Penang water pipe burst again!, Pls dun come to Pg for this weekend?

mushigen
post Jan 23 2024, 11:17 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jan 23 2024, 10:33 PM)
Can you guys state the location whenever you report areas with disrupted water supply?
Exactly. I see people writing:
my place got/no water - defug do we know where you stay?
my place Sg Ara got/no water - dafug do we know which part of Sg Ara you're staying, like Hongkie say: Sg Ara you stay all ah?
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 01:08 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 23 2024, 10:18 PM)
Anyhow newd diver assess dulu then tomorrow see which option available. But expect min 4-5 days for full recovery for dbd area
Many people have been asking PBA on its FB page: how can 2 x 600mm pipes replace a 1350mm pipe, capacity wise?

PBA: krik krik krik
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 08:35 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 24 2024, 02:19 AM)
Bukan replacement but 2x600mm temporary & fastest solution while waiting for the permanent one over the river.
I know it's temporary. But they will be there for months.

Still, how can 2 x600mm replace 1350mm, capacity wise?
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 09:11 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 24 2024, 08:47 AM)
fastest & cause least inconvenience.
That doesn't answer how they expect the 2 lines to cope. Will EOL consumers bear the brunt of the low capacity? For 6-8 months wei.
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 09:23 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 24 2024, 09:19 AM)
Its basically no water or low pressure water

Very simple decision, temporary of course
Simple for those not locating at eol or high places.

They could have launched 2 lines first, then add more when needed. But no explanation and way forward are given.
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 09:37 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 24 2024, 09:34 AM)
Can start plan for 4-5 days holiday if u are eol

I heard its gonna be 5-6days at least
There's no update since last night when CM mentioned about sending divers in. It usually means bad news.

So this time, really cham liao. I suspect pipe broken badly, sheared off pun likely.

mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 11:56 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 24 2024, 11:53 AM)
It cant, due to the time constraint this close to 2mil project is a temporary mitigation but atleast this one can last longer but ofcourse the the combined volume is smaller than the initial one but the existing pipe really cannot tahan already so have to go for this.
Understand. Any plan to add to this capacity while waiting for the like-for-like replacement?

For example, install a manifold and run HDPE pipes to supplement the 2 x 600mm? I understand hdpe pipes are relatively easier to install.
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 03:12 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jan 24 2024, 12:43 PM)
Pressure need to increase with the faster flow rate, they cannot just keep on increasing pumping pressure and flow rate. Most likely will need to reduce a bit of pumping pressure if they do not want the new smaller pipes to burst too.

just a random figure i googled

edit:
from the picture, take for example 40 psi,
big pipe ~230 gpm
2xsmall pipe ~2 x 50 gpm

if you want to maintain the flow rate at 2 x 100 gpm, the pressure in the smaller pipes would go > 100 psi.

so yeah, most likely they will need to reduce the pressure a bit.

in practice, the frictional losses would also reduce some of it.
Another risk with increasing pressure is the pressure (no pun intended) on the pipings upstream of the temporary lines. These upstream lines I reckon are equally if not older than the one inside the river.
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 03:35 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Godsweirdson @ Jan 24 2024, 02:54 PM)
by the looks of it , I guess this will be the longest water cut, since to wait for diversion pipe to complete, it requires at least 5-6 days (cky page sos). And alot of people in DBD did not prepare for this round.
gg barat daya, i hope we survive this.
And after the bypass lines are commissioned, I expect to experience low water pressure in Sg Ara and those areas far away as the new lines do not have equal capacity. I will be glad to be wrong as I live in Sg Ara.
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 04:19 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 24 2024, 03:44 PM)
Landed or high rise?

If new high rise projects should be able to tahan few days, if not fully occupied
Condo. Tangki expected to last till tomorrow morning.
mushigen
post Jan 24 2024, 06:56 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LazadaGot @ Jan 24 2024, 04:22 PM)
Latest update from PBAPP facebook:

Friday / Saturday will have water, Tuesday (30 Jan) cut again for connecting new temporary bypass pipe, 1st Feb should solve this issue temporary until the new 1350mm pipe is ready (at least half a year later)

It's the first time I see a work plan with only date, without time.
mushigen
post Jan 25 2024, 03:04 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 25 2024, 02:27 PM)
Low pressure water, i also feel weird how come got water?
Is possibly can let low pressure water flow thru the pipe while clamping?
Inb4 itu ayaq Sg Perai masuk dalam paip.

QUOTE(TruboXL @ Jan 25 2024, 02:30 PM)
Honestly plan B should have done no matter plan A works or not
That's the plan. Both done at the same time. Once A kowtim, PBA to start supplying water so that consumers can refill their tong. Then cut off water again when they're ready to decommission the old line.

If A fails, ggwp.
mushigen
post Jan 25 2024, 03:11 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 25 2024, 02:27 PM)
Low pressure water, i also feel weird how come got water?
Is possibly can let low pressure water flow thru the pipe while clamping?
Two possibilities I can think of:
1) the isolation valve is not tight (also known as passing) even when fully shut. This is very common for water service valves.

2) they purposely cracked open the isolation valve to maintain slightly positive pressure so that river water doesn't get inside the pipe and contaminate the content in the line. With this action, treated water leaks out and some may flow to consumers at the start of the pipeline.
mushigen
post Jan 25 2024, 03:30 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 25 2024, 03:25 PM)
Sg perai water full of aninals waste, fkkk
I was joking lah, I think PBA knows better than to let that happen. Most likely they created positive pressure as explained above laugh.gif
mushigen
post Jan 25 2024, 04:18 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jan 25 2024, 04:12 PM)
Double check ur incoming water, some of my friends saying its not really clear waters, slightly yellowish

So better take mineral water for drinking for the time being
Especially if ur house had old ppl or babies
Dirty water may not necessarily mean it's from the river, although I certainly won't say it's 100% not river water since I am not involved or have observed the job.

Dirty water can be caused by rust or sediments inside existing pipelines that drop off when water stopped flowing.

You're right we should take extra precautions especially immediately after a prolonged disruption.
mushigen
post Jan 25 2024, 05:34 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 25 2024, 04:44 PM)
On the night when we isolate sg perai pba did valve throttling to all the reservoir on island thats why some area not effected also got low pressure or no water for a couple of hours.

Now the storage at bukit dumbar already reach safe level to be pumped out to green lane and relau side. Butt of course if people use more water then storage deplete then water will cut off again to allow the storage to be fill up to a safe level before can release.

As for some in sg ara, batu maung and balik pulau still need to rely tanker.

Hopefully clamping work can be completed tonight
Good update, thanks.

May I know, when the buffer tank at the pump house runs low, does PBA stop the pump(s) or put it on full recycling mode? Are these pumps driven by motors or turbines or both turbines and motors?

I can only imagine they're very huge pumps, so each start-stop will place huge current on the motor winding.
mushigen
post Jan 25 2024, 06:22 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 25 2024, 06:09 PM)
Sorry bro, this technical question i tak dapat answer. Once the storage is too low the pumps will stop automatically.

Pba monitoring system is quite canggih one

[attachmentid=11489849]
TQ bro. I asked because I am worried that those huge water pumps will upcar due to cavitation or frequent start stop.

Iirc the pump at Bkt Gedung (?) gave problem in 2022 after the flood at Baling knocked down the Sungai Dua WTP. This caused additional delay to Sg Ara folks after the WTP was successfully started up.
mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 12:33 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Jan 26 2024, 12:23 AM)
I thought CKY says Plan A was completed at 4pm on Thur 25th ?  Why at 10pm still "Plan A 1in progress"  ?
Can't be. Pba posted news about them stopping work temporarily due to heavy rain, and they continued again after that.
mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 12:49 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Jan 26 2024, 12:23 AM)
I thought CKY says Plan A was completed at 4pm on Thur 25th ?  Why at 10pm still "Plan A 1in progress"  ?
But the article you posted says "expected".

QUOTE(ssmui @ Jan 26 2024, 12:36 AM)
BUTTERWORTH: Work to fix the clamps to repair the leak in the 1,350-millimetre (mm) underwater pipe in Sungai Perai here is expected to be completed by 4 pm today, said Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow.

This is despite the difficulties faced by the divers, who have to deal with the strong current at the bottom of the river.

https://thesun.my/local_news/chow-work-to-c...oday-IB12029346
mushigen
post Jan 26 2024, 08:46 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(gaman @ Jan 26 2024, 08:42 AM)
Any reason why that stretch of water main was installed underwater? Technically difficulty? Cost saving?

If they able to clamp the broken pipe which means the pipe itself is not buried in soil but just underwater level?
I think 27 years ago there was no bridge. To build above surface, they would have to build a pipe support structure which might be very expensive kot.

That pipe is located at 3.5m underwater, iirc it's on the river bed.

0.0245sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:30 PM