scared they simply do tongue.gif
layzieboy
post Apr 3 2024, 07:39 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(mikazzz @ Apr 3 2024, 05:47 PM)
nah, gonna send to store. Just curious how they do it, since i scared they simply do  tongue.gif
I am also curious but I DIY using my own harness that taps into the rear view mirror dimmer. Wonder if there's a market for this, can sell on shopee..haha.
General_Nic
post Apr 4 2024, 09:04 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(mikazzz @ Apr 3 2024, 01:06 PM)
this is very much grey area
my SA said hardwire no issue as long as no wires are cut
SC said send to Mazda appointed accessories shop install will have no problem

end of the day when shit happens, it depends on the SC willing to claim warranty or Bermaz side approve the claim or not

some SC will say before take photo to claim warranty, u just need to unplug the hardwire kit to make it look factory default
mikazzz
post Apr 5 2024, 10:21 AM

< / >
879 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Apr 4 2024, 09:04 AM)
this is very much grey area
my SA said hardwire no issue as long as no wires are cut
SC said send to Mazda appointed accessories shop install will have no problem

end of the day when shit happens, it depends on the SC willing to claim warranty or Bermaz side approve the claim or not

some SC will say before take photo to claim warranty, u just need to unplug the hardwire kit to make it look factory default
yeah agreed on this..sometimes it's just not your day when shit happens. Hence my SA just ask me not to do it, just in case..coz u never know in the end
TSZeneticX
post Apr 29 2024, 05:04 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

CX30 involved in a serious accident with a lorry. Driver walked away with light injuries

shaniandras2787
post Jul 2 2024, 05:04 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

wow - this place is so dead.

seems like there aren't many CX-30 owners.

TSZeneticX
post Jul 30 2024, 06:48 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

after going through several dilemmas, back and forth between Corolla Cross, CX30, XV, Model 3 and Civic. finally placed my booking for CX30 H+ Premium

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jul 31 2024, 01:31 PM
blanket84
post Aug 1 2024, 12:00 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jul 30 2024, 06:48 PM)
after going through several dilemmas, back and forth between Corolla Cross, CX30, XV, Model 3 and Civic. finally placed my booking for CX30 H+ Premium
Any discount? I gave up hope waiting for 10.25” screen. Might place a booking too soon.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 1 2024, 09:13 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 1 2024, 12:00 AM)
Any discount? I gave up hope waiting for 10.25” screen. Might place a booking too soon.
try looking for Mazda Puchong Asst Manager - Grace. She can give quite a good offer

if you want to try your luck also you can head to Sunway Velocity Bermaz roadshow (until this Sun). Place booking there you got lucky draw, rebate range from 500 - 10k (i got 500 only doh.gif )

i saw Mazda 3 thread someone ordered the 10.25" screen and planning to install himself. Maybe we can do the same in future

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 1 2024, 09:37 AM
blanket84
post Aug 1 2024, 02:13 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 1 2024, 09:13 AM)
try looking for Mazda Puchong Asst Manager - Grace. She can give quite a good offer

if you want to try your luck also you can head to Sunway Velocity Bermaz roadshow (until this Sun). Place booking there you got lucky draw, rebate range from 500 - 10k (i got 500 only  doh.gif )

i saw Mazda 3 thread someone ordered the 10.25" screen and planning to install himself. Maybe we can do the same in future
I always see her in FB, but I prefer to find SA nearer to where I am staying.

My brother once kena Mazda’s lucky draw 6-7 years back. He managed to get 5-6k discount from the draw.

Close to 10k bro to upgrade to 10.25”. I doubt the price difference would be that much if it comes in a package from Mazda.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 1 2024, 02:33 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 1 2024, 02:13 PM)
I always see her in FB, but I prefer to find SA nearer to where I am staying.

My brother once kena Mazda’s lucky draw 6-7 years back. He managed to get 5-6k discount from the draw.

Close to 10k bro to upgrade to 10.25”. I doubt the price difference would be that much if it comes in a package from Mazda.
I was thinking to try my luck maybe can get 2 - 3k rebate from the lucky draw also not bad. Manatau only 500 doh.gif

hopefully the spare parts price drop in future or there's OEM parts. I doubt Bermaz gonna launch CX30 refresh anytime soon because they are busy with Xpeng now.... then its gonna be either Kia Sportage or CX60.
rapple
post Aug 5 2024, 01:24 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Got 3k rebate from Mazda lucky draw .

So in total got 5k off.

My brother going for the Hi+ this year.

My wife got the hi+P last year.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 5 2024, 01:40 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 5 2024, 01:24 PM)

So in total got 5k off.

Lucky man. I wonder if anyone got the 10k from lucky draw
rapple
post Aug 7 2024, 04:57 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 5 2024, 01:24 PM)

So in total got 5k off.

Got additional offer for Aug to Oct 2024 3 months program.

Mazda owner special privilege program to offer additional one year extension of FREE MAINTENANCE SERVICE to be 6years or 120K KM

😄 so lucky my brother just because I also own another mazda.
blanket84
post Aug 8 2024, 07:01 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 7 2024, 04:57 PM)
Got additional offer for Aug to Oct 2024 3 months program.

Mazda owner special privilege program to offer additional one year extension of FREE MAINTENANCE SERVICE to be 6 years or 120K KM

😄 so lucky my brother just because I also own another mazda.
Mind elaborating the bolded part?

And how does the lucky draw works ya? They will be in Setia City Mall this coming weekend. Near to my house. Thinking of going.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 8 2024, 07:46 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 8 2024, 07:01 PM)

And how does the lucky draw works ya? They will be in Setia City Mall this coming weekend. Near to my house. Thinking of going.
Just place your booking with any SA at the event then you will be eligible for lucky draw on the spot
blanket84
post Aug 8 2024, 09:23 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 8 2024, 07:46 PM)
Just place your booking with any SA at the event then you will be eligible for lucky draw on the spot
How much is the booking? And what if we decide not to proceed if the discount isn't really favourable, like your case?
TSZeneticX
post Aug 8 2024, 09:48 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 8 2024, 09:23 PM)
How much is the booking? And what if we decide not to proceed if the discount isn't really favourable, like your case?
For mine booking is 700, not sure if different SA got different amount

If dont want proceed just cancel the booking, booking fee refundable minus 50 as processing fee. But the SA probably will try his/her best to convince you not to cancel, that's where you negotiate for the best offer
rapple
post Aug 9 2024, 02:48 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 8 2024, 07:01 PM)

The lucky draw not sure still available or not. U can go check it out at the roadshow.

The extended warranty is for customer who already bought a mazda previously with bermaz, now buy another mazda.

The booking is rm700. SA didn't mention got processing fees if cancelled booking in future.

This post has been edited by rapple: Aug 9 2024, 02:49 PM
blanket84
post Aug 9 2024, 02:59 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 8 2024, 09:48 PM)
For mine booking is 700, not sure if different SA got different amount

If dont want proceed just cancel the booking, booking fee refundable minus 50 as processing fee. But the SA probably will try his/her best to convince you not to cancel, that's where you negotiate for the best offer
QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 9 2024, 02:48 PM)
The lucky draw not sure still available or not. U can go check it out at the roadshow.

The extended warranty is for customer who already bought a mazda previously with bermaz, now buy another mazda.

The booking is rm700. SA didn't mention got processing fees if cancelled booking in future.
Thanks. Will try my luck this weekend.
blanket84
post Aug 10 2024, 05:12 PM

1,520 posts

Went to Setia City Mall this afternoon. No luck, only RM500 rebate from lucky draw.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Aug 10 2024, 05:12 PM
TSZeneticX
post Aug 10 2024, 05:42 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 10 2024, 05:12 PM)
Went to Setia City Mall this afternoon. No luck, only RM500 rebate from lucky draw.
Is better than nothing actually if you can nego a good deal from your SA
blanket84
post Aug 11 2024, 10:53 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 10 2024, 05:42 PM)
Is better than nothing actually if you can nego a good deal from your SA
Yeah. Better than nothing. Managed to get a good deal overall. So, proceed jela. Waited too long already.

When will you get your car?
TSZeneticX
post Aug 11 2024, 11:25 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2024, 10:53 AM)
Yeah. Better than nothing. Managed to get a good deal overall. So, proceed jela. Waited too long already.

When will you get your car?
If all goes well maybe early or mid September. Told my SA i want to sell my current car first before applying for loan.
blanket84
post Aug 11 2024, 12:33 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 11 2024, 11:25 AM)
If all goes well maybe early or mid September. Told my SA i want to sell my current car first before applying for loan.
Owh. Still long way to go. My SA said ready stock, but around three weeks. Maybe because he only guessing the stocks rather than actually checking and buffer on loan processing that sometimes could go up to two weeks.

Probably would start advertising my car once the loan approved. Still need two cars for daily use. So can’t afford to be down with one car.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 11 2024, 12:48 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 11 2024, 12:33 PM)
Owh. Still long way to go. My SA said ready stock, but around three weeks. Maybe because he only guessing the stocks rather than actually checking and buffer on loan processing that sometimes could go up to two weeks.

Probably would start advertising my car once the loan approved. Still need two cars for daily use. So can’t afford to be down with one car.
depends on the spec and colour you choose also. My SA told me H+ Premium and Poly Grey is least demanding, so ready stocks more easy to come by. And even if wait production from factory also not that long (around 1 month iinm). The more popular specs are H and H+

and I also requested to take delivery of my car around Sept due to some 'Type C pantang' biggrin.gif hungry ghost festival now cannot take delivery of new car/ move in new houses

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 11 2024, 12:50 PM
blanket84
post Aug 11 2024, 03:09 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 11 2024, 12:48 PM)
depends on the spec and colour you choose also. My SA told me H+ Premium and Poly Grey is least demanding, so ready stocks more easy to come by. And even if wait production from factory also not that long (around 1 month iinm). The more popular specs are H and H+

and I also requested to take delivery of my car around Sept due to some 'Type C pantang' biggrin.gif hungry ghost festival now cannot take delivery of new car/ move in new houses
I booked for H+P Platinum Quartz. My SA said that colour is famous for H+P so always run the production in large number and always got stock. Don’t know true or not.

Probably because of the pantang you mentioned, people with no pantang like me can “cut Q” now laugh.gif
contagiouseddie
post Aug 11 2024, 10:57 PM

304 posts

The extended 6th year warranty is valid if you or family member owns a Mazda, then you are qualified. But if you have anyone with the same surname, that would work as well.
The same surname works better than even spouse or mother that has different surname which you need to provde the relationship evidence.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 12 2024, 12:50 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Aug 11 2024, 10:57 PM)
The extended 6th year warranty is valid if you or family member owns a Mazda, then you are qualified. But if you have anyone with the same surname, that would work as well.
The same surname works better than even spouse or mother that has different surname which you need to provde the relationship evidence.
How does it work? Need to contact the person to inform SA or?
rapple
post Aug 12 2024, 05:32 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

They requested birth certificate to proof relationship and that's my brother.
contagiouseddie
post Aug 12 2024, 10:13 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 12 2024, 12:50 AM)
How does it work? Need to contact the person to inform SA or?
SA said show copy of the registration card.
blanket84
post Aug 12 2024, 06:21 PM

1,520 posts

Guys. Extended warranty or extended maintenance? FB posting all said extended maintenance, warranty still 100,000km or 5 years.

Haven't checked with my SA yet, need clarification before asking him.
rapple
post Aug 13 2024, 05:28 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 12 2024, 06:21 PM)
Guys. Extended warranty or extended maintenance? FB posting all said extended maintenance, warranty still 100,000km or 5 years.

Haven't checked with my SA yet, need clarification before asking him.
Extention free maintenance to 120,000 or 6 years.

SA didn't mention its warranty got extention.

Previous post wrong info. My bad.

This post has been edited by rapple: Aug 13 2024, 05:29 AM
TSZeneticX
post Aug 14 2024, 07:41 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

What's the consensus about installing dashcam and warranty? SA told me if tap to fuse box confirm void warranty, so she suggest use the 12v socket instead. But to me there is no difference? If I want to claim warranty I can choose to unplug/uninstall the dashcam no matter if its 12v socket or fuse box
blanket84
post Aug 15 2024, 10:02 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2024, 07:41 PM)
What's the consensus about installing dashcam and warranty? SA told me if tap to fuse box confirm void warranty, so she suggest use the 12v socket instead. But to me there is no difference? If I want to claim warranty I can choose to unplug/uninstall the dashcam no matter if its 12v socket or fuse box
I would play it safe and use 12v instead.
overfloe
post Aug 15 2024, 10:23 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2024, 08:41 PM)
Tapping the fuse box has the potential of a short circuit, this will be SC's argument, while 12v is just plug n play. You need to tap the fuse box if you want 24-hour surveillance. 12v cannot.

I use 12v just for warranty's sake.

also, SC will disconnect the dashcam when you send your car for a service.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 15 2024, 03:06 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 15 2024, 10:02 AM)
I would play it safe and use 12v instead.
QUOTE(overfloe @ Aug 15 2024, 10:23 AM)
Tapping the fuse box has the potential of a short circuit, this will be SC's argument, while 12v is just plug n play. You need to tap the fuse box if you want 24-hour surveillance. 12v cannot.

I use 12v just for warranty's sake.

also, SC will disconnect the dashcam when you send your car for a service.
Thanks. I'll stick to 12v in that case
blanket84
post Aug 15 2024, 03:41 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 15 2024, 03:06 PM)
Thanks. I'll stick to 12v in that case
Have you decided on the dashcam? I have budgeted some money for PPF, but no sure how much should I allocate for dashcam. Haven’t done enough research on dashcam yet.
overfloe
post Aug 15 2024, 03:46 PM

2,207 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 15 2024, 04:41 PM)
Have you decided on the dashcam? I have budgeted some money for PPF, but no sure how much should I allocate for dashcam. Haven’t done enough research on dashcam yet.
You can get a very good dashcam (ddpai/70mai) for around rm500~600. Look around during sales.

Personally i'm using ddpai z40, so far no issues (1yr+)

TSZeneticX
post Aug 15 2024, 04:36 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 15 2024, 03:41 PM)
depends on your budget.... i think around 500+ can get a decent enough one already. Personally I prefer capacitor dashcam compared to battery type. These are slightly more expensive but more reliable under high heat. Can check out DDPAI Z50, Viofo A129 series if your budget limited

I'm deciding if wanting to spend more for Viofo A229 plus / pro

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 15 2024, 05:20 PM
blanket84
post Aug 15 2024, 05:22 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Aug 15 2024, 03:46 PM)
You can get a very good dashcam (ddpai/70mai) for around rm500~600. Look around during sales.

Personally i'm using ddpai z40, so far no issues (1yr+)
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 15 2024, 04:36 PM)
depends on your budget.... i think around 500+ can get a decent enough one already. Personally I prefer capacitor dashcam compared to battery type. These are slightly more expensive but more reliable under high heat. Can check out DDPAI Z50, Viofo A129 series if your budget limited

I'm deciding if wanting to spend more for Viofo A229 plus / pro
Actually I prefer those without display screen. Looks sleek. But not sure if it worth spending so much on function that I would not use (parking mode).

And yeah I also prefer the one that using capacitor instead of batteries. Will try to do more research before I decide.

Viofo A229 seems like a good option. Reasonable price. And 2k rear cam instead of normal full HD. Only thing I don’t like is the size. But most likely I could accept the size since it would be hidden behind the rear view mirror laugh.gif

This post has been edited by blanket84: Aug 15 2024, 05:25 PM
overfloe
post Aug 15 2024, 05:43 PM

2,207 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 15 2024, 06:22 PM)
Actually I prefer those without display screen. Looks sleek. But not sure if it worth spending so much on function that I would not use (parking mode).

And yeah I also prefer the one that using capacitor instead of batteries. Will try to do more research before I decide.

Viofo A229 seems like a good option. Reasonable price. And 2k rear cam instead of normal full HD. Only thing I don’t like is the size. But most likely I could accept the size since it would be hidden behind the rear view mirror laugh.gif
Checkout ddpai mola n3 pro. No screen and cheaper too.
rapple
post Aug 15 2024, 06:45 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Using the USB slot in front. Didn't hardwire it scared affects warranty.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 15 2024, 07:27 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 15 2024, 05:22 PM)

the main thing about A229 is its using latest Sony IMX675 sensor aka Starvis 2. Most dashcams except some flagship is still on Starvis 1

Viofo dashcam generally not that big, considered small already compared to other flagship dashcams

you dont want display screen because of the design itself or you worry it will just remain on? Viofo actually got settings to put the display to sleep after certain time, so most of the time it will remain off actually until you wake it

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 15 2024, 07:31 PM
blanket84
post Aug 15 2024, 10:46 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Aug 15 2024, 05:43 PM)
Checkout ddpai mola n3 pro. No screen and cheaper too.
Too cheap also don't want. Scared it would not be reliable when needed.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 15 2024, 07:27 PM)
the main thing about A229 is its using latest Sony IMX675 sensor aka Starvis 2. Most dashcams except some flagship is still on Starvis 1

Viofo dashcam generally not that big, considered small already compared to other flagship dashcams

you dont want display screen because of the design itself or you worry it will just remain on? Viofo actually got settings to put the display to sleep after certain time, so most of the time it will remain off actually until you wake it
Nothing to do with the function of the screen. It's just I don't like the look. But after few hours of researching, I came to conclusion that Viofo A229 plus or pro is the value for money buy. If anything better, I would be paying for function that I would not be using.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 16 2024, 05:40 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 15 2024, 10:46 PM)
Too cheap also don't want. Scared it would not be reliable when needed.
Nothing to do with the function of the screen. It's just I don't like the look. But after few hours of researching, I came to conclusion that Viofo A229 plus or pro is the value for money buy. If anything better, I would be paying for function that I would not be using.
Applied your loan already? What's your amount, tenure and rate you got?
layzieboy
post Aug 16 2024, 11:30 PM

496 posts

I went with the viofo vs1 as I like things kept simple. Single channel, supercap, screenless, above average image quality. Checks all the boxes for me.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 18 2024, 12:07 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Chassis and engine number assigned. Now just wait loan approval

blanket84
post Aug 18 2024, 11:38 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 18 2024, 12:07 AM)

How do you check ya? The link i received only mentioned about booking info.

Edit: Found already. Need to proceed to mazda connect portal for further details. Mine also assigned with engine & chassis number already. Yesterday signed loan my SA said the car is now in Padang Jawa already.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Aug 18 2024, 11:45 AM
TSZeneticX
post Aug 18 2024, 12:27 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 18 2024, 11:38 AM)
How do you check ya? The link i received only mentioned about booking info.

Edit: Found already. Need to proceed to mazda connect portal for further details. Mine also assigned with engine & chassis number already. Yesterday signed loan my SA said the car is now in Padang Jawa already.
correct, as soon SA key in your booking then should have details already

enjoy your new ride! I will probably received mine on the first or second weekend of September if all goes well

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 18 2024, 12:27 PM
rapple
post Aug 18 2024, 01:41 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 18 2024, 12:07 AM)

thats fast. i thought they would wait for your loan approval before getting the car for you.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 18 2024, 01:59 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 18 2024, 01:41 PM)
thats fast. i thought they would wait for your loan approval before getting the car for you.
Maybe because its ready stock for my colour and spec, and SA is confident I'll get my loan approved tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 18 2024, 02:00 PM
TSZeneticX
post Aug 26 2024, 12:00 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Taobao shopping as preparation for car delivery in 2 weeks time 😂

Getting the black grille cover since I'm going for chrome delete mod

Mud guards and the rear wheel arc cover

Color matching key cover

And some other interior accessories

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 26 2024, 12:04 AM
blanket84
post Aug 27 2024, 04:15 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 26 2024, 12:00 AM)
Taobao shopping as preparation for car delivery in 2 weeks time 😂

Getting the black grille cover since I'm going for chrome delete mod

Mud guards and the rear wheel arc cover

Color matching key cover

And some other interior accessories

That's a long shopping list..

I have just collected my car this afternoon.

Tomorrow going to send for PPF.

Getting used to the brake would probably take some time. sweat.gif
TSZeneticX
post Aug 27 2024, 04:56 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 27 2024, 04:15 PM)
That's a long shopping list..

I have just collected my car this afternoon.

Tomorrow going to send for PPF.

Getting used to the brake would probably take some time. sweat.gif
there's some more from lazada and shopee

Congrats on your new ride. Added to owner's list on first page. Share some pics after done PPF tongue.gif

tbh after 2 different test drive sessions, I don't really feel or understand the issue many people had with the brake sweat.gif is it the longer travel distance for the pedal?
blanket84
post Aug 27 2024, 05:49 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 27 2024, 04:56 PM)
there's some more from lazada and shopee

Congrats on your new ride. Added to owner's list on first page. Share some pics after done PPF tongue.gif

tbh after 2 different test drive sessions, I don't really feel or understand the issue many people had with the brake  sweat.gif is it the longer travel distance for the pedal?
Officially a Matsuda Fanboi laugh.gif Didn’t get a good composition of the the car since I was in hurry, scared the neighbours see me taking photo of a new car laugh.gif

The brake feels lack of action, making you feel like you need to press harder to stop. Not worry though since it has auto braking.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 27 2024, 06:04 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 27 2024, 05:49 PM)
Officially a Matsuda Fanboi laugh.gif Didn’t get a good composition of the the car since I was in hurry, scared the neighbours see me taking photo of a new car laugh.gif

The brake feels lack of action, making you feel like you need to press harder to stop. Not worry though since it has auto braking.
Wah u have the latest facelift Mazda 2 also? The B segment that everyone says its overpriced (tbh it kinda is)

I read somewhere Mazda intentionally design the brake that way so it gives a more gradual feeling instead of a sudden stopping feel which will throw the occupants forward. But then I never found any official statement from Mazda about this, could be just salesman talk. In the end its just something to get used to which won't be an issue eventually

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 27 2024, 06:05 PM
blanket84
post Aug 27 2024, 06:17 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 27 2024, 06:04 PM)
Wah u have the latest facelift Mazda 2 also? The B segment that everyone says its overpriced (tbh it kinda is)

I read somewhere Mazda intentionally design the brake that way so it gives a more gradual feeling instead of a sudden stopping feel which will throw the occupants forward. But then I never found any official statement from Mazda about this, could be just salesman talk. In the end its just something to get used to which won't be an issue eventually
Yeah the overpriced car. Got mine pre-owned though at 750km mileage, 4.5 years warranty and 15k "discount". At the price I bought, it is miles better than its competitor, and the most important thing is that the interior and its drivability are much much better than the cars in its segment.

Not the latest facelift though. This one is the 2020 facelift. A very rare car laugh.gif. The latest facelift is the 2023/2024 which comes with sportier look with black seats and red stitching. This one comes with blue leather seats. Prefer this one over the new one, so I bought Bermaz pre-owned instead earlier this year since they no longer have brand new stock.

Yeah I read the same about CX-30 brake and well aware of its behaviour even before I made the booking. It's just a matter of getting used to it.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Aug 27 2024, 06:18 PM
rapple
post Aug 28 2024, 10:02 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 27 2024, 05:49 PM)

Nice color... Should have wait for Soul Red for cx30 but wife don't want to wait that's why took the white.

blanket84
post Aug 28 2024, 10:50 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 28 2024, 10:02 AM)
Nice color... Should have wait for Soul Red for cx30 but wife don't want to wait that's why took the white.
Still stock look from the outside. Most people would paint their rim and do chrome delete laugh.gif

Did you put PPF on your car?
rapple
post Aug 28 2024, 11:02 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 28 2024, 10:50 AM)
Still stock look from the outside. Most people would paint their rim and do chrome delete laugh.gif

Did you put PPF on your car?
Yea most on the FB group cx30 paint their rim to gloss black. It's nice but the dirt will be more obvious.

Just ppf on the headlights and door cups.

And ppf on the interior center console.

This post has been edited by rapple: Aug 28 2024, 11:13 AM
TSZeneticX
post Aug 28 2024, 11:57 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 28 2024, 10:02 AM)
So many matsuda fans here... both cars same brand

Btw if you guys already installed dashcam, can share some pictures how the wire was routed to the 12v port? Looking for the less obvious and cleanest route / method...

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 28 2024, 11:59 AM
blanket84
post Aug 28 2024, 12:45 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 28 2024, 11:02 AM)
Yea most on the FB group cx30 paint their rim to gloss black. It's nice but the dirt will be more obvious.

Just ppf on the headlights and door cups.

And ppf on the interior center console.
How long have you been driving the car? How’s your paint holding up? Stonechips?

I’m doing interior PPF too. Including meter cluster panel.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 28 2024, 11:57 AM)

Btw if you guys already installed dashcam, can share some pictures how the wire was routed to the 12v port? Looking for the less obvious and cleanest route / method...
I am just an accidental fan. There isn’t much choice in Malaysia for a car of mazda 2 hatchback size. Toyota only sell fake Yaris here. VW no longer selling polo. Kia Rio no longer selling. Ford Fiesta also gone. And I don’t want Perodua after Daihatsu faking the safety test. So, Mazda 2 it is. laugh.gif

I was wondering the same to about dashcam wiring routing. That would be next in my to-do list after ppf.
rapple
post Aug 28 2024, 01:15 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Back in 2022 Mazda 6 was not my first choice but due to no stock from Honda - Accord and I need car urgently because my only car got major issue with the engine. I didn't even test drive the car and just book through their website and collect the car in PJ.

Got poison after owning it.

Cx30 interior it's just more up market comparing to HRV / Cross / X50. My wife just love it after seeing it.

Didn't route the dashcam to the port.
rapple
post Aug 28 2024, 01:19 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Aug 28 2024, 12:45 PM)
How long have you been driving the car? How’s your paint holding up? Stonechips?

I’m doing interior PPF too. Including meter cluster panel.
I am just an accidental fan. There isn’t much choice in Malaysia for a car of mazda 2 hatchback size. Toyota only sell fake Yaris here. VW no longer selling polo. Kia Rio no longer selling. Ford Fiesta also gone. And I don’t want Perodua after Daihatsu faking the safety test. So, Mazda 2 it is. laugh.gif

I was wondering the same to about dashcam wiring routing. That would be next in my to-do list after ppf.
Almost 1 year, stone chip and scratches unavoidable. Save money and repaint few years later.

Stonw chip and scratches not obvious but I see a few here and there. Most scratches comes from parking next to some car who open their door like nobody business.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 28 2024, 01:23 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 28 2024, 01:15 PM)
Back in 2022 Mazda 6 was not my first choice but due to no stock from Honda - Accord and I need car urgently because my only car got major issue with the engine. I didn't even test drive the car and just book through their website and collect the car in PJ.

Got poison after owning it.

Cx30 interior it's just more up market comparing to HRV / Cross / X50. My wife just love it after seeing it.
Didn't route the dashcam to the port.
Yes CX30 interior is next level compared to HRV and Cross. If only the backseats are more reclined I think more people would've preferred it

You went for hardwire directly? Actually I'll prefer hardwire but there's the concern about warranty. iinm only warranty related to electrical components will be voided? Which seems to be rare issues for CX30 to have... but you never know

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 28 2024, 01:25 PM
rapple
post Aug 28 2024, 01:54 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 28 2024, 01:23 PM)
Yes CX30 interior is next level compared to HRV and Cross. If only the backseats are more reclined I think more people would've preferred it

You went for hardwire directly? Actually I'll prefer hardwire but there's the concern about warranty. iinm only warranty related to electrical components will be voided? Which seems to be rare issues for CX30 to have... but you never know

Oh I dint hardwired it. Sorry got mixup your question.

Rear seats it's quite ok I think compare to volvo xc40 or c40 but its for my young kids so think for now no issue.. 😄 🤣
TSZeneticX
post Aug 28 2024, 03:08 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Aug 28 2024, 01:54 PM)

Oh I dint hardwired it. Sorry got mixup your question.

Rear seats it's quite ok I think compare to volvo xc40 or c40 but its for my young kids so think for now no issue.. 😄 🤣
Oh you just let it be..... for me cannot lah new car 😂
rapple
post Aug 28 2024, 03:10 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 28 2024, 03:08 PM)
Oh you just let it be..... for me cannot lah new car 😂
My wife car. She don't mind it.

My mazda 6 I hardwired it. 😄
SasuKopa P
post Aug 29 2024, 09:10 AM

Probation
30 posts

Although mine is Mazda 3, but we share the same interior

12v port, go left and down, hide the cables under the center panel below, under glove compartment, A pillar, top windscreen.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 29 2024, 10:13 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 29 2024, 09:10 AM)
Although mine is Mazda 3, but we share the same interior

12v port, go left and down, hide the cables under the center panel below, under glove compartment, A pillar, top windscreen.
almost like what i have in mind as well, will route the cable on the floor so its not too obvious and can be covered with floor mats.
shaniandras2787
post Sep 3 2024, 02:10 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

For those who can understand Chinese, this is perhaps the best commentary about the CX-30

The host is the President of Taiwan's Mazda Fan Club.
TSZeneticX
post Sep 3 2024, 05:12 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 3 2024, 02:10 PM)
For those who can understand Chinese, this is perhaps the best commentary about the CX-30

The host is the President of Taiwan's Mazda Fan Club.
i watched his reviews before and thought he is from China since the channel is based in China

another reviewer from Taiwan I tend to watch is DR IF. He goes more into the technical details rather than just spec sheet and driving review

a similar english reviewer is savagegeese

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 3 2024, 05:29 PM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 7 2024, 12:16 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Received today

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 7 2024, 12:17 PM
blanket84
post Sep 7 2024, 07:06 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 7 2024, 12:16 PM)
Received today

Congrats! What colour did you paint your rim?
TSZeneticX
post Sep 7 2024, 07:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Sep 7 2024, 07:06 PM)
Congrats! What colour did you paint your rim?
Gloss black haha, follow Ignite spec last time

blanket84
post Sep 7 2024, 09:06 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 7 2024, 07:28 PM)
Haha. Everywhere I see people painted their CX-30 rim gloss black. Wish to see something different, like gun metal.
TSZeneticX
post Sep 7 2024, 10:02 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Sep 7 2024, 09:06 PM)
Haha. Everywhere I see people painted their CX-30 rim gloss black. Wish to see something different, like gun metal.
Can request from SA actually, but they will bring out to spray also, just see whether they want to free or charge you.

Personally for my color (polymetal grey), it matches well with black only hahah

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 7 2024, 10:12 PM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 7 2024, 10:23 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Some tips for new or even current owners who are not aware

- You can put one of your spare key to sleep mode. This will prevent battery draining, no need to swap keys anymore to maintain battery level. Press 4 times on the lock button, then on the 5th time hold it until you hear some beeps. Your key is now in sleep mode, it can no longer be used for keyless entry and start your car. To reactive it just repeat the steps.

- The usb port in the center console armrest actually supports AC and AA also. Not just the front port. This is good if you plan to get those wireless AC / AA adapter, you can just plug in and store in the center console. For the front port for me I bought a mini usb ambient light for some extra illumination (seriously one thing I dont like about CX30 is how little ambient illumination there is, not even the center console storage doh.gif)

These 2 tips I was aware about actually and I just brought it up to my SA today to 'test'.... unsurprisingly she was not aware about either of them. But at least one of the service center guy knows about the keyfob sleep mode

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 8 2024, 12:05 AM
shaniandras2787
post Sep 9 2024, 10:17 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 7 2024, 07:28 PM)
congrats on the delivery.

by the way, since the rim was repainted then it is good to check whether it's just spray painted or actually powder coated.

sharing a picture i took over the weekend when the sunset was just at the right angle highlighting the "S" curve, so satisfying to look at.
TSZeneticX
post Sep 9 2024, 11:13 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 9 2024, 10:17 AM)
congrats on the delivery.

by the way, since the rim was repainted then it is good to check whether it's just spray painted or actually powder coated.

sharing a picture i took over the weekend when the sunset was just at the right angle highlighting the "S" curve, so satisfying to look at.
How to check? Tbh i feel like its spray painted since it was done in a day and costs only rm700

what's your spec btw? for first page owner's list purpose

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 9 2024, 11:42 AM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 9 2024, 11:40 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

attention to every new or current owners.... please DO NOT attempt to wipe or even touch the plastic lens cover of the instrument cluster. Don't even try to wipe it with a microfibre cloth. It scratches damm easily, imagine your microfibre cloth turning into sandpaper

I was not aware about this and attempted to wipe the dust off it yesterday using microfibre cloth.... this is the result doh.gif

luckily for me at least it is not that obvious most of the time unless there's light shining onto it, but damage had been done

this is not a CKD issue, its a well known issue for a long time and i think it applies to Mazda 3 as well

https://www.cx30talk.com/threads/instrument...lens-cover.271/

https://www.cx30talk.com/threads/instrument...er.271/#replies

Mazda USA even issued a bulletin for this

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2022/MC-10215244-0001.pdf

Instrument Cluster Lens Cleaning Procedure
1. Blow off surface dust from the lens surface using compressed air (shop air or compressed air duster can).
2. Wet with water only and wring out a soft microfiber cloth (for eyeglasses).
3. Use the microfiber cloth and wipe the lens softly in one direction as shown below.
CAUTION: A hard or rough cloth and detergent should never be used for cleaning the lens; otherwise, it may scratch it.
Also, never wipe with hard pressure.

NOTE:
If the lens is scratched, it cannot be repaired. The lens will need to be replaced.•
Advise dealer detail shop to use this cleaning procedure to prevent lens damage during new vehicle delivery.•
I asked around the fb owner's group for solutions, and some suggested to just directly apply a TPU film onto it, will cover most of the scratches. Gonna try that next

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 9 2024, 11:40 AM
squareballs
post Sep 9 2024, 12:21 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 9 2024, 11:40 AM)
attention to every new or current owners.... please DO NOT attempt to wipe or even touch the plastic lens cover of the instrument cluster. Don't even try to wipe it with a microfibre cloth. It scratches damm easily, imagine your microfibre cloth turning into sandpaper

I was not aware about this and attempted to wipe the dust off it yesterday using microfibre cloth.... this is the result  doh.gif

luckily for me at least it is not that obvious most of the time unless there's light shining onto it, but damage had been done

this is not a CKD issue, its a well known issue for a long time and i think it applies to Mazda 3 as well

I asked around the fb owner's group for solutions, and some suggested to just directly apply a TPU film onto it, will cover most of the scratches. Gonna try that next
TPU film on plastic surface.. long term will it affect anything?

TPU film glue + Heat on plastic surface...

TSZeneticX
post Sep 9 2024, 12:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 9 2024, 12:21 PM)
TPU film on plastic surface.. long term will it affect anything?

TPU film glue + Heat on plastic surface...
since its on the instrument cluster only i think it should be fine. And TPU is more resistant to heat and UV damage compared to TPH, assuming you got a genuine and good quality TPU lah
shaniandras2787
post Sep 9 2024, 12:50 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 9 2024, 11:13 AM)
How to check? Tbh i feel like its spray painted since it was done in a day and costs only rm700

what's your spec btw? for first page owner's list purpose
oh, if that's the case then it is definitely spray painted. it is still good, just that you need to be a bit more "delicate" with it because it is much "softer".

mine is High+
shaniandras2787
post Sep 9 2024, 12:54 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

yeap, the same poor quality on my Mazda3 as well.

be wary though when you apply the TPU because application itself may also potentially scratch it because of the scraping action.
TSZeneticX
post Sep 9 2024, 01:07 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 9 2024, 12:50 PM)
oh, if that's the case then it is definitely spray painted. it is still good, just that you need to be a bit more "delicate" with it because it is much "softer".

mine is High+
yeah its just to make my stock rims look good so i think its sufficient enough. will try my best not to curb it

give it few more years maybe I have budget and hand itchy will change to proper sport rims tongue.gif

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 9 2024, 12:54 PM)

yeap, the same poor quality on my Mazda3 as well.

be wary though when you apply the TPU because application itself may also potentially scratch it because of the scraping action.
noted on that, i will probably try to scrape towards the bottom so any scratches will occur at the bottom part and not too obvious hopefully
TSZeneticX
post Sep 9 2024, 05:41 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

The stock 8 speaker sound system seems a bit underwhelming with default settings. But with some EQ adjustments it made a lot of difference.

Dont think its Bose level but at least it sounds good enough to me that I dont think I'll need a DSP or subwoofer for the time being

Mazda actually spent some RnD with the stock sound system. They call it Mazda Harmonic Acoustics

https://blog.mazda.com/archive/20190808_01.html

Can use google translate to read more about it

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 9 2024, 05:47 PM
shaniandras2787
post Sep 10 2024, 10:01 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

yeah, about this.

either Bermaz skimmed on the speakers on the CKD models OR Mazda did not actually tweaked the speakers of the CX-30 as detailed as the Mazda3.

despite having set the same EQ settings as my Mazda3 in the CX-30, the output is night and day, it's just not that "immersive" in the CX-30. something is amiss.

TSZeneticX
post Sep 10 2024, 10:42 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 10 2024, 10:01 AM)

yeah, about this.

either Bermaz skimmed on the speakers on the CKD models OR Mazda did not actually tweaked the speakers of the CX-30 as detailed as the Mazda3.

despite having set the same EQ settings as my Mazda3 in the CX-30, the output is night and day, it's just not that "immersive" in the CX-30. something is amiss.
i guess we wont know unless someone did a tear down comparison between M3 CBU vs CX30 CBU vs CX30 CKD. Maybe its not the speakers, its possible there's less sound deadening in the doors for the CKD as well. But at least for me though it sounds good enough since I upgraded from a car with lesser sound system

anyway i'm just kinda glad they at least decided to keep the undercarriage covers for CX30 CKD

also i wonder whether someone out there tried adding a centre speaker and whether there's any improvements to SQ doing so. Behind the display there's a cover where its for the Bose centre speaker, in the stock system its just a cover

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 10 2024, 10:45 AM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 10 2024, 07:22 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Accessories I've installed so far

Alloy pedals

USB ambient light

Centre armrest storage tray

Metal paddle shifter extension

Front grille black cover

This center console storage rack fits nicely and seems useful but it blocks my ambient light.... I'm letting go for RM35 COD KL / Selangor. Anyone interested can pm me

Color matched key shell, directly replace the original shell

Finally fixed my cluster lens scratched issue with a TPU film. Those marks are just reflection from my phone flash

Pending installation next - lower grille cover, mud flaps and rear wheel arch cover

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 10 2024, 07:24 PM
lee82gx
post Sep 12 2024, 07:59 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 9 2024, 11:40 AM)

I was not aware about this and attempted to wipe the dust off it yesterday using microfibre cloth.... this is the result  doh.gif

wow, cry.gif
have you tried wet cloth polishing?

start with a small spot like 10sen size.
If not then waxy polish like Soft99

lastly this:
https://shopee.com.my/Novus-Plastic-Polish-...18-b3bff572b87b
Start with no.2 and no.1
TSZeneticX
post Sep 12 2024, 09:33 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 12 2024, 07:59 AM)
wow,  cry.gif
have you tried wet cloth polishing?

start with a small spot like 10sen size.
If not then waxy polish like Soft99

lastly this:
https://shopee.com.my/Novus-Plastic-Polish-...18-b3bff572b87b
Start with no.2 and no.1
nope that was in my consideration as well but feedbacks had been mixed ie: some did work while some made it worse, i guess depending on product and technique

in the end I just applied a TPU protector onto it, the scratches are now covered and there's an extra layer of protection to the extremely fragile plastic now

lee82gx
post Sep 12 2024, 09:57 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 12 2024, 09:33 AM)
nope that was in my consideration as well but feedbacks had been mixed ie: some did work while some made it worse, i guess depending on product and technique

in the end I just applied a TPU protector onto it, the scratches are now covered and there's an extra layer of protection to the extremely fragile plastic now
Ya, i realized after putting up my post, you had this TPU screen protector. My company server just blocks a lot of ibb.co photos.
TSZeneticX
post Sep 18 2024, 12:26 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Installed my Viofo A229 Plus dashcam today. In the end bit the bullet and went for hardwired... using Viofo's HK4 hardwire kit

Installation done at New GS Accessories at PJ. Apparently they are a Bermaz panel accessories workshop. If you have any issues with the illuminated sidesteps, this is the place they will refer you to as well. And some owners claim (through their SA) that dashcams installed here won't void warranty. I chose them because its apparent they are more experienced with Mazdas.

So far everything works fine. Dashcam turns off immediately after ignition is off. I also turn off the Parking mode atm just to be safe.

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 18 2024, 02:14 AM
layzieboy
post Sep 18 2024, 08:16 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 18 2024, 12:26 AM)
Installed my Viofo A229 Plus dashcam today. In the end bit the bullet and went for hardwired... using Viofo's HK4 hardwire kit

Installation done at New GS Accessories at PJ. Apparently they are a Bermaz panel accessories workshop. If you have any issues with the illuminated sidesteps, this is the place they will refer you to as well. And some owners claim (through their SA) that dashcams installed here won't void warranty. I chose them because its apparent they are more experienced with Mazdas.

So far everything works fine. Dashcam turns off immediately after ignition is off. I also turn off the Parking mode atm just to be safe.
It's funny that you mentioned those sidesteps. They are trash imho. The lights go off with just a little pressure. This and the coil mats are competing for the no 1 spot for top useless accessory.

TSZeneticX
post Sep 18 2024, 11:19 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Sep 18 2024, 08:16 AM)
It's funny that you mentioned those sidesteps. They are trash imho. The lights go off with just a little pressure. This and the coil mats are competing for the no 1 spot for top useless accessory.
I've seen some complaints about them as well. Apparently they are just powered by a single cell battery, and it turns on / off by pressure. If its loose that's why it gone haywire for some people. So far mine works fine... I think it looks really nice, if only the quality is better

I'm ok with the coil mats as well. Personally I'm more used to them than those rubber mats eg: trapo, dodo. I've never been a fan of them for some reason. Also if I get those not sure how to dispose off the coil mats sweat.gif, you definitely cant sell since everyone got them. So just use what's provided....

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 18 2024, 11:21 AM
layzieboy
post Sep 18 2024, 08:28 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 18 2024, 11:19 AM)
I've seen some complaints about them as well. Apparently they are just powered by a single cell battery, and it turns on / off by pressure. If its loose that's why it gone haywire for some people. So far mine works fine... I think it looks really nice, if only the quality is better

I'm ok with the coil mats as well. Personally I'm more used to them than those rubber mats eg: trapo, dodo. I've never been a fan of them for some reason. Also if I get those not sure how to dispose off the coil mats sweat.gif, you definitely cant sell since everyone got them. So just use what's provided....
Wait what? It's not hooked up to the 12v system and not triggered by the door opening? Hmm..that's news to me..

Coil mats are fine until it rains.. It traps odour and bacteria. I am okay with it if it's a little more durable. The coils on mine has started to split from the base layer in less than a year of ownership on the driver's side.Maybe because my feet is a little longer and misses the heel pad..

I am nitpicking but it's time Mazda discontinue this relic of the past.
TSZeneticX
post Sep 18 2024, 10:49 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Sep 18 2024, 08:28 PM)
Wait what? It's not hooked up to the 12v system and not triggered by the door opening? Hmm..that's news to me..

Coil mats are fine until it rains.. It traps odour and bacteria. I am okay with it if it's a little more durable. The coils on mine has started to split from the base layer in less than a year of ownership on the driver's side.Maybe because my feet is a little longer and misses the heel pad..

I am nitpicking but it's time Mazda discontinue this relic of the past.
Yes exactly... i think most of the issues will be solved if its a proper wired side step. But its not lol

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/vrYvZpWe1q...mibextid=oFDknk

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 18 2024, 10:54 PM
shaniandras2787
post Sep 19 2024, 10:49 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 18 2024, 11:19 AM)

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Sep 18 2024, 08:28 PM)

not by pressure but by magnets.
blanket84
post Oct 2 2024, 04:27 PM

1,520 posts

Guys,

Does the ALH indicator always on or it only lights up when ALH is in operation? I just went to service my car and noticed that the ALH indicator not lighting up. Did I just noticed the ALH indicator lighting up when I was driving in dark time, or someone accidentally disabled it? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blanket84: Oct 2 2024, 04:27 PM
TSZeneticX
post Oct 2 2024, 05:31 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 2 2024, 04:27 PM)
Guys,

Does the ALH indicator always on or it only lights up when ALH is in operation? I just went to service my car and noticed that the ALH indicator not lighting up. Did I just noticed the ALH indicator lighting up when I was driving in dark time, or someone accidentally disabled it? sweat.gif
it only lights up when the lights are on

best to bookmark this website so you can refer whenever needed. It answers most common questions that owners ask lol.

https://owners-manual.mazda.com/gen/en/cx-3...e19i/index.html

For example few weeks ago I was wondering why cold air is released from top part but bottom part is warm air when the air circulation direction is set to front and bottom. Turns out if you set the temperature to mid range (I believe around 24c+) that's how its supposed to be

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 2 2024, 05:34 PM
TSZeneticX
post Oct 2 2024, 05:35 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

btw anyone signed up Mazdasport driving academy Level 1 on 26th or 27th October?

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 2 2024, 05:36 PM
rapple
post Oct 2 2024, 07:22 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 2 2024, 05:35 PM)
btw anyone signed up Mazdasport driving academy Level 1 on 26th or 27th October?

Too bad falls on the week of jay chou concert. If not I will go again with my brother.
TSZeneticX
post Oct 2 2024, 07:50 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Oct 2 2024, 07:22 PM)
Too bad falls on the week of jay chou concert. If not I will go again with my brother.
so you joined before? how was it? I signed up for 26th
blanket84
post Oct 2 2024, 08:41 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 2 2024, 05:31 PM)
it only lights up when the lights are on

best to bookmark this website so you can refer whenever needed. It answers most common questions that owners ask lol.

https://owners-manual.mazda.com/gen/en/cx-3...e19i/index.html

For example few weeks ago I was wondering why cold air is released from top part but bottom part is warm air when the air circulation direction is set to front and bottom. Turns out if you set the temperature to mid range (I believe around 24c+) that's how its supposed to be
Already checked the manual before asking. But it didn’t say explicitly that the light will only be on when ALH is on. My thought was it could be possible that the indicator light is on when it is enabled.

Thanks for the confirmation though. I just went out with the car just now and it was lit up as I remember. Possibly my mind register that it is always on because most of the time I drove before this were either at night or when it is raining. My wife use this car for daily drive. I use the smaller car, easier for me to maneuver through the traffic when picking up our kids.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 2 2024, 05:35 PM)

Was interested to go, until I see “need to use own car”. I sayang my car laugh.gif
TSZeneticX
post Oct 2 2024, 08:50 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 2 2024, 08:41 PM)
Already checked the manual before asking. But it didn’t say explicitly that the light will only be on when ALH is on. My thought was it could be possible that the indicator light is on when it is enabled.

Thanks for the confirmation though. I just went out with the car just now and it was lit up as I remember. Possibly my mind register that it is always on because most of the time I drove before this were either at night or when it is raining. My wife use this car for daily drive. I use the smaller car, easier for me to maneuver through the traffic when picking up our kids.
This part explained mah. But maybe it is a bit vague to some. To me I understood it as when it is dark, the ALH operates and the indicator will be on

Was interested to go, until I see “need to use own car”. I sayang my car laugh.gif

For one day only I feel ok lah. In a controlled environment also so I guess its not too bad. I just went camping this past weekend and my friends are wondering why am I so slow through the off road path when obviously my car can make it.... I was just being extra careful since its new sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 2 2024, 08:50 PM
rapple
post Oct 2 2024, 09:49 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 2 2024, 07:50 PM)
so you joined before? how was it? I signed up for 26th
Totally worth it and super fun.
blanket84
post Oct 3 2024, 02:53 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 2 2024, 08:50 PM)
This part explained mah. But maybe it is a bit vague to some. To me I understood it as when it is dark, the ALH operates and the indicator will be on

For one day only I feel ok lah. In a controlled environment also so I guess its not too bad. I just went camping this past weekend and my friends are wondering why am I so slow through the off road path when obviously my car can make it.... I was just being extra careful since its new sweat.gif
Yeah. That's what I understand too. But because I have been seeing the indicator lit up when it was not so dark (i.e.: when raining in the afternoon), it got me confused so I came here to ask for confirmation. Thank god there was nothing wrong.

One more thing, do you guys think the tyre noise is loud? I feel that it is louder than my 2011 Altis. Or probably because I was using Michelin Primacy and now Toyo Proxes in CX-30?

This post has been edited by blanket84: Oct 3 2024, 02:56 PM
blanket84
post Oct 3 2024, 02:56 PM

1,520 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by blanket84: Oct 3 2024, 02:56 PM
TSZeneticX
post Oct 3 2024, 06:27 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 3 2024, 02:53 PM)
Yeah. That's what I understand too. But because I have been seeing the indicator lit up when it was not so dark (i.e.: when raining in the afternoon), it got me confused so I came here to ask for confirmation. Thank god there was nothing wrong.

One more thing, do you guys think the tyre noise is loud? I feel that it is louder than my 2011 Altis. Or probably because I was using Michelin Primacy and now Toyo Proxes in CX-30?
Mostly the tyres i guess. CX30 NVH considered quite good so the road noise was amplified somehow. Some owners reported changing the tyres does help

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 3 2024, 06:28 PM
blanket84
post Oct 4 2024, 06:06 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 3 2024, 06:27 PM)
Mostly the tyres i guess. CX30 NVH considered quite good so the road noise was amplified somehow. Some owners reported changing the tyres does help
Yeah. I too feel that the sound was amplified because the cabin was pretty quiet. No budget to change tyre yet. It isn’t so bad so I guess I would only change once I clock a good mileage on the stock tyre first.
TSZeneticX
post Oct 7 2024, 04:21 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Sent my car for 1st service / inspection at Mazda Glenmerie today. Still waiting here now.

First impression as a new Mazda owner... not bad. Everything done systematically. Refreshments provided though hot food seems finished when I arrived. Waiting area was huge and airy as well, no problem looking for a private space here.

Told them to check my driver side door where it doesn't seem to allign nicely with the rear passenger door. Lets see whether they can fix it....

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 7 2024, 04:38 PM
TSZeneticX
post Oct 7 2024, 09:19 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

So regarding my issue above....

Somehow they can't fix it and told me to make appointment with paint and bodyworks instead (didn't know it's seperate from SC)

This is the issue I'm talking about

Driver side

Front Passenger side
TAGreptiles
post Oct 8 2024, 09:59 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Hi guys, been shopping around for a new car, was looking at the 140-180k price range, considered EV as well but finally decided on the CX30 High+

Now waiting for SA to get back to me with the loan rate. I'm being offered like 2.6% from Maybank and 2.35% from Bank Islam. Is this a fair rate or have you guys seen lower rates?

Also i was considering to pickup the car in January, but SA offered me Rm3000 rebate, and also tint+coating package worth Rm3000 (with 10 years and 5 years warranty) Considered good deal or should i shop around other showrooms/SA?

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to join the zoom zoom

TSZeneticX
post Oct 8 2024, 10:42 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 8 2024, 09:59 PM)
Hi guys, been shopping around for a new car, was looking at the 140-180k price range, considered EV as well but finally decided on the CX30 High+

Now waiting for SA to get back to me with the loan rate. I'm being offered like 2.6% from Maybank and 2.35% from Bank Islam. Is this a fair rate or have you guys seen lower rates?

Also i was considering to pickup the car in January, but SA offered me Rm3000 rebate, and also tint+coating package worth Rm3000 (with 10 years and 5 years warranty) Considered good deal or should i shop around other showrooms/SA?

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to join the zoom zoom
I received 2.41 from PBB and HLB. It really depends on your loan amount, tenure and your credit profile.

3k rebate seems alright. Not sure why your SA offer tint though since CX30 already came with factory tint. But the front windscreen and front side windows spec is quite bad, rear windows quite good actually. Most owners will usually only replace the tint of front portion

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 8 2024, 10:43 PM
Haw92
post Oct 9 2024, 09:46 AM

315 posts

Have been surveying for few months on new car and finally decided to get H+P model.

I just got my loan approved last 2 week from PBB with rates 2.4% for H+P model.

I got 5K rebates from the SA and will be going to collect the car tomorrow.

So far already book for front PPF and coating for the rest. still surveying the tint and potentially will change the front windscreen only.
TAGreptiles
post Oct 9 2024, 10:34 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 8 2024, 10:42 PM)
I received 2.41 from PBB and HLB. It really depends on your loan amount, tenure and your credit profile.

3k rebate seems alright. Not sure why your SA offer tint though since CX30 already came with factory tint. But the front windscreen and front side windows spec is quite bad, rear windows quite good actually. Most owners will usually only replace the tint of front portion
Well i requested for darker tint. I'm dropping by the showroom later on so will discuss more with her later.

QUOTE(Haw92 @ Oct 9 2024, 09:46 AM)
Have been surveying for few months on new car and finally decided to get H+P model.

I just got my loan approved last 2 week from PBB with rates 2.4% for H+P model.

I got 5K rebates from the SA and will be going to collect the car tomorrow.

So far already book for front PPF and coating for the rest. still surveying the tint and potentially will change the front windscreen only.
5k rebate is a much better deal. I can do my own tinting and coating if get 5k off with more options.
squareballs
post Oct 9 2024, 10:53 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 7 2024, 09:19 PM)

Somehow they can't fix it and told me to make appointment with paint and bodyworks instead (didn't know it's seperate from SC)

Driver side

Front Passenger side
Saw a display unit at showroom just now also same like yours.
Haw92
post Oct 9 2024, 11:06 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 9 2024, 10:34 AM)
Well i requested for darker tint. I'm dropping by the showroom later on so will discuss more with her later.
5k rebate is a much better deal. I can do my own tinting and coating if get 5k off with more options.
I don't think there are any options on the darker tint on the provided Mazda one. unless it is arranged by SA on outside shop.

Ya, it be ideal to take higher rebate on the car itself and look for outside option .
I have arranged for front PPF and Coating for RM2.5K which is quite okay for me.

Tint is still surveying on the available option.
TAGreptiles
post Oct 9 2024, 03:57 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Haw92 @ Oct 9 2024, 11:06 AM)
I don't think there are any options on the darker tint on the provided Mazda one. unless it is arranged by SA on outside shop.

Ya, it be ideal to take higher rebate on the car itself and look for outside option .
I have arranged for front PPF and Coating for RM2.5K which is quite okay for me.

Thanks for the tip. Just an update i manage to get Bank Islam 2.35% with a 5.5k rebate from showroom. Now pending offer letter. rclxms.gif
TSZeneticX
post Oct 9 2024, 05:36 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 9 2024, 10:53 AM)
Saw a display unit at showroom just now also same like yours.
Its quite a common issue actually. Probably CKD fitment. Tbh it doesn't really affect anything but its one of those things where you can't unsee after you see it.
TSZeneticX
post Oct 9 2024, 06:46 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Haw92 @ Oct 9 2024, 11:06 AM)

For tint better go for shops who had experience applying for many CX30

CX30 had this very common issue where the circuit board under the dashbord short-circuited causing the car not able to start after tinting due to water drip in from windscreen area.
lee82gx
post Oct 9 2024, 08:14 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 7 2024, 09:19 PM)

Driver side

Front Passenger side
You made me look at my cx-5 and another cx-5 right next to me at my car park.
All similar haha.

TSZeneticX
post Oct 9 2024, 11:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 9 2024, 08:14 PM)
You made me look at my cx-5 and another cx-5 right next to me at my car park.
All similar haha.
Now I'm unsure if it's an issue.... but if got time will still make appointment with paint and bodyworks sc to see what they say

I don't mind the minor difference at passenger side actually but the driver side is pretty obvious

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 9 2024, 11:30 PM
squareballs
post Oct 10 2024, 10:13 AM

4,331 posts

My Mazda 3

Surprisingly My wife’s cx5 are all aligned 100%
TSZeneticX
post Oct 10 2024, 10:54 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 10 2024, 10:13 AM)

My Mazda 3

Surprisingly My wife’s cx5 are all aligned 100%
yours still looks ok compared to mine

i think its just some minor misalignment with the doors. hope they can fix it
squareballs
post Oct 10 2024, 11:02 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 10 2024, 10:54 AM)
yours still looks ok compared to mine

i think its just some minor misalignment with the doors. hope they can fix it
yup should be simple fix no worry. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSZeneticX
post Oct 12 2024, 03:51 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Love this car. The design is gonna age well

TAGreptiles
post Oct 15 2024, 01:44 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Anyone installed dashcam at Dasher Glenmarie before? Are they a reliable place to install dash cam for Mazdas? I've checked out some Youtube videos, it seems like dash cam installation involves opening some plastic panels next to the front windscreen.

Would also like to know if the hardwire kit will disturb the warranty of the car. The SA is being very vague in this matter.
Haw92
post Oct 15 2024, 04:36 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 15 2024, 01:44 PM)
Anyone installed dashcam at Dasher Glenmarie before? Are they a reliable place to install dash cam for Mazdas? I've checked out some Youtube videos, it seems like dash cam installation involves opening some plastic panels next to the front windscreen.

Would also like to know if the hardwire kit will disturb the warranty of the car. The SA is being very vague in this matter.
Mine was DIY assembly the dashcam.
No panel was opened for both front and rear dashcam.
However rear dashcam got one wire exposed but doesn't bother me as it was blocked by rear passenger headrest.

I don't do hardwire kit as my SA mentioned it will void the warranty. so i had mine powered from the front USB side.
TSZeneticX
post Oct 16 2024, 01:40 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 15 2024, 01:44 PM)

I installed mine at New GS Accessories PJ since they are Bermaz panel workshop, they're also the supplier for the illuminated side steps. Most SA in KV will send the cars here for dashcam installation before handing over to their customers. Some SA will even claim installing here doesn't void the warranty even with hardwire

I've read that hardwiring is a bit tricky for CX30 due to live fuse or something like that so better go for a shop that is familiar with it otherwise you are gonna risk draining the battery. For New GS they actually added an extra fuse in just for the dashcam.

Regarding warranty.... most will tell you confirm void. But in the end its your own risk and decision to make. For me I just go for hardwire since I'm confident with CX30 electronics. So far in owners group I haven't actually seen anyone reporting issues related to it. Got also its due to external factors like water enter through dashboard during tinting or stone hitting the front logo causing the safety system to go haywire, but either these cases warranty doesn't cover anyway

If you are using DDPAI they actually have a hardwire kit that uses the OBD port for power. So its kinda like plug and play, can just remove anytime if needed for warranty.

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 16 2024, 09:51 AM
emilyngsc
post Oct 17 2024, 06:45 AM

1,644 posts

Guys, what's your infotainment version? Did u guys asked the Mazda SC update it? Thanks & cheers ('',)
TSZeneticX
post Oct 18 2024, 12:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Oct 17 2024, 06:45 AM)
Guys, what's your infotainment version? Did u guys asked the Mazda SC update it? Thanks & cheers ('',)
Is there a new version? Why would you want to update?
emilyngsc
post Oct 18 2024, 02:56 PM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 18 2024, 12:28 PM)
Is there a new version? Why would you want to update?
Not sure got the new version. Hope got new features or fixed some or small improvement.
TSZeneticX
post Oct 18 2024, 11:56 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Oct 18 2024, 02:56 PM)
Not sure got the new version. Hope got new features or fixed some or small improvement.
Just got my car on early Sept, this is the version

emilyngsc
post Oct 19 2024, 04:34 AM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 18 2024, 11:56 PM)
Just got my car on early Sept, this is the version

Thanks for sharing and mine package: 11005 & grace note database is the same 1.1.1.01673

This post has been edited by emilyngsc: Oct 19 2024, 05:20 PM
TSZeneticX
post Oct 19 2024, 07:14 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Oct 19 2024, 04:34 AM)
Thanks for sharing and mine package: 11005 & grace note database is the same 1.1.1.01673
Maybe ask SC if can update but I dont think will have any new features. Gracenote db can DIY update but its just for album art information when you play music using bluetooth or usb. Irrelevant if you use AA or AC with spotify or youtube music

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 19 2024, 07:37 PM
emilyngsc
post Oct 19 2024, 07:46 PM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 19 2024, 07:14 PM)
Maybe ask SC if can update but I dont think will have any new features. Gracenote db can DIY update but its just for album art information when you play music using bluetooth or usb. Irrelevant if you use AA or AC with spotify or youtube music
I always prefer the latest. Cheers 😊
squareballs
post Oct 19 2024, 08:10 PM

4,331 posts

My 3’s version
squareballs
post Oct 19 2024, 08:13 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 19 2024, 07:14 PM)

No wonder I feel weird how come there’s powered by gracenote logo there 😅
TSZeneticX
post Oct 19 2024, 10:40 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 19 2024, 08:13 PM)

No wonder I feel weird how come there’s powered by gracenote logo there 😅
Yes sometimes the album art doesnt match the music and it will be slightly annoying 😅

Your 3 comes with the latest screen (10.25") and software. I think it supports touchscreen during AA and AC? Also the navigation direction from AA and AC can be shown on the HUD. Still hoping someone figure out a way to update or hack this onto CX30
TSZeneticX
post Oct 19 2024, 10:54 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Btw today is the first time I pump ron97. Around 34L (RM111). Was getting ready for Mazdasports academy next weekend.

Skyactiv 2.0 definitely can run on ron95 and its sufficient enough for daily use, but with ron97 the difference is obvious. Engine is much smoother and the noise is not as rough as well. I was thinking maybe its just my placebo effect but asked in owners group and many seems to agree ron97 have a more pleasant driving feel

Maybe you guys can give it a try as well
squareballs
post Oct 19 2024, 10:56 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 19 2024, 10:40 PM)
Yes sometimes the album art doesnt match the music and it will be slightly annoying 😅

Your 3 comes with the latest screen (10.25") and software. I think it supports touchscreen during AA and AC? Also the navigation direction from AA and AC can be shown on the HUD. Still hoping someone figure out a way to update or hack this onto CX30
Still no touch screen support for AA and AC
For AA is Google maps navigation on HUD
AC will be Apple Maps on HUD
TAGreptiles
post Oct 23 2024, 09:10 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Haw92 @ Oct 15 2024, 04:36 PM)
Mine was DIY assembly the dashcam.
No panel was opened for both front and rear dashcam.
However rear dashcam got one wire exposed but doesn't bother me as it was blocked by rear passenger headrest.

I don't do hardwire kit as my SA mentioned it will void the warranty. so i had mine powered from the front USB side.
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 16 2024, 01:40 AM)
I installed mine at New GS Accessories PJ since they are Bermaz panel workshop, they're also the supplier for the illuminated side steps. Most SA in KV will send the cars here for dashcam installation before handing over to their customers. Some SA will even claim installing here doesn't void the warranty even with hardwire

I've read that hardwiring is a bit tricky for CX30 due to live fuse or something like that so better go for a shop that is familiar with it otherwise you are gonna risk draining the battery. For New GS they actually added an extra fuse in just for the dashcam.

Regarding warranty.... most will tell you confirm void. But in the end its your own risk and decision to make. For me I just go for hardwire since I'm confident with CX30 electronics. So far in owners group I haven't actually seen anyone reporting issues related to it. Got also its due to external factors like water enter through dashboard during tinting or stone hitting the front logo causing the safety system to go haywire, but either these cases warranty doesn't cover anyway

If you are using DDPAI they actually have a hardwire kit that uses the OBD port for power. So its kinda like plug and play, can just remove anytime if needed for warranty.
In the end, I decided to go with the A810 with OBD2 kit. Both from 70Mai. Will install via OBD2 kit as its plug and plug and does not involve messing with any fuses. Also has voltage cutoff settings so hopefully it wont kill my battery.

Didnt know that stone hitting the logo is even a thing laugh.gif laugh.gif do you protect it with PPF or something?

gsan
post Oct 23 2024, 09:30 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 19 2024, 10:40 PM)

this might require hardware changes as well for both m3 & cx30.. so the chance is very very low...
TSZeneticX
post Oct 23 2024, 06:48 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 23 2024, 09:10 AM)
In the end, I decided to go with the A810 with OBD2 kit. Both from 70Mai. Will install via OBD2 kit as its plug and plug and does not involve messing with any fuses. Also has voltage cutoff settings so hopefully it wont kill my battery.

Didnt know that stone hitting the logo is even a thing  laugh.gif  laugh.gif do you protect it with PPF or something?
Yes that's why its recommended to protect the logo with ppf. The owners manual actually discourage from applying any film onto the logo, but so far owners didnt report any issues from doing so. I rather take my chances with a less sensitive radar than stone damage causing damage and the warranty doesn't cover it

QUOTE(gsan @ Oct 23 2024, 09:30 AM)
this might require hardware changes as well for both m3 & cx30.. so the chance is very very low...
I hope at least got way to upgrade to 10.25" screen like what you did sweat.gif should be no issues assuming the screen is just plug and play

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 23 2024, 06:49 PM
gsan
post Oct 24 2024, 11:45 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 23 2024, 06:48 PM)
I hope at least got way to upgrade to 10.25" screen like what you did sweat.gif should be no issues assuming the screen is just plug and play
yes if yours one does not come with driver monitoring... for 10.25' screen with DM, pre-facelift got 1 of DM connecter does not fit into it..
TSZeneticX
post Oct 24 2024, 08:20 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Oct 24 2024, 11:45 AM)
yes if yours one does not come with driver monitoring... for 10.25' screen with DM, pre-facelift got 1 of DM connecter does not fit into it..
Ah shit mine is with DM.... cry.gif
emilyngsc
post Oct 25 2024, 10:14 AM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Oct 24 2024, 11:45 AM)
driver monitoring for high spec? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by emilyngsc: Oct 25 2024, 10:15 AM
TSZeneticX
post Oct 27 2024, 01:26 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Done the Advance Driving Level 1 course today. For RM100 I will say its very worth it.... you dont really get an experience like this anywhere else for this price, so don't even expect it to be free. And yes you will thrash your car, but if you want to know the limit of your car and whether you drive properly, this is the only way to do it safely

For anyone on the fence just go for it. Maybe you will feel pain a bit for the tyres after the course but I can promise you wont regret the experience

Too bad cannot meet YS Khong in person (due to health issue)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 27 2024, 08:27 AM
Brotherjoe
post Oct 27 2024, 10:47 AM

2,215 posts

Are these the common issue you see on your car?

TSZeneticX
post Oct 27 2024, 04:32 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Oct 27 2024, 10:47 AM)
Are these the common issue you see on your car?

Paint chipping - yes Mazda well known for thin paint that's why most owners go for PPF, or go for a non special colour like white. But I believe nowadays this issue is not unique to Mazda due to water based paint

Black cladding issue - is common for every car not just Mazda. The black plastic will fade with time and it depends how you take care of it. DO NOT apply wax onto it. Coating is ok

Headlights, wing mirrors and keyless entry issue - haven't seen any from owners group

Interior rattling - Yes. But tell me which CKD car doesn't rattle with time? Also nowadays most cars come with stiffer chassis. Stiffer chassis = more chances for rattles since the chassis will need to flex due to our road conditon and also the way you drive. Also this is highly personal, some are ok with minor rattles while some are not

Melting sun visor - nope

Interior button failing - nope

Glossy parts scratching - yes. Have to protect with interior ppf

Meter cluster lens scratching - yes I have own post about this few pages back. This one totally Mazda fault for using such a fragile part

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 27 2024, 09:51 PM
layzieboy
post Oct 28 2024, 08:53 AM

496 posts

I think another one is brake squeal which I am facing. I wonder if anyone here is facing this? It happens intermittently and usually on low speed after parking the car. It goes off after driving at speed. Not sure what is the trigger yet..
gsan
post Oct 28 2024, 09:55 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Oct 25 2024, 10:14 AM)
driver monitoring for high spec?  hmm.gif
nope... for ignite and H+P only
TSZeneticX
post Oct 28 2024, 10:20 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Oct 28 2024, 08:53 AM)
I think another one is brake squeal which I am facing. I wonder if anyone here is facing this? It happens intermittently and usually on low speed after parking the car. It goes off after driving at speed. Not sure what is the trigger yet..
Quite a common issue apparently.... but touch wood I haven't encounter it with my car
layzieboy
post Nov 5 2024, 01:53 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 28 2024, 10:20 AM)
Quite a common issue apparently.... but touch wood I haven't encounter it with my car
Got it fixed under warranty, was a brake pad issue. Really fast service at glenmarie hq. Supposedly an improvement part (whatever that means) so hopefully it does not return, fingers crossed.
shaniandras2787
post Nov 25 2024, 11:55 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

i've always find the CX-30's rear is too busy with all the lines and they seem to go against Mazda's "less is more" philosophy, where it was perfectly implemented in the Mazda 3 so for the fun of it, i "removed" some of those lines and all of a sudden, the CX-30 suddenly become even more sleeker.

this is the more extreme version of it where the every thing is removed.

TSZeneticX
post Nov 25 2024, 04:14 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 25 2024, 11:55 AM)
i've always find the CX-30's rear is too busy with all the lines and they seem to go against Mazda's "less is more" philosophy, where it was perfectly implemented in the Mazda 3 so for the fun of it, i "removed" some of those lines and all of a sudden, the CX-30 suddenly become even more sleeker.

this is the more extreme version of it where the every thing is removed.

Interesting observation. Personally I feel the rear is fine as it is, infact I triggered some M3 HB fans once when I say I prefer the rear of the CX30 biggrin.gif

I think most people's gripe with the CX30 design is with the thick black plastic cladding. Honestly I wonder if Mazda could've done it better or they ran out of options before deciding on this approach

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 25 2024, 04:16 PM
shaniandras2787
post Nov 25 2024, 04:30 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 25 2024, 04:14 PM)
Interesting observation. Personally I feel the rear is fine as it is, infact I triggered some M3 HB fans once when I say I prefer the rear of the CX30 biggrin.gif

I think most people's gripe with the CX30 design is with the thick black plastic cladding. Honestly I wonder if Mazda could've done it better or they ran out of options before deciding on this approach
Both the rear of the Mazda 3 (LB) and the CX-30 has its own distinct appeal but the former is definitely the sexier one. the CX-30 had to be compromised for practicality.

Mazda definitely can do better but they need to keep production costs down therefore it is cheaper to slap huge plastic claddings rather than making bigger metal panels.

case on point, the Crown Sport:-

TSZeneticX
post Nov 25 2024, 05:41 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 25 2024, 04:30 PM)
Both the rear of the Mazda 3 (LB) and the CX-30 has its own distinct appeal but the former is definitely the sexier one. the CX-30 had to be compromised for practicality.

Mazda definitely can do better but they need to keep production costs down therefore it is cheaper to slap huge plastic claddings rather than making bigger metal panels.

case on point, the Crown Sport:-

lmao that's a real Japanese Purosangue

I've seen pics of people painting / wrapping the cladding into glossy color. Somehow it feels even weirder to me.... its like the car received some botox

the cladding is simply too huge.... maybe it would look slightly better with gloss black instead of following the body colour
rikiraikonnen
post Nov 28 2024, 11:58 AM

35 posts

Is it possible to ask for out of standard maintenance item to be performed at Mazda SC at owner's cost and not voiding the warranty?. E.g. I want to change the auto fluid at 20k which is not part of the standard "free" maintenance but I don't mind paying for it but I don't want the warranty to be void.
TSZeneticX
post Nov 28 2024, 05:07 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(rikiraikonnen @ Nov 28 2024, 11:58 AM)
Is it possible to ask for out of standard maintenance item to be performed at Mazda SC  at owner's cost and not voiding the warranty?.  E.g. I want to change the auto fluid at 20k which is not part of the standard "free" maintenance but I don't mind paying for it but I don't want the warranty to be void.
Bermaz already made it clear changing the transmission fluid will void warranty, and i doubt any SC would perform it while keeping the warranty since it goes against their policy (unless you found a lobang with the sc manager lah)

there's 2 recommendations -

1) You proceed to change the fluid at outside workshop @ 20k or whatever mileage, but you take the risk of voiding your warranty and incase touchwood your gearbox really have any issues before 5 years or 100k km, you are gonna incur a greater loss of replacing / fixing the gearbox

or 2) Keep the gearbox as it is within the warranty period, since its covered by warranty anything happen just claim it. Once warranty over you may proceed to change the fluid

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 28 2024, 05:07 PM
rikiraikonnen
post Nov 28 2024, 11:29 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 28 2024, 05:07 PM)
Bermaz already made it clear changing the transmission fluid will void warranty, and i doubt any SC would perform it while keeping the warranty since it goes against their policy (unless you found a lobang with the sc manager lah)

1) You proceed to change the fluid at outside workshop @ 20k or whatever mileage, but you take the risk of voiding your warranty and incase touchwood your gearbox really have any issues before 5 years or 100k km, you are gonna incur a greater loss of replacing / fixing the gearbox

or 2) Keep the gearbox as it is within the warranty period, since its covered by warranty anything happen just claim it. Once warranty over you may proceed to change the fluid
Thanks!!.
lee82gx
post Nov 29 2024, 01:55 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(rikiraikonnen @ Nov 28 2024, 11:58 AM)
Is it possible to ask for out of standard maintenance item to be performed at Mazda SC  at owner's cost and not voiding the warranty?.  E.g. I want to change the auto fluid at 20k which is not part of the standard "free" maintenance but I don't mind paying for it but I don't want the warranty to be void.
When I bought my CX-5 recently, the salesman say he himself change the gearbox oil at 40k IN HOUSE, without voiding the warranty. Apparently nowadays they will do it upon request. But I have not reached this milage and I don't know how they will behave in 1,2,3 years time.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 28 2024, 05:07 PM)

You can refer what I said above, or just give a call to your SC see what they say if curious.

TSZeneticX
post Nov 29 2024, 02:06 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 29 2024, 01:55 PM)
When I bought my CX-5 recently, the salesman say he himself change the gearbox oil at 40k IN HOUSE, without voiding the warranty. Apparently nowadays they will do it upon request. But I have not reached this milage and I don't know how they will behave in 1,2,3 years time.
You can refer what I said above, or just give a call to your SC see what they say if curious.
this is the 'lobang' i am refering to lah

but still the official word from Bermaz is change atf = void warranty

SA / SC can claim anything they want

but of course we would never know the real answer unless someone manages to claim their warranty AFTER they change ATF fluid. These gearboxes are bulletproof if you drive them smoothly most of the time. The story I heard from someone within Bermaz is most gearbox claims are due to defects / faults in the component itself rather than directly caused by the fluid

in the end its your own choice, a lot of owners also change ATF fluid outside and didn't encounter any issues. Also saw before an incident where the owner change ATF fluid and unluckily his gearbox kong and was denied warranty (cx5 owner iinm)

https://www.facebook.com/groups/mazdablowwa...822603754832437

this document was from 2018, so I am not sure if there's any changes in policy since then but if there is it should be big news for all owners

in defence of Bermaz they are just following the recommendation from the owner's manual from Mazda Japan, which doesn't factor in other conditions like weather, ambient temperature

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 29 2024, 02:25 PM
David_78
post Dec 4 2024, 01:18 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Mar 6 2024, 12:43 AM)
yeah mine still OE, just gotten my car last Nov

I'm thinking to change to Michelin Primacy 4, it has 215/55 R18
I personally wouldn't change to 225 cuz the diameter is different from OE

another option is to change rims to 8JJ or 8.5JJ and use 235/50 R18
Im using original 18x7j with 235/50/18
layzieboy
post Dec 9 2024, 02:15 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 10 2024, 08:39 AM)
I am also considering H+P because of 360 cam & ALH. But then because of the useless sunroof, I did think off just getting H+ instead. I wish they offer sunroof as optional instead.
I wouldn't say it's fully useless though 😉. The sunroof can make the interior more airy for the front passengers as the beltline is quite high, so it does feel a bit dark sometimes inside the cabin especially if you are tall or choose to sit lower in the car. However, the sunroof does intrude a little on backseat headroom for tall passengers.

I regret not getting the H+ simply for the BSM as this car has some blind spots that take some time getting used to.

Imo, get the H+P if it's within your budget else H+ is the minimum.
blanket84
post Dec 9 2024, 02:36 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Dec 9 2024, 02:15 PM)
I wouldn't say it's fully useless though 😉. The sunroof can make the interior more airy for the front passengers as the beltline is quite high, so it does feel a bit dark sometimes inside the cabin especially if you are tall or choose to sit lower in the car. However, the sunroof does intrude a little on backseat headroom for tall passengers.

I regret not getting the H+ simply for the BSM as this car has some blind spots that take some time getting used to.

Imo, get the H+P if it's within your budget else H+ is the minimum.
I ended up getting H+P. Have really been utilizing the two additional functions that I wanted the most, the ALH & 360 camera. Really helpful especially in tight areas. And the ALH, I am really amazed with it especially when driving in dark area with moderate traffic.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Dec 9 2024, 02:37 PM
blanket84
post Dec 9 2024, 02:42 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 25 2024, 04:14 PM)

I also feel that the rear looks better than Mazda 3 both hatchback & sedan.

I actually fell in love with the rear first before everything else.

The black plastic cladding doesn't bother me much. It does look ugly initially, but it grew on me over time. But then, most of the time I would be inside the car, so the most important thing is the interior finishing. The rear and the front, I only can enjoy looking at other people's car laugh.gif
SeniorCitizen
post Dec 11 2024, 06:25 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 9 2024, 02:36 PM)
I ended up getting H+P. Have really been utilizing the two additional functions that I wanted the most, the ALH & 360 camera. Really helpful especially in tight areas. And the ALH, I am really amazed with it especially when driving in dark area with moderate traffic.
The price of CX30 H+P is almost similar to CX5 2.0G High. I wonder what makes CX30 more attractive than the bigger CX5? Share share pls.
I'm current considering Toyota Corolla Cross and Mazda CX30 or CX5.
TSZeneticX
post Dec 11 2024, 11:28 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SeniorCitizen @ Dec 11 2024, 06:25 AM)
The price of CX30 H+P is almost similar to CX5 2.0G High. I wonder what makes CX30 more attractive than the bigger CX5? Share share pls.
CX5 2.0 is underpowered. Personally for me the minimum engine you need for CX5 is the 2.5

Pros of CX30 vs CX5
- latest interior and exterior design
- latest HU software and design (CX5 could've got this in the facelift but for some reasons Bermaz exclude it)
- better designed front seats
- HUD (you need to get CX5 2.5T for it)
- 2.0 engine is just nice for the size
- the 360 camera in CX30 H+ P is much clearer than the 360 cam in CX5
- CX30 H+ P gets ALH and FCTA (not available on CX5 iinm)
- handles better than CX5

Pros of CX5 vs CX30
- more practical
- more comfortable and quieter due to double glazed windows and softer suspension tuning + rear independent suspension
- cooled front seats (CX5 2.5 above)
- rear seats are more comfortable
- more engine choices

in short if you are looking for a family car the CX5 is better. if you are single, just married without kids, or have no use / seldom use for the rear seats, then CX30 can be considered

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Dec 11 2024, 11:37 AM
SeniorCitizen
post Dec 11 2024, 11:56 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Dec 11 2024, 11:28 AM)
CX5 2.0 is underpowered. Personally for me the minimum engine you need for CX5 is the 2.5

Pros of CX30 vs CX5
- latest interior and exterior design
- latest HU software and design (CX5 could've got this in the facelift but for some reasons Bermaz exclude it)
- better designed front seats
- HUD (you need to get CX5 2.5T for it)
- 2.0 engine is just nice for the size
- the 360 camera in CX30 H+ P is much clearer than the 360 cam in CX5
- CX30 H+ P gets ALH and FCTA (not available on CX5 iinm)
- handles better than CX5

Pros of CX5 vs CX30
- more practical
- more comfortable and quieter due to double glazed windows and softer suspension tuning + rear independent suspension
- cooled front seats (CX5 2.5 above)
- rear seats are more comfortable
- more engine choices

in short if you are looking for a family car the CX5 is better. if you are single, just married without kids, or have no use / seldom use for the rear seats, then CX30 can be considered
Thanks for the good and informative feedback. I'm only comparing Toyota Cross, CX30 and CX5 2.0G only. I think CX5 2.5 is way above my budget.
Too bad that for CX30 only the H+P get 360 camera whereas Toyota Cross available in all variant.
Really difficult to consider for people with limit budget like me.

TSZeneticX
post Dec 11 2024, 12:00 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SeniorCitizen @ Dec 11 2024, 11:56 AM)
Thanks for the good and informative feedback. I'm only comparing Toyota Cross, CX30 and CX5 2.0G only. I think CX5 2.5 is way above my budget.
Too bad that for CX30 only the H+P get 360 camera whereas Toyota Cross available in all variant.
Really difficult to consider for people with limit budget like me.
to be fair the 360 camera in CX30 is well integrated with adaptive guidance lines and the quality is also quite good

other 360 camera in the segment especially Toyota looks like 3rd party accessory, but it gets the job done

if you need a comfortable and practical ride then just go for Cross or CX5

those who buy CX30 have other reasons

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Dec 11 2024, 12:00 PM
squareballs
post Dec 11 2024, 12:08 PM

4,331 posts

i drive a mazda 3 liftback (smaller and lower compare cx30), wife drives a cx5 2.0 FL.

If driver sitting position is your main concern, get the cx30
if space, rear boot space is your concern, cx5 is the answer..
during family trips we will just use her cx5 as it is more comfortable..

power wise, ok la not too bad for the cx5 2.0. the engine tuning on the 3 i can feel slightly faster compare to the cx5, but the 3 is still an underpower car laugh.gif

blanket84
post Dec 11 2024, 01:44 PM

1,520 posts

Technology wise, there isn’t much difference between CX30 H+P and CX5 High. Only the sophisticated ALH is missing in the CX5 which you wouldn’t notice if you have never drive a car with one. And also FTCA.

It is more towards personal preference. The armrest design was the dealbreaker for me. Being a short person, with the seat in my driving position, the armrest of CX5 became practically useless. I can’t drive long distance with useless armrest.

CX30 interior is much better than CX5.

CX30 power to weight ratio is better than CX5, yet I feel I need more power. Can’t imagine how underpower the CX5 would feel.

CX30 interior is a little big tight for average size family though. Lucky for me, I am “space efficient” so, space isn’t really a problem for me.

But boot space is really what I missed since I upgraded from Corolla Altis. CX5 would suit you if you need more boot space.

Corolla Cross looks & feel cheap. And not to mention it is underpower. The only reason I would even consider that is because of Toyota’s reliability.
SeniorCitizen
post Dec 11 2024, 01:58 PM

29 posts

Thank you all for your valuable feedback. I wish the Toyota Corolla Cross thread is as good but it's really quiet.

This post has been edited by SeniorCitizen: Dec 11 2024, 01:58 PM
TSZeneticX
post Dec 11 2024, 09:07 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 11 2024, 01:44 PM)
Technology wise, there isn’t much difference between CX30 H+P and CX5 High. Only the sophisticated ALH is missing in the CX5 which you wouldn’t notice if you have never drive a car with one. And also FTCA.

It is more towards personal preference. The armrest design was the dealbreaker for me. Being a short person, with the seat in my driving position, the armrest of CX5 became practically useless. I can’t drive long distance with useless armrest.

CX30 interior is much better than CX5.

CX30 power to weight ratio is better than CX5, yet I feel I need more power. Can’t imagine how underpower the CX5 would feel.

CX30 interior is a little big tight for average size family though. Lucky for me, I am “space efficient” so, space isn’t really a problem for me.

But boot space is really what I missed since I upgraded from Corolla Altis. CX5 would suit you if you need more boot space.

Corolla Cross looks & feel cheap. And not to mention it is underpower. The only reason I would even consider that is because of Toyota’s reliability.
pump ron97 to feel the difference biggrin.gif

but seriously, I don't think there's any bump in power figures, but it definitely made the engine felt smoother

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Dec 11 2024, 09:08 PM
blanket84
post Dec 12 2024, 03:08 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Dec 11 2024, 09:07 PM)
pump ron97 to feel the difference biggrin.gif

but seriously, I don't think there's any bump in power figures, but it definitely made the engine felt smoother
Yeah RON97 is better for high compression engine like Mazda's. Definitely would make the engine smoother.

I'm waiting for the government to remove petrol subsidy so that I could pump 97 without feeling any remorse laugh.gif
emilyngsc
post Dec 18 2024, 09:54 AM

1,644 posts

guys, any recommendation shop for maintaining the leather, plastic & rubber (coating)? Thanks.
TSZeneticX
post Dec 20 2024, 05:45 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Dec 18 2024, 09:54 AM)
guys, any recommendation shop for maintaining the leather, plastic & rubber (coating)? Thanks.
if you don't mind DIY, you can look for Osren Luminous Leather and Osren Luminous Vinyl Satin on Shopee or Lazada

just follow instruction and self apply using sponge

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Dec 20 2024, 05:47 PM
emilyngsc
post Dec 21 2024, 10:24 AM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Dec 20 2024, 05:45 PM)
if you don't mind DIY, you can look for Osren Luminous Leather and Osren Luminous Vinyl Satin on Shopee or Lazada

just follow instruction and self apply using sponge
Osren gooding? I saw OPPA Cushion Specialist using this brand. Thanks bossku.

did you mean these two's?

luminous leather lather ~ leather cleaner (545 ml)

luminous vinyl satin ~ interior vinyl dressing (300ml)

Anyone use Sonax?

This post has been edited by emilyngsc: Dec 21 2024, 10:36 AM
TSZeneticX
post Dec 21 2024, 03:50 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Dec 21 2024, 10:24 AM)
Osren gooding? I saw OPPA Cushion Specialist using this brand. Thanks bossku.

did you mean these two's?

luminous leather lather ~ leather cleaner (545 ml)

luminous vinyl satin ~ interior vinyl dressing (300ml)

Anyone use Sonax?
This one

https://my.shp.ee/soCuwju

You can also use the leather cleaner before applying the coating

There's also another product call Osren Luminous Interior Matte that might be more suitable

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Dec 21 2024, 04:32 PM
emilyngsc
post Dec 22 2024, 07:19 PM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Dec 21 2024, 03:50 PM)
This one

https://my.shp.ee/soCuwju

You can also use the leather cleaner before applying the coating

There's also another product call Osren Luminous Interior Matte that might be more suitable
Not need apply scrub and lather before satin and leather guard?
TSZeneticX
post Dec 22 2024, 08:53 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Dec 22 2024, 07:19 PM)
Not need apply scrub and lather before satin and leather guard?
Should be no need unless you want to clean the leather as well

But better check the instructions to be sure
overfloe
post Jan 3 2025, 11:03 AM

2,207 posts

hi, can we request the leather seats to be changed to burgundy (like in the Ignite edition) when we book the car? (additional fee may apply)
TSZeneticX
post Jan 3 2025, 11:36 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 3 2025, 11:03 AM)
hi, can we request the leather seats to be changed to burgundy (like in the Ignite edition) when we book the car? (additional fee may apply)
I know you have option to upgrade fabric seats to leather for the base spec. But never saw or heard burgundy seats offered... if got also I dont think its official by Bermaz
shaniandras2787
post Jan 10 2025, 03:17 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 3 2025, 11:03 AM)
unfortunately, you can't.

the CBU unit used to have an Ignite trim that comes with Burgundy leather seats - this trim was not offered for the CKD ones.

the only "customization" option you get now is the interior colors (either blue or the brown) but then again, i wouldn't called it a "customization" per se since the blue one is only available on the core/base trim. i personally prefer the blue interior but then .... unsure.gif

you can however go to shops like "DK SCHWEIZER" to get what you want.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 3 2025, 11:36 AM)
I know you have option to upgrade fabric seats to leather for the base spec. But never saw or heard burgundy seats offered... if got also I dont think its official by Bermaz
it's no longer an option to upgrade anymore, now all core/base trim CX-30 comes with leather seats already. apparently Bermaz has plenty of unsold core/base trim CX-30 so they retro fitted all those with leather seats, hopefully to make them more appealing. i expect Bermaz to stop selling the core/base trim soon.
TSZeneticX
post Jan 14 2025, 01:09 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

someone managed to swap the 8.8" screen to larger screen... using the 10.25 unit from CX5 facelift which we didnt get. Lot's of DIY involved though

https://www.reddit.com/r/MazdaCX30/comments...da_cx30_screen/
layzieboy
post Jan 15 2025, 07:43 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 14 2025, 01:09 PM)
someone managed to swap the 8.8" screen to larger screen... using the 10.25 unit from CX5 facelift which we didnt get. Lot's of DIY involved though

https://www.reddit.com/r/MazdaCX30/comments...da_cx30_screen/
Cool. Sounds like a nice project after warranty expires 😆. By then hopefully someone have created a kit. The compute unit is separate I assume? As in, this upgrade does not enable wireless carplay or android auto?
TSZeneticX
post Jan 16 2025, 09:50 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Jan 15 2025, 07:43 PM)
Cool. Sounds like a nice project after warranty expires 😆. By then hopefully someone have created a kit. The compute unit is separate I assume? As in, this upgrade does not enable wireless carplay or android auto?
Yes... basically just a larger screen. CX30 had been out for quite a while i think by now a kit should be available

actually I wonder whether it's just plug and play if we take the 10.25" from the facelift CX30. Some people did this for M3 but so far can't find any for CX30
TSZeneticX
post Feb 2 2025, 02:30 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Best FC figure so far.... Bukit Mertajam - Ipoh - KL on 30th Jan (2nd day of CNY), with some traffic jam, Ron97, speed around 110 - 130km/h

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 2 2025, 02:31 PM
gsan
post Feb 2 2025, 07:21 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 16 2025, 09:50 AM)
Yes... basically just a larger screen. CX30 had been out for quite a while i think by now a kit should be available

actually I wonder whether it's just plug and play if we take the 10.25" from the facelift CX30. Some people did this for M3 but so far can't find any for CX30
yes for non-ignite or non h+p model... one of the connector for idm is expected to be different as per facelift m3

This post has been edited by gsan: Feb 2 2025, 07:22 PM
TSZeneticX
post Feb 2 2025, 09:39 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 2 2025, 07:21 PM)
yes for non-ignite or non h+p model... one of the connector for idm is expected to be different as per facelift m3
do you have any references or links showing the different connector for dm?
gsan
post Feb 3 2025, 12:34 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 2 2025, 09:39 PM)
do you have any references or links showing the different connector for dm?
TSZeneticX
post Feb 3 2025, 04:19 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 3 2025, 12:34 PM)
Actually the DM connector is for the IR sensor or the driver facing camera?

If lets say I skip connecting the DM... I can just disable the function in the menu and it should be fine right? I find the function pretty useless anyway...

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 3 2025, 04:20 PM
gsan
post Feb 3 2025, 06:18 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 3 2025, 04:19 PM)
Actually the DM connector is for the IR sensor or the driver facing camera?

If lets say I skip connecting the DM... I can just disable the function in the menu and it should be fine right? I find the function pretty useless anyway...
just that the i-activesense icon will light up on the meter
shaniandras2787
post Feb 4 2025, 06:04 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 3 2025, 06:18 PM)
just that the i-activesense icon will light up on the meter
oh gawd, that would be absolutely annoying.
ne0cz
post Feb 6 2025, 12:26 AM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

How much the cost to upgrade for H+ 🤔
TSZeneticX
post Feb 6 2025, 07:53 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Feb 6 2025, 12:26 AM)
How much the cost to upgrade for H+ 🤔
can refer Mazda 3 thread. Someone imported the screen from Japan.... 4k+ all in
iiioloiii P
post Feb 22 2025, 08:47 PM

Probation

Anyone here know of Mazda specialist workshop in Penang island or Prai area?
emilyngsc
post Apr 8 2025, 07:46 AM

1,644 posts

Anyone using PIAA wiper here & what’s the latest version information Package + Gracenote database?

This post has been edited by emilyngsc: Apr 14 2025, 10:43 AM
TSZeneticX
post Apr 18 2025, 05:07 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

I've been playing with the audio settings recently again and made some findings...

If you are using Bluetooth or Android Auto and found the audio a bit lacking... maybe check if your phone settings have any EQ enabled. Try disabling it or select the normal / flat settings. This works for my Android (S25 Ultra) but not sure about other phones or iPhone

Next I was also looking for some good EQ settings and came across this Reddit post -
https://www.reddit.com/r/MazdaCX30/s/DOX2i447Ji

I followed the 2nd settings, set listening position to 'Driver seat' then turn the volume up to 20+, instantly felt the power and bass back. If you like bass then can follow this setting.

Previously I was using the settings shared by a Japanese. This setting will sound slightly clearer and louder but bass a bit lacking imo

You can try all the settings and save them to the 3 custom EQ space, then switch between them to compare and find the one you like

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Apr 18 2025, 05:13 PM
fish_pg
post Sep 12 2025, 08:47 AM

191 posts

wah bro, from Honda become Mazda owner already...
fish_pg
post Sep 12 2025, 08:48 AM

191 posts

wah bro, from Honda become Mazda owner already...
overfloe
post Nov 19 2025, 08:41 AM

2,207 posts

checking for those who has the bermaz dashcam factory-fitted.. does it come with the rear camera?
Pugbunny
post Nov 19 2025, 09:02 AM

717 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Nov 19 2025, 08:41 AM)
checking for those who has the bermaz dashcam factory-fitted.. does it come with the rear camera?
2024 Cx5 here. No.

But SA offer rebate either RM2k or Rm1.5k + rear camera.

I opted for RM2k and bought ddpai z40 dual channel with sd card less than rm400.

But can check with SA if current offer they do give it out for free.

This post has been edited by Pugbunny: Nov 19 2025, 09:02 AM
overfloe
post Nov 19 2025, 10:21 AM

2,207 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Nov 19 2025, 10:02 AM)
2024 Cx5 here. No.

But SA offer rebate either RM2k or Rm1.5k + rear camera.

I opted for RM2k and bought ddpai z40 dual channel with sd card less than rm400.

But can check with SA if current offer they do give it out for free.
mine, cx-30 came with a rear cam. that's why i'm curious coz SA never promised to give this. what i know bermaz gives the integrated front cam, but not rear. unless they changed the package confused.gif
TSZeneticX
post Nov 19 2025, 01:58 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Nov 19 2025, 10:21 AM)
mine, cx-30 came with a rear cam. that's why i'm curious coz SA never promised to give this. what i know bermaz gives the integrated front cam, but not rear. unless they changed the package :confused:
Ya apparently it comes with rear camera now.... but the quality is shit though

https://www.facebook.com/groups/mazdaCX30cl...66033496937993/

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 19 2025, 02:02 PM

0.0905sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:43 PM