13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Penang water pipe burst again!, Pls dun come to Pg for this weekend?

talexeh
post Jan 26 2024, 12:46 AM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,090 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Jan 26 2024, 12:36 AM)
BUTTERWORTH: Work to fix the clamps to repair the leak in the 1,350-millimetre (mm) underwater pipe in Sungai Perai here is expected to be completed by 4 pm today, said Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow.

This is despite the difficulties faced by the divers, who have to deal with the strong current at the bottom of the river.

https://thesun.my/local_news/chow-work-to-c...oday-IB12029346
Keyword: expected

There was heavy rain & the fact that the leakage occurs below the river water surface complicated things by leaps.

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jan 26 2024, 12:47 AM
mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 12:49 AM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Jan 26 2024, 12:23 AM)
I thought CKY says Plan A was completed at 4pm on Thur 25th ?  Why at 10pm still "Plan A 1in progress"  ?
But the article you posted says "expected".

QUOTE(ssmui @ Jan 26 2024, 12:36 AM)
BUTTERWORTH: Work to fix the clamps to repair the leak in the 1,350-millimetre (mm) underwater pipe in Sungai Perai here is expected to be completed by 4 pm today, said Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow.

This is despite the difficulties faced by the divers, who have to deal with the strong current at the bottom of the river.

https://thesun.my/local_news/chow-work-to-c...oday-IB12029346
gaman
post Jan 26 2024, 08:42 AM

86 posts

Any reason why that stretch of water main was installed underwater? Technically difficulty? Cost saving?

If they able to clamp the broken pipe which means the pipe itself is not buried in soil but just underwater level?
mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 08:46 AM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(gaman @ Jan 26 2024, 08:42 AM)
Any reason why that stretch of water main was installed underwater? Technically difficulty? Cost saving?

If they able to clamp the broken pipe which means the pipe itself is not buried in soil but just underwater level?
I think 27 years ago there was no bridge. To build above surface, they would have to build a pipe support structure which might be very expensive kot.

That pipe is located at 3.5m underwater, iirc it's on the river bed.
TSDarkNite
post Jan 26 2024, 08:59 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Think this pipe was done before many of us were born.
Maybe Burningsunz can correct me and give some insight.

touristking
post Jan 26 2024, 09:05 AM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 25 2024, 09:01 AM)
PuAS & PN will be up in Arms, Torches & Pitchforks!
Protex! Protex! Protex!

and that touristking will be so triggered! laugh.gif
Have you come across a government that deliberately deny the people clean water? Penang and Selangor both have the money but refuses to do any advanced water planning.

TSDarkNite
post Jan 26 2024, 09:09 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 26 2024, 09:05 AM)
Have you come across a government that deliberately deny the people clean water? Penang and Selangor both have the money but refuses to do any advanced water planning.
Damn! Talk about shooting your own foot awal pagi! laugh.gif

mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 09:21 AM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 26 2024, 09:09 AM)
I'm afraid I am with him this time.
Think about it:
1) whole of DBD including the all important FTZ only depends on one WTP(from mainland some more) and one pipeline. Has PBA announced any backup plan?

2) undersea pipelines: any plan to run parallel/spare lines along first bridge in case the undersea line leaks?

3) 1350mm line leaks and they did not mention when it was last inspected and its mean time between failures (MTBF).
What other potential failures should we expect to bite us in the ass suddenly?

I get it that they inherit this legacy but a government cannot keep using "oh, we inherited it" as justification for doing nothing. If they already have a plan, announce it for goodness sake.
All these water interruptions will have impact on manufacturing industry and investor's confidence.
TSDarkNite
post Jan 26 2024, 09:24 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 26 2024, 09:21 AM)
Think about it:
1) whole of DBD including the all important FTZ only depends on one WTP(from mainland some more) and one pipeline. Has PBA announced any backup plan?

2) undersea pipelines: any plan to run parallel/spare lines along first bridge in case the undersea line leaks?

3) 1350mm line leaks and they did not mention when it was last inspected and its mean time between failures (MTBF).

I get it that they inherit this legacy but a government cannot keep using "oh, we inherited it" as justification for doing nothing. If they already have a plan, announce it for goodness sake.
All these water interruptions will have impact on manufacturing industry and investor's confidence.
Does this only apply to Penang & Selangor?
Other states other rules, different goal post?
Burningsunz
post Jan 26 2024, 09:24 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 26 2024, 08:59 AM)
Think this pipe was done before many of us were born.
Maybe Burningsunz can correct me and give some insight.
This pipe is about 20 years i think.
mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 09:31 AM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 26 2024, 09:24 AM)
Does this only apply to Penang & Selangor?
Other states other rules, different goal post?
I get what you are hinting at but I'm specifically referring to Png.
In Selangor, frequent cuts are par for the course.

You can criticise all other states but it doesn't change the fact I mentioned above.
Zot
post Jan 26 2024, 09:43 AM

7,934 posts

This is not new method but is used even in 1st world country. There are 2 methods:
1) Dig a trench and lay the pipe on river bed
2) Bore underneath river and channel the pipe

Expert would say trenching method is temporary but usually temporary is forgotten until something happened laugh.gif Obviously, the cost is much cheaper than boring underneath.
sunami
post Jan 26 2024, 09:46 AM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 26 2024, 10:05 AM)
i know i know....if pee n is the gov..
pee also can become perfume..
laugh.gif laugh.gif
touristking
post Jan 26 2024, 10:10 AM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Jan 26 2024, 02:46 AM)
i know i know....if pee n is the gov..
pee also can become perfume..
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Hard for you to believe but yes, if BN was in charge of water like Selangor, there will be no water shortage.

In 2009 Federal BN informed Selangor PH that water shortage will occur by 2014. Advise Selangor PH to start building Langat2

Selangor PH insisted water shortage will only occur by 2019 so no need to built Langat2.

2014. Selangor start to experience water shortage and only agree to build Langat 2 in 2015

LazadaGot
post Jan 26 2024, 10:10 AM

18 posts

Seems like Plan B getting done earlier, they will connect the 2x600mm pipeline on Sunday 28th Jan instead

This post has been edited by LazadaGot: Jan 26 2024, 10:42 AM
touristking
post Jan 26 2024, 10:12 AM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 26 2024, 02:09 AM)
For Selangor, water shortage fault lies with Selangor PH. Penang probably same issue.
Roadwarrior1337
post Jan 26 2024, 10:13 AM

979 posts

Padu

They repair pipe with white tape only isit ?

mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 10:13 AM

4,950 posts

Latest update:
1) changed diving team at 0200hours. No update on clamping work progress

2) as mentioned by Burningsunz, Bkt Dumbar pump house started operating at 1200hr yesterday, supplying water to 15,000-20,000 out of the 120,000 affected accounts.
How long it'll last, tatau. So keep storing water.

3) temporary lines expected to be joined on Sunday instead of Tue. Ayam not sure whether it just means fully tied in and main leaking line decommissioned, or ready to cut water again to decommission the leaking line.

LazadaGot
post Jan 26 2024, 10:14 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 26 2024, 09:21 AM)
Think about it:

I found something in PBAPP website
https://pba.com.my/3rd-ptsp/

This post has been edited by LazadaGot: Jan 26 2024, 10:17 AM
mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 10:15 AM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 26 2024, 10:10 AM)
Hard for you to believe but yes, if BN was in charge of water like Selangor, there will be no water shortage.
In 2009 Federal BN informed Selangor PH that water shortage will occur by 2014. Advise Selangor PH to start building Langat2

Selangor PH insisted water shortage will only occur by 2019 so no need to built Langat2.

2014. Selangor start to experience water shortage and only agree to build Langat 2 in 2015
Why don't you also talk about Kelantan? Don't you get tired of repeating it like a broken record?

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:36 PM