LYN Mazda CX-30 Owners/Fans Discussion V1, Red Dot Design Award Winner 2020

lee82gx
post Sep 12 2024, 07:59 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 9 2024, 11:40 AM)
attention to every new or current owners.... please DO NOT attempt to wipe or even touch the plastic lens cover of the instrument cluster. Don't even try to wipe it with a microfibre cloth. It scratches damm easily, imagine your microfibre cloth turning into sandpaper

I was not aware about this and attempted to wipe the dust off it yesterday using microfibre cloth.... this is the result  doh.gif

luckily for me at least it is not that obvious most of the time unless there's light shining onto it, but damage had been done

this is not a CKD issue, its a well known issue for a long time and i think it applies to Mazda 3 as well

https://www.cx30talk.com/threads/instrument...lens-cover.271/

https://www.cx30talk.com/threads/instrument...er.271/#replies

Mazda USA even issued a bulletin for this

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2022/MC-10215244-0001.pdf
I asked around the fb owner's group for solutions, and some suggested to just directly apply a TPU film onto it, will cover most of the scratches. Gonna try that next
wow, cry.gif
have you tried wet cloth polishing?

start with a small spot like 10sen size.
If not then waxy polish like Soft99

lastly this:
https://shopee.com.my/Novus-Plastic-Polish-...18-b3bff572b87b
Start with no.2 and no.1
lee82gx
post Sep 12 2024, 09:57 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 12 2024, 09:33 AM)
nope that was in my consideration as well but feedbacks had been mixed ie: some did work while some made it worse, i guess depending on product and technique

in the end I just applied a TPU protector onto it, the scratches are now covered and there's an extra layer of protection to the extremely fragile plastic now
Ya, i realized after putting up my post, you had this TPU screen protector. My company server just blocks a lot of ibb.co photos.
lee82gx
post Oct 9 2024, 08:14 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 7 2024, 09:19 PM)
So regarding my issue above....

Somehow they can't fix it and told me to make appointment with paint and bodyworks instead (didn't know it's seperate from SC)

This is the issue I'm talking about

Driver side

Front Passenger side
You made me look at my cx-5 and another cx-5 right next to me at my car park.
All similar haha.

lee82gx
post Nov 29 2024, 01:55 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(rikiraikonnen @ Nov 28 2024, 11:58 AM)
Is it possible to ask for out of standard maintenance item to be performed at Mazda SC  at owner's cost and not voiding the warranty?.  E.g. I want to change the auto fluid at 20k which is not part of the standard "free" maintenance but I don't mind paying for it but I don't want the warranty to be void.
When I bought my CX-5 recently, the salesman say he himself change the gearbox oil at 40k IN HOUSE, without voiding the warranty. Apparently nowadays they will do it upon request. But I have not reached this milage and I don't know how they will behave in 1,2,3 years time.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 28 2024, 05:07 PM)
Bermaz already made it clear changing the transmission fluid will void warranty, and i doubt any SC would perform it while keeping the warranty since it goes against their policy (unless you found a lobang with the sc manager lah)

there's 2 recommendations -

1) You proceed to change the fluid at outside workshop @ 20k or whatever mileage, but you take the risk of voiding your warranty and incase touchwood your gearbox really have any issues before 5 years or 100k km, you are gonna incur a greater loss of replacing / fixing the gearbox

or 2) Keep the gearbox as it is within the warranty period, since its covered by warranty anything happen just claim it. Once warranty over you may proceed to change the fluid
You can refer what I said above, or just give a call to your SC see what they say if curious.

0.0161sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:24 AM