Penang water pipe burst again!, Pls dun come to Pg for this weekend?
LA773
Jan 25 2024, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 25 2024, 03:30 PM) I was joking lah, I think PBA knows better than to let that happen. Most likely they created positive pressure as explained above  Double check ur incoming water, some of my friends saying its not really clear waters, slightly yellowish So better take mineral water for drinking for the time being Especially if ur house had old ppl or babies
mushigen
Jan 25 2024, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 25 2024, 04:12 PM) Double check ur incoming water, some of my friends saying its not really clear waters, slightly yellowish So better take mineral water for drinking for the time being Especially if ur house had old ppl or babies Dirty water may not necessarily mean it's from the river, although I certainly won't say it's 100% not river water since I am not involved or have observed the job. Dirty water can be caused by rust or sediments inside existing pipelines that drop off when water stopped flowing. You're right we should take extra precautions especially immediately after a prolonged disruption.
Burningsunz
Jan 25 2024, 04:44 PM
On the night when we isolate sg perai pba did valve throttling to all the reservoir on island thats why some area not effected also got low pressure or no water for a couple of hours.
Now the storage at bukit dumbar already reach safe level to be pumped out to green lane and relau side. Butt of course if people use more water then storage deplete then water will cut off again to allow the storage to be fill up to a safe level before can release.
As for some in sg ara, batu maung and balik pulau still need to rely tanker.
Hopefully clamping work can be completed tonight
TSDarkNite
Jan 25 2024, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 25 2024, 04:44 PM) On the night when we isolate sg perai pba did valve throttling to all the reservoir on island thats why some area not effected also got low pressure or no water for a couple of hours. Now the storage at bukit dumbar already reach safe level to be pumped out to green lane and relau side. Butt of course if people use more water then storage deplete then water will cut off again to allow the storage to be fill up to a safe level before can release. As for some in sg ara, batu maung and balik pulau still need to rely tanker. Hopefully clamping work can be completed tonight Dark storm clouds spotted in Bworth. Hopefully no hamper Sungai Perai repairs works!
LazadaGot
Jan 25 2024, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 25 2024, 04:57 PM) Dark storm clouds spotted in Bworth. Hopefully no hamper Sungai Perai repairs works!
TruboXL
Jan 25 2024, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(LazadaGot @ Jan 25 2024, 05:03 PM)
iGamer
Jan 25 2024, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 25 2024, 04:57 PM) Dark storm clouds spotted in Bworth. Hopefully no hamper Sungai Perai repairs works! Dark cloud is free water, prepare your water buckets.
LA773
Jan 25 2024, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 25 2024, 04:18 PM) Dirty water may not necessarily mean it's from the river, although I certainly won't say it's 100% not river water since I am not involved or have observed the job. Dirty water can be caused by rust or sediments inside existing pipelines that drop off when water stopped flowing. You're right we should take extra precautions especially immediately after a prolonged disruption. Yea, normally initial batch or water surely will be bit muddy Thats normal I dont mean its river water My family always only use the water for cooking n drinking 1 day after the water resume
mushigen
Jan 25 2024, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 25 2024, 04:44 PM) On the night when we isolate sg perai pba did valve throttling to all the reservoir on island thats why some area not effected also got low pressure or no water for a couple of hours. Now the storage at bukit dumbar already reach safe level to be pumped out to green lane and relau side. Butt of course if people use more water then storage deplete then water will cut off again to allow the storage to be fill up to a safe level before can release. As for some in sg ara, batu maung and balik pulau still need to rely tanker. Hopefully clamping work can be completed tonight Good update, thanks. May I know, when the buffer tank at the pump house runs low, does PBA stop the pump(s) or put it on full recycling mode? Are these pumps driven by motors or turbines or both turbines and motors? I can only imagine they're very huge pumps, so each start-stop will place huge current on the motor winding.
Burningsunz
Jan 25 2024, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 25 2024, 05:34 PM) Good update, thanks. May I know, when the buffer tank at the pump house runs low, does PBA stop the pump(s) or put it on full recycling mode? Are these pumps driven by motors or turbines or both turbines and motors? I can only imagine they're very huge pumps, so each start-stop will place huge current on the motor winding. Sorry bro, this technical question i tak dapat answer. Once the storage is too low the pumps will stop automatically. Pba monitoring system is quite canggih one
This post has been edited by Burningsunz: Jan 25 2024, 06:10 PM
ipohps3
Jan 25 2024, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 25 2024, 04:44 PM) On the night when we isolate sg perai pba did valve throttling to all the reservoir on island thats why some area not effected also got low pressure or no water for a couple of hours. Now the storage at bukit dumbar already reach safe level to be pumped out to green lane and relau side. Butt of course if people use more water then storage deplete then water will cut off again to allow the storage to be fill up to a safe level before can release. As for some in sg ara, batu maung and balik pulau still need to rely tanker. Hopefully clamping work can be completed tonight you guys work 247 ka? This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jan 25 2024, 06:12 PM
TSDarkNite
Jan 25 2024, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jan 25 2024, 06:11 PM) and many people no appreciate these workers! Slight interruptions already scold father mother!
talexeh
Jan 25 2024, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 25 2024, 06:14 PM) and many people no appreciate these workers! Slight interruptions already scold father mother! Frankly speaking the anger is towards those in mgmt level, not the workers.
mushigen
Jan 25 2024, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 25 2024, 06:09 PM) Sorry bro, this technical question i tak dapat answer. Once the storage is too low the pumps will stop automatically. Pba monitoring system is quite canggih one
TQ bro. I asked because I am worried that those huge water pumps will upcar due to cavitation or frequent start stop. Iirc the pump at Bkt Gedung (?) gave problem in 2022 after the flood at Baling knocked down the Sungai Dua WTP. This caused additional delay to Sg Ara folks after the WTP was successfully started up.
SUSTanahGagal
Jan 25 2024, 06:25 PM

Because negeri PH need to help negeri air teh tarik QUOTE(dest9116 @ Jan 23 2024, 05:37 PM) Biasa lah Negeri PH. Where got money for repair and refurbish. Every year also budget deficit owai..
LazadaGot
Jan 25 2024, 09:55 PM
Once again, pray for their safety, especially the divers Plan A Plan B This post has been edited by LazadaGot: Jan 25 2024, 09:57 PM
talexeh
Jan 25 2024, 10:38 PM
ssmui
Jan 26 2024, 12:23 AM

I thought CKY says Plan A was completed at 4pm on Thur 25th ? Why at 10pm still "Plan A 1in progress" ?
mushigen
Jan 26 2024, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(ssmui @ Jan 26 2024, 12:23 AM) I thought CKY says Plan A was completed at 4pm on Thur 25th ? Why at 10pm still "Plan A 1in progress" ? Can't be. Pba posted news about them stopping work temporarily due to heavy rain, and they continued again after that.
ssmui
Jan 26 2024, 12:36 AM

BUTTERWORTH: Work to fix the clamps to repair the leak in the 1,350-millimetre (mm) underwater pipe in Sungai Perai here is expected to be completed by 4 pm today, said Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow. This is despite the difficulties faced by the divers, who have to deal with the strong current at the bottom of the river. https://thesun.my/local_news/chow-work-to-c...oday-IB12029346